Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Came across a few lads at it too.Id love to of went with a half bag of urea last week and slurry this week but it aint worth the risk,Some nosey ****e of a neighbour or passer by could land u right in it.Perfect weather for it though.Talking to one lad earlier in the week and got his final 50% of sfp on friday so he now feels its worth taking the chance.Calendar farming ,You got to love it
    ah it makes sense to someone im sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭joe man utd

Muckit wrote: »
    Best of luck with op joe

It general anaesthetic? Are you fasting?

ya having a general anaesthetic.. they are going in under my skin above my ear to realign the cheekbone and then are going up through my mouth to plate it.. will be black and blue after it he said im fasting from midnight onwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

ya having a general anaesthetic.. they are going in under my skin above my ear to realign the cheekbone and then are going up through my mouth to plate it.. will be black and blue after it he said im fasting from midnight onwards.

Somebody order that man a 16" pizza from somewhere:D:D:D:D. What would they do if you came in, in an ambulance needing the same job along with other jobs asap? wait for you to have fasted for an indeterminate period? I don't get the fasting bit at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Somebody order that man a 16" pizza from somewhere:D:D:D:D. What would they do if you came in, in an ambulance needing the same job along with other jobs asap? wait for you to have fasted for an indeterminate period? I don't get the fasting bit at all.

The anesthetic can make people very sick and if you have the tube down your throat you can choke.
    I always have a crappy reaction to it:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I was talking to a farmer that was feeding maize meal (yellow meal might be another name for it). What exactly is this. Is it the cob of maize milled down to nearly dust and dried?

Cornmeal. It's normally mixed into other ration I think. I could be corrected on that though.

Also used to make polenta which is awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Cornmeal. It's normally mixed into other ration I think. I could be corrected on that though.

Awesome for what?

I had to Google polenta. ... looks like scrambled egg. Is It awesome for the constitution

Is it the whole plant or just the cob? I presume its just the cob

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Awesome for what?

To eat! It's Italian originally. It also kills ants naturally but I can't explain how that works.

I had to Google polenta. ... looks like scrambled egg. Is It awesome for the constitution

Is it the whole plant or just the cob? I presume its just the cob

I can't answer either of those but it's called maize meal or cornmeal in shops.
    Tastes pretty nice as it can be fried in cakes.
    Yalla meal as it's called here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

its just the grains taken of the maize cob. the green part of the plant is left in the field. Its the biggest cattle feed there is, its all coming from abroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

I can't answer either of those but it's called maize meal or cornmeal in shops.
    Tastes pretty nice as it can be fried in cakes.
    Yalla meal as it's called here.

Ah I have you now. The old man used be on abt it. How the women would bake with it back in the day if they were stuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭adne

Also called engine meal in some parts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭mayota

adne wrote: »
    Also called engine meal in some parts

Should be 'Indian'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

No I think he's right. We used to play cowboys and engines when we were ickle

Hahaha Muckit! Wasn't it the stuff that was shipped over during the famine as relief food too, then they cooked it like porridge and obv it wasn't cooked properly so it made them ill. Or am I reading too much cr*p:P

Jumping down off a wall earlier and caught my shoulder off a nail in it. Now I have a lovely 4 inch cut down it. Fcuk it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Hahaha Muckit! Wasn't it the stuff that was shipped over during the famine as relief food too, then they cooked it like porridge and obv it wasn't cooked properly so it made them ill. Or am I reading too much cr*p:P

Jumping down off a wall earlier and caught my shoulder off a nail in it. Now I have a lovely 4 inch cut down it. Fcuk it anyway.

Ouch

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Ouch

Bandage, TCP and silage tape. Be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

That cat has multiple uses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Iodine

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Iodine

The only iodine we have is in the cattle shed waiting for calving:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

Its still iodine, Do you need a shot or are you up to date.

Jaysus kovu, but your my type of woman ;-)

dzer2 wrote: »
    Its still iodine, Do you need a shot or are you up to date.

Got one when I was working with the vet, 5 yrs ago so thats ok yea?

Shush Darragh, you'll scare off bob!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Jaysus kovu, but your my type of woman ;-)

careful darragh, last man who declared his undying love for Kovu has disappeared

BTW what have ya done with quadboy

hugo29 wrote: »
    careful darragh, last man who declared his undying love for Kovu has disappeared

BTW what have ya done with quadboy

See above:D:D

hugo29 wrote: »

Calm down, calm down! Who said anything about undying love. That kinda talk would put me running...........

Ps. I hope my fiance hasn't joined boards recently

See above:D:D

what bob has him in a shed in limerick

Calm down, calm down! Who said anything about undying love. That kinda talk would put me running...........

Ps. I hope my fiance hasn't joined boards recently

she has post 5367 above, ur fcuked:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

jesus what is it with you and self harm :rolleyes: