Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

M1? Green dayyyysel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

pajor wrote: »
    That the one up behind the actual Kings Inn?

Nah i don't think it's that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Huge Garda checkpoint on the M1 between Lusk & Swords. It's on the actual motorway apparently, 40+ Garda, anyone see it?

I passed through one in Roscrea today, only the second I have seen since I bought the car 2 years ago.

I have finally found my latest 'rattle' its the upper control arm that was changed in July, its gone again:eek: (only 10k on it)
    Luckily enough the lads at George Daltons are getting me a replacement under warranty:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

pred racer wrote: »
    I passed through one in Roscrea today, only the second I have seen since I bought the car 2 years ago.

I have finally found my latest 'rattle' its the upper control arm that was changed in July, its gone again:eek: (only 10k on it)
    Luckily enough the lads at George Daltons are getting me a replacement under warranty:)

Myself and dgt (well mainly dgt) basically stopped my entire suspension at the weekend, except for the arbs.
    While at the rear there was a worn drop link, the rattle coming from the front is still there!:(
    Think and hope it's the heat shield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Scortho wrote: »
    Myself and dgt (well mainly dgt) basically stopped my entire suspension at the weekend, except for the arbs.
    While at the rear there was a worn drop link, the rattle coming from the front is still there!:(

If you get under the car and tap around the Exhaust you should be able to find if its the heat shield. Hose clamping it seems to be the main way to fix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

If you get under the car and tap around the Exhaust you should be able to find if its the heat shield.

There's two on mine. The front one is fairly rattly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Scortho wrote: »

In mine it was the inner bushings on the upper control arm, very little movement on it, quite difficult to diagnose, but it rattles like fook over small sharp bumps.

I hope the drivers side one doesnt do the same, it was changed 2 weeks later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,296 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It's not a type R so the centre is red though. Not a fan of lexus lights but they're not that big...

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It's not a type R so the centre is red though. Not a fan of lexus lights but they're not that big...

Get the black ones then, that whole red/black game going on, that way they set in with the car and set off the red

That's the way I was thinking. Or I could get the OE ones from the type arr/facelift...
    Can't decide.

dvi4.jpg

That's the way I was thinking. Or I could get the OE ones from the type arr/facelift...
    Can't decide.

dvi4.jpg

Well if it's the way you were thinking go for it, like im planning on getting new indicator lenses for my car, i've no idea how they'l fit in with it, but i'm gona chance it anyways
    Here they are

$(KGrHqZHJFcFJLk5VZHwBSTY!P6e+g~~60_12.JPG

What car are they for ^

opel astra

Are those side repeaters? What year is the astra?

Yep they are, it's a 01 why?

Cos the later Astras have black as opposed to the earlier silver headlights, they'd match up nicely.
    If you don't have the later lights you should get some. Same with rear lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

What a busy two bloody weeks at work. Nearly at the end of it thank God.

In other news the Vectra has continued to go from strength to strength (and defy the odds) and this evening all dash board lights are now functioning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Cos the later Astras have black as opposed to the earlier silver headlights, they'd match up nicely.

Yeah them headlights are lovely looking in the astra's, kind of gives an evil look or something, an evil astra :):rolleyes:

I know the ones, i've been after them since forever, can't seem to get a decent set for pennies :pac: some day though!

Surely the scrapyards are full of Astras with wrecked engines :D

yeah! and all the feckin bits i want are gone! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,536 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Those facelifted (04ish) Astra's were very subtle, but a massive improvement IMO>

They were, had cruise control and all, if i had the time i'd try retrofit aircon and cruise control, a guy over on astra owners is doing it seems handy enough :)

Yeah, colour coding on the handles, new colours etc. traded in one of the last saloons (njoy model I think) and it looked reasonably modern with the updates they did.

I wouldn't go ploughing big money/effort into an 01 astra though.

Yeah, colour coding on the handles, new colours etc. traded in one of the last saloons (njoy model I think) and it looked reasonably modern with the updates they did.

That's the on the list for mine, to get rid of all the dull plasticy crap and color code it, got the door times so far and they turned out alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,536 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I wouldn't go ploughing big money/effort into an 01 astra though.

Wasn't there a nice navy metallic they brought out.

They did a nice greyish light blue, did the do the blue from the coupe too?

I can't believe I'm talking about Astra G paint colours....

They did a nice greyish light blue, did the do the blue from the coupe too?

I can't believe I'm talking about Astra G paint colours....

I never thought i'd see the day i'd be having a proper discussion about astras