Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you could spend one night...

• 11-12-2013 6:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭

in a county other than Dublin (but easily accessibly from Dublin by rail/bus (but preferably rail)), and you were also going to spend the day there, and you would like to see some unique Irish sights (Giant's Causeway kind of thing), but were also worried about being rained on the whole time so indoorsy things could be good, and you'd like to be able to go to a good restaurant and then a fun bar and then a rocking nightclub, and you don't want to go to Belfast or Galway because you've been there recently, and also, the option of go-karting or something craic like that would be excellent - where would you go?

Just a general question - no reason - that I'd like to throw out to AH 'cause you're all so knowledgeable and/or attractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

in a county other than Dublin (but easily accessibly from Dublin by rail/bus (but preferably rail)), and you were also going to spend the day there, and you would like to see some unique Irish sights (Giant's Causeway kind of thing), but were also worried about being rained on the whole time so indoorsy things could be good, and you'd like to be able to go to a good restaurant and then a fun bar and then a rocking nightclub, and you don't want to go to Belfast or Galway because you've been there recently, and also, the option of go-karting or something craic like that would be excellent - where would you go?

Just a general question - no reason - that I'd like to throw out to AH 'cause you're all so knowledgeable and/or attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

I spend every night of the year outside of the Dublin

Are us "culchies" allowed to post here ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Don't think that place exists boss.Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

You just described Killarney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Having trouble organising a stag/weekend away OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    I spend every night of the year outside of the year.

Are us "culchies" allowed to post here ?

Please do. Especially those who spend their time of the year out of the year. That sounds impressive!

kneemos wrote: »
    Don't think that place exists boss.Seriously.

It exists if you believe in it hard enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Coleraine...?

Sligo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Bantry.

Having trouble organising a stag/weekend away OP?

Nah. In this (hypothetical) scenario, it's you, as an Irish native, being a good tour guide for one other.

Please do. Especially those who spend their time of the year out of the year. That sounds impressive!

aye, you should try it some time..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

If you had one shot, or one opportunity to spend a night in another county. One moment. Would you capture it, or just let it slip?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

There's an impressive number of provisos per square inch in that question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Sure I spend almost every night outside of Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I second Sligo

Sligo is amazing but, unfortunately, you need to avoid Sligo 'cause of an ex situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

Fermanagh

Sean Quinn country!!!

There's an impressive number of provisos per square inch in that question

Thank you.

Hypothetical exes are the worstest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

Mon up North, craics great!
    Derry is pretty good, promise not to bomb ye!(unlike Belfast..)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Dublin.

dobman88 wrote: »
    You just described Killarney
    Ficheall wrote: »
    Coleraine...?
    Duff wrote: »
    Bantry.
    Fermanagh

Sean Quinn country!!!
    Mon up North, craics great!
    Derry is pretty good, promise not to bomb ye!(unlike Belfast..)

Cheers! Any reasons why? (In terms of things to be seen and stuff to be done?)
    Ficheall wrote: »
    Coleraine...?

Had to Google there to make sure this was a place and not an antibiotic. My bad. :P

aye, you should try it some time..

I don't think I know how. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Mar Mar Marmalade

Killarney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

North Donegal, has everything you could ever wish for.

And I'll sing Phil Collins for you too.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,040 ✭✭✭paulbok

Very disapointed with the thread after seeing the title...:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭hungry hippo 4

that town the travellers own, whats it called??

Anyway, I wouldn't go there!

Eh Dublin ??

Ya, wouldn't want to go there either

North Donegal, has everything you could ever wish for.

And I'll sing Phil Collins for you too.:)

If you'll sing Phil Collins for me, I'll be there tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Wicklow, Galway, Sligo, or Clare.

paulbok wrote: »
    Very disapointed with the thread after seeing the title...:(

I was trying to entice, without getting my thread moved to Travel 'cause they have feck all traffic.

It backfired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If you'll sing Phil Collins for me, I'll be there tonight!
    I'll even make myself bald and grow a beer belly just for the occasion.:pac:

Eh Dublin ??

Ya, wouldn't want to go there either

Ya boye.

Wexford?? hmmm. Doesn't get more irrelevant really does it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

Killarney is super pretty.
    I vote there for this trip that will never, ever happen in real life. Ever. At all. *ahem*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

Cheers! Any reasons why? (In terms of things to be seen and stuff to be done?)

http://www.cityofculture2013.com/ :D

Carlow.

Dangerous and mysterious.

Some say it doesn't exist.

Ya boye.

Wexford?? hmmm. Doesn't get more irrelevant really does it.

What makes a place relevant these days?

Having a bus service is a start!

There is lads going around wexford who are stuck in a 90s time warp!

****hole :pac:

Having a bus service is a start!

There is lads going around wexford who are stuck in a 90s time warp!

****hole :pac:

Haven't noticed any time-warp here myself. Must ask Marty McFly, he's just outside.

Poor Marty. I bet he misses the wild west now.

Less of a smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Cork is the only answer to this question. If Dublin, Belfast and Galway is off your list for starters than that leaves Cork, Limerick and Waterford really as far as urban centres go.
    Limerick has a far higher ratio of scum bag to normal person than Cork does and has a smaller murder rate despite being much bigger. It has by far the best night life outside of Dublin. Has as much beautiful scenery as Kerry. It's just fantastic.

I LOVE CORK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,738 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Cork is the only answer to this question. If Dublin, Belfast and Galway is off your list for starters than that leaves Cork, Limerick and Waterford really as far as urban centres go.
    Limerick has a far higher ratio of scum bag to normal person than Cork does and has a smaller murder rate despite being much bigger. It has by far the best night life outside of Dublin. Has as much beautiful scenery as Kerry. It's just fantastic.

I LOVE CORK!

Ha ha funny username you have.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I find the thread title very sad.

No. I mean funny.:D

If you could spend a night outside Dublin etc etc...

Are ye locked in there or what? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Carlow

Would you not consider a short flight.

Ireland is ****e in fairness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Tuam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Professor Knowall

Go to London. If you are only going for one night, you won't need to have any check in luggage so if you booked early, the flight will cost you the around the same as train fares around Ireland. The cost of a hotel will be similar when you add in the rip off Ireland balance and there will be LOADS to do. If you don't want to do sporty, scenery stuff or sit in a bar all day, Ireland is a bit crap. No contest.

Tuam?

haha Tuam is one alright. Athlone too. Oh and Sligo. Come to think of it you boys in the wesht have abit of a problem. Place Im thinking of was on one of those ****e tv3 programmes.