Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most demeaning first-world jobs?

• 11-12-2013 7:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭

First world problem alert.

What are the most demeaning jobs?

I'm in customer service and it's demeaning-as-f*** some of the sh*** you spend your days listening to.

Some of the first things that will come to a lot of your minds are nurses, teachers, etc etc

I'm just venting, so please refrain from posting holier-than-thou-such-and-such-a-job-is-a-millions-times-worse or "I'm unemployed" responses, because go f*** yourself.

:-) :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

whirlpool wrote: »
    First world problem alert.

What are the most demeaning jobs?

demeaning of life with Gay Byrne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

A moderator on an internet forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭e.r

Floor laying

Last January eircom laid a new cable our side my house digging the hole in the pavement was done by contractor working for eircom , now I was off work that day, inside in my lovely warm house, They lads were working our side on a very cold wet miserable day doing a boring receptive job with no access to a canteen or hot drinks unless they has a flak, they did a very neat job and seem to be proud of doing a good job. It made me appreciate my warm workplace and its endless free supplies of tea and coffee. Not exactly demeaning work but work that is hard and miserable at times would you swop your call centre for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Chuggers.

Generally viewed as worse than beggars by the public

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

Ah heyor, you're lucky to have a bleedin job in this economic climate.

joke :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Chuggers.
    And door-to-door sales/cold-calling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

politician, but worth it for all the money and total lack of responsibility

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

Call centre worker.

People who say stripping is a demeaning job have never been chained to a headset getting abused constantly for 8 hours a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Aestivalis

A lot of jobs people consider demeaning arent actually as demeaning as you'd think.

Nurses & healthcare assistants wipe arses all day and get feces, urine, sweat, vomit all over them. But its not something they feel bad about.

Being a bin man & council cleaners are also seen as demeaning jobs, but theyre vital services we couldnt live without.
    Same goes for fast food workers. At least theyre making a living.

I'd rather be picking up rubbish on the side of a motorway than being unemployed like I am right now.

To be honest...the most demeaning jobs of all are probably door to door salesmen and chuggers. I feel sorry for the door to door salesmen, because most of them didnt know what they were getting into.

No sympathy for chuggers though.....cúnts! I suspect a lot of them dont have any dignity to begin with anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

mariaalice wrote: »
    Last January eircom laid a new cable our side my house digging the hole in the pavement was done by contractor working for eircom , now I was off work that day, inside in my lovely warm house, They lads were working our side on a very cold wet miserable day doing a boring receptive job with no access to a canteen or hot drinks unless they has a flak, they did a very neat job and seem to be proud of doing a good job. It made me appreciate my warm workplace and its endless free supplies of tea and coffee. Not exactly demeaning work but work that is hard and miserable at times would you swop your call centre for that.

I hope you at least offered them some tae? I thought tae and biscuits from nice mammies was one of the perks of labouring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's tough being an entertainer.

Muise... wrote: »
    I hope you at least offered them some tae? I thought tae and biscuits from nice mammies was one of the perks of labouring.

Of course I did :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

Lads. Surely its a human signpost...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,040 ✭✭✭paulbok

Chuggers.

chuggers have to be up there all right.
    At least beggars get some level of sympathy from the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Chuggers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭jjpep

Working in Dunnes Stires going by a recent thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Terry1985

And door-to-door sales/cold-calling.

And rightly so...

Turning up to someone's home and using peoples politeness to answer the door against them to force them to listen to a scripted advertisement... death is too good for them.

If my girlfriend didn't constantly say 'be nice' as I went to answer an unexpected caller they'd be getting a lot worse from me.
    I already gave airtricity a bollocking for trying to upsell gas to me and told them the next agent of theirs that calls to my door will make me cancel my existing electricity account with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Pai Mei

What are chuggers?? :L

Terry1985 wrote: »
    And rightly so...

Turning up to someone's home and using peoples politeness to answer the door against them to force them to listen to a scripted advertisement... death is too good for them.

If my girlfriend didn't constantly say 'be nice' as I went to answer an unexpected caller they'd be getting a lot worse from me.
    I already gave airtricity a bollocking for trying to upsell gas to me and told them the next agent of theirs that calls to my door will make me cancel my existing electricity account with them.
    I just... say "Not interested, sorry" and close the door. :confused:

Pai Mei wrote: »
    What are chuggers?? :L

The foot soldiers that keep charity executives in hookers and coke.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Excuse my ignorance, but what are these chuggers you describe?

mikom wrote: »
    The foot soldiers that keep charity executives in hookers and coke.

Oh the people who come around and knock on doors asking you to give money to charity?? Never heard them described as chuggers before :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Restroom hygiene technician.

Oh the people who come around and knock on doors asking you to give money to charity?? Never heard them described as chuggers before :confused:

Charity muggers............ chuggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Terry1985

I just... say "Not interested, sorry" and close the door. :confused:

I don't like my doorstep used as an advertising platform for multi million Euro companies... same goes for text spam on my personal phone.

If you tolerate it, I guarantee it will get worse.

Cold calling is illegal in parts of the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

Chuggers are the lads who walk around main streets in city centres with mayonnaise buckets collecting change for various charities, so named for the way the noise made when they shake their bucket *chug* *chug* *chug*

Edit: I am actually wrong! It's not these guys! It's apparenty the name given to those guys who intercept ya on behalf of concern etc. as said before because they're "Charitable Muggers". Learn something new every day! I always thought it was to do with the chugging buckets xD Morto!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Charity muggers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Speed-camera van operator or clamper imo. Mainly due to the names they get called as I drive past. Under my breath of course. I'm guessing their ears are burning from dawn to dusk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 PopRocks

You have to feel a bit bad for the chuggers. Most the ones you see are very young people, probably just out of school or college. They're told they're doing vital work and actually helping people, out in all kinds of weather all day on their feet. Wouldn't fancy it.

I'll add TV licence inspectors to the list, and also those paid to post incognito on social media to further the aims of government.
    The government shills should just shoot themselves now.

Actually a chugger came by recently. I'm living in a student village and they went around the whole village. One of them was old the other was not much older than me. Didn't think they would come after a village residence which is full of 1st years :L

PopRocks wrote: »
    You have to feel a bit bad for the chuggers. Most the ones you see are very young people, probably just out of school or college. They're told they're doing vital work and actually helping people, out in all kinds of weather all day on their feet. Wouldn't fancy it.

Are you playing on our heartstrings on behalf of the charities that play on our heartstrings? Because that'd be the square root of the world's smallest violin.

I just wouldn't personally hold it against them. I won't sign up to charities that use them, but I wouldn't hold it against the young and naive either.

Saying that though, I find the ones who take advantage of old or vulnerable people discusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

PopRocks wrote: »

Some of my mates have worked as chuggers.
    Do they think they're doing it to help people...do they ****. They do it for the cash, plain and simple. It's not out of some misplaced altruism.

Terry1985 wrote: »
    I don't like my doorstep used as an advertising platform for multi million Euro companies... same goes for text spam on my personal phone.

If you tolerate it, I guarantee it will get worse.

Cold calling is illegal in parts of the UK.
    That's my point - I don't tolerate it; I just close the door before they get started. I'm not into screaming abuse at easy targets. It's a sh1t job but it's probably accepted by a lot of them as a desperate way to get off the dole. Doubt they last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭jantheman91

Some of my mates have worked as chuggers.
    Do they think they're doing it to help people...do they ****. They do it for the cash, plain and simple. It's not out of some misplaced altruism.

I find that pretty disgusting to be honest.

I've no job at the moment and am in the process of looking to do volunteer work. All I care about is doing what I can to help those less fortunate than me.

All charity workers aren't the same. Put down your tar brush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Ninap

Those chaps who try to hand you a paper towel in the jacks in the hope you'll give em a euro; that's pretty demeaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Chuggers.

