Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Bicker, bicker, bicker. If this continues there will be no winners and the end result will be the closure of the chat thread.

Can yiz not just drop it or live and let live?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Bicker, bicker, bicker. If this continues there will be no winners and the end result will be the closure of the chat thread.

I don't even know what this is about anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Sorry I just thought there were things needed saying. It's a good forum but it's nothing like what it used to be, a lot of the really knowledgeable guys have disappeared, still see them on other fora so it leads me to believe there is something inherently wrong here. I'm not having a row, just saying it as it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

As I said at least three times now, so I'll stop before I bore everyone.
    I have dropped the matter and would appreciate if this was the end of it.

I'll just drive off into the sun as regards this topic now and let the chat thread live on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

CianRyan wrote: »
    Yeah, I was pushing on a bit because I was in a rush/went the wrong way. :p
    It was down the long mile road to be fair, fresh off the motor way, 3 lanes and very light traffic. I actually thought it was 80 if I'm honest.

Ah that's a bitch of a road I got 2 points there years ago for doing 90 myself and just like you when asked what the speed limit was by the Gard was convinced it would be at least 80 always careful on that road now it's one there favorite spots.

Have four penalty points myself got in the space of a month once on the quys at 2 in the morning 12kmh over and the other 14kmh at 1a.m on another road both midweek fcukers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

December and January is time for your best behaviour on the road I find. They do be everywhere. Which reminds me, the tax is out :(.

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Sorry I just thought there were things needed saying. It's a good forum but it's nothing like what it used to be, a lot of the really knowledgeable guys have disappeared, still see them on other fora so it leads me to believe there is something inherently wrong here. I'm not having a row, just saying it as it is

So what can we do to improve it? Can't exactly go on a recruitment drive or start banning particular topics of conversation. IMO the problem with Motors is that it is too basic as a whole. Your regular user is all the time gaining knowledge and eventually out grows the forum and moves on to something more specific / grown up.

I think the whole thing needs to re-jigged TBH.

So what can we do to improve it? Can't exactly go on a recruitment drive or start banning particular topics of conversation. IMO the problem with Motors is that it is too basic as a whole. Your regular user is all the time gaining knowledge and eventually out grows the forum and moves on to something more specific / grown up.

I think the whole thing needs to re-jigged TBH.

I'm not really sure if I'm honest. There are a few things that bug me though, I see a lot of advice given that is clearly a cut and paste from Google. I've seen other advice given as fact which is downright wrong, as to how you deal with that I don't know.

There are a few other things too but the above is a pet hate

Or maybe it's just time for me to move on lol :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Quazzie wrote: »
    Just for the record. Cian's mate is banned from this site, so he forfeits his right to reply.

I was going to stay out of this but this comment has annoyed me.
    You think just because he's not on this forum anymore he doesn't have the right to defend himself? Just because he's not here, to speak to you directly, you are free to slag off his car?

That seems cowardly to me and quite arrogant.
    To say you don't like the car or that you wouldn't choose to paint it like that is fine, to say someone has ruined a car based on building it exactly the way they want it it just rude.

You think just because he's not on this forum anymore he doesn't have the right to defend himself? Just because he's not here, to speak to you directly, you are free to slag off his car?

To say you don't like the car or that you wouldn't choose to paint it like that is fine, to say someone has ruined a car based on building it exactly the way they want it it just rude.

Genuine question - have you never slagged off / thought that a particular car you saw was ruined? E.g. a complete skangermobile or Halfords Special?

(I'm not saying the car in question is either of those BTW)

In fairness he put it up on dtd for and got a good number of similar replies cian. if you do something fairly out of the ordinary with a car you have to expect such a response
    I'm a big fan of b-series eg's, even owned one, the blue that car was was so much nicer, I know it was rough but it did look better IMO. I'm sure himself wouldn't want his battles being fought anyway.

That's not an argumentative post btw, just saying it as I see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

If I was a new poster or lurker with a question reading this I would be inclined to not bother in case it would be deemed excess to requiements

I posted a question just as it was all kicking off but its well lost at this stage :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

deccurley wrote: »
    I posted a question just as it was all kicking off but its well lost at this stage :cool:

Here just let me Google the answer for ya.

Ah that's a bitch of a road I got 2 points there years ago for doing 90 myself and just like you when asked what the speed limit was by the Gard was convinced it would be at least 80 always careful on that road now it's one there favorite spots.

Have four penalty points myself got in the space of a month once on the quys at 2 in the morning 12kmh over and the other 14kmh at 1a.m on another road both midweek fcukers.

It's a bitch of a road for a couple of reasons. There are always TC with hairdryers every other day, and it seems to be where everyone tries to race you.

