Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Noonan warns 'we can't go mad again'

• 13-12-2013 3:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/1213/492576-bailout/

Who is this "we" that he is referring to? I definitely don't recall going mad and borrowing millions that any sane person would realise never had a hope of being paid back! :mad: I do know that I am suffering for this incompetence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Not 100% sure, but I don't think he meant you personally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Probably the hundreds of thousands that are still here that took out silly 110% mortgages and the likes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Yellow121

Who is this "we" that he is referring to? I definitely don't recall going mad and borrowing millions that any sane person would realise never had a hope of being paid back! :mad: I do know that I am suffering for this incompetence!

He's talking to the majority, people like you and me didn't have any party during the 'good times', many others did. They wont admit it, just as they wont admit this recession hasn't affected them but lets tell it as it is, there's a split in this country and one side are getting away with their mistakes while the other pays for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,586 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

We collectively I suppose is what he means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

While he may or may not be talking sense, I do hate the use of "we" when talking about going mad "again"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Everytime I see Noonan on TV talking about "214" instead of of 2014 I want to reach into the tv and slap him around the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Kippure

He should have said, the bank regulator, Heads of banks and estate agents.
    Certain politicians and Builders. Not the Irish people. We the Irish people were sold a dead donkey from the beginning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

I blame op personally for this mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Couldn't go mad even if I was in the mind to. Austerity has me broke, the maddest I get these days is a takeaway once a month :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭donegal.

remember that time noonan went to galway and went mad with that red girl? crazy times.
    crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Ballacks. Better cancel the decking then. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Imagine getting blood products in a state run hospital and getting hepatitis c, having a long and painful death but some idiot was denying any wrong doing (even though they knew they were indeed wrong), not giving full information and dragging you from your deathbed in donegal to the high court?
    Think that's what he means by "going mad". I'd have more respect for the piece of dog shíte on my shoe than Michael Noonan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭galwayredgirl

donegal. wrote: »
    remember that time noonan went to galway and went mad with that red girl? crazy times.
    crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

It is guaranteed to happen again if FF get back into power. I hope that won't be the case but sadly their rural countryside mates will vote them back in again.

LostBoy101 wrote: »
    It is guaranteed to happen again if FF get back into power. I hope that won't be the case but sadly their rural countryside mates will vote them back in again.

What ever it takes ff must never get the smell of power again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Yellow121

Kippure wrote: »
    What ever it takes ff must never get the smell of power again.

You do realise FG's plan would have put us in a worse position than FF left us. Both need to be destroyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭BadCharlie

Yellow121 wrote: »
    You do realise FG's plan would have put us in a worse position than FF left us. Both need to be destroyed.

But you will notice plans are not stuck to when in power. Each party try and sell them self's when not in power which should be cut out if we are ever to have a fair election.

But saying that FF should never never be voted in... but looking at the polls it might not be that far off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭galwayredgirl

kneemos wrote: »
    We collectively I suppose is what he means.

Good times = Individual (Me, myself & I and my cronies)

Bad Times = Collective (We all partied - we are all in this together)

It's sheer greed and cronyism that has this country banjaxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Oh jesus, I think the madness is coming over me again.. Rrghhhhh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Unfortunately, very true

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

99.9% of Irish people had nothing to do with the mess we are in. If we had financial regulator doing its job we wouldn't have had massive bank debts. And if the government hadnt caved into every trade union demand, we wouldn't have had such massive public sector pay bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

You all partied. Bunch of feckin partiers, that's all you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭techdiver

Yellow121 wrote: »

FG needed to tell the dumb ass public what they wanted to hear. Would they be elected if they said we are going to cool the economy and tighten lending criteria for banks, thus making it more difficult to obtain a mortgage and get on the mythical "Property Ladder"!

All calls during the boom from all quarters, was more spending, more lending, more building...etc, etc...

You get the government you deserve!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

hfallada wrote: »
    99.9% of Irish people had nothing to do with the mess we are in. If we had financial regulator doing its job we wouldn't have had massive bank debts. And if the government hadnt caved into every trade union demand, we wouldn't have had such massive public sector pay bill.

Plenty were willingly complicit in what was going on - money you could borrow at a rate lower than inflation meant anyone who could borrow did borrow. Homes in Portugal, Bulgaria, three cars in the drive, traded in every two years,
    property porn (inside and out), "weekend breaks" in Amsterdam, and the rest, New York for the sales in January.

You only need to go back through the pages of this website to find examples of the "madness".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

'we can't go mad again'
    -yes, you politicians should not show a mad lack of foresight again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Did you borrow 250ish-k for a 3 bed semi? tens of thousands did. Idiots all.
    It's the accumulation, and the collective gravy train mentality that put us all here. Don't try fob it off.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,786 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

I can't read that headline without thinking of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,145 ✭✭✭Daith

It seems to go against that idea when people still think that increases in property is a "recovery".

CruelCoin wrote: »
    Did you borrow 250ish-k for a 3 bed semi? tens of thousands did. Idiots all.
    It's the accumulation, and the collective gravy train mentality that put us all here. Don't try fob it off.

