Most demeaning first-world jobs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I'll add TV licence inspectors to the list, and also those paid to post incognito on social media to further the aims of government.
    The government shills should just shoot themselves now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Pai Mei

Actually a chugger came by recently. I'm living in a student village and they went around the whole village. One of them was old the other was not much older than me. Didn't think they would come after a village residence which is full of 1st years :L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

PopRocks wrote: »
    You have to feel a bit bad for the chuggers. Most the ones you see are very young people, probably just out of school or college. They're told they're doing vital work and actually helping people, out in all kinds of weather all day on their feet. Wouldn't fancy it.

Are you playing on our heartstrings on behalf of the charities that play on our heartstrings? Because that'd be the square root of the world's smallest violin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 PopRocks

I just wouldn't personally hold it against them. I won't sign up to charities that use them, but I wouldn't hold it against the young and naive either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 PopRocks

Saying that though, I find the ones who take advantage of old or vulnerable people discusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

PopRocks wrote: »
    You have to feel a bit bad for the chuggers. Most the ones you see are very young people, probably just out of school or college. They're told they're doing vital work and actually helping people, out in all kinds of weather all day on their feet. Wouldn't fancy it.

Some of my mates have worked as chuggers.
    Do they think they're doing it to help people...do they ****. They do it for the cash, plain and simple. It's not out of some misplaced altruism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Terry1985 wrote: »
    I don't like my doorstep used as an advertising platform for multi million Euro companies... same goes for text spam on my personal phone.

If you tolerate it, I guarantee it will get worse.

Cold calling is illegal in parts of the UK.
    That's my point - I don't tolerate it; I just close the door before they get started. I'm not into screaming abuse at easy targets. It's a sh1t job but it's probably accepted by a lot of them as a desperate way to get off the dole. Doubt they last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭jantheman91

Some of my mates have worked as chuggers.
    Do they think they're doing it to help people...do they ****. They do it for the cash, plain and simple. It's not out of some misplaced altruism.

I find that pretty disgusting to be honest.

I've no job at the moment and am in the process of looking to do volunteer work. All I care about is doing what I can to help those less fortunate than me.

All charity workers aren't the same. Put down your tar brush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Ninap

Those chaps who try to hand you a paper towel in the jacks in the hope you'll give em a euro; that's pretty demeaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Chuggers.

Generally viewed as worse than beggars by the public

That's because they are worse. Beggars by and large are nowhere near as invasive as the fuckers waving their clipboard at you from half a mile down the street and actively blocking your path.

I really really wish chuggers were banned from the streets of our towns and cities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

I find that pretty disgusting to be honest.

I've no job at the moment and am in the process of looking to do volunteer work. All I care about is doing what I can to help those less fortunate than me.

All charity workers aren't the same. Put down your tar brush.

Reread what I said. People I know who've been chuggers, haven't done it for the feelgood factor. And I wouldn't count chuggers as charity workers - they aren't volunteers if they are getting paid. For sure, you run into some on the streets that are unpaid, but this is a job to people.

Next time actually read what I said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

It has to be customer service/call centre jobs. Listening to whiny self-important ***** all day on a salary just above minimum wage. Thank **** my days in that sector are long behind me now but I can't imagine a worse job.

Ninap wrote: »
    Those chaps who try to hand you a paper towel in the jacks in the hope you'll give em a euro; that's pretty demeaning.

Demeaning to whom? I don't frequent places where that happens, but if I did I'd cringe at the intrusion.

Muise... wrote: »
    Demeaning to whom? I don't frequent places where that happens, but if I did I'd cringe at the intrusion.
    Twould be more of a Dublin cocktail bar, wine bar, nightclub kinda thing. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Pai Mei

Twould be more of a Dublin thing. :)

They are everywhere in Limerick Nite Clubs :L it's horrible especially when there are so many drunk students in the bathroom at once and then this guy keeps shoving paper towels and Linx in your face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Pai Mei wrote: »
    They are everywhere in Limerick Nite Clubs :L it's horrible especially when there are so many drunk students in the bathroom at once and then this guy keeps shoving paper towels and Linx in your face.

Have to say I've gone beyond feeling awkward in there, happily wash my hands ask to use the hand dryer and go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Chuggers get paid relatively well compared to beggars, and it is seen as a rite of passage for many sales-persons. If climbing a ladder is demeaning then what isn't?

Customer_Service reps are well trained to deal with shíte. It is a handy number, compared to any job involving dealing with the public.

Cleaners do a job that is not very time-consuming and many choose to do it because it affords freedom of time for other things such as family or whatever.

