DoneDeal & pet lambs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭tommy5678

would you pay 40 each for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭arctictree

tommy5678 wrote: »
    would you pay 40 each for them.

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

arctictree wrote: »
    No

If they didn't get colostrum when they were born or if their mother wasn't properly vaccinated, you could be fighting an uphill battle to keep them alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭AnFeirmeoir

€40 is a joke . Last year there were ones available at a few weeks old for 25 I think
    A newborn is only worth 15 in my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Now we've gone the opposite way on price.

http://www.donedeal.ie/sheep-for-sale/lambs-for-sale/6113416

Must be a prank

If I had a place for them I'd find out, lol. But, I don't.

Rang there . He said its a brother of his that has them a and gave me his number . Boys in the pup I'd say .
    I'd have taken them even tough I'm not set up for it really . I'd have figured it out I suppose .
    When it's too good to be true , it .............

Rang there . He said its a brother of his that has them a and gave me his number . Boys in the pup I'd say .
    I'd have taken them even tough I'm not set up for it really . I'd have figured it out I suppose .
    When it's too good to be true , it .............

Any luck with that in the end?

More on DD today.....at €60 a pop!

http://www.donedeal.ie/sheep-for-sale/pet-lambs-for-sale/6130830

Any luck with that in the end?

More on DD today.....at €60 a pop!

http://www.donedeal.ie/sheep-for-sale/pet-lambs-for-sale/6130830

I saw that ad too, I was wondering was it €60 for the lot or each, couldn't be each surely, they'd be as bad as hens then dying in debt.

what do you mean hens.

tommy5678 wrote: »
    what do you mean hens.

Old saying that hens die in debt is it not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Old saying that hens die in debt is it not?

Yep often heard that saying around here too.

hi are you going to buy a few lambs and see how it goes.

What do ye think a fair price for say week old pet lamsbs would be they were anything from 20 to 35 last year . Nearly bought a batch at 20 euro. Don't have any specialised setup for rearing them but was thinking of buying some sort of multiple teat bucket at the time . At 20 euro there must be a profit to be made

are you going ad with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,002 ✭✭✭✭ted1

This thread reminds me of a wedding I was at in italy earlier in the year. Some friends of mine moved over there and got a few acres. Myself and two others accidentally ( I blame the local wine) bough them 3 hens, 1 rooster, 2 lambs and a sheep of a local farmer for them as a wedding present.
    The look on our friends face when we stumbled up the drive with them.

Several months later and there doing well.

Had one lamb left over from lambing and bought a pet to keep her company. Lots of them on donedeal now. The bottle feeding is a bit of a pain in the hole though. Have to drive home from work at lunch time to feed the feckers as the wife wont touch them! Have them out on the grass behind the house and bring them in at night. Hopefully they'll get a taste for grass early!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Had one lamb left over from lambing and bought a pet to keep her company. Lots of them on donedeal now. The bottle feeding is a bit of a pain in the hole though. Have to drive home from work at lunch time to feed the feckers as the wife wont touch them! Have them out on the grass behind the house and bring them in at night. Hopefully they'll get a taste for grass early!
    Pet lambs are grand but never turn into proper sheeo(if females)...have bellys,that touch ground!

When do you lads wean your pet lambs? I have one that is about a month old and 10 kilos. Do you just let them on the grass or do you give them some nuts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

When do you lads wean your pet lambs? I have one that is about a month old and 10 kilos. Do you just let them on the grass or do you give them some nuts?

We don't wean them until they're eating a half pound of lamb creep/day, grass alone isn't good enough for a young lamb, he needs to be 8 weeks to live on grass alone, it'd have to be nice grass as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭rule supreme

You definitely should have them eating some creep or nuts before u wean them ,and they wont grow into much if you wean them to young .But once they are eating creep well they wont go back much after weaning .

Just saw my few posts above.

So I had two pet lambs. One dropped dead at 8 weeks and the other one is the second lightest of my remaining lambs at only 37Kg (the other being a runt). I suppose its true about them not doing as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭Cran

Mad at start of November :confused:

Anyone here lambing chirstmas/new year? I've scanned really high here so will be on the look out for foster ewes then if anyone lambing round then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Cran wrote: »
    Mad at start of November :confused:

Anyone here lambing chirstmas/new year? I've scanned really high here so will be on the look out for foster ewes then if anyone lambing round then.

If you are giving them away might chance a few ewe lambs and give the mules a try.!!!!!
    Seriously though only a few lambing at that time as most I know have either given up early lambing or just pushed both the earlies and main crop back a month.

If you are giving them away might chance a few ewe lambs and give the mules a try.!!!!!

Nice try but these are my pedigrees, scanned 1.9 so will no doubt have couple of pets and have no commercials lambing at that time.
    Have an auto feeder that I bought from Sturdy for the pets few years ago which works really well, but prefer to put them on a ewe. Saying that had a pedigree ewe rear 3 cracking ram lambs this year herself :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Cran wrote: »
    Nice try but these are my pedigrees, scanned 1.9 so will no doubt have couple of pets and have no commercials lambing at that time.
    Have an auto feeder that I bought from Sturdy for the pets few years ago which works really well, but prefer to put them on a ewe. Saying that had a pedigree ewe rear 3 cracking ram lambs this year herself :cool:

No real objection to a few frenchie's either but in that case prefer males!!!!!!

Easy know its pis*ing down here and me sitting in looking out at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭eire23

Made a homemade automatic feeder last year for the pets as know a few that bought the volac ones and they had high praise for it.. Its a similar idea to the volac one but no heater element in it. Had 8 lambs on it, 7 ewes and a ram. The ewe lambs are all kept back for breeding and you wouldnt pick them out in the field from the other lambs. Lost none from bloat as well which makes a change.

Easy know its pis*ing down here and me sitting in looking out at it.

Some rain alright, I was planning to bring out troughs tonight and start feeding the remaining lambs. Might leave it until tomorrow I think, pleasure of part time farming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

My two pet lambs from earlier this year, despite my best efforts are runts . At best 1/2 size of rest of the flock. Wasn't their genes as their mother was a right big ewe who just died when lambs a few months old. A lot of work for little reward.