Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Gameweek 16 Transfers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

That is a mighty big if spacecowboy..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,363 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Have just enough to do Chico to Distin before he rises which would leave me doubling up on Everton. It would also bring me up to an 8 point hit though so I'm reluctant but tempted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Danger781 wrote: »
    That is a mighty big if spacecowboy..

I've been hurt once this season... but 3 other times its worked out great! Even got one my highest scores of the year after taking the hits and that was after deducting the points. Have to say i am a complete convert as last season and at the very start of this one i was hard pushed to even take a 4 point hit but having listened to others around these parts for better or worse i've gone all out lately! Had made serious ground over the last few weeks not scoring under 60 in about 5/6 weeks but not captaining Suarez against Norwich has really set me back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,459 ✭✭✭G1032

However if you take an 8 point hit, and plan it well and bring in 2 new attacking players and a defender if both your new attacking players do well you have more then covered the 8 points. even if both only score 5 or 6 each you've come out on top!

You come out on top assuming that your out going attackers score only 1 or 2 points. If your out going defender gets 2 points and between them your out going attackers get a goal and assist and accumulate say 12 points because of a bonus point then you're going to need 22 points from the 3 incoming players to just break even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,244 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I've had a strategy that this year that I think I will adopt in future seasons. Wildcard in gameweek 1 to maximise value and then do my hits in the first five or six weeks to maximise value and get the team ready for the season.

The one thing I'd say about hits is that patience is key. I've tried my best not to take hits in recent weeks and it has worked well.

Zab, Ozil, Oscar, Lukaku - those are four of the players I would have dropped if I'd gone for a hit yet all have managed to work out in the long run.

This week I have my transfer done already. The only player I'd go for a hit to transfer out would be Brady. However, I was at a loss as to whether I'd play him or Morrisson anyway so I guess that makes my mind up.

Getting rid of him doesn't fit my long term strategy until 2 GWs away anyway. I have 2.4 mil banked. This weekend Terry most likely, or Mert, will go for someone like Chester or Olsson giving me a back four of three cheapies and Coleman plus one of Terry/Mert.

That spare cash will then give me the money to bring in a fourth premium mid like Coutinho/Silva/Oscar/Yaya/Walcott etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

G1032 wrote: »
    You come out on top assuming that your out going attackers score only 1 or 2 points. If your out going defender gets 2 points and between them your out going attackers get a goal and assist and accumulate say 12 points because of a bonus point then you're going to need 22 points from the 3 incoming players to just break even.

I never take into consideration what my outgoing players score though?? If you plan on transferring them out then there score is irrelevant to you, if that was the case you would never make a transfer from fear your outgoing players will score better! Of course there is a chance you old striker might score higher then your new one but if you had planned on doing the transfers sooner or later, maybe spread over two weeks, and the two new transfers you are looking to bring in both have favourable fixtures the one week then its a calculated risk taking the hit and also making that boring defensive swap to free up cash etc at the same time...

Taking risks is the name of the game at the end of the day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭bo-sco

I never take into consideration what my outgoing players score though?? If you plan on transferring them out then there score is irrelevant to you, if that was the case you would never make a transfer from fear your outgoing players will score better! Of course there is a chance you old striker might score higher then your new one but if you had planned on doing the transfers sooner or later, maybe spread over two weeks, and the two new transfers you are looking to bring in both have favourable fixtures the one week then its a calculated risk taking the hit and also making that boring defensive swap to free up cash etc at the same time...

Remind me not to give you any money to invest on my behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

First of 2, maybe 3,

Krul In Migs OUT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,107 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Lemlin wrote: »
    The one thing I'd say about hits is that patience is key. I've tried my best not to take hits in recent weeks and it has worked well.

Zab, Ozil, Oscar, Lukaku - those are four of the players I would have dropped if I'd gone for a hit yet all have managed to work out in the long run.

You could throw Coleman into that as well for me, I too stood by Zab, Ozil, Oscar & Lukaku and it paid off.
    Backing the two EVE lads when they were up against seemingly difficult opposition especially.

I get your point about "patience being key" with transfers but I think you're overplaying it slightly, for every time it could work out, there could easily be a Michu, Soldado etc etc on the opposite side of things.

I think patience around transfers is secondary to it all tbh, the primary thing being: trusting you own judgement on certain players.
    The transfer decisions fall off from that if you get me.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

I've had a strategy that this year that I think I will adopt in future seasons. Wildcard in gameweek 1 to maximise value and then do my hits in the first five or six weeks to maximise value and get the team ready for the season.

