Christmas party ??

• 13-12-2013 01:15PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,956 ✭✭✭✭

So folks
    Easy question do your jobs (if ur employed) put on a Christmas party ?
    If so where and do you bother even going,
    My one is on in Croke Park this year , id say it'll be crap as always,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

So folks
    Easy question do your jobs (if ur employed) put on a Christmas party ?
    If so where and do you bother even going,
    My one is on in Croke Park this year , id say it'll be crap as always,

Will they have the nets up or will you have to stick someone behind the goal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Finger food and a couple of free pints in a local bar.

I'll go, most of the people I work with are sound.

Used to be so different back in the Celtic Tiger days with fancy meals and free bars all night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

We have a christmas lunch. For the last 5 years we've been paying ourselves though thanks to the downturn and the number of people going fell right off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

Three parties ! all free food & drink :pac: no recession over here !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Lunch. Paid for by ourselves. Small group so high probability of sitting next to the smelly person. Then back to work. Yawn.

Aglomerado wrote: »
    Lunch. Paid for by ourselves. Small group so high probability of sitting next to the smelly person. Then back to work. Yawn.

Back to workafter the lunch? Jaysus.

Although the company no longer pays for the lunch at least they get a couple of rounds in afterwards. No way anyone is going back to work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

gramar wrote: »
    Back to workafter the lunch? Jaysus.

Although the company no longer pays for the lunch at least they get a couple of rounds in afterwards. No way anyone is going back to work!

Yup. Public sector and all! I'll be getting a couple of beers in though. Feck it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I'm currently in London for mine :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭paulbok

In the UK, at the end of January. :rolleyes: unfortunately going. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭preston johnny

Our Company Christmas 'punch up' is on next Friday in Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Bah humbug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

We are not getting one!
    They don't love us enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

Free beer and meal but I'm not bothered. I see enough of these people at work with the exception of a few lads.
    People always start talking about work. I might drive so I won't be hanging around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭RedFormanFITA

Definitely getting one, it's on tonight, jaysus what a night to be holding it on, need to look out for low flying airplanes, wouldn't want a Donnie Darko happening tonight, knowing my luck.... three course meal and entertainment, paying for it ourselves.

I had a christmas party in Croke Park about 8 years ago. It was great as some people found their way onto the pitch and got stuck . 3 other people got drunk and quit the job. 4 fights broke out and the company was banned from holding anymore events there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,101 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

We pay into a social club and get x amount every year. The social club also pays for free drink for a while at retirements/transfers. I would have had a lot more for the patry if i saved the money myself. It was Dublin this year, but previous years have been Edinburgh, London and Kilkenny...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

We don't have one, just go on the Piss one of the nights

22/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

When I worked in Supervalu, the full time staff were brought for a meal and drinks, the part time staff were brought to McDonalds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No the tight arses arent having any party for us this year, we were told to go to the pub and they would give us a few drink vouchers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

mauzo! wrote: »
    When I worked in Supervalu, the full time staff were brought for a meal and drinks, the part time staff were brought to McDonalds!

Miserable fukers

22/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

Vegas!!!!

Whoooooooooooooooo

Anglo Irish Bank employee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Butterfly25

mauzo! wrote: »

I would prefer a happy meal than the crappy finger food we're getting this year!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13 bigdone

Same here, Croke Park this year ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭RedFormanFITA

As a follow on and hopefully not derailing this thread is how to survive the actual party. Heard someone a few years ago at a Christmas party saying, arrive late and depart early. Learn this off by heart and make it your mantra for Christmas parties.... unless you are totally hardcore and have a nights drinking planned out ahead of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭thebull09

We are being brought drift karting and then a night of free drink roll on friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

thebull09 wrote: »
    We are being brought drift karting and then a night of free drink roll on friday

Sounds like a good night.

Vegas!!!!

Whoooooooooooooooo

Anglo Irish Bank employee

that's big of them to pay for the chips...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Atari humbug

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

Our Company Christmas 'punch up' is on next Friday in Cork.

At the Christmas parties of two my friends last year (different companies), punch ups did actually happen. One of them involved two women. My boyfriend and some male friends I told about it seemed quite... aroused, much to my surprise? :) Seems kinda knackery to me to get into fights, so I don't think I'll ever fully understand the heterosexual male mind. :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Nope - we're paying for a few platters of food in the pub after work on Friday.

But despite paying for the 'party' out of our own pockets we did get an email around from HR effectively giving us a long list of do's and don'ts - mostly don'ts.

Don't book anything in the organisations name was top of the list and the two organisers have been asked to confirm that everything (i.e. the food) is booked in their name!!!