Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas party ??

• 13-12-2013 12:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭

So folks
    Easy question do your jobs (if ur employed) put on a Christmas party ?
    If so where and do you bother even going,
    My one is on in Croke Park this year , id say it'll be crap as always,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

So folks
    Easy question do your jobs (if ur employed) put on a Christmas party ?
    If so where and do you bother even going,
    My one is on in Croke Park this year , id say it'll be crap as always,

Will they have the nets up or will you have to stick someone behind the goal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Finger food and a couple of free pints in a local bar.

I'll go, most of the people I work with are sound.

Used to be so different back in the Celtic Tiger days with fancy meals and free bars all night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

We have a christmas lunch. For the last 5 years we've been paying ourselves though thanks to the downturn and the number of people going fell right off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

Three parties ! all free food & drink :pac: no recession over here !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Lunch. Paid for by ourselves. Small group so high probability of sitting next to the smelly person. Then back to work. Yawn.

Aglomerado wrote: »
    Lunch. Paid for by ourselves. Small group so high probability of sitting next to the smelly person. Then back to work. Yawn.

Back to workafter the lunch? Jaysus.

Although the company no longer pays for the lunch at least they get a couple of rounds in afterwards. No way anyone is going back to work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

gramar wrote: »
    Back to workafter the lunch? Jaysus.

Although the company no longer pays for the lunch at least they get a couple of rounds in afterwards. No way anyone is going back to work!

Yup. Public sector and all! I'll be getting a couple of beers in though. Feck it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I'm currently in London for mine :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,040 ✭✭✭paulbok

In the UK, at the end of January. :rolleyes: unfortunately going. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭preston johnny

Our Company Christmas 'punch up' is on next Friday in Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Bah humbug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

We are not getting one!
    They don't love us enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

Free beer and meal but I'm not bothered. I see enough of these people at work with the exception of a few lads.
    People always start talking about work. I might drive so I won't be hanging around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭RedFormanFITA

Definitely getting one, it's on tonight, jaysus what a night to be holding it on, need to look out for low flying airplanes, wouldn't want a Donnie Darko happening tonight, knowing my luck.... three course meal and entertainment, paying for it ourselves.

I had a christmas party in Croke Park about 8 years ago. It was great as some people found their way onto the pitch and got stuck . 3 other people got drunk and quit the job. 4 fights broke out and the company was banned from holding anymore events there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

We pay into a social club and get x amount every year. The social club also pays for free drink for a while at retirements/transfers. I would have had a lot more for the patry if i saved the money myself. It was Dublin this year, but previous years have been Edinburgh, London and Kilkenny...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

We don't have one, just go on the Piss one of the nights

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

When I worked in Supervalu, the full time staff were brought for a meal and drinks, the part time staff were brought to McDonalds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No the tight arses arent having any party for us this year, we were told to go to the pub and they would give us a few drink vouchers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

mauzo! wrote: »
    When I worked in Supervalu, the full time staff were brought for a meal and drinks, the part time staff were brought to McDonalds!

Miserable fukers

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

Vegas!!!!

Whoooooooooooooooo

Anglo Irish Bank employee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Butterfly25

mauzo! wrote: »

I would prefer a happy meal than the crappy finger food we're getting this year!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13 bigdone

Same here, Croke Park this year ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭RedFormanFITA

As a follow on and hopefully not derailing this thread is how to survive the actual party. Heard someone a few years ago at a Christmas party saying, arrive late and depart early. Learn this off by heart and make it your mantra for Christmas parties.... unless you are totally hardcore and have a nights drinking planned out ahead of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭thebull09

We are being brought drift karting and then a night of free drink roll on friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

thebull09 wrote: »
    We are being brought drift karting and then a night of free drink roll on friday

Sounds like a good night.

Vegas!!!!

Whoooooooooooooooo

Anglo Irish Bank employee

that's big of them to pay for the chips...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Atari humbug

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

Our Company Christmas 'punch up' is on next Friday in Cork.

At the Christmas parties of two my friends last year (different companies), punch ups did actually happen. One of them involved two women. My boyfriend and some male friends I told about it seemed quite... aroused, much to my surprise? :) Seems kinda knackery to me to get into fights, so I don't think I'll ever fully understand the heterosexual male mind. :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Nope - we're paying for a few platters of food in the pub after work on Friday.

But despite paying for the 'party' out of our own pockets we did get an email around from HR effectively giving us a long list of do's and don'ts - mostly don'ts.

Don't book anything in the organisations name was top of the list and the two organisers have been asked to confirm that everything (i.e. the food) is booked in their name!!!

Jawgap wrote: »
    Nope - we're paying for a few platters of food in the pub after work on Friday.

But despite paying for the 'party' out of our own pockets we did get an email around from HR effectively giving us a long list of do's and don'ts - mostly don'ts.

Don't book anything in the organisations name was top of the list and the two organisers have been asked to confirm that everything (i.e. the food) is booked in their name!!!