That's because they are worse. Beggars by and large are nowhere near as invasive as the fuckers waving their clipboard at you from half a mile down the street and actively blocking your path.

I really really wish chuggers were banned from the streets of our towns and cities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

I find that pretty disgusting to be honest.

I've no job at the moment and am in the process of looking to do volunteer work. All I care about is doing what I can to help those less fortunate than me.

All charity workers aren't the same. Put down your tar brush.

Reread what I said. People I know who've been chuggers, haven't done it for the feelgood factor. And I wouldn't count chuggers as charity workers - they aren't volunteers if they are getting paid. For sure, you run into some on the streets that are unpaid, but this is a job to people.

Next time actually read what I said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

It has to be customer service/call centre jobs. Listening to whiny self-important ***** all day on a salary just above minimum wage. Thank **** my days in that sector are long behind me now but I can't imagine a worse job.

Ninap wrote: »
    Those chaps who try to hand you a paper towel in the jacks in the hope you'll give em a euro; that's pretty demeaning.

Demeaning to whom? I don't frequent places where that happens, but if I did I'd cringe at the intrusion.

Muise... wrote: »
    Demeaning to whom? I don't frequent places where that happens, but if I did I'd cringe at the intrusion.
    Twould be more of a Dublin cocktail bar, wine bar, nightclub kinda thing. :)

Twould be more of a Dublin thing. :)

They are everywhere in Limerick Nite Clubs :L it's horrible especially when there are so many drunk students in the bathroom at once and then this guy keeps shoving paper towels and Linx in your face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

They are everywhere in Limerick Nite Clubs :L it's horrible especially when there are so many drunk students in the bathroom at once and then this guy keeps shoving paper towels and Linx in your face.

Have to say I've gone beyond feeling awkward in there, happily wash my hands ask to use the hand dryer and go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Chuggers get paid relatively well compared to beggars, and it is seen as a rite of passage for many sales-persons. If climbing a ladder is demeaning then what isn't?

Customer_Service reps are well trained to deal with shíte. It is a handy number, compared to any job involving dealing with the public.

Cleaners do a job that is not very time-consuming and many choose to do it because it affords freedom of time for other things such as family or whatever.

No, the people I feel most sorry for are those professionals who start off with the best intentions in the world, and bust their holes to make a difference and then find that they and their dreams are consumed by the cruel realities of power:

Solicitors, judges, gardai, and prison officers in the realm of law; to see society go to pot because an invisible hand dictates lunatic policy in favour of the perpetrator against the victim.

Councillors and TDs in the realm of politics, same thing, different nouns. And the unfettered approbation that goes with it.

Accountants and actuaries, bankers and financiers: to know in your heart of hearts that your profession is no better than that of a hungover punter eyeing horses in a parade ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭roadrunner16

Chuggers.

the only thing worse than getting plagued by a chugger .. being a chugger.. I was one for a short summer and my god it was the most horrible mind numbing work .. sometimes it payed around minimum wage, purely commision based and some days it was the worst and most disgusting job in the world, stuck out in the cold/rain making less than half minimum wage.

Knowing that every person you asked was wishing they could kick you in the head and you are secretly wishing they would kick you in the head so you had an excuse to go home early.

Getting shouted at by some massive Russian lad because you were unable to scam enough people to make your target.

the most valuable thing I got out of 3 months of chugging was an appreciation for the value of money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Ninap wrote: »

yeah that has to be it.
    Some of the pub jacks out there, the stench would burn your eyes.
    Sitting in there for your job, hoping to get a few coins.

fvck that.

catallus wrote: »
    Customer_Service reps are well trained to deal with shíte. It is a handy number, compared to any job involving dealing with the public.
    Depends on the company, but yeh, it's better than having to face the customers.
    the people I feel most sorry for are those professionals who start off with the best intentions in the world, and bust their holes to make a difference and then find that they and their dreams are consumed by the cruel realities of power
    +1. Social workers too.