Whats wrong with borrowing money to buy a house?

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    But Father.. :(

What the real mad thing about all this is No one has been jailed of fined or anything. In the new year we,ll have the Fitzpatrick trial start. It will be a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

Its a big merry go-round, it will keep on happening and happening again and again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

You see nothing wrong with paying 250k for a house that costs 150k to build?

You don't buy a house at those prices for ****s and giggles. It was done because it was a sure thing, you couldn't lose, everyone's doing it, we're getting rich lads.

CruelCoin wrote: »
    You see nothing wrong with paying 250k for a house that costs 150k to build?

You don't buy a house at those prices for ****s and giggles. It was done because it was a sure thing, you couldn't lose, everyone's doing it, we're getting rich lads.

I know what your saying mate. And yes the profit was huge for builders.
    Irish people were led to slaughter, you were shunned if you didn't have a house worth half a million and a house aboard, and ten cars.

Sheep mentality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I'd like to think there are smart people on boards, but Jesus it seems no one has any idea. The government didn't cause the recession. No one was forced to buy houses flash cars etc. I agree that the government are partly responsible because they should be there to watch out for the people in general, but as I said no one was forced to buy, or to take all these loans.

And you cannot blame this on fianna fail, they're politicians the same as fine gael are, they'd all do the same. They do whatever to get elected. There's no longer term concern over each individual person and their ability to feed their families. They care what the general public will think when it comes to election time.

At the last election everyone said no more fianna fail, now everyone's saying no more fine gael. Unless people take a stand for what they want in the country and inform themselves about the economy, we'll continue to go round in cycles like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭cometogether

Yeah, because nobody from Dublin ever supported or represented them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

Nothing wrong at all, the problem only occurred when a house was bought in order to borrow money!

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,413 ✭✭✭Archeron

Looks at thread title...
    Looks at delivery of the new collectors edition set of the 12 Faberge eggs of Christmas...
    Looks at thread title...

Aaah bollix..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

"We" better not create a tax climate that encourges speculation and dopey, tax-break based investment so. Hadn't "we".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

Partied your absolute pants off the lot of ye! Makes me sick. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

I came here to start the exact same thread! Its the goverment/media trying to keep us believeing the current/recent financial crisis is the ordinary peoples fault, its partly why the 'occupy movements' didnt get as big as they should have, tho Im not a fan of crusties and socialist gob****es, there is a middle ground where we can unite

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

that doesn't mean those opposed to them being in power have to accept it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Gongoozler wrote: »
    I'd like to think there are smart people on boards, but Jesus it seems no one has any idea. The government didn't cause the recession. No one was forced to buy houses flash cars etc. I agree that the government are partly responsible because they should be there to watch out for the people in general, but as I said no one was forced to buy, or to take all these loans.

And you cannot blame this on fianna fail, they're politicians the same as fine gael are, they'd all do the same. They do whatever to get elected. There's no longer term concern over each individual person and their ability to feed their families. They care what the general public will think when it comes to election time.

At the last election everyone said no more fianna fail, now everyone's saying no more fine gael. Unless people take a stand for what they want in the country and inform themselves about the economy, we'll continue to go round in cycles like this.

the media had a big part to play. all the articles about buying property as an investment, where to go on winter holidays, trade in your 3 yr old car etc

people are generally sheep, its why advertising exists as an industry. we make our own decisions but sometimes they are strongly influenced by a reckless authority.

FF/FG its all the same, just 2 different lucrative employment agencies fighting for better careers, the players change but the game stays the same

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Im not a fan of crusties and socialist gob****es, there is a middle ground where we can unite

would be a nice thought wouldn't it

Gongoozler wrote: »

Absolute nonsense. They de-regulated the banking system so their mates in the financial sector can run a muck and feed themselves big bonuses out of the sky. Fianna Fail had us in a lot of recessions but this time they actually bankrupted us and we never had the IMF/Trokia knocking on our door.

I agree that it works like a cycle and people in this country are silly enough to be voting the same people in who caused the mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Well michael, with your salary and expenses of close in the range of €200,000, i'd say you've a much better chance of going mad than the rest of us...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Absolute nonsense. They de-regulated the banking system so their mates in the financial sector can run a muck and feed themselves big bonuses out of the sky. Fianna Fail had us in a lot of recessions but this time they actually bankrupted us and we never had the IMF/Trokia knocking on our door.

I agree that it works like a cycle and people in this country are silly enough to be voting the same people in who caused the mess.

Did they force the thousands of people to get 100%+ mortgages?
    if people didn't get themselves in debt buying on credit, then the hurt of the recession wouldn't have been as bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

We're already going mad with the increase in rental prices out there in Dublin you Greedy Fcuks!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 20 walt_white

it suited FF to have never ending property price appreciation , bertie believed in buying everyone off so he needed the " oul " stamp duty to keep coming in thick and fast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

What he meant to say OP is that he's just a school teacher who was an embarrassing failure as head of FG in 2002 and then resigned but waltzed back in when he felt like it and had a top position on the front bench handed to him on a plate for no reason :rolleyes: there's no cronyism in FG sure :rolleyes: