Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is Eddie Rockets always seen as so expensive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭hedgehog21

Duck Soup wrote: »
    It's the same food as you'd get in any chipper at twice the price of the chipper. It's not like the 'gourmet burger' places with exotic toppings; just bog standard beef, onions and mayo. There's very little to justify the higher prices.

Having said that, I think that even the gourmet burger places are starting to struggle, as customers look at a burger with a tears-of-baby-unicorn topping for €15 and say "It's just a burger, FFS."
    Ah now chippers arent known for their decent size burgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

the_syco wrote: »
    This. They market themselves as a fast food diner, which in Ireland we see as a fast food takeaway, and thus see Eddies as an overpriced chipper.

Joels on the Naas Road used to be better, but not so much anymore.

The one thing I dislike about Eddies is having to tell them that I want real cheese. And have to do so every time. The fake cheese is disgusting!

=-=

Nothing. Close. To. Ricks Burgers, though!

=-=

I sometimes pass by Cavan on the N3 on the way to Fermanagh; is it near the N3 at all? May pop in for "half-way snack" :D

You mean the muck they put on their fries from a can is the same colour as an amber traffic light. :pac:
    Food is defo a bit over priced in ER. I find myself having to check my receipt every time now, because of staff not entering combo meals correctly and trying to charge for each item seperately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

hedgehog21 wrote: »
    Ah now chippers arent known for their decent size burgers.

a place near me that does a burger, it's bun->1/4 pounder->bun->1/4 pounder->bun->1/4 pounder->bun.

and it is mahoosive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

You mean the muck they put on their fries from a can is the same colour as an amber traffic light. :pac:
    Yup. Disgusting. I ask for cheese, I expect grated cheese, not some crap from a can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

Thats paprika yee mad bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

Ush1 wrote: »
    I think Nandos is a step up from both Eddie Rockets and McDonalds.

Fast food for the merchant classes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

The Kylemore on O'Connell Street always gets my business :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,490 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Fast food for the merchant classes

It's certainly fast food but it's nicer fast food than Eddie Rockets and McDonalds IMO.

Ush1 wrote: »
    It's certainly fast food but it's nicer fast food than Eddie Rockets and McDonalds IMO.

Pity the portion sizes are pitiful and the prices extortionate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Jo Burger has pretty much ruined all other burger places in Ireland for me.

Jaysus I could murder a Lamb Zondi right about now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,839 ✭✭✭billie1b

SV wrote: »

€26 for a full chicken, 2 sides and bottomless drinks, €13 per two people, cheaper than Eddie Rockets and much better quality of food. I always find the portions in Nandos bigger than Rockets, also fresher and tastier

billie1b wrote: »
    €26 for a full chicken, 2 sides and bottomless drinks, €13 per two people, cheaper than Eddie Rockets and much better quality of food. I always find the portions in Nandos bigger than Rockets, also fresher and tastier

They say a full chicken and it sounds good but it's absolutely tiny. Definitely less than 1kg.
    Also the 2 sides? both of them together counts as one small-medium sized in any other restaurant.
    the bottomless drinks is good but apart from that it's shocking.

Can't argue with the food quality, however like stated you pay for it, big time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Burgers are nice and that, but I'd love to have a Greggs Bakery in Ireland :p

nocoverart wrote: »
    Burgers are nice and that, but I'd love to have a Greggs Bakery in Ireland :p

best thing ever. I'd love to see them move over here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,490 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I find the portions better and the price more reasonable than Eddie Rockets. If you have a loyalty card you often do get free half and full chickens.

Haven't been in quite a while though so things might be different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,839 ✭✭✭billie1b

They say a full chicken and it sounds good but it's absolutely tiny. Definitely less than 1kg.
    Also the 2 sides? both of them together counts as one small-medium sized in any other restaurant.
    the bottomless drinks is good but apart from that it's shocking.

Can't argue with the food quality, however like stated you pay for it, big time!

I dunno, for €15 in Rockets you only get a chicken brest on a bun with a bowl of fried, for €13 in Nandos you get half a chicken and large fries. My wife an I always ask for our fries on separate plates when ordering the full chicken meal, its usually double the portion of what you get in Rockets. Just my view on it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

dont get me started on that nandos ****e.

myself and herself went few weeks back, both ordered chicken fillet burgers. what came out was one chicken fillet, butterflied into two to make both our burgers. thin piece of ****.

****in **** wont be getting my business again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

copeyhagen wrote: »
    dont get me started on that nandos ****e.

myself and herself went few weeks back, both ordered chicken fillet burgers. what came out was one chicken fillet, butterflied into two to make both our burgers. thin piece of ****.

****in **** wont be getting my business again.

Rookie mistake...should have gone half chicken, or a wrap! They're delish!

Can't beat free refills either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Rookie mistake...should have gone half chicken, or a wrap! They're delish!

Can't beat free refills either.

I got the wrap once, 12/13 quid for a wrap consisting of 75% lettuce and about 3 small pieces of chicken, came with a bowl with one scoop of mash and a drink, Genuinely felt like I had been mugged. Will never go back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Not only is Nandos wildly over priced but the food is genuinely sheit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

I'd love some bacon cheese fries and chicken wings now.

Eddie rockets near me delivers too.

Think that's dinner sorted for tonight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I like Eddie Rockets but it still feels like 'fast food'. You can sit down and eat at

If my wife and I go to Eddie Rockets for dinner it'll cost us ~€25.
    Super Macs will cost us ~€15
    McDonalds will cost us ~€15
    Subway will cost us ~€12
    Apache will cost us ~€12
    Star Pizza (best deal in Dublin IMHO) will cost us €10!

Compared to the fast-food type places we go Eddie Rockets is a lot more expensive, but neither of us think it is better.

Compared to sit-down type places, it's as expensive, but the dining experience is worse. No alcohol, and the place always seems to be filled with loud children. I'd rather go to the place down the road - it's quiet, rarely any children, menu is comparable, and I can get a drink and look up at the game.

We do Eddie Rocket's Delivery every now and then, but it's double what we'd pay for other delivery meals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Gunner90

UCDVet wrote: »
    I like Eddie Rockets but it still feels like 'fast food'. You can sit down and eat at

If my wife and I go to Eddie Rockets for dinner it'll cost us ~€25.
    Super Macs will cost us ~€15
    McDonalds will cost us ~€15
    Subway will cost us ~€12
    Apache will cost us ~€12
    Star Pizza (best deal in Dublin IMHO) will cost us €10!

Compared to the fast-food type places we go Eddie Rockets is a lot more expensive, but neither of us think it is better.

Compared to sit-down type places, it's as expensive, but the dining experience is worse. No alcohol, and the place always seems to be filled with loud children. I'd rather go to the place down the road - it's quiet, rarely any children, menu is comparable, and I can get a drink and look up at the game.

We do Eddie Rocket's Delivery every now and then, but it's double what we'd pay for other delivery meals.
    Thats good!! Any time i ever go to eddie rockets with the Girlfriend, ends up costing at least €40!! Over rated IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭paulbok

I'd love some bacon cheese fries and chicken wings now.

Eddie rockets near me delivers too.

Think that's dinner sorted for tonight!

Don't do that.

I like the food in Eddies, but it doesn't travel well.

I'd have it delivered a few times from different branches and it's never nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

paulbok wrote: »
    Don't do that.

Always do it and never any problems and tastes the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

paulbok wrote: »
    Don't do that.

I live about 2 minutes from an Eddie Rockets - and yeah - agree 100% The burgers are still pretty good, but the fries are really bad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭hungry hippo 4

because it rhymes with empty pockets. Were begrudgers, only happy when having a moan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,383 ✭✭✭✭noodler

The beef pattie in a ER Classic Burger pretty much dwarves what you would get in an equivalent McDs, BK or local chipper.

Its not even close, its 2X/3X times as thick.

Again, Classic Combo mean (Drink, dries and Classic Burger) for 9.75 is not expensive.

A crap Extra Value meal in McDs costs the guts of 8 and the guts og 9 if you want to supersize.

Granted you may feel the need to leave a euro tip at Eddies for a 9.75 meal but its still optional.

kfc is right next door to rockin joes as that's what is called now and its cheaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,238 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

mdwexford wrote: »
    It's not the same standard of burger.

Look at them and taste them and they are in no way comparable.

Eddie Rockets burger is just mince beef formed into a patty then thrown on a hotplate. You can do the same at home in a frying pan. Most takeaway burgers can be created at home too as the patty is just standard beef burgers.

But thats the thing... standard. Its just a preference of which do you like better. It's not like there is such a difference as say some cheap €5 euro bottle of wine and a €200 euro bottle.