Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Game By Neil strauss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

He has no problem seeing as he doesn't hate women (like you do) and doesn't need to resort to PUA, yet still gets plenty of women. Don't be jealous of him.
    Pen.Island wrote: »
    How do you know this?

SCAAAAAAAAAAAANDAL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Muise... wrote: »
    , prancing around like a priapic Pepe le Pew.

Respect!:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

He has no problem seeing as he doesn't hate women (like you do) and doesn't need to resort to PUA, yet still gets plenty of women.
    Ahh cheers FF, the fiver is wending it's way to your paypal as we speak. :D but yep back in my thirties I had my fair share. Manslut levels and I don't say that as a boast, because looking back it was quite damaging for my headspace and yep my attitude towards some "types" of women. I recognise that subset in a fair amount of the PUA stuff.

It's very easy to get selection bias. EG if all you're doing is "seeing" women who aren't single, or don't seem to pushed on loyalty, then pretty quickly your mindset does begin to change to "women can't be trusted". Even with the best will in the world, even with women mates you've known for a decade who couldn't spell the word cheating without it sticking in their craw. And that selection bias continues in that you will tend to select for that kind of woman. Like the woman who keeps on ending up with aggressive, controlling men. Usually they find it hard to trust men, thinking all men are somehow bastards, even though she is positively selecting for such bastards(for all sorts of reasons).

So the women that PUA does work on? TBH I could see how the PUA guys dodgy descriptions of them and their habits could have some truth behind it, but they're selecting for that subset of women, it's nowhere close to all women. It would be like a group of battered wives set up a "system" on how to find bastards. They could claim all men are bastards, but in fact it's the men they're selecting for.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 447 ✭✭Pen.Island

Muise... wrote: »
    SCAAAAAAAAAAAANDAL!

No reply. I assume they're friends in real life.

One thing I hate about boards, can't have objective discussion at all.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Nope, I'm afraid not PI. I don't think she's even on my friends list on Boards. She must have read "for a good time, if not a long time ring Wibbs" on a loo cubicle somewhere. Probably The George.

Actually reminds me of one of the comebacks I'm most proud of. Many moons ago this young wan was in our group, mate of a mate. Anyway she was a glorious pain in the arse all night. Really rude, pissing everyone off. For some reason she took a shine to me and at the end of the night cocky as ya like she says "oh so aren't you going to look for my number?" My reply "nah you're grand, I got it from the jacks wall earlier". I was channeling some good stuff that night. Though how I avoided a glassing I'll never know. :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Nope, I'm afraid not PI. I don't think she's even on my friends list on Boards. She must have read "for a good time, if not a long time ring Wibbs" on a loo cubicle somewhere. Probably The George.

Actually reminds me of one of the comebacks I'm most proud of. Many moons ago this young wan was in our group, mate of a mate. Anyway she was a glorious pain in the arse all night. Really rude, pissing everyone off. For some reason she took a shine to me and at the end of the night cocky as ya like she says "oh so aren't you going to look for my number?" My reply "nah you're grand, I got it from the jacks wall earlier". I was channeling some good stuff that night. Though how I avoided a glassing I'll never know. :D

Brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Wtf? I've been on Boards in various incarnations for several years, and I'm aware via Wibbs' posts.
    You assume wrong.

And yes you can have an objective discussion on Boards.

I know, normally I'd be "ehhh duuuuuh"*dribbles. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

One thing I hate about boards, can't have objective discussion at all.

You can of course Pen.Island, but I'd hardly call your view objective if you base it on a single interaction on one thread in one forum of a website that consists of over 1,000 forums and 600,000 members!

600,000 members... that's an awful lot of members...

ooh-matron-with-text.gif

Czarcasm wrote: »
    You can of course Pen.Island, but I'd hardly call your view objective if you base it on a single interaction on one thread in one forum of a website that consists of over 1,000 forums and 600,000 members!

600,000 members... that's an awful lot of members...

ooh-matron-with-text.gif

How many are active and how many different posters are there across the main forums. AH for instance, same posters mostly.

Wtf? I've been on Boards in various incarnations for several years, and I'm aware via Wibbs' posts.
    You assume wrong.

And yes you can have an objective discussion on Boards.

Well you shouldn't believe everything you read on the internet if so. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

Wibbs wrote: »
    My reply "nah you're grand, I got it from the jacks wall earlier". I was channeling some good stuff that night.

That response is old hat!

The one fella I know who practices PUA is creepy, like really, really creepy.

That response is old hat!
    It is now, but.... you must remember AON, I'm old hat and this was back in the very late 80's(maybe 90/91 at most). Jesus! I started a meme. :eek::D

The one fella I know who practices PUA is creepy, like really, really creepy.

Did he hit on you?

Me... everyone... anyone.

Go on tell us what he said :-)

It's on on-going thing, he's an acquaintance, we'd be here all night. He thinks staring intensely at women is a good idea though, that much I will say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Vitaliorange

Its very easy to be critical,transforming lives isn't easy, PUA has allowed many men to transform their lives. I don't see any other resources for men to learn how to seduce beautiful women. They are pretty much on their own without it. A few people telling someone to "be himself" isn't going to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Its very easy to be critical,transforming lives isn't easy, PUA has allowed many men to transform their lives. I don't see any other resources for men to learn how to seduce beautiful women. They are pretty much on their own without it. A few people telling someone to "be himself" isn't going to help.

That's a good point, 'being yourself' isn't good advice if it hasn't worked before.

I haven't read any PUA book but I did browse a couple of forums to see what the sceal was. The advice seems to range from the ultra-lame (pre-rehearsed scenarios - cringe) through the common sense (talk to more women - duh) to the quite sensible (exhibit dominant body language). But I think mainly the goal is to get men to stop acting like goddamn pussies, stop being just a girl's friend when you want something more and to stop acting like women are a scarce commodity when they are literally everywhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

The PUA stuff seems to ultimately boil down to this from what I can see:
    Keep relentlessly hitting on girls until you happen across the ones of below average intelligence with massive confidence and insecurity issues, try to exploit these insecurities till they feel so lacking in self esteem that they are even willing to have sex with you, of all people, to feel liked.
    Profit.
    Basically a scatter gun aproach in the hope of ****ing one type of girl at the expense of completely ruining your chances with the majority of other girls. With some clichéd age old self help stuff as window dressing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Genuine question: do you think those beautiful women would ride you (although we only have your word to go on.) if they knew your game?

Well I'm in a relationship at the moment but when I was single last I just walked over to groups of women and chatted away and had fun. I rarely thought of any of this stuff and I did very well. You just get better instinctively. But if I never tried different things out in the beginning and thought about the actual details of approaching I never would have got to the stage where I could just walce over to groups of women and waffle away without a care in the world. The good habits like not having weird nervous body language and talking to everyone in the group just becomes instinctive. I definitely dont think its healthy to be perpetually doing this stuff like a scientist. But in the beginning it can be helpful and help you spot faults in your attitudes and behavours that are holding you back. Ultimately when you get good the women will have a better time talking to you when you then its up to them if they want to be with you. No "game" can make a woman like you, it can make you naturally more attractive which increases your chances and then its the womans choice.

Of course there are different schools of "Game". I can't speak for everything out there. Only the stuff I've used to help me get better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

There are different schools of PUA, some would match your description, but thats more and more a thing of the past.

Modern PUA tends to focus more on briniging out your genuine personality and removing any anxiety that you have.

If you had written the above in 2002 I would wholeheartedly agree with you.

Google "The attraction code" by Vin Di Carlo. You can probably download it for free.

Its a fantastic book for any guy struggling with women, or for any guy actually. You'll find it is nothing like your perception of PUA.

How many guys do you reckon Vitaliorange would have read the small print in this book?
    This work is not to be considered professional, medical, psychological or legal advice. It is for entertainment purposes only. Vin DiCarlo, Inc., or our associates, or affiliates will not be liable for any direct or indirect consequences that occur from the use of any of the ideas contained in this book.

I'm reading through it, but remember that comedy level I mentioned where the book would cease to be funny? I didn't even get to the first chapter before the pain in my face set in.

ps. I gave it a quick skim when I first downloaded it, and it's EVERYTHING like my perception of PUA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Read the book. It was quite entertaining.

But never ever would I approach a girl and use a magic trick as an opener or a statistic as they do in that book.

Mr Freeze wrote: »
    But never ever would I approach a girl and use a magic trick as an opener or a statistic as they do in that book.
    I dunno, I'd say the ability to make women vanish before your very eyes would have you getting an invite from the Magic Circle.

Well I'm in a relationship at the moment but when I was single last I just walked over to groups of women and chatted away and had fun. I rarely thought of any of this stuff and I did very well. You just get better instinctively. But if I never tried different things out in the beginning and thought about the actual details of approaching I never would have got to the stage where I could just walce over to groups of women and waffle away without a care in the world. The good habits like not having weird nervous body language and talking to everyone in the group just becomes instinctive. I definitely dont think its healthy to be perpetually doing this stuff like a scientist. But in the beginning it can be helpful and help you spot faults in your attitudes and behavours that are holding you back. Ultimately when you get good the women will have a better time talking to you when you then its up to them if they want to be with you. No "game" can make a woman like you, it can make you naturally more attractive which increases your chances and then its the womans choice.

Of course there are different schools of "Game". I can't speak for everything out there. Only the stuff I've used to help me get better.

Hmmm. You didn't really answer my question and you've just repeated stuff you've already said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,717 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Mr Freeze wrote: »
    Read the book. It was quite entertaining.

Yup. That's the thing. The Game is actually a great read. Strauss is a bit more self aware than many in the PUA community seem to be and he includes moments that are hugely embarrassing and that give a far more rounded view of things than you would get from every reading boards.

Why not slice the cake another way; would these beautiful women ride a guy if they knew he was saying what he thought she wanted to hear but hadn't learnt it from a book?

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Why not slice the cake another way; would these beautiful women ride a guy if they knew he was saying what he thought she wanted to hear but hadn't learnt it from a book?

I think the fact that someone read it from a book and this specific book which I am reading right now is crucial though. This book doesn't like women or see them as human.

Edit: And to answer your question, feeding a woman a complimentary line is one thing (we've all been on the receiving end of one) but learning your whole behaviour from books and videos and whatever is a whole different story. A lot of what I've read on PUA is sexist crap. I don't think too many women would go for a man who bought into it hook, line and sinker.

Hmmm. You didn't really answer my question and you've just repeated stuff you've already said.

You mean if I told them I used to be mediocre with women, so I went out and practiced to get better and read advice off the internet?

I don't know is the answer but if I become single in the near future I'll say that for sh1ts and giggles mid chat up and see if I can still get the girl in bed.