Gerry Adams : Terrorist or Freedom Fighter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Nodin wrote: »
    Wow. You must be the first person ever to go through his finances and affairs to see if he could be caught out. I'd say you should report this seeming malfeasance to the authorities.

It was all in the papers. You gave me the impression that you knew some details of his earnings as an author. Have you any figures?

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Irish-American-millionaire-Bill-Flynn-paid-for-Gerry-Adams-surgery-in-USA-190581841.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭DeadHand

What an ugly thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Courtesy Flush

People go on about the IRA's tactics as terrorism and cowardly
    When the Brits use underhand tactics they were 'covert' and 'special ops'
    Brits colluded with Loyalist groups to kill IRA man as did the RUC
    It was a dirty war, by all sides

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

It was all in the papers. You gave me the impression that you knew some details of his earnings as an author. Have you any figures?

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Irish-American-millionaire-Bill-Flynn-paid-for-Gerry-Adams-surgery-in-USA-190581841.html

I'm aware it was in the papers.

How did I do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I'm aware it was in the papers.

How did I do that?

Elaborate on this you wrote earlier.

You do realise that he's also a very successful author who has sold hundreds of thousands of copies of the 20+ books he has written?

If you tell me how many hundreds of thousands books he sold I might be able to estimate how much he made.

Elaborate on this you wrote earlier.

You do realise that he's also a very successful author who has sold hundreds of thousands of copies of the 20+ books he has written?

If you tell me how many hundreds of thousands books he sold I might be able to estimate how much he made.

Well if I had written it, I'd be glad to, but you'd really want to get onto yer man who did.

Sorry, I got you mixed up with URL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

What makes you say that?

Such a bitter and parochial mindset you have. Just because he accepts an AIW for the work he does as TD, you ignorantly assume that he couldn't possibly have any other legitimate source of income... :rolleyes:

Yep, he acknowledges his brother Liam the convicted paedophile in one of the recent ones, the brother he said he had no dealings with.

Jaysus, Gerry really has built up a cult status, I'm surprised that things like the above didn't change opinions about him for many, and people go on about FF and FG diehards!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Ex PM John Major made some statement, is he credible. Just putting one up to the problem makers. I would like to hear what FF has to say about his comments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Ex PM John Major made some statement, is he credible. Just putting one up to the problem makers. I would like to hear what FF has to say about his comments.

I'd like to hear what the Dalai Lama has to say about Buster Bloodvessels " when I go to bed I have wet dream" has as much relevance to this thread.

K-9 wrote: »
    Yep, he acknowledges his brother Liam the convicted paedophile in one of the recent ones, the brother he said he had no dealings with.

Jaysus, Gerry really has built up a cult status, I'm surprised that things like the above didn't change opinions about him for many, and people go on about FF and FG diehards!

O I think he should go, allright. Most of the anti-Gerry crowd here want him out because of the armed struggle, and would like SF gone too, for reasons entirely unrelated to his niece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Why?

Do you really think he wasn't being protected?

I haven't read the full statement but from the bit quoted earlier, it's hardly a shocking revelation! His life was at risk long before the peace process silly, and he's the wounds to prove it!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

I haven't read the full statement but from the bit quoted earlier, it's hardly a shocking revelation! His life was at risk long before the peace process silly, and he's the wounds to prove it!

For a successor of the wicked witch to admit, to say that, is some statement.
    He was accepting they were a legitimate foe.

This is part of what Major said.

"Let me now say something that may surprise you. Throughout the process, I was acutely conscious that IRA leaders were taking a risk, too: if Albert [Reynolds] and I upset our supporters we might – as Albert put it, be 'kicked out'. That was true but the IRA's supporters were more deadly than our backbench colleagues. And their leaders were taking a risk too, possibly with their own lives," the former PM said.

He must have thought he was less of a target for the IRA than Thatcher, Neave and Gow had been.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭whats the point

I think you guys, have more dangerous things to be thinking about, rather than was Gerry Adams in the IRA or not.
    These guys are your new enemy :pac:

For a successor of the wicked witch to admit, to say that, is some statement.

Was Major in power when Downings Street was attacked?

I don't think he's accepting they were a legitimate foe, he did that by entering talks with them!

It's a very stupid statement, stands up to no analysis whatsoever, sounds good though, so a typical politicians speech.

It's a stupid thing to say the more I think about it. Adams was always more at risk than any British PM or Taoiseach, the peace process didn't change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,397 ✭✭✭golfball37

I'd like to hear what the Dalai Lama has to say about Buster Bloodvessels " when I go to bed I have wet dream" has as much relevance to this thread.

You think the opinion of a former prime minister carries less weight than anonymous posters on this thread?? Of course Majors comments are relevant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

They were a foe within the United Kingdom that had to be delt with in one way or another. Mrs Thatch's approach was to try and squash them, but that proved impossible because they (the IRA) were entertwined within the wider population, so she couldn't use all out warfare. Major's approach was more pragmatic, and talkie talkie/negotiation style, "lets see if talking will help", and in the end the talking did help, and the rest is history.

