Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,536 ✭✭✭✭L-M

colm_mcm wrote: »
    They did a nice greyish light blue, did the do the blue from the coupe too?

I can't believe I'm talking about Astra G paint colours....

enjoy-the-little-things.jpg

:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I can't believe I'm talking about Astra G paint colours....
    I remember looking at one for my second car. I actually liked it quiet a bit and coming from a NA 1.7D Combo I felt the 1.4 was pretty peppy in them.

The father stepped in at the last minute when I was choosing between the Astra and a Stilo to stop in pending madness and offered me his Avensis at a price I couldn't refuse.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Lads

Need a bit of advice here, my mechanic who disagress with my bushing needing replacing has gone awol, not like him I reckon either him or his missus are sick, he's a one man band, have dropped in the last three days and he's not around.

He wanted my car in tomorrow after I checked in with him about parts Monday, but I haven't been able to.

NCT is Friday night, do I crawl under the car, remove the chalk marks and chance my arm or hope mechanic is back and in touch tomorrow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Stheno wrote: »
    Lads

Need a bit of advice here, my mechanic who disagress with my bushing needing replacing has gone awol, not like him I reckon either him or his missus are sick, he's a one man band, have dropped in the last three days and he's not around.

He wanted my car in tomorrow after I checked in with him about parts Monday, but I haven't been able to.

NCT is Friday night, do I crawl under the car, remove the chalk marks and chance my arm or hope mechanic is back and in touch tomorrow?

Chance your arm, if not i can give you the number of a guy i use from time to time, he's good, and he comes out to you! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Lads

Remove the chalk marks and hope your mechanic ain't gone AWOL.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Scortho wrote: »
    Remove the chalk marks and hope your mechanic ain't gone AWOL.

He's had a bout of very bad health recently and is usually as dependable as can be, so I'm not only concerned about my car, but about him (moreso him if that makes sense?)

Can I crawl under the gtv enough to get rid of the chalk without a ramp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Mates car got broken into for the third time in 2 years the other night :mad:. They didn't get it going lucky enough. Fcuking scum at it all the time. Get a schoda says I:pac:, new quick release steering wheel says he :).

Probably still won't keep them away:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

He's had a bout of very bad health recently and is usually as dependable as can be, so I'm not only concerned about my car, but about him (moreso him if that makes sense?)

Can I crawl under the gtv enough to get rid of the chalk without a ramp?

Where is the mark?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Anybody here have much experience with the Mk3 1.8 Mondeo petrol's ? Plenty of them on Donedeal, and cheaper then the majority of Focus's around the same age.

Is fuel consumption as bad as some make them out to be ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Tragedy

Probably a long shot, but is anyone else on the 2:30am ferry to Dublin from Holyhead?

Picked up a car and bored off my tits on the ferry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

finally got a courtesy car earlier, 2012 astra gtc :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Anybody here have much experience with the Mk3 1.8 Mondeo petrol's ? Plenty of them on Donedeal, and cheaper then there majority of Focus's around the same age.

Is fuel consumption as bad as some make them out to be ?

My father has one and I've driven it a bit. Drives well, surprisingly good handling and not a bad place to sit either. I didn't find it thirsty at all but then again I'm used to driving bigger yokes. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

finally got a courtesy car earlier, 2012 astra gtc :D

Great choice sir:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Great choice sir:p

I'd keep the courtesy car :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Tragedy wrote: »
    Probably a long shot, but is anyone else on the 2:30am ferry to Dublin from Holyhead?

Picked up a car and bored off my tits on the ferry

Did you buy it then?

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Did you buy it then?

There was a service folder with 40 pages of meticulously filed receipts and it had just had £1000 spent on new clutch, dmf and slave/master cylinder so seened rude not to.

It's also the quietest cdti I've ever been in, can't hear any engine noise at 70mph which is soothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Is it an Opel of some sort?

It's an extremely boring rover 75 diesel to get up and down the country for the next year and (hopefully) save up enough money for something interesting.

After driving the girlfriends MG ZR and my housemates 1.4 Beetle for most of the the last year, even a fecking Rover 75 feels special - a sad indictment of how far I've fallen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

They're great cars in fairness. We've had one from new (13 going on 14 years). With 1k just spent on it you'd be rude not to is right, they're barely getting much more than that.

Tragedy wrote: »
    It's an extremely boring rover 75 diesel to get up and down the country for the next year and (hopefully) save up enough money for something interesting.

After driving the girlfriends MG ZR and my housemates 1.4 Beetle for most of the the last year, even a fecking Rover 75 feels special - a sad indictment of how far I've fallen.

Nothing wrong with an MG ZR :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Nothing wrong with an MG ZR :D

And if the Head Gasket is not gone yet then thats an added extra

I'm basing what I say on the one I had. Not one thing wrong with it mechanically. Only problem I ever had with it was a leaky sunroof.

Indeed. Incredibly chuckable and the engine is wonderful for a 14 year old 1.4, always happy to hit the limiter.

However, a 3 and a 1/2 hour trip to Kerry and Cork every couple of weekends isnt enjoyable in it!

Hers has needed nothing other than a new rocker cover gasket and inlet manifold gasket, and the engine is shockingly easy to work on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Aestivalis

Went out and sorta washed mine and my mothers cars today. didnt really use any soap or anything, just a circular brush and a hose. Got all the thick layers of muck off the cars at least!

The joys of standing out in the wind and mist getting drenched and covered in muck. Because it was already wet outside I didnt care if the hose soaked me.

Maybe I'm just mad but an unemployed man has to find some way to keep himself occupied, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Learn how to detail, that'll use up a lot of your time.
    Sounds like you've set two cars up for a serious paint correction already. :p

Aestivalis wrote: »
    Went out and sorta washed mine and my mothers cars today. didnt really use any soap or anything, just a circular brush and a hose.

Oh be the motherfookendamnedbabyjesusandalltheangelsandsaintsinheaven :eek::eek::eek:

Or as all the cool kids are doing these days:

So scratch
    Many polish
    Wow
    So doge
    Much d/a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Prepare yourself; I've used fairy liquid in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Aestivalis

Ah jaysis lads! I meant one of these yokeys http://www.swelluk.com/img/shop/original/hozelock_long_rotating_car_brush_2_2607.jpg

Didnt know what else to call em!

Aestivalis wrote: »
    Ah jaysis lads! I meant one of these yokeys http://www.swelluk.com/img/shop/original/hozelock_long_rotating_car_brush_2_2607.jpg

Didnt know what else to call em!

Yep, your argument is null and void. I wouldn't use that yoke on a scrapped car.
    Mycroft H wrote: »

TomMc has discredited the whole "fairy liquid is the devil" argument and he did it very well.

We'll let you off ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Mycroft H wrote: »

25.gif