What scenario would be enough for you to protest?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Did you win? And if not, are you still protesting? What was the reaction to your protests? I watched an anti-Israel protest being battered into submission in Jervis street shopping center by the gardai(en-masse) and kinda went "jasus, don't protest, you'll get battered if you really try to". They went so hard on the protesters I actually tried to step in and defend them as it was just rough out of proportion - I narrowly avoided getting arrested for my efforts and decided the odds were seriously stacked against protesters in Ireland. More heavy-mob gardai out of bl00dy nowhere than I even knew there were..

thank you from the bottom of my heart for being human enough and so in touch with reality that you throw yourself in danger to protect another human being oppressed. you have brought a tears to my eyes tonight ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Do you have a better idea? My options are to either focus on college for the next year and a half, get a good grade from it and follow the recommendations of others to just leave while I have the chance before I end up with something tying me to Ireland.

Jaysus, is it really that bad? Fair enough if you didn't get a job - but if you do get one then what's the problem with staying? You'd swear you were being tortured on a daily basis. Also bear in mind that the relatively cheap education system (compared to the rest of the world) might be one of the reasons you can go to college and get a good grade - depending on your family's financial status it isn't possible for most people to do that elsewhere, so you should be grateful you were born in Ireland.

I have travelled a lot and can tell you Ireland is a great place to live. There is more to the rest of the world than Canada, Australia and New Zealand which are the only superior options for most young Irish people.
    My other option is to try and protest in a country where they achieve nothing. Occupy managed nothing, the anti abortion people achieved nothing and they actually managed a reasonable amount of people by busing them into dublin after mass.

Abortion is still illegal except for extreme circumstances, the protests didn't do any harm that's for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

I'd protest if the ISPs somehow went on strike and I'd no internet. Or maybe I wouldn't, I probably wouldn't know it was an actual strike instead of my router being a cúnt as usual.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Seachmall wrote: »
    Yup.

If,there's a legitimate reason for people to be divided over an issue then let the masses decide. But when one side is void of any reason or legitimate argument then they shouldn't be dictating the lives of others.

That's a ****in ridiculous statement. if the people decide to vote against something in a democratic way, that's their right, your idea of legitimate reason might be totally different to anyone else's, and if the majority speak and vote one way then obviously the people are right, no matter the outcome, whether the referendum is about abortion, gay marriage or whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭feargale

Seachmall wrote: »
    Yup.

If there's a legitimate reason for people to be divided over an issue then let the masses decide. But when one side is void of any reason or legitimate argument then they shouldn't be dictating the lives of others.

And who decides that a side is devoid of reason or legitimate argument?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭ressem

These threads make me so sad :( Almost 100 years ago, the people of this country rose up to have their voices heard, and succeeded. If the same scenario existed today, those who joined the revolution would be a "fringe minority" and the majority of the people would have used words like "hippies" to describe them. :mad:

In 2003, about a hundred thousand people were motivated to protest against the imminent Iraq war.
    On boards the number of posters describing protestors as hippies were a handful of the usual suspects.

And even if some parties tried to use it for their own promotional purposes the overall message was clearly boiling down to a rejection of the war.

We do know enough to know that revolutions are more to end in disaster than success if planning and final target is nothing more than incoherent inaccurate slogans that will be twisted by the component groups to cause division before the aim is achieved.

So "Burn banks and (long since repaid) bondholders". Garbage.
    no other issue that has been dropped on the masses would be even half a reason to protest in your view?? serious question

Denial of work opportunity, denial of health, denial of the most basic accommodation, failure to provide sanitation, drinkable water, safe food, denial of physical security pretty much demand automatic protest (which is why Ogle is playing with fire that could burn his union for years).

Everything else falls into the 'make your case and we'll see'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

ok, so first off i will never again listen to the type of people who chose to leave a perfectly good night out on the piss in town and walk up to the camp with the sole purpose of physically assaulting a "dirty ****ing hippy" and some insisted on being physically beaten away multiple times and believe me when i tell you when you face that level of ignorance down in fairly serious situations that could have been fatal if truth be told you would be of the same mind frame as me right now pal.

second, Gezi park was the straw that broke the camels back but it wasn't the only reason the whole country went ape. sure most turks didn't know about gezi oark the day before it all kicked off.