I know, because I live 10 mins from that road.

Here just let me Google the answer for ya.

Why didn't I think of that!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,757 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I'll just drive off into the sun as regards this topic now and let the chat thread live on!
    Oh yea. Leave the rest of here in the smoke :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

I think chat thread root cause of motors' forum issue. Chatthread is soapbox for silly talk, straight pipe, diesel, smoke etc etc etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

deccurley wrote: »

I wouldn't think its anything to worry about. Is the noise just a faint humming noise then it's probably just the ecu or pump running to cool the turbo as said. My car makes a faint buzzing noise when it's switched off. Tbh with my car if I was too worry about noises like that I wouldn't sleep at night :pac: I always seem to have bigger problems with mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

With respect Cian, this happens everyday in the skangermobiles thread and nobody bats an eyelid. I don't see how its cowardly or arrogant at all, in the slightest manner.

Mod your car, prepare for criticism. Thats just the way it is.

cabb8ge wrote: »
    I think chat thread root cause of motors' forum issue. Chatthread is soapbox for silly talk, straight pipe, diesel, smoke etc etc etc etc.

It has its place, it's spilling into a lot of the other threads though which I think is the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Genuine question - have you never slagged off / thought that a particular car you saw was ruined? E.g. a complete skangermobile or Halfords Special?

(I'm not saying the car in question is either of those BTW)

I think we're all guilty of it at some point but I honestly try not too.
    Imagine how you'd feel if you'd spent serious time building a car just the way you want it and you get a hoard of people calling it ****?
    I know I'd feel hurt, it's bullying.
    Gary ITR wrote: »
    In fairness he put it up on dtd for and got a good number of similar replies cian. if you do something fairly out of the ordinary with a car you have to expect such a response
    I'm a big fan of b-series eg's, even owned one, the blue that car was was so much nicer, I know it was rough but it did look better IMO. I'm sure himself wouldn't want his battles being fought anyway.

That's not an argumentative post btw, just saying it as I see it

I posted in that thread sure, DTD is gone to the dogs though so I wouldn't even bother over there.
    It's not right coming from any forum, I'm fairly new over there though so I'm not going to get involved in a discussion like this as much as I would in here.

As I said above, people saying they're not into it is fine, as you said it's to e expected but lads just slagging it off is bullying.
    DTD is full of eejits to be honest, I wouldn't even bother over there.

The primer is cool IMO, it also helps that you don't have to wash it properly and if you scratch it, it's only a fiver for a respray. :D

OSI wrote: »
    They should do the job, the main concern with LED bulbs is the lack of current they draw will set off light bulb out warning lamps in cars that have them. eg when I first got LED lights for my rear number plate lights, I forgot to do any research and got a "Rear number plate bulb fault" error in the car when I popped them in. I can't imagine this being an issue with interior bulbs though.

My only suggestion would be to make sure it's definitely the look you want. I like the crystal white look on the exterior of the car, but I find it far too harsh on the inside. I prefer a much softer glow like light inside. Especially if the car has a dark interior.

The interior is fairly dark actually, I might give them a whirl anyway and sure if they're overly bright I can always just pop the old ones back in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Meanwhile, back at the ranch;)

This is what a black car looks like after being driven around north Tipp for 1 week :eek:

DSC_0114.jpg

I have to go to de big shmoke tomorrow, so I guess I better wash it :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

You'll only have to wash it again in an week sure!

Looks different to the majority of alfas posted up alright, most of which are da'd and polished to the hilt.

Gives a refreshing change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

You might aswell let it get dirtier, you can get through the M50 for free then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

pred racer wrote: »
    Meanwhile, back at the ranch;)

This is what a black car looks like after being driven around north Tipp for 1 week :eek:

DSC_0114.jpg

I have to go to de big shmoke tomorrow, so I guess I better wash it :o

I have seen a fair few cars that dirty up in Dublin, dont tell me they were all from Tipp...:pac:

Mycroft H wrote: »
    You'll only have to wash it again in an week sure!

2 days from reasonable to ****in filthy!
    Looks different to the majority of alfas posted up alright, most of which are da'd and polished to the hilt.

Gives a refreshing change.

If I DAed that car the scratches would merge and it wouldnt be black anymore:P
    I'd say you'll get an extra half inch of ground clearance when the weight of all that dirt is lifted :pac:
    Mycroft H wrote: »
    You might aswell let it get dirtier, you can get through the M50 for free then :D

I like to think of it as stealth mode:pac:

Ok I washed it!

DSC_0115.jpg

Yep, definitely sitting higher :P

Damn, there goes the ground effect:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

pred racer wrote: »
    Damn, there goes the ground effect:D

Taking a page put of my book are ye?? :pac: