My wife is dying

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 447 ✭✭Pen.Island

x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Frack

Take care bud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Twisting Streams

Mr. Tom wrote: »
    Words can mean so little at a time like this. Empty. A bunch of letters stuck together on a screen.

I would echo the above also but was recently at a gig were the following song was played, which had been written for someone who had just received similar news to yourself OP and so I'll post it here in the hope that it might bring you some comfort. Best of luck with everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭molly09

op, I am so sorry to hear about your wife's illness. My thoughts are prayers are with you both. I can only imagine the hell you are going through tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭signostic

op, sorry to hear of your wife`s illness, I lost my wife 10 years ago to cancer....all i can say is spend as much time now as you can with your wife....you will never regret it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Play To Kill

signostic wrote: »
    op, sorry to hear of your wife`s illness, I lost my wife 10 years ago to cancer....all i can say is spend as much time now as you can with your wife....you will never regret it.

How did you get through the loss or have you even gotten through it? Can you think of anything I need to do that I might regret not doing later? I ask this because some years ago our daughter died and I have some regrets about things I never told her.

I'm kinda afraid to say it in after hours but my wife is everything to me. We stuck together through everything and managed to come out the other side of raising three children to adulthood and still love each other. When we left Ireland we had nothing left but a van and our only posessions fitted into the back of it. We still managed to laugh and enjoy the adventure of moving to another country and starting again. We still have feck all but we were enjoying the adventure of enjoying life. I've had the balls to risk things with my wife by my side that I would never have tried on my own. I can't imagine what life would be like without that support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

My sincerest condolences. I cannot begin to imagine how painful this is, in addition to your loss some years ago. I am so very sorry - life can be really harsh. :( xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

How did you get through the loss or have you even gotten through it? Can you think of anything I need to do that I might regret not doing later? I ask this because some years ago our daughter died and I have some regrets about things I never told her.

I'm kinda afraid to say it in after hours but my wife is everything to me. We stuck together through everything and managed to come out the other side of raising three children to adulthood and still love each other. When we left Ireland we had nothing left but a van and our only posessions fitted into the back of it. We still managed to laugh and enjoy the adventure of moving to another country and starting again. We still have feck all but we were enjoying the adventure of enjoying life. I've had the balls to risk things with my wife by my side that I would never have tried on my own. I can't imagine what life would be like without that support.

Hi. I'm no expert as, thankfully, I have never lost anyone close to me. But what I would do in your situation is to say the things you feel you should say. Think of anything you might regret not telling her and just say it. Spend every second you can by her side. Keep your chin up, but also try keep her chin up too. She needs a lot of love right now.

I can't imagine what you're going through. My deepest sympathies are with you right now.

My sincerest condolences. I cannot begin to imagine how painful this is, in addition to your loss some years ago. I am so very sorry - life can be really harsh. :( xx

There are very few people who life isn't harsh for, it's overwhelming though when it's our turn and even worse when it's the turn of someone you love. No matter how difficult I find it to deal with how I feel I cannot grasp how my wife must be feeling.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

weiland79 wrote: »
    This is definatly not the right place for your thread.
    Stinicker wrote: »
    Hopefully a Mod will move this to personal issues.
    Ruubot2 wrote: »
    Hi OP, I am just not comfortable with the thread placed here.
    Edit: will leave here for a while longer

100% not true that AH is immature to these kind of posts.

This post by Boards founder Tom Murphy is the most thanked post in Boards history and it was in AH. It also encouraged many more to share their stories.

OP; stay strong. I cant really top some of the great advice already given but you will find plenty of people here to talk to you till daylight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

You have had your share of loss(and then some)
    I think its wonderful that you and your wife are still so close after all you went through, its a testament to you both.
    You, no doubt will have incredibly tough times to come but have the resilience to come through it.
    I don't doubt that for a moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭molly09

Op, I know this night must be so long for you. I know there is nothing anyone of us can say that will ease your pain but just to let you know that there is people here. Please feel free to pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

May I suggest while you can't sleep to start planning - bucket list style. Plan how you will spend your day tomorrow, the next day, and the following weeks in order to get the maximum enjoyment out of life. Whether it's something as small as watching a movie together with her favourite food, or something as big as the logistics of getting back to Ireland.

Things are much easier if they are mapped out in smaller tasks on paper. One day at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

Thoughts are with you

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    100% not true that AH is immature to these kind of posts.

Yeah I agree with this, when I wrote the OP I was going to post it in berevement but I thought that was just wrong, I coppied it the and was going for personal issues but thought no, I don't want that either. I wanted a mix of things said to me and I felt after hours was the place I'd get that if anyone decided to respond at all. Even if somebody had said something funny or inappropriate I would have appreciated it, anything at all to help me break the blocked up emotions that I feel would have been appreciated. Anything that could have helped me to put myself to oneside for a while and help me to ease my wifes undoubted fear and pain for a while would have been welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

OP you reached out, which is a good thing... people responded with their kindness which is also a good thing. I am so sorry for your plight, I really feel for you. As others have said, surround yourself with family/friends, it will help in the beginning. PM sent also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Joseph291987

Sympathies to you mate,but talk to someone ASAP this thread is fine at the minute but you'll need more than this to help you get through what is going to be the hardest situation imaginable .

