Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DoneDeal & pet lambs

• 20-11-2013 6:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭

How do lads work this, wouldn't a pet lamb need to be tagged and sold into another flock rather than untagged and to a private person :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭easymoney!

How do lads work this, wouldn't a pet lamb need to be tagged and sold into another flock rather than untagged and to a private person :confused:

nah as long as dept of AG arent involved!! same as cows often bought cows with week old calves just tag em in your own herd number... i bought a pen of ewes and lambs in the mart 3 years ago and all that had tags was the sheep in saying that now you have to have lambs tagged going through the mart !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I suppose that's how they do it alright, I was considering it for next year but will leave it off I think. Thankfully I had no pets this Spring.

they were making silly money on DD at one time handy though and you could sorce a foster ewe of it aswel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭AnFeirmeoir

easymoney! wrote: »
    they were making silly money on DD at one time handy though and you could sorce a foster ewe of it aswel

What do ye think a fair price for say week old pet lamsbs would be they were anything from 20 to 35 last year . Nearly bought a batch at 20 euro. Don't have any specialised setup for rearing them but was thinking of buying some sort of multiple teat bucket at the time . At 20 euro there must be a profit to be made

bought 2 last year gone by 25 for a super beltex and 20 for another they were for another mans ewes , ya if u get them at 20 but u need the setup feckers for dying when reared for no reason i found when i rear them on the bottle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

I think much above 25 would make them unprofitable at current prices. Unless you had some serious scale and could finish them on grass. I remember seeing an ad on deal last year for 50 of them. Will be interesting to see when the first arrive on DD - mid December?

arctictree wrote: »
    I think much above 25 would make them unprofitable at current prices. Unless you had some serious scale and could finish them on grass. I remember seeing an ad on deal last year for 50 of them. Will be interesting to see when the first arrive on DD - mid December?

yep remember that as right they were actually seriously well done you"l see ones the last week of december

Anyone know how much lamlac you'd need per head? Thinking of getting a few myself. Xmas time would be perfect with the week off the day job...

http://ballymoreshoponline.stormwebhost.com/proddetail.php?prod=Volac-InstantLamlac-EweMilkReplacer&cat=4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭tommy5678

are you saying that the week old pet lambs will be for sale in December. our last springs pet lambs that are big lambs now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭monseiur

The same regulations apply to selling lambs privately as selling in mart, lambs must be tagged before leaving farm and have white dispatch/movement sheet, the pink copy to be sent to local Dept. of Agriculture office.
    If you buy a pet lamb, say off Done Deal, it must be tagged by the seller have a dispatch sheet etc. as above and you must record it in your flock register when it comes into your flock.
    I guess you could buy an untagged lamb, tag it as though it was born on your own farm.........but that's bending the rules:( and farmers would never dream of bending rules !!

M.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

monseiur wrote: »
    The same regulations apply to selling lambs privately as selling in mart, lambs must be tagged before leaving farm and have white dispatch/movement sheet, the pink copy to be sent to local Dept. of Agriculture office.
    If you buy a pet lamb, say off Done Deal, it must be tagged by the seller have a dispatch sheet etc. as above and you must record it in your flock register when it comes into your flock.
    I guess you could buy an untagged lamb, tag it as though it was born on your own farm.........but that's bending the rules:( and farmers would never dream of bending rules !!

M.

problem is i dont think the department will give you a flock number and register for one or two sheep if there is no other livestock on the farm

you only need to bring them to 6 weeks i think to wean. 1 bag should do that i'd imagine .
    then creep/ration at grass @300grams /day = 2kg per week for 14 weeks would cost about €12

so €15 lamlac €12 feed and saw €25 purchase price = €52.
    Add another €8 for vet/ mortality etc and your at €60

You will get more than this back. This year prices were good well into July. You'd hope these lambs would finish early on feed. Even with bad prices you would not lose money i think.
    (So I just need to grow a pair and prove it)
    Feel free to punch holes in my math.

razor8 wrote: »
    problem is i dont think the department will give you a flock number and register for one or two sheep if there is no other livestock on the farm

I think 25 is the minimum requirement to have a flock.

There was a foster ewe on DD last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

I think 25 is the minimum requirement to have a flock.

There was a foster ewe on DD last night.

certain number of hectares required as well

id say so its the same for sucks one bag of replacer should see them out id reared 4 lambs on two goats 2 years ago no joke, they done a great job on them

...You will get more than this back...

Not much though! I wonder if anyone does this on a commercial scale. You would need a lot of lambs.

€25 -€30 profit per lamb isn't bad. Theyre must be some doing it commercial. I know these lambs would be twice the work for half the profit of a standard homebred lamb but still its an extra enterprise that can fit and they wouldnt impact too much on grass stocking rates as they would be fed to be out the gate first.

how many lambs per acre would you keep. 12?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

tommy5678 wrote: »
    how many lambs per acre would you keep. 12?

We had to bring back in 6 lambs this year at approx. 2 - 3 weeks of age when their mothers died of grass tetany, some drank milk and some didn't.
    We left them in all the time, just gave them milk, meal and straw, they all lived and cost €63 each and were sold for €99

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Don't have any specialised setup for rearing them but was thinking of buying some sort of multiple teat bucket at the time .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

reilig wrote: »

as some one said about dolly parton's kids

lucky little suckers

reilig wrote: »

They could have let that video be a bit longer, gas craic.

Make a great ringtone :D

id say so its the same for sucks one bag of replacer should see them out id reared 4 lambs on two goats 2 years ago no joke, they done a great job on them

did you have much trouble getting the lambs to suck. what breed of goats had you. and were you feeding ration to the lambs and goats. what age were the lambs ready at.

not much bother white milking goats they same to be ready before lambs suckled on ewes of the same age!! and the usually bit a creep feeding

Anyone like to guess the date of the first lambs on DD? I'll go for 10th Dec...

il go for today :-)
    http://www.donedeal.ie/sheep-for-sale/pet-lamb/6065241

Another one in today:

http://www.donedeal.ie/sheep-for-sale/pet-lambs/6066639
    2 pet lambs

40 each

Bit pricey?!

Very pricey.

would you pay 40 each for them.

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

No

If they didn't get colostrum when they were born or if their mother wasn't properly vaccinated, you could be fighting an uphill battle to keep them alive.

€40 is a joke . Last year there were ones available at a few weeks old for 25 I think
    A newborn is only worth 15 in my opinion

Now we've gone the opposite way on price.

http://www.donedeal.ie/sheep-for-sale/lambs-for-sale/6113416

Must be a prank

If I had a place for them I'd find out, lol. But, I don't.

Rang there . He said its a brother of his that has them a and gave me his number . Boys in the pup I'd say .
    I'd have taken them even tough I'm not set up for it really . I'd have figured it out I suppose .
    When it's too good to be true , it .............

Rang there . He said its a brother of his that has them a and gave me his number . Boys in the pup I'd say .
    I'd have taken them even tough I'm not set up for it really . I'd have figured it out I suppose .
    When it's too good to be true , it .............

Any luck with that in the end?

More on DD today.....at €60 a pop!

http://www.donedeal.ie/sheep-for-sale/pet-lambs-for-sale/6130830

Any luck with that in the end?

More on DD today.....at €60 a pop!

http://www.donedeal.ie/sheep-for-sale/pet-lambs-for-sale/6130830

I saw that ad too, I was wondering was it €60 for the lot or each, couldn't be each surely, they'd be as bad as hens then dying in debt.

what do you mean hens.

Old saying that hens die in debt is it not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Old saying that hens die in debt is it not?

Yep often heard that saying around here too.

hi are you going to buy a few lambs and see how it goes.

are you going ad with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,893 ✭✭✭✭ted1

This thread reminds me of a wedding I was at in italy earlier in the year. Some friends of mine moved over there and got a few acres. Myself and two others accidentally ( I blame the local wine) bough them 3 hens, 1 rooster, 2 lambs and a sheep of a local farmer for them as a wedding present.
    The look on our friends face when we stumbled up the drive with them.

Several months later and there doing well.

Had one lamb left over from lambing and bought a pet to keep her company. Lots of them on donedeal now. The bottle feeding is a bit of a pain in the hole though. Have to drive home from work at lunch time to feed the feckers as the wife wont touch them! Have them out on the grass behind the house and bring them in at night. Hopefully they'll get a taste for grass early!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Had one lamb left over from lambing and bought a pet to keep her company. Lots of them on donedeal now. The bottle feeding is a bit of a pain in the hole though. Have to drive home from work at lunch time to feed the feckers as the wife wont touch them! Have them out on the grass behind the house and bring them in at night. Hopefully they'll get a taste for grass early!
    Pet lambs are grand but never turn into proper sheeo(if females)...have bellys,that touch ground!

When do you lads wean your pet lambs? I have one that is about a month old and 10 kilos. Do you just let them on the grass or do you give them some nuts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

When do you lads wean your pet lambs? I have one that is about a month old and 10 kilos. Do you just let them on the grass or do you give them some nuts?

We don't wean them until they're eating a half pound of lamb creep/day, grass alone isn't good enough for a young lamb, he needs to be 8 weeks to live on grass alone, it'd have to be nice grass as well