Horse set alight and killed in Tallagh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Maybe the horse was cold?

Keep trying. That elusive "funny" will happen for you someday soon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭dobman88

Any time tame animals are attacked/killed is never a good time but we can't blame "Tallaght" or TV shows for these kind of mindless acts. It takes some sick minded people to do something like this and it could have happened anywhere in the country, not just Tallaght. Fwiw, I'm from Kerry and have no affiliation to Tallaght but the couple of times I have been there I never got any trouble. There are nutters in every community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Hope you're proud Love/Hate, take a blasé attitude to depicting animal cruelty now! :mad: influencing the scummers is all cos they're impressionable.

Animal cruelty didn't happen before Love/Hate, did it?

Aweful story, I hope the scum who did it are rounded up - but knee jerk reactions aren't helpful

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,836 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

kowloon wrote: »
    Animal welfare just isn't taken seriously enough. People responsible for this kind of thing should do hard time with mandatory psych. Are there any politicians that have this on their agenda?

There is a brand new Animal Welfare Act which is days away from having the Commencement Order signed. It's a significant improvement over what we had.
    That said, the legislation that's already there is plenty adequate to deal with an act of torture such as this, but perhaps the new, long awaited Act will put animal welfare on the map to some degree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

What mindset leads to a group of youths deciding that the best thing to do is buy/steal some petrol and douse an animal and set it on fire?
    The sounds, sight and the smell at the scene must have been absolutely horrific.
    Poor creature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,990 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

As someone who started working out in Citywest at the end of July, I pass the said field (just after Fettercairn‎ LUAS stop) every morning on the LUAS were the horses usually are. How they were never taken away is beyond me, easy to be seen from a speeding LUAS that the horses were malnourished and not looked after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Coopaloop

I actually feel sick after hearing this,the pain that poor horse must have went through is unthinkable. I can't even wrap my head around this to think what sort of person would do such a thing,and what's worse if they are caught they will get a nice comfortable jail cell to live it. Absolute b*stards.
    Shame on the people making jokes about this too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Rod Serling

Stomach turning.

Hope all involved rot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

seamus wrote: »
    I didn't say "Tallaght", you did :)

Fettercairn and Jobstown is an Irish ghetto. Fortunestown and Kiltalown aren't much better.
    Take a drive down the N81 some day and witness the horses roaming free on the grass in Jobstown. Have an aul drive into the estates (don't stop though) and witness the dogs wandering around and crap everywhere.

You haven't a clue what you talking about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Truly sickening I cannot understand the mindset of someone who would do this.
    Just wait until they are caught, arrested, put on trial and sent to prison,
    Lads in there know how to deal with people who torture animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

listermint wrote: »
    Yes they are proper ghettos with open green spaces and brand new large schools and community gym centres.

I have been around them plenty, Fettercairn actually has its own community horse program with a large paddock and stables all paid from EU funding. with a community center at is side.
    That's all great, it's wonderful that they're trying to improve the situation, but it's actually irrelevant to my post. There are animals roaming free around these areas. I see them every time I go through. These are massively socially deprived areas. Low education levels, lows employment levels, high crime levels.

One could argue that providing a community horse programme just encourages people to own horses when they lack the education and resources to do so properly, but there are equal arguments in favour of it, especially when horse ownership is culturally important in the area and therefore unlikely to go away through traditional enforcement methods.
    I actually despise your opinion on this because it just shows how ignorant some people are, hiding ignorance behind smiley faces doesnt make it any better. And neither does your side kick oldnotwise rolling around thanking all the anti tallaght posts.
    And my opinion is what exactly? That these areas are socially deprived? That they suffer badly from a vicious circle of poverty, crime, and substance abuse? That acts of animal cruelty are common? How exactly am I wrong on these points?

Oh, and unless you're privy to more information than I, I don't recall ever meeting nor collaborating with OldnotWise. Are you perhaps just a little paranoid and sensitive whenever anyone mentions Tallaght that you start accusing them of saying all sorts of things they never actually said? I grew up not far from Tallaght, I live a stone's throw from it. Anyone who tries to claim that the areas I mentioned are "grand, just as good as anywhere else", are away with the fairies.
    Its actually hilarious how misguided you are.
    As opposed to how deeply buried in the sand your head is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/environment/animal_welfare_and_control/control_of_horses.html

It's a legal requirement to have a licence for any horse you own. To obtain this licence an inspector has to approve that you are capable of caring for the animal and that the area you intend to keep it in is adequate etc.
    I'd say there's f*ck all horse licences for the horses we see roaming the estates of not only Dublin but every other city and large town in the country. The gardaí are well within their rights to seize these horses if they suspect any mistreatment or breach of the licensing terms/lack of licence. But that doesn't happen does it? Why?
    I expect the usual "Gardaí are under resourced", "They've better things to be doing" arguments are the primary reasons. It's disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I love how people come on here and bad mouth whole communities based off I know what really happens is complete uttter bs ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

loubeelou wrote: »
    even if the offenders are caught, nothing will happen because they're from a disadvantaged background or their mother's didn't love them or some other bullsh1t like that.
    Has that ever actually happened? And why the certainty that nothing will happen to the criminals in this case?
    pundy wrote: »
    it's tallaght. that's why.
    You'd wanna be some dope to agree with this post.
    gramar wrote: »
    The Irish are great craic and as sound as the day is long but some really sick motherfcukers walk amongst us.
    As in, the same as any nationality anywhere?
    dd972 wrote: »
    You don't see many stories like this happening in Monkstown or Sandymount, wonder why......:rolleyes:
    You tell us?

