Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

If they do they can call it the sudden stop, why do such pictures have to be printed, its not as if it makes any difference, all we need to know is the person has being killed unfortunately

ye there in the process of filming the 6 one. Real shame tbh very good actor and a traggic way to leave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Calving case lads!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

Where did my post go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

naughto wrote: »
    Where did my post go?

A new thread, confused me too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

naughto wrote: »
    Where did my post go?

Over here:
    Thinking of buying my 1st cow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

No need to start a new thread,but sure its done now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Was passing yard and needed to move some cows in the shed. Had wellies in jeep said I'd chance without going home for overalls...........looks like I have a new muckin' trousers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

delaval wrote: »
    Was passing yard and needed to move some cows in the shed. Had wellies in jeep said I'd chance without going home for overalls...........looks like I have a new muckin' trousers

usually the best pair you have at the time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Hate that, always the way. I leave a pair of leggings down over the wellies, but smell of silage still seeps into your clothes. The wife has a nose that can sniff out silage a mile away!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

jersey101 wrote: »
    usually the best pair you have at the time :D

The cow who decides to sh1t or skid to drive sh1t flying doesn't even have to be in the same f**king shed as you if you don't go back for the overalls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

I don't recommend power washing a combine to anyone. 3 hours later looked a little better and I had enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I don't recommend power washing a combine to anyone. 3 hours later looked a little better and I had enough

Was that the red one you had up on the trailer ? Are ye selling it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Just on the way out now for a weigh in, reach measurement and height measurement for a white collar boxing fundraiser in February. Hearing the rocky music already. I'll probably get the beating like rocky but without the comeback as I have never threw a punch in anger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Guys what is the online map measuring website to measure up your fields. I've lost the link.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Just on the way out now for a weigh in, reach measurement and height measurement for a white collar boxing fundraiser in February. Hearing the rocky music already. I'll probably get the beating like rocky but without the comeback as I have never threw a punch in anger.

Ya d want to be fair fit for that pure torture

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

sea12 wrote: »
    Guys what is the online map measuring website to measure up your fields. I've lost the link.

This is what I use

http://spatial.dcenr.gov.ie/imf/imf.jsp?site=GSI_Simple

Thanks con.

Can't use that one. There is another one I normally get and I've seen people mention it here before but I can't seem to find on google.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

sea12 wrote: »
    Thanks con.

Can't use that one. There is another one I normally get and I've seen people mention it here before but I can't seem to find on google.

This thread any use?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=86350767

Any one see the news?
    Disgraceful report on Sfp and Reps payments. Started very accurately but then showed a clip of bags of €50 on a pallet.
    Finished with a pic if Santa and the line that the Dept is an agent of Santa's and the farmers have been good.

Lazy at best and we pay a licence for this kind of inaccurate reporting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Any one see the news?
    Disgraceful report on Sfp and Reps payments. Started very accurately but then showed a clip of bags of €50 on a pallet.
    Finished with a pic if Santa and the line that the Dept is an agent of Santa's and the farmers have been good.

Yeah seen it what can ya do that's the way news is reported now on all subjects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

Any one see the news?

More fuel for the anti-SFP brigade. Expect a thread on After Hours

J DEERE wrote: »
    More fuel for the anti-SFP brigade. Expect a thread on After Hours

I am furious and have boxing gloves but won't bother going over there.

I bought 1kg mince today for €3.50, by jaysus I would love to know what the urbanites would have to say if their food wasn't subsidised by the Sfp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

moy83 wrote: »
    Was that the red one you had up on the trailer ? Are ye selling it ?

Yeah but it's on a truck on the way to England at the minute

That's the one I think. Thanks con mac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

great! Im off to check out the neighbor's lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

was there a thread on this forum about the return of dairy vs return on sucklers?

cant find it, so if anybody could help please?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Any one see the news?

Way to go RTE, then they wonder why people don't want to pay the licence fee :mad: Santa will be calling to RTE all year round with compulsory broadcasting charge, why don't they do a report on that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Ya d want to be fair fit for that pure torture

I am 6'3 always thought I was 6'2". Weighed in at 13 stone 2 lb. I run a bit so the fitness is middling. Training starts next Saturday night. Have to say I am looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

I am 6'3 always thought I was 6'2". Weighed in at 13 stone 2 lb. I run a bit so the fitness is middling. Training starts next Saturday night. Have to say I am looking forward to it.

Different sort of fitness my man. And you can get fatigued easily from allot of nerves b4 u even step foot in the ring.
    But ye'll all b in da same boat.
    U shud have a good reach so learn to jab and get a decent 1,2 going and you'll be fine. Best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

was there a thread on this forum about the return of dairy vs return on sucklers?

cant find it, so if anybody could help please?!

Was at a sheep meeting last week where they put up the result of the Teagasc profit monitors 2012 average net profit
    Suckler to beef...€60/ha
    Suckler to weanling....-€60/ha
    Ewes........€22/ewe
    Dairy.......€1200/cow
    Don't think you need anymore information than that if your're making plans