I think you guys, have more dangerous things to be thinking about, rather than was Gerry Adams in the IRA or not.

No, they aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Those particular chaps don't appear to be a danger to anyone but themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 lightbulbs

newbie2013 wrote: »
    he is a legend for what he's done for the irish people and sickens me at how hes treated in the 26 counties.

Have some respect for our country and call it by its name. I never understood this "26 counties" crap. Do you call Canada the 6 provinces? Do you call Australia the 6 states?

Was Major in power when Downings Street was attacked?

I don't think he's accepting they were a legitimate foe, he did that by entering talks with them!

It's a very stupid statement, stands up to no analysis whatsoever, sounds good though, so a typical politicians speech.

It's a stupid thing to say the more I think about it. Adams was always more at risk than any British PM or Taoiseach, the peace process didn't change that.

The attempt failed. But the fact that it nearly succeeded left British government and security officials badly shaken. Security, always tight around the prime minister, had been doubled recently because of the Persian Gulf war. Nevertheless, someone managed to park an old Ford panel truck on Whitehall, the boulevard between Trafalgar Square and Parliament where Britain`s government offices are located, and fled on a motorbike. Eight minutes later, the truck`s roof flew off. Three mortars, apparently triggered by remote control, were launched southeast toward No. 10 Downing Street, about 200 yards away. Then the truck burst into flames.

One mortar landed in the walled back garden of No. 10, the prime minister`s official home and office.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja&ved=0CDAQFjAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Farticles.chicagotribune.com%2F1991-02-08%2Fnews%2F9101120379_1_mortar-ira-british-cabinet&ei=CEyqUuHmBc7Q7Abn04A4&usg=AFQjCNF7p4ZFezpeyfCWCEuyOqE6Wymv0g&bvm=bv.57967247,d.ZGU

It exploded 50 feet from where Major and his top Cabinet officials were meeting to discuss the gulf war.

By the way I do not have to google this sort of thing, I followed what happened during those years, I put the link in, because in case the angry younger well off generation do not realize what took place in those years.
    A protected species.

The attempt failed. But the fact that it nearly succeeded left British government and security officials badly shaken. Security, always tight around the prime minister, had been doubled recently because of the Persian Gulf war. Nevertheless, someone managed to park an old Ford panel truck on Whitehall, the boulevard between Trafalgar Square and Parliament where Britain`s government offices are located, and fled on a motorbike. Eight minutes later, the truck`s roof flew off. Three mortars, apparently triggered by remote control, were launched southeast toward No. 10 Downing Street, about 200 yards away. Then the truck burst into flames.

One mortar landed in the walled back garden of No. 10, the prime minister`s official home and office.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja&ved=0CDAQFjAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Farticles.chicagotribune.com%2F1991-02-08%2Fnews%2F9101120379_1_mortar-ira-british-cabinet&ei=CEyqUuHmBc7Q7Abn04A4&usg=AFQjCNF7p4ZFezpeyfCWCEuyOqE6Wymv0g&bvm=bv.57967247,d.ZGU

It exploded 50 feet from where Major and his top Cabinet officials were meeting to discuss the gulf war.

By the way I do not have to google this sort of thing, I followed what happened during those years, I put the link in, because in case the angry younger well off generation do not realize what took place in those years.
    A protected species.

Yep, I remember reading that Thatcher was saved by the miners strike of all things in the Brighton bombing. Security was worried about protests getting into the hotel so moved her further up, thus probably saving her life or injury. Imagine what would have happened then?

It's mad thinking about it now.

LordSutch wrote: »
    They were a foe within the United Kingdom that had to be delt with in one way or another. Mrs Thatch's approach was to try and squash them, but that proved impossible because they (the IRA) were entertwined within the wider population, so she couldn't use all out warfare. Major's approach was more pragmatic, and talkie talkie/negotiation style, "lets see if talking will help", and in the end the talking did help, and the rest is history.

Good night Sutch. Sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭whats the point

No, they aren't.

Can you say that with 100% guarantee Nodin?

Yep, I remember reading that Thatcher was saved by the miners strike of all things in the Brighton bombing. Security was worried about protests getting into the hotel so moved her further up, thus probably saving her life or injury. Imagine what would have happened then?

It's mad thinking about it now.

The bomb was supposed to be under her bath according to reports, if she had stomach problems that would have been the end of the WW. How could the IRA have known what room she would have been in. Collusion is the word today. What was the deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

I would say all provos were Freedom Fighters but for their indiscriminate killing of innocent people. Any hope a terrorist has of receiving the Freedom Fighter badge of honour goes down the pan when you are willing to put a bomb under a table in a packed pub and walk out the door.

As with all fights in life, the prize must be worth more than what you're willing to sacrifice. When the latter starts to outweigh the former, you've lost the fight and now who gets what has got fcuk all to do with winning and losing.