So you reject the right of these people who chose to take time from enjoying themselves to PROTEST against you and your questionable agenda. People who by your own admission you repeatedly assaulted. The fact that they came back time after time shows courage and it should show you how dedicated they were in their opposition to a bunch of you and your buncha dirty ****ing hippies and your sad sideshow.
    These are the people you should be appealing to join you, but you have shown you obvious contempt for them.

Still don't know what the 2013 Turkish riots have to do with us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭feargale

ok, so first off i will never again listen to the type of people who chose to leave a perfectly good night out on the piss in town and walk up to the camp with the sole purpose of physically assaulting a "dirty ****ing hippy" and some insisted on being physically beaten away multiple times and believe me when i tell you when you face that level of ignorance down in fairly serious situations that could have been fatal if truth be told you would be of the same mind frame as me right now pal.

Did you report this to the Garda Siochana?

Do you have a better idea? My options are to either focus on college for the next year and a half, get a good grade from it and follow the recommendations of others to just leave while I have the chance before I end up with something tying me to Ireland.

My other option is to try and protest in a country where they achieve nothing. Occupy managed nothing, the anti abortion people achieved nothing and they actually managed a reasonable amount of people by busing them into dublin after mass.

you speak sensibly in this post but your original one i quoted was very much in the tone i suggested. now i know more of what you're at, you're dead right and i honestly wish you the very best with college and life in general but please don't tell me there's nothing you can do with a spare hour or 2 once a week to try change things if protests or something new kicked off. there's 24 hours a day and 7 days in a week but you'd be amazed at the amount who'd tell you they're busy every waking moment of the week when ya know well they're not, some maybe but the vast majority of whole country being too busy every single time a huge protest is called for is a bit to much to swallow. it's actually quite funny at times cos it's so flippin obvious it would nearly knock you over.

Jeez buddy, take a fecking hint willya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 SEK

Some quotes from Enda Kenny the night of the prom note deal last february.

Bailout of banks cost 64 billion, 35.000 euro per household, if it weren,t for the bailout of banks Irish public levels would be below that of Germany.

By all means don,t protest, but the bailout of Irish banks unchallenged by Irish public protests has long term consequences.

porsche959 wrote: »
    I think it's bizarre that you think America has less freedom of expression and more surveillance than Europe. Everything I've read suggests the oppposite. The UK is obviously the model for the globalist/NWO surveillance state, and we, who are basically a pimple on the arse of the UK, are not far behind. Ever heard of GCHQ?

sure the english have been spying on all our incoming/outgoing communications since the troubles funnily enough and we know this for years!! look at what we know today thanks to brave Snowden. "FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT IS GOOD!!"

Denial of work opportunity, denial of health, denial of the most basic accommodation, failure to provide sanitation, drinkable water, safe food, denial of physical security pretty much demand automatic protest (which is why Ogle is playing with fire that could burn his union for years).

Everything else falls into the 'make your case and we'll see'.[/quote]

denial of work opportunity = scambridge
    health = not even going to bother
    accomadation = again there are many nightmare situations recorded across the country regarding accomadation issues
    sanitation = we are far from pioneers in this regard
    water = soon to be charged for flouridated water "for the good of our health"
    food = many nice adverts claiming full traceability but when the pig industry loses it's xmas sales the FF government that had not long told mary "fatpuss" harney there wasn't €21mn for cervical cancer prevention for young girls suddenly had over €50mn to relay the farmers, buichas le dia!! horse and unidentifiable meats in our fridges without our knowledge.
    security = you're feeling 100% secure in todays world?? ?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Let's assume we have the day off. The free time with not cloud in the sky. And you are angry enough at the powers that be.

Would you still find a good reason not to protest and consider it pointless? If yes ok but why.