It sounds like your the compnay is ashamed to be associated with you!
    I understand companies don't want their 'good name' tarnished by unsavoury behaviour by employees but if they're not organising it or paying for it then it's not even a company party.
    It's a group of people who happen to work for the same company who
    happen to be going out together for a few pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

paulbok wrote: »
    In the UK, at the end of January. :rolleyes: unfortunately going. :(

End of January ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 drwebber

A weekend in Copenhagen with our partners in early december.

gramar wrote: »
    It sounds like your the compnay is ashamed to be associated with you!
    I understand companies don't want their 'good name' tarnished by unsavoury behaviour by employees but if they're not organising it or paying for it then it's not even a company party.
    It's a group of people who happen to work for the same company who
    happen to be going out together for a few pints.

It's a public sector organisation.

We never see our CEO from one end of the year to the next, but if we have our party on a Thursday we find we see more of him on following Friday morning than we do in the previous 6 months ;)

Still looking forward to it, though, as I'm lucky to work with some decent people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Had mine over the weekend. Good food and free drink the whole night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

I work in a bar, so at best it'll be in January on a Tuesday, as it's the best night to get cover. I won't know until the new year if we get one though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭NakedMonkey

Working in London and my CEO is known for his crazy Christmas parties.

Everything is always kept quiet and a surprise but last year the party was at the Savoy and we could bring our partners. We got to stay in the hotel for the night and our tux hire was covered by the company. Party started off with a Champagne reception, moved on to the ball room were Bond were performing on stage as we mingled and had cocktails and canapés.

Shortly afterwords we sat down for a four course meal (Had the best beef I have ever had in my life) and once we finished Frankie Boyle arrived on stage followed by a DJ. i thought there would be a DJ for the night but the last surprise of the night popped up when The Saturdays appeared on stage for a few songs followed by the DJ for the rest of the night. Even managed to get a photo with The Saturdays and me with the biggest grin on my face.

This year all we know is it's on a boat tomorrow night on the Thames but surely there will be some surprises on the night :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Yeah we had one at the weekend in the shelbourne hotel, great night but I'm sure they paid over the odds for it.
    Food and drink free? I'm there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

We normally finish early each Friday so boss says this morning we'll go for x-mas lunch in the Golf Club (yum!) early this Friday. Did the same last year, good food, few glasses of wine, relaxing and enjoyable. Only problem this year is cos I knew we finish early on Fri, me & hubbie have arrange to get on the road as soon as I finish work to visit his parents. So I will have to eat and run this year, can't even have a fecking glass of vino incase I need to take over driving (it's a 4 hour drive)! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Everything is always kept quiet and a surprise but last year the party was at the Savoy and we could bring our partners. We got to stay in the hotel for the night and our tux hire was covered by the company. Party started off with a Champagne reception, moved on to the ball room were Bond were performing on stage as we mingled and had cocktails and canapés.

Shortly afterwords we sat down for a four course meal (Had the best beef I have ever had in my life) and once we finished Frankie Boyle arrived on stage followed by a DJ. i thought there would be a DJ for the night but the last surprise of the night popped up when The Saturdays appeared on stage for a few songs followed by the DJ for the rest of the night. Even managed to get a photo with The Saturdays and me with the biggest grin on my face.

This year all we know is it's on a boat tomorrow night on the Thames but surely there will be some surprises on the night :)
    Virgin? Love Branson's argument that company parties should be tax deductable!

Ours is on Thursday night in a bar in town that I really don't like (or at least, didn't like it when I was last at a different company's do there 6/7 years ago) but the pints will be paid for and there'll be some free grub of some sort so can't complain really. It's one good thing about working for a small company: as long as we're making money, the owners take care of the bar tab on company nights out and we tend to have one once a quarter or so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭NakedMonkey

Sleepy wrote: »
    Virgin? Love Branson's argument that company parties should be tax deductable!

No, an online backup and storage company. When I was interviewing I looked up the place and I found news articles about parties he threw at Fasthosts (His old company) which were pretty spectacular. It's really good for boosting moral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

didnt go to our official one last saturday, i dont think many went to it... the stingy management wanted us all to pay €30 each for it. one of the girls in work is having an unofficial xmas party on wednesday instead. more people said they will go to this one instead, as there is no cover charge.

Back in the 80s I started work in an office here of an international firm and the local CEO threw 3 or 4 legendary parties each year. The Christmas party was always in his house in Howth in a big marquee, with a band, free booze, great spot prizes and the best of food.

You could either get a taxi home when you were done, or get the DART after breakfast.

All the wheels came off when the auditors came to town :) and it turned out he'd been misappropriating clients' funds - but at least he didn't waste it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Davyhal

Our company doesn't seem to realise that there is a recession when it comes to the Christmas Party. For years, we had a few drinks out in Limerick city with maybe 4 drinks free each. Then the last 3 years, we have had a proper ball in Dromoland Castle for all employees and their partners, with free 4 course meal and free bar until like 6 in the morning, with free buses and to Ennis, Limerick and Shannon, and discounts for people that choose to stay in the hotel. The first year, the cost was over €50,000. At the same time, they were making staff redundant... the cost of that Christmas party would have paid two entry level employees for the year with plenty to spare!

The bosses dad who started the company loves smoking cigars and every year we get a Davidoff cigar and 20 Marlboro after the lunch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

No party for me, got an extra day off which i'll use for the 30th Dec as part of the companies commitment to family time at Xmas. I prefer this a million times more than a Xmas party.