Be well my friend i'll spare a thought and a prayer for you .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Thoughts with you OP.
    You will both need to get your heads around this fast and then enjoy what you have left.
    Don't feel that you 'must' do anything.....just do what feels right for you and her.
    And do tell family and close friends. The distance feels less when you can share with them and you may be suprised at how they can help and support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

I'm very sorry for your wife's diagnosis. I hope you get a different outcome but you're facing dealing with a death. I was in a similar space with a parent recently, this is what we did.

1- Dad made a Will while he was still able to do so.
    2- we kept all relatives in the loop - they are horrible phone calls to make I know, but they needed to know and my telling them wasn't going to stop Dad dying. Have you told your kids yet?
    3- I became really rawly honest with my friends about the situation. If I needed to cry I did, if I needed a laugh I did - sometimes at the same time
    4- of course seek the full medical treatment available
    5- we discussed organ donation
    6- we tried to delegate jobs - eg one stay with Mam, one bring her shopping, one do a visit to hospital
    7-we discussed funeral plans
    8-we didn't hide from the fact that he was going to die, it's horrible but it was the only way I found I could cope. Personally I could not spend energy on hoping for a last minute cure bit the nature of his terminal illness was different to the one you're facing.
    9- you've got a long road ahead so I personally wouldn't want to spend all my time at the hospital. Your wife needs rest too and sleeping in hospital chairs is not conducive to maintaining your mental and physical strength. Hospitals are loud and noisy - honestly take your rest at home as much as you can.
    10-try to always have healthy food, fruit, crudités, bottles of water with you. Bring flasks of tea/coffee. See if the hospital has a weekly rate for parking so you don't need change each time.

Take strength and comfort anywhere you can.

Sorry if my post seems cold, these are just some practical tips I could think of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

That is a terrible load to bear, op :( I only hope you get what you need. Very sorry to hear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dixiefly

I am really sorry for you and your wife. I can only imagine the shock it has been to you both.

I agree with the poster that suggested looking into returning home to Ireland. It is probably a massive decision along with all of the other issues you both have to contend with. I do think that you should seriously look into that. Family would be a great support in the coming months and, also, they would wish to be with you both in this time.

The very best of luck going forward to you both.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

OP - as someone else has mentioned. If you're wife is well enough at the moment. I'd book two flight back to Ireland and move home to your families and friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Terrible sorry OP about your Wife,

I am sorry to hear your going through this but I am not so sure what to say to you

“I’ll keep you in my thoughts.

Good for you for posting here,AH can be a great forum for support when it wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

really must be so difficult for you... The only way I can give advise is to put myself in the position of your wife and think of the things I would want my own partner to do. I am sorry if that is right but here goes:

1. Inform EVERYONE as soon as possible, your family her family, your workplace, friends, everyone a.s.a.p. Difficult, but it has to be done and people WILL help you and talk to you and work with you through this.

2. Write lists of possible choices, moving home, staying where you are, bringing her home from hospital. Treatment options etc... Everything you can think of, write it down.

3. I wouldn't want my partner to grieve for me while I was still here. Upset, angry, yes, but don't grieve... X x x

4. Talk to the hospital TODAY. Not every member of staff or the whole organisation ca be accountable for is diagnosis, there are structures in place to,help, USE THEM x

5. Eat. Rest. take care of yourself, you are no good to anyone if you are not fit. You have to be the fittest and strongest you can be to help your wife. I would want my partner to have a positive outlook, as hard as it may seem, because I wouldn't want to worry about him not minding himself over my own illness, she loves you and want you to be ok x

6..... I don't have anymore only take each day, hour and minute as it comes, short term goals and plans. X

Wish I could be more help. Thought are with you today....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Chrisita

I have no idea how you must be feeling. I am just sending hugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭axel rose

Hi play, I'm so so sorry you are both going through this. Doubly sorry to hear you guys are isolated. My husband died 4 years ago but unfortunately he died very suddenly- there was no time for us to process it together.
    Practicalities out of the way- definitely get a will sorted. Ensure that bank accounts are in both your names- can save €€€€€ in the long run.
    Now to the important stuff- you both need support, and this means telling people. I know telling people means making it more 'real' but no one can do this alone.
    The time you have together is the most precious thing you have now. Make the most of it . Leave nothing unsaid. Have that holiday you both deserve. I just had a few days with my husband comatose in a hospital bed- boy, I hugged that man for hours! I knew the opportunity to do this was finite and just made the most of it. :-)
    I don't know whether or not you guys have children, my son was a baby so I started writing a wee journal with stupid stories about his dad. Stuff that gets forgotten over time. How we met....things he loved-and hated. I hope the stories will make him a real person to my son.

I have to head out now but I'm so sorry to hear you're going through this. Please please call someone who can support both of ye. Take care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Heartbreaking, try to make the most of the time you have left. My Dad died a couple of months ago suddenly and I wish I had told him how much I loved him, it plays on my mind all the time. Try to be strong, best wishes for you and your wife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,114 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Sorry to hear this, my best thoughts and regards to you both and your family.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

So so sorry to hear op. Make sure you have support yourself but your wife needs you now more than ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭JamBur

Really sad to read, my heart goes out to both of ye.