This week I have my transfer done already. The only player I'd go for a hit to transfer out would be Brady. However, I was at a loss as to whether I'd play him or Morrisson anyway so I guess that makes my mind up.

Getting rid of him doesn't fit my long term strategy until 2 GWs away anyway. I have 2.4 mil banked. This weekend Terry most likely, or Mert, will go for someone like Chester or Olsson giving me a back four of three cheapies and Coleman plus one of Terry/Mert.

That spare cash will then give me the money to bring in a fourth premium mid like Coutinho/Silva/Oscar/Yaya/Walcott etc.

I do the same but wait until GW3 - there is a 2 week international window where more money can be made (by keeping rising players and by buying/selling players who rise by 0.2 to make profit) and it also allows you to weed out the 1-game wonders who will initially rise before plummeting.

It's a balance that is needed imo.
    I'm happy to take a hit and not expect it to pay off in the first GW, but I'd hope to see a return after 2,3,4 weeks if I see the incoming player as a long term option.
    And all going well I would plan/try to take my hits periodically...setting my team up for the next 3-4 GW's as best as possible.

I think that is the point you are making but it kind of comes across as if you are taking 8 point hits every week with little consideration medium or long term considerations.
    Which I don't think is the case with you at all, but you do get a little sense of that from the post...
    The bolded comment isn't doing yourself any justice imo, you are taking into account what you think the outgoing player will score but you believe the incoming one that causes a hit will repay you by outscoring that player, it might be more apt to say that you don't judge it on a short term/1 week return basis.

Maybe I've got that all wrong, have you made 52 transfers? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,195 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Remy and Chico out for Lukaku and Distin, Chico transfer was forced on me. Distin will do for the Xmas period then sold on, at his price of 5.2 i have plenty options to replace him when the time comes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Benimar

PARlance wrote: »
    You could throw Coleman into that as well for me, I too stood by Zab, Ozil, Oscar & Lukaku and it paid off.
    Backing the two EVE lads when they were up against seemingly difficult opposition especially.

I get your point about "patience being key" with transfers but I think you're overplaying it slightly, for every time it could work out, there could easily be a Michu, Soldado etc etc on the opposite side of things.

I think patience around transfers is secondary to it all tbh, the primary thing being: trusting you own judgement on certain players.
    The transfer decisions fall off from that if you get me.

My view is that if I bring in a player because he has, for example, 3 good fixtures in a row, I will give him the 3 fixtures. I see too many people bring in a player and because he gets 2 points in the next game, he is straight back out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

The dangerous thought of Rooney >>>>> Lukaku has entered my head. This would give me serious options for the next few weeks. With a further downgrade of my defence I could afford yaya & Ramsey. Only negative I can see is that I would have 3 city & no Utd cover..... Food for thought.

The big question is will Lukaku out score Rooney over the next 6 GW's? With 3 mill in the difference maybe it's worth a shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

You mean GW 2 :p. I still think GW 2 WC is too early though. It worked great for you this year but could be risky with so little information (basically 1 GW played) about the performing players and teams. You could adopt the same strategy by playing your WC during the first international break (GW 4 IIRC) and taking some hits before to maximise your team value.

Yes. Zab is one of my regret. Especially that I transferred him out at a stupid timing focussing too much on his price falling. The real question with him is: is it worth £6m to be on the bench every second GW ? More positively the question could be asked that way: is there better value for 1 CS every second game ?

Yeah, it doesn't make much sense to take a 4 pts hit for "nothing" since your team is well set up.

With Silva due back soon, you may be able to field one of the strongest team this year with Silva/Ramsey/Ozil/Hazard (Morrison) Suarez/Aguero/Lukaku and 2 "big" defenders. Most people could only keep 1 "big" defender and/or go for 2 cheap keepers for a similar team (which is my case).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,459 ✭✭✭G1032

FutureGuy wrote: »
    I do the same but wait until GW3 - there is a 2 week international window where more money can be made (by keeping rising players and by buying/selling players who rise by 0.2 to make profit) and it also allows you to weed out the 1-game wonders who will initially rise before plummeting.

That was the case for the last couple of years but there was very little money to be made this year. I'm going to avoid that particular tactic next season. WC this year in international break ruined my season more or less and one of the reasons I played the WC was a money making exercise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭thunderdog

Im getting rid of Dawson this week for a cheap defender. Who out of these 4 would you consider:

B. Turner, Williamson, M. Turner, Chester

The rest of my defense is Terry Kos Gabbidon and Coleman.

Hull have the one of the highest home clean sheet rates: 4/7.