I see a lot of protest threads and minor ish protests but they are always anbeaten down by the lethargic. I am at the conclusion that some will just not protest even if it affected them badly

The one and only protest I took part in was in my 1st year in College all those years ago - over Student Fees!

Wasn't going to partake; had a study session planned in the library but informed library would be closing; and almost all building would be empty so What scenario would be enough for you to protest? - Well being one of very few people left in the damn building was enough to get me out there protesting with a placard!

We only toured the town on foot, thousands of students ticking off the locals who were probably already angry at the student late evening/night antics now taking over the streets and footpaths.

Did we achieve anything way back then? Nope - fees have since increased since that time. We only lost one day of college!

That's the only time I have protested.

These days
    ~ I'd join the OAP's and help them for the day in Dublin, they know how to hold a protest! I like them :)
    ~ The weak & vulnerable need as many people using their voices for them so I'd travel to Dublin for that too :)

Heck, Just tell me What plans are afoot by you veryangryman. What's happening; when & where? I've holiers coming to me at work; can't walk much right now (fracture in my lower spine), but I can be there talking no bother & walking round real slow!

Thanks v-much,
    kerry4sam

/Must look into whether I can actually partake in a protest, with what I'm signed upto voluntarily. Not sure tbh! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Jaysus, is it really that bad? Fair enough if you didn't get a job - but if you do get one then what's the problem with staying? You'd swear you were being tortured on a daily basis. Also bear in mind that the relatively cheap education system (compared to the rest of the world) might be one of the reasons you can go to college and get a good grade - depending on your family's financial status it isn't possible for most people to do that elsewhere, so you should be grateful you were born in Ireland.

I should have no issue getting a job here, While the cheap (as you say, relatively) education and the grants allow me to go to college, once I am finished there is no reason for me to stay other than family and friends. I should take the chance to spend 5-10 years at least traveling and working in a few different countries and actually doing something there instead of spending all the time in a GAA jersey in some Irish pub in Melbourne or Boston.

I have travelled a lot and can tell you Ireland is a great place to live. There is more to the rest of the world than Canada, Australia and New Zealand which are the only superior options for most young Irish people.

The US is also a great option for someone just out of college in my area, wouldn't mind going to Asia either. I will probably return someday but I would have to wait to see how I feel about it in the future, I probably came off a bit harsh on Ireland but there is a large chance of me having a better life by moving.

If I came across a protest that seemed to be worth the time then I would go to it, most of the protests I hear about are from the students union which means that sadly none if any are worth turning up to as they tend to be along the lines of lets got for a piss up in dublin for a day while complaining about rising fees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

The problem is that Irish complain about so many different things it's impossible to know what people are protesting about so there is no united front.

Private sector employees want to lower taxes by reducing public sector salaries.
    Public sector employees want higher salaries.
    Socialists want to spend, spend, spend because government money grows on trees.
    Business owners/employers want lower tax.
    About half the population want abortion to be legal.
    The other half don't.
    Probably the same with gay marriage.

It ends up being a battle to see who can protest louder. Ultimately it's better to decide these things through the democratic channels that we have, for better or worse.
    The problem with most of this is: Almost everybodies understanding of economics (including economists - hence why they never spotted the crisis coming) is wrong.

To actually be able to have a discussion about these issues that is rational and based on evidence, you need to be able to discuss all the problems with economics, but that's a topic where peoples eyes just glaze over, and for many of the most disruptive people who do discuss it, it's like they pick a 'side' (irrespective of much their side ignores evidence disproving their theory), and then it becomes a stupid trench warfare where they defend their side at all costs (the cost usually being the ability for anyone to discuss the topic in any way, shape or form whatsoever).

It's genius really, the way the 'powers that be' (starting in the US, and exporting their ideologies abroad), have so effectively made the population fight among themselves, in a way that ensures almost everybody stays uninformed.

MajorMax wrote: »
    So you reject the right of these people who chose to take time from enjoying themselves to PROTEST against you and your questionable agenda. People who by your own admission you repeatedly assaulted. The fact that they came back time after time shows courage and it should show you how dedicated they were in their opposition to a bunch of you and your buncha dirty ****ing hippies and your sad sideshow.
    These are the people you should be appealing to join you, but you have shown you obvious contempt for them.

the type of ape that came looking for trouble while bullet proof drunk were far from couragous!!

and with that i'm no longer taking part in this, whatever ya call what's happening here, the word is on the tip of me tongue...

T
    T
    T
    Tr
    Tro...

no, it will probably come to me in the middle of the night now.

The fúck? They assaulted him ffs, or is that magically redefined as 'protesting' against him (with his fist I presume?), just because you judge him as a "dirty ****'ing hipp[y]"?

One of the more vitriolically ignorant things I've read here lately.

The problem with most of this is: Almost everybodies understanding of economics (including economists - hence why they never spotted the crisis coming) is wrong.

To actually be able to have a discussion about these issues that is rational and based on evidence, you need to be able to discuss all the problems with economics, but that's a topic where peoples eyes just glaze over, and for many of the most disruptive people who do discuss it, it's like they pick a 'side' (irrespective of much their side ignores evidence disproving their theory), and then it becomes a stupid trench warfare where they defend their side at all costs (the cost usually being the ability for anyone to discuss the topic in any way, shape or form whatsoever).

It's genius really, the way the 'powers that be' (starting in the US, and exporting their ideologies abroad), have so effectively made the population fight among themselves, in a way that ensures almost everybody stays uninformed.

some of us occupiers took part in an economics night that ran for a few weeks with a lecturer from a respected uni and took the time to get the facts straight, and to be honest most of it wasn't news to most of us bit he did correlate the whole large mess together, from reganomics to post changing of the bonds that fateful night the government got pissed up on pints in the dail bar and well and truly rammed the cock of debt down our throats despite respected people such as Stephen Donnelly pleading to take a few days to debate it first and Gerry Adams asking if the bar could be closed!! ffs!!

The fúck? They assaulted him ffs, or is that magically redefined as 'protesting' against him (with his fist I presume?), just because you judge him as a "dirty ****'ing hipp[y]"?

One of the more vitriolically ignorant things I've read here lately.

my god you wouldn't want to be see my internet history, it will break the hearts of future generations that people were once such bast4ards to each other, the end is near, like everything else that grows and grows, the ignorance in this world has reached a tipping point where someday enough people will one day get so fed up of making excuses for their ignorance that they'll give up fighting to stay asleep and it will be such a re-awakening for them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I'd protest if the ISPs somehow went on strike and I'd no internet. Or maybe I wouldn't, I probably wouldn't know it was an actual strike instead of my router being a cúnt as usual.
    I'd plug it out and plug it back in.

some of us occupiers took part in an economics night that ran for a few weeks with a lecturer from a respected uni and took the time to get the facts straight, and to be honest most of it wasn't news to most of us bit he did correlate the whole large mess together, from reganomics to post changing of the bonds that fateful night the government got pissed up on pints in the dail bar and well and truly rammed the cock of debt down our throats despite respected people such as Stephen Donnelly pleading to take a few days to debate it first and Gerry Adams asking if the bar could be closed!! ffs!!
    The thing is, the entire public narrative on economics needs to change, and it's something that takes a fair bit of learning to start to get your head around (a one-night workshop like that is good, but you need an entire political movement dedicated to it; you need to learn enough to be able to see what's happening for yourself, to teach others, rather than have a lecturer tell it) - and the people promoting this, are still trying to form a good narrative for doing that (at places like here and here, among others, it's been taking me a couple of years to pick up all the details, and more to go still).

All of the actual problems with the economic crisis are all known, and so are all of the solutions (at a general level - the details of implementing them would need to be written out, but that's just legwork, the necessary framework for recovery is already known), the problem is though, that this is only blocked by politics, and the wider population in most countries are being kept unaware of 1: the solutions, and 2: the reality of just how bad the economic crisis is, and how much is still to come (which blinds them to just how much worse it will be, than the alternatives).

If I came across a protest that seemed to be worth the time then I would go to it

that's all anybody can expect of you, again, best of luck and maybe see ya on the road someday for a just cause :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I think if the gov started going after peoples savings like they did in Cyprus, I would be out on the streets fairly sharpish.

I think it's a real shame what's gone on in Ireland, corruption and greed is endemic.

the type of ape that came looking for trouble while bullet proof drunk were far from couragous!!

and with that i'm no longer taking part in this, whatever ya call what's happening here, the word is on the tip of me tongue...

T
    T
    T
    Tr
    Tro...

no, it will probably come to me in the middle of the night now.

I love it, no coherent argument or comeback, so you attack the poster.

I'm no troll my friend, in fact in a democracy, my opinion carries as much weight as yours, probably more as you are on the fringe of society and people will find it hard to take you seriously.
    Instead of protesting and shouting, why don't you enlighten everyone with your solution to the crisis this country is experiencing. Seriously, tell me what you would do differently, if you woke up as the King of Ireland tomorrow

I just think you and your agenda are full of it. Yeah the country is on the rocks, thanks to Fianna FAIL, but at least the Blueshirts are trying to do something about it. The end is in sight, it's a long hard road but we'll get there.

standing around chanting slogans won't achieve anything. I'm guessing you are either a dole warrior or a student, either way, you have way too much free time on your hands sucking on the state teat. Take some free advice and grow up, get a job and try to contribute to society.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭hungry hippo 4

I love it, no coherent argument or comeback, so you attack the poster.

I'm no troll my friend, in fact in a democracy, my opinion carries as much weight as yours, probably more as you are on the fringe of society and people will find it hard to take you seriously.
    Instead of protesting and shouting, why don't you enlighten everyone with your solution to the crisis this country is experiencing. Seriously, tell me what you would do differently, if you woke up as the King of Ireland tomorrow

I just think you and your agenda are full of it. Yeah the country is on the rocks, thanks to Fianna FAIL, but at least the Blueshirts are trying to do something about it. The end is in sight, it's a long hard road but we'll get there.

standing around chanting slogans won't achieve anything. I'm guessing you are either a dole warrior or a student, either way, you have way too much free time on your hands sucking on the state teat. Take some free advice and grow up, get a job and try to contribute to society.

What we got here is a crusader

Hey, I just found something I'm willing to protest, that's all:D

you sound like you have been programmed :pac:

here man I just blew 50 grand in vegas. You are going to reimburse me!

It will be a long road but you will get there!

you sound like you have been programmed :pac:

here man I just blew 50 grand in vegas. You are going to reimburse me!

It will be a long road but you will get there!

Oh now you're just being silly, you know that's not the same thing at all. A gamble in Las Vegas is completely different to acknowledging our financial obligations.

The bank bailout was taken to ensure that the banking system wouldn't collapse. A run on the banks would have descended this country to anarchy.

The bailout dwcision was taken by the previous Government, now I'm no fecking blueshirt, but what alternative did the present Government have, except to continue the course that Fianna FAIL had committed us to when they allowed the troika into our country

Seriously. Give me an alternative. It's easy to stand there and shout "down with this sort of thing" but if you're not prepared to try to chabnge the situation, you're just so much hot air.

I gotta go now. I have a job to go to (Unlike some on this thread....snigger)

Oh now you're just being silly, you know that's not the same thing at all. A gamble in Las Vegas is completely different to acknowledging our financial obligations.

The bank bailout was taken to ensure that the banking system wouldn't collapse. A run on the banks would have descended this country to anarchy.

The bailout dwcision was taken by the previous Government, now I'm no fecking blueshirt, but what alternative did the present Government have, except to continue the course that Fianna FAIL had committed us to when they allowed the troika into our country

Seriously. Give me an alternative. It's easy to stand there and shout "down with this sort of thing" but if you're not prepared to try to chabnge the situation, you're just so much hot air.

I gotta go now. I have a job to go to (Unlike some on this thread....snigger)

we should have burned the bondholders to start with!