Are things genuinely tigering up again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Mandatory atari option
    I cant find anymore room on my house to put another conservatory or extension that I dont need!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭Daith

vicwatson wrote: »
    Estate Agents pushing prices up again - picking the prices "out of their arses"

Not at all. You've got a tight supply of accommodation. Well quality accommodation. You have both banks and NAMA who want house prices to go up so they'll sit on the houses taking a "hit". You have people in negative equity who won't sell as house prices are going up.

Mostly a Dublin thing but it's not just estate agents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Not really, it's turned from a flatlining cat to a close-bred moggy with audible breathing and its eyes pasted shut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

Mandatory atari option
    Brick boxes getting more expensive, particularly in Dublin

No one is buying, and most of the jobs are in Dublin. Sin é.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

catallus wrote: »
    Anyway it occurred to me at about half nine that if they raise interest rates by even a quarter of a percent I am actually literally fcuked,

Do you mean metaphorically, or figuratively - or does your sex life actually depend on movements in mortgage interest rates?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

Mandatory atari option
    coinflip13 wrote: »
    No christmas since 2007 has felt like christmas.

How so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭JohnFalstaff

coinflip13 wrote: »
    No christmas since 2007 has felt like christmas.
    How so?

That was the year he found out Santy wasn't real.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Is the fact that the jobless have fallen not down to half the country Fecked off?

And JobBridge, no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭6541

Actually some good topics here, shame its in AH as it would be good to have a serious debate about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Things are currently kittening up at the moment a long way and a lot of work to do before we are tigering up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,105 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Mandatory atari option
    40% of all sales are executor, i.e. someone died to let the house onto the market. That rate means the market is completely skewed. Anyone who pays 40 or 50% more for a house in Dublin than it was worth 12 months ago is a fool and is being gouged.

You could call it a dead Tiger bounce, but it has no basis to last. People should refer to the traditional salary multipliers to keep tabs on the typical realistic value of private homes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭wtlltw

Mandatory atari option
    OldNotWIse wrote: »
    I cant find anymore room on my house to put another conservatory or extension that I dont need!:D

You need a basement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I'm opening a chain of specialist breakfast roll shops around Dublin to take advantage of when the influx of builders from around the country starts again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Daith wrote: »
    Not at all. You've got a tight supply of accommodation. Well quality accommodation. You have both banks and NAMA who want house prices to go up so they'll sit on the houses taking a "hit". You have people in negative equity who won't sell as house prices are going up.

Mostly a Dublin thing but it's not just estate agents.

The Estate Agents got away scott free in the downturn, none were blamed for fuelling price increases in property, incorrectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

If Ireland goes into Tiger mode again around house prices it really should be sat in the corner and poked with sticks. There are no fundamental economic indicators for it. Wishful thinking mass delusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Mandatory atari option
    MadsL wrote: »
    If Ireland goes into Tiger mode again around house prices it really should be sat in the corner and poked with sticks. There are no fundamental economic indicators for it. Wishful thinking mass delusion.

Just like the last time then, as in mass delusion. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Where? Rental prices in Dublin have gone up massively and it's 6 years since the crash started.

Where what?

I've been watching the property market in the Dun Laoghaire area quite closely. One place we looked at was on the market for €525k, but needs some work, so to me they should accept an offer of around €500.

Spoke to the agent three months ago and was told they have two offers for €540 and €535 so if. I'm interested I need to offer €550 and be quick because the seller was making their mind up in the next day or two.

Property is still on the market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

The Estate Agents got away scott free in the downturn, none were blamed for fuelling price increases in property, incorrectly.

It's almost as if they were paid to do it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Have no idea if property is picking up - nor do I care - but it strikes me that a lot of people are as currently addicted to the idea of the downturn never ending as people were addicted to the idea of the boom never ending.

No idea if it's just wanting to be right or - highly ironically given the criticism of property mania - they are obsessed with entering the market right at the actual bottom.

The violent reactions to any suggestion in price rises could be slightly modified to read price drops and inserted right back into a thread from 2007.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 coinflip13

No
    How so?

Dunno - I remember in christmas 2007 and as long as I can remember before, everybody had lights and decorations up, their was just a general buzz about, subjectively it *just* felt like christmas always felt. Then in 2008 the pendulum had swung the other way entirely and everyone was anxious about the coming year, nobody had lights and decorations up; I remember driving to pick up my sister and there were maybe one or two houses with lights up in her whole estate and one or two where I live - the year before 95% would have had decorations up - peoples' minds were a million miles away from christmas. Before the shops and the media would be whipping up a brilliant shopping frenzy and a great atmosphere where everyone was having a joyful time. Subsequent years have shown little improvement in my opinion. I find it hard to believe others haven't felt this! There has been a gloomy feel to life since 2008 in general - it's not life as it was before, everyone is just existing and trying to get by with no sense of hope for the future ..
    That was the year he found out Santy wasn't real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Mandatory atari option
    They're not building more land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I wouldn't say "scott free" exactly, lots of estate agents folded. Remember Remax? Who seemed to have an office in every town and village in the country? They now have just six offices in the entire country. Lots of smaller agents completely folded.

Agents who had diversified into lettings, commerical property and property management generally kept their heads above water (though not without some layoffs), but the agents who specialised almost entirely in residential property, like remax, got absolutely slaughtered.
    I remember in christmas 2007 and as long as I can remember before, everybody had lights and decorations up, their was just a general buzz about, subjectively it *just* felt like christmas always felt. Then in 2008 the pendulum had swung the other way entirely and everyone was anxious about the coming year, nobody had lights and decorations up; I remember driving to pick up my sister and there were maybe one or two houses with lights up in her whole estate and one or two where I live - the year before 95% would have had decorations up
    I don't know where you're living. Xmas seems to have gotten bigger and bigger every year as far as I can see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

Mandatory atari option
    Until the house buying is based on new mortgages etc, it will be a false boom. And banks are still very very tight on large loans nevermind on mortgages.
    So essentially the housing market is still "broken". There are people out there with cash hoping to pick up a bargain "on the up" but I expect the gains to disappears once the cash buyers are satisfied. Many of these are ex public servants with nice pension pots. I do think some estate agents in Dublin are acting the maggot but only the foolish will be fooled this time around.
    Banks and Nama are yet to offload, that should set prices back again.
    In fact I think the market has been 10-15% overpriced since Jan 1 2013.

Banks and Nama are yet to offload, that should set prices back again.
    In fact I think the market has been 10-15% overpriced since Jan 1 2013.

Banks and NAMA will quite happily sit on houses with the supply constrain waiting for house prices to go up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭W123-80's

statesaver wrote: »
    Quick, everyone get on the property ladder before you can't can afford to !!

Daith wrote: »
    Banks and NAMA will quite happily sit on houses with the supply constrain waiting for house prices to go up.

NAMA don't own any houses in south Dublin though and that is where prices have gone up.

Mandatory atari option
    Larbre34 wrote: »
    People should refer to the traditional salary multipliers to keep tabs on the typical realistic value of private homes.

Yes that's it exactly. Especially with household costs going up (taxes etc).

NAMA don't own any houses in south Dublin though and that is where prices have gone up.

No houses at all? Have you got a list? I def thought they owned some apts in Grand Canal Dock but are being let out as "luxury corporate rentals by the week"

Mandatory atari option

Who told you that? Nama has plenty of property in South Dublin.

Houses?

Normal three bedroom family homes?