No, the people I feel most sorry for are those professionals who start off with the best intentions in the world, and bust their holes to make a difference and then find that they and their dreams are consumed by the cruel realities of power:

Solicitors, judges, gardai, and prison officers in the realm of law; to see society go to pot because an invisible hand dictates lunatic policy in favour of the perpetrator against the victim.

Councillors and TDs in the realm of politics, same thing, different nouns. And the unfettered approbation that goes with it.

Accountants and actuaries, bankers and financiers: to know in your heart of hearts that your profession is no better than that of a hungover punter eyeing horses in a parade ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭roadrunner16

Chuggers.

Generally viewed as worse than beggars by the public

the only thing worse than getting plagued by a chugger .. being a chugger.. I was one for a short summer and my god it was the most horrible mind numbing work .. sometimes it payed around minimum wage, purely commision based and some days it was the worst and most disgusting job in the world, stuck out in the cold/rain making less than half minimum wage.

Knowing that every person you asked was wishing they could kick you in the head and you are secretly wishing they would kick you in the head so you had an excuse to go home early.

Getting shouted at by some massive Russian lad because you were unable to scam enough people to make your target.

the most valuable thing I got out of 3 months of chugging was an appreciation for the value of money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Ninap wrote: »

yeah that has to be it.
    Some of the pub jacks out there, the stench would burn your eyes.
    Sitting in there for your job, hoping to get a few coins.

fvck that.

catallus wrote: »
    Customer_Service reps are well trained to deal with shíte. It is a handy number, compared to any job involving dealing with the public.
    Depends on the company, but yeh, it's better than having to face the customers.
    the people I feel most sorry for are those professionals who start off with the best intentions in the world, and bust their holes to make a difference and then find that they and their dreams are consumed by the cruel realities of power
    +1. Social workers too.

Yeah I forgot social workers, jaysus I hear horror stories :(

It is really really understandable why so many just switch off. Nothing is worth that shít.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

Why are nurses seen as such saints just out of curiosity ? I understand the job they do has long hours and can be tough, but surely there a plenty of jobs that would be considered 'worse' or on par. Im not sure how much a nurse earns either to be honest so i could be that they are severely underpaid.

I used to know a few fishermen and they used to work extremely long hours in what is a dangerous job with no guarantee of a decent wage at the end of it, some weeks/months they got next to nothing.

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

Social Workers are dealing with issues that sometimes come about as a result of the very ideology that makes them necessary in the first place.

Why are nurses seen as such saints just out of curiosity ?
    I don't know if they are. I think it's more that people don't believe they deserve abuse. They do get some abuse for being public sector.

Yeh it's true about fisherman. And I know two brothers who did the "deadliest catch" thing in Alaska for a big cash injection. So traumatised they can't talk about it...

Rabelais wrote: »
    Social Workers are dealing with issues that sometimes come about as a result of the very ideology that makes them necessary in the first place.

Signing on at Hatch 22...

Rabelais wrote: »

Which is even more soul crushing.

Nurses become immune to their job at an early stage I think. Social workers really sell their souls. Not as bad as bankers though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

It's not the worst by a long shot (some really nasty jobs on here) but I remember doing the stop/go signs for a day and a half once,standing all day with irate drivers howling obsceneties and sometimes objects at you.Your conversation consists of "free to go after a red punto".

Still better than the lad that has to Clean the porno booths in the sex shops though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Y2KBOS86

Why are nurses seen as such saints just out of curiosity ? I understand the job they do has long hours and can be tough, but surely there a plenty of jobs that would be considered 'worse' or on par. Im not sure how much a nurse earns either to be honest so i could be that they are severely underpaid.

Having worked in Hospital's and Nursing Homes I agree.

These days it's the care assistants that do all the work, Nursing is no where near as demanding as it used to be.

Alot of Nurses are doing the handy jobs doctor's used to do and the care assistants are doing the real work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 BNI

Any job that pay minimum wage or worse still this latest job bridge rubbish. If you are willing to work and work hard then why should you not have the ability to afford to house, feed and clothe yourself decently, let alone a family.

I worked on minimum wage in the 10 years ago and I ended up homeless because of all the people buying apartments they don't need and flying to Paris once a month on the profit they were making in rent in that month alone.

To take it to another level being Irish and paying tax is demeaning when Enda Kenny comes on tv this Sunday and tells you he's proud of you because you have put up with him and his kind. The fact of the matter is, 99.9% of the country was too busy trying to keep afloat to forcibly remove the establishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,329 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

catallus wrote: »

Having done both, I can tell you it is far far far from a handy number. It depends on where you work