Other home clean sheets are:
    Newcastle 3/7
    Norwich 2/7
    Cardiff 2/7
    West Ham 3/7

I actually hadn't spotted that West Ham have kept 7 clean sheets in total so far this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

What's that you want some stats? Well here ye go.
    * Laurent Koscielny made an astonishing eight interceptions against Everton on Sunday.

* Christian Benteke has played ten hours and 40 minutes of PL football without a goal..but he was the only Villa player to manage a shot on target v Fulham.

* Steven Caulker's one-man defensive display v Palace featured five tackles, five interceptions, 19 clearances and two blocked shots.

* Chelsea have kept just four clean sheets in 15 PL games - the same number as Crystal Palace.

* Ross Barkley played more key passes (3) than any other player during Arsenal v Everton.

* Dimitar Berbatov has conjured more shots on target (7) in two games than the rest of the season under Jol.

* Liverpool had an astonishing 32 attempts on goal v West Ham with Luis Suarez (9) and Philippe Coutinho (8) leading the way.

* The Canaries have picked up an impressive 13 points from six games against teams in the bottom half; that record is better than that of Manchester City and Everton.

* Marko Arnautovic played four key passes for Stoke v Chelsea - the same as the rest of his teammates put together.

http://www.football365.com/f365-features/9066364/Numbers-Stats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭miller82

redmond is bang on form. anyone taking a punt ?
    thinking of janjuzwhatshisname out and redmond in

"Liverpool had an astonishing 32 attempts on goal v West Ham with Luis Suarez (9) and Philippe Coutinho (8) leading the way"

That throws a slight curve ball into my Gerrard replacement options, I had pretty much ruled Coutinho..... A stat that will no doubt tempt me, still haven't seen a lot to get excited about from him this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭TheJackAttack

I'm thinking on getting Coutinio in after that stat.

Want to get rid of Giroud for a more consistent scorer. Obv can't afford Aguero.

Any suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Not G.R

I'm thinking on getting Coutinio in after that stat.

Want to get rid of Giroud for a more consistent scorer. Obv can't afford Aguero.

Any suggestions?

Suarez, Aguero, Rooney, Lukaku, Remy, Giroud.

If you don't have any combination of the above Id be amazed if you were in the top 200,000. Remy looks like the only option you can afford without re-jigging your team...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭TheJackAttack

Considering -4 hit somewhere to get Rooney in. United are in shocking form though!

Dimitar Berbatov has conjured more shots on target (7) in two games than the rest of the season under Jol.

Benteke was the only Villa player to manage a shot on target v Fulham.

The Renee Meulensteen factor..

thunderdog wrote: »
    Im getting rid of Dawson this week for a cheap defender. Who out of these 4 would you consider:

B. Turner, Williamson, M. Turner, Chester

The rest of my defense is Terry Kos Gabbidon and Coleman.

Hull have the one of the highest home clean sheet rates: 4/7.

Other home clean sheets are:
    Newcastle 3/7
    Norwich 2/7
    Cardiff 2/7
    West Ham 3/7

I actually hadn't spotted that West Ham have kept 7 clean sheets in total so far this season

I presume you're gonna play Terry, Kos and Coleman most weeks. So your 4th and 5th choice defenders must be cheap and have a favourable fixtures when your big names don't.

Terry ....: Ars (A) gw17 ; Liv (H) gw19 ; Sou (A) gw20
    Kos .....: MCi (A) gw16 ; Che (H) gw17 ; New (A) gw19
    Coleman: -

while

Gabbidon: Che (A) gw16 ; New (H) gw17 ; AV (A) gw18 ; MCi (A) gw19 ; Nor (H) gw20 ; Tot (A) gw21

So you'd need one that has favourable fixtures for gw16, 17 and 19.

Let's see what Hull, Newcastle, Norwich, Cardiff and West Ham have to offer:

Hull ........: gw16: Sto (H) ; gw17 WBA (A) ; gw19 Ful (H)
    Newcastle: gw16 Sou (H) ; gw17 CP (A) ; gw19 Ars (H)
    Norwich ..: gw16 Swa (H) ; gw17 Sun (A) ; gw19 MU (H)
    Cardiff ....: gw16 WBA (H) ; gw17 Liv (A) ; gw19 Sun (H)
    West Ham: gw16 Sun (H) ; gw17 MU (A) ; gw19 WBA (H)

I'd say, in the order of importance you need one that has a good gw16 fixture, then a good gw19 (you can play Kos and/or Terry) and finally a good gw17.(you can play Kos).