It's patronising to say social problems are exactly the same in any area - they're not; but it's also plain auld snobbery and ignorance to condemn an entire area (in this case with a population of over 70k) and its people due to a minority of lowlives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Snobbery in this thread is disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

seamus wrote: »
    This is what happens when you ghettoise scum all together and let them own animals to roam free around housing estates.

And this is what happens when gob****es are allowed on the Internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

Absolutely disgusting. Those responsible should be severely severely punished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Psychopath
    don't PC it by saying sociopath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Animal cruelty didn't happen before Love/Hate, did it?

Aweful story, I hope the scum who did it are rounded up - but knee jerk reactions aren't helpful

People don't get it. You can have violent programmes from the Americas but scummers are only influenced slighty by it. The dangers lie in a programme that emulates scummers in Ireland. Ireland is too small for this, scummers think the programme is real in this country, scummers have no intelligence and will think what happens on Irish TV is normal behaviour.

We need to return to Glenroe!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

I expect the usual "Gardaí are under resourced",

One resource they be short of is a stable in the garda station. Then you could add in sugar cubes, straw and water if you want. Oh, and training in dealing with animals.

If you were beter informed you'd know that the local authorities gather up stray animals including horses. They do take a lot of horses but the problem is at epidemic level in dublin and what they do is a drop in the ocean. They also usually can't identify the owners/keepers of horses wandering around on other peoples land or on public land. And if they can identiy them they are usually part of a particular minority who are given free reign in this country to abide by no rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

I grew up in Shannon, this kind of thing is always being done to cats ):.

But to say everyone from there, even the majority are like to the same thing is hardly fair.

In shannon it was a group of asshole teens/young adults, with no sense of empathy. and were (always) "bored".
    (I didn't click the link) I assume in tallaght it's the same thing.

It will generally be the same group of trouble makers in an area, and because 1 if you're under 18, or 2, it' mistreatment of animal. Nothing is done about it. Allowing the same group to keep on causing trouble.

Street cleaning with a sign of the crime on their backs, for whatever months/years is deemed enough, would be a good punishment. Better than just jail time.
    Our animal rights laws are still very bad. ):

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

If these people are ever caught and brought to trial you'll see the real reason so much of this goes on. The f*ckers will get a suspended sentence and be turned loose on the streets again, because in this country it's more important to jail people for recreational drug use and non payment of fines than it is to jail violent scumbags. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

People don't get it. You can have violent programmes from the Americas but scummers are only influenced slighty by it. The dangers lie in a programme that emulates scummers in Ireland. Ireland is too small for this, scummers think the programme is real in this country, scummers have no intelligence and will think what happens on Irish TV is normal behaviour.

We need to return to Glenroe!

Ah Icarus, you have flown to close to the sun here I'm afraid and shown yourself up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

wprathead wrote: »
    Ah Icarus, you have flown to close to the sun here I'm afraid and shown yourself up

If there's one thing I learned today, it's don't diss AHer's precious Love/Hate :rolleyes:

*Makes note to diss Love/Hate more in future* :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭xploderz

Obviously not everyone in Tallaght is a horse-murderer, but there certainly seems to be a lot more idiots in that area than other more affluent areas and that's a fair comment. Not a place I would ever live anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭puppieperson

We are supposed to be a nation of horse lovers we are not in fact we only appear to like animals when we can bet on them and get drunk in their vicinity. W are a nation of gob****es. My friend recently bought a registered connemara foal for 50 euro ( a throwaway)its costs 150 euro to register and micro chip a foal. people are giving horses away and eejits are taking them.
    The horses in ireland on county council land should all be confiscated and destroyed unless an owner provides evidence of land ownership and is prepared to passport and chip the said horse with his/ her name and address. otherwise it is kinder to euthanize the said horse .
    the idea of a worthless numb-nut who lives in a flat owning a horse is beyond a joke. our minister for agriculture needs to act now. this brutal act of cruelty is most disconncerting and to think we live among vicious evil people like this with no empathy for a creature a hungry abandoned creature starving and cold and then put to death like this.
    i dread to think what sort of home this person inhabits.
    What sor t o f a mother and father created such a monster. the poor animal i hope he died quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

If there's one thing I learned today, it's don't diss AHer's precious Love/Hate :rolleyes:

*Makes note to diss Love/Hate more in future* :o

Do you actually have a point to make?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

I would like to apoligise for my comment earlier on, it was a stupid thing to say and i realise how much of an idiotic comment it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

Assholes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

I would like to apoligise for my comment earlier on, it was a stupid thing to say and i realise how much of an idiotic comment it was.
    Fair play for manning up and apologising.