If you could spend one night...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

North Donegal, has everything you could ever wish for.

And I'll sing Phil Collins for you too.:)

If you'll sing Phil Collins for me, I'll be there tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Wicklow, Galway, Sligo, or Clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

paulbok wrote: »
    Very disapointed with the thread after seeing the title...:(

I was trying to entice, without getting my thread moved to Travel 'cause they have feck all traffic.

It backfired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If you'll sing Phil Collins for me, I'll be there tonight!
    I'll even make myself bald and grow a beer belly just for the occasion.:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭hungry hippo 4

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Eh Dublin ??

Ya, wouldn't want to go there either

Ya boye.

Wexford?? hmmm. Doesn't get more irrelevant really does it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

Killarney is super pretty.
    I vote there for this trip that will never, ever happen in real life. Ever. At all. *ahem*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

Cheers! Any reasons why? (In terms of things to be seen and stuff to be done?)

http://www.cityofculture2013.com/ :D

Carlow.

Dangerous and mysterious.

Some say it doesn't exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,833 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Ya boye.

Wexford?? hmmm. Doesn't get more irrelevant really does it.

What makes a place relevant these days?

Having a bus service is a start!

There is lads going around wexford who are stuck in a 90s time warp!

****hole :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,833 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Having a bus service is a start!

There is lads going around wexford who are stuck in a 90s time warp!

****hole :pac:

Haven't noticed any time-warp here myself. Must ask Marty McFly, he's just outside.

Poor Marty. I bet he misses the wild west now.

Less of a smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

in a county other than Dublin (but easily accessibly from Dublin by rail/bus (but preferably rail)), and you were also going to spend the day there, and you would like to see some unique Irish sights (Giant's Causeway kind of thing), but were also worried about being rained on the whole time so indoorsy things could be good, and you'd like to be able to go to a good restaurant and then a fun bar and then a rocking nightclub, and you don't want to go to Belfast or Galway because you've been there recently, and also, the option of go-karting or something craic like that would be excellent - where would you go?

Just a general question - no reason - that I'd like to throw out to AH 'cause you're all so knowledgeable and/or attractive.

Cork is the only answer to this question. If Dublin, Belfast and Galway is off your list for starters than that leaves Cork, Limerick and Waterford really as far as urban centres go.
    Limerick has a far higher ratio of scum bag to normal person than Cork does and has a smaller murder rate despite being much bigger. It has by far the best night life outside of Dublin. Has as much beautiful scenery as Kerry. It's just fantastic.

I LOVE CORK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,323 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Cork is the only answer to this question. If Dublin, Belfast and Galway is off your list for starters than that leaves Cork, Limerick and Waterford really as far as urban centres go.
    Limerick has a far higher ratio of scum bag to normal person than Cork does and has a smaller murder rate despite being much bigger. It has by far the best night life outside of Dublin. Has as much beautiful scenery as Kerry. It's just fantastic.

I LOVE CORK!

Ha ha funny username you have.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I find the thread title very sad.

No. I mean funny.:D

If you could spend a night outside Dublin etc etc...

Are ye locked in there or what? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Carlow

Would you not consider a short flight.

Ireland is ****e in fairness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

that town the travellers own, whats it called??

Anyway, I wouldn't go there!

Tuam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Professor Knowall

Go to London. If you are only going for one night, you won't need to have any check in luggage so if you booked early, the flight will cost you the around the same as train fares around Ireland. The cost of a hotel will be similar when you add in the rip off Ireland balance and there will be LOADS to do. If you don't want to do sporty, scenery stuff or sit in a bar all day, Ireland is a bit crap. No contest.

Tuam?

haha Tuam is one alright. Athlone too. Oh and Sligo. Come to think of it you boys in the wesht have abit of a problem. Place Im thinking of was on one of those ****e tv3 programmes.

Anywhere Northeast of Dundalk. Carlingford seems like good fun with their pubs and old ruins everywhere (and that's just the locals). 20 minute drive or so will take you up to the top of Clermont Carn with views of Dundalk, Carlingford Lough and up North. Newry is within about 15 minutes for go-karting as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

My votes would be for Kilkenny (serious amount of good restaurants and pubs, voted friendliest city in Europe and 9th friendliest overall in the world!), Killarney (beautiful scenery, loads of hotels to choose from), Ennis (sound people, good craic, loads to do in the greater Clare region- Burren, cliffs etc) or Derry (great nightlife and really interesting history- I really noticed when I was there how much I hadn't a clue of about the North growing up in the Republic).

There's flippin loads to do in Ireland, I can never understand anyone who says there isn't. Sure, the weather is often crap but that's well known. There's still plenty to do regardless of the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Go to London. If you are only going for one night, you won't need to have any check in luggage so if you booked early, the flight will cost you the around the same as train fares around Ireland. The cost of a hotel will be similar when you add in the rip off Ireland balance and there will be LOADS to do. If you don't want to do sporty, scenery stuff or sit in a bar all day, Ireland is a bit crap. No contest.

Hotels in London are mostly way more expensive than in Ireland, particularly if you want one with good public transport options nearby. Travel around London is dear too. Don't get me wrong, I love London and go there a few times a year- and there's still so much I want to do every time I go- but each time I go I spend so much (and that's not including shopping, I generally don't bother shopping in London).

I do love it though so if you have the money, go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 christine86

I am asking along the same kind of lines....but I would like to know of the best nights out had in towns outside of the main cities of Ireland. Places like Dingle that have only one nightclub and where you could come across anything or anyone...but most importantly all the whilst having a top class night.
    I would be interested in hearing where the best small towns (with nightclubs) to go out in are in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I am asking along the same kind of lines....but I would like to know of the best nights out had in towns outside of the main cities of Ireland. Places like Dingle that have only one nightclub and where you could come across anything or anyone...but most importantly all the whilst having a top class night.
    I would be interested in hearing where the best small towns (with nightclubs) to go out in are in Ireland?

The weirdest night I ever had in a small town was Shannon, I recall a place called the nights or knights. But that was many many years ago, before the burst and before the bubble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

Hold on a second...

you mean to tell me... there other places out there, that arn't Dublin?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Roberto91

One stop shop for scenery ,atmosphere,excellent pubs(40 or more),and you wont get your head kicked in as with many towns ie Kilkenny it must be....DINGLE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

People are gonna laugh at this one ~ Limerick, some cracking little boozers in Limerick city..

Is buddies bar still in Limerick?

This is an interesting question,outside of Dublin its difficult to find a place with a real buzz..maybe Galway