Considering these criterias I'd rank the 5 teams like that:
    1. WH
    1. Hull
    3. Cardiff
    4. Newcastle
    5. Norwich

I waited until GW3 in all previous seasons but going in GW1 this year has worked out. It allowed me to get in players like Nolan, Coleman, Giroud, Sturridge and Barkley who all continued to rise for the first few GWs.

In fact, when several played their GW3 wildcards they were bringing in the same players I'd had since GW1 albeit at inflated prices. For example, some like Barkley and Coleman rose pretty quickly.

iroced wrote: »
    You mean GW 2 :p. I still think GW 2 WC is too early though. It worked great for you this year but could be risky with so little information (basically 1 GW played) about the performing players and teams. You could adopt the same strategy by playing your WC during the first international break (GW 4 IIRC) and taking some hits before to maximise your team value.

Yes. Zab is one of my regret. Especially that I transferred him out at a stupid timing focussing too much on his price falling. The real question with him is: is it worth £6m to be on the bench every second GW ? More positively the question could be asked that way: is there better value for 1 CS every second game ?

Yeah, it doesn't make much sense to take a 4 pts hit for "nothing" since your team is well set up.

With Silva due back soon, you may be able to field one of the strongest team this year with Silva/Ramsey/Ozil/Hazard (Morrison) Suarez/Aguero/Lukaku and 2 "big" defenders. Most people could only keep 1 "big" defender and/or go for 2 cheap keepers for a similar team (which is my case).

I've now finally transferred out Zab but holding onto him until I had the chance to, rather than taking a 4 point hit, has worked out well. I transferred him out for Ben Turner last weekend. Turner and Joel Ward from Palace rotate perfectly.

I can see Terry being next on my chopping list. Yes, he offers goals but is a goal every month or so really worth his price tag? For me, I always look for my defenders to keep clean sheets first and Terry isn't doing that. I could transfer out Mert but I'll lose a huge amount on his value and, although they have tough fixtures, Arsenal are keeping clean sheets.

So I reckon my potential line up in two gameweeks will be:

Mignolet Harper
    Coleman Mertesacker B. Turner Ward Chester/Olsson
    Hazard Ozil Ramsey Morrisson Another (one of Coutinho/nasri/Silva/Yaya/Oscar)
    Lukaku Suarez Aguero

As you say, that's a very strong lineup IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Actually the international windows this year were rubbish for price rises.

A lot of people seem to leave it till after the second international game to do anything and both windows this year feck all happened before that.

The week which was great for wildcarding (which I ended up doing by pure good fortune) was week 4, after the first international window but also after the transfer deadline.

The transferring and price rises that week were huge, I made about 1m in the week. Thats when I'll be doing the early WC any other year.

I've already done my one FT, but looking at sorting out one of my defenders this week.

Probably going to bring in Williamson of Newcastle for only 4.4, seems nailed on.

Who do I get rid of?
    Dawson, Clyne, Vlaar

Mignolet Harper
    Coleman Mertesacker B. Turner Ward Chester/Olsson
    Hazard Ozil Ramsey Morrisson Another (one of Coutinho/nasri/Silva/Yaya/Oscar)
    Lukaku Suarez Aguero

As you say, that's a very strong lineup IMO.
    I have a similar team. Yaya for Hazard. Terry for Mert. Vlaar for B. Turner. Dawson for Chester. Marshall for Harper. (And Gab for Ward but it's kind of the same in the end).

And yes that's already a strong lineup. I missed out on Arsenal CS run. And sold Zab too early. But his replacements (Clyne and later Vlaar) first allowed me to make a little profit, second gave me points. The main problem is they both turned out to be short terms options.

Right now I'm debating the following 2 options:

1. Plan the ideal strikeforce, like yourself. And there are many scenarios to reach it.
    a. Bank on Yaya and get Hazard this week. Then downgrade Terry. Vlaar and Dawson could wait if their price don't plummet since they have great gw18 and 19 home fixtures. Get a MCi MF for gw19 onwards.

b. Forget about Chelsea hosting Palace this w-e and slowly downgrading my defence. Cardiff's Marshall being my second keeper I'd go for a cheapie that rotates well with him e.g. CP, Sto, Sun, WBA...
    2. Forget about the "ideal" strikeforce and get the popular GK: Howard. He will double up with Coleman, So I'd hope for several Everton CS.
    I coulkd always get Hazard for Yaya in addition anyway.
    FHFC wrote: »
    Actually the international windows this year were rubbish for price rises.

The week which was great for wildcarding (which I ended up doing by pure good fortune) was week 4, after the first international window but also after the transfer deadline.

Not sure what you meant exactly but if you played your WC in GW 4 that was during the 1st international break ;).