Best cook-at-home Pizza?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

The 9 or 10 per pack mini Tesco pizzas!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    First the cheap beer thread gets overrun by beer snobs, and now the frozen pizza thread is going the same way from the make-it-yourself brigade, is nothing sacred anymore??

DIY pizza people, get your own thread.

That Inferno one actually had so much hot stuff in it it made my mouth numb and I couldn't taste anything!
    Goodfellas were the only show in town for years, but the bases were like paving slabs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Then can remember having a Goodfellas in 1994 watching the world cup.
    'this changes everything!!!'
    I remember Goodfellas running an ad on RTE around that time, right in the middle of Goodfellas the film. Seemed a great idea, especially because they were playing off the mobster idea a bit at the time with there being a good few classic films of the like around back then... except it wound up being on directly after the brutal Billy Batts burial scene. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

o1s1n wrote: »
    For me, Pizza = convenience.

If I'm going to go to the effort to cook something properly, it's not going to be pizza :pac:

Bet I could cook a homemade one quicker than you could cook a supermarket one.

Takes me about 12mins including cooking time from starting to getting it on the table - most of the prep is done while oven is heating.

What could be more convienent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

#1 - Chicago Town Sloppy Joe

#2 - Aldi Takeaway Meat Feast (I think thats the name - the square one) has lovely toppings but the base is slightly bland, its massive though and still gets bought regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Takes me about 12mins including cooking time from starting to getting it on the table - most of the prep is done while oven is heating.

Any recipes frank???

This one's easy - http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/recipe/pizza-dough
    and the sauce - http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/vegetables-recipes/the-quickest-tomato-sauce

Toppings are up to the individual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I like to get the ones in Superquinn that they make up for you at the deli. They are really good but harsh on the oul wallet.

My boyfriend likes Apache, think its 13e for a pizza.
    I like dominos, 20e for a large pizza with any toppings you want, garlic bread, wedges and either cookies or 2 cans of coke.

I really like dominoes. Im not picky with food at all, but I think its my favourite out of chippers/apache/four star/pizza hut etc.

If you're in Dublin and want the worlds nicest pizza (slight exaggeration) try Burger Max on Camden St. Holy crap its so good I want to shag the staff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Step 1: Turn on oven
    Step 2: Take pizza out of packaging
    Step 3: Put in over
    Step 4: After X mins take it out

While its cooking you can do something else. For 1.50 I doubt the saving would be enough to make up the extra effort. Pizza is what I eat when I cant be assed to make something.

Ah now Frank, you're telling porkies.

You said 12 minutes from starting to table. Have you a recipe for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Lidl speciale. Perfect base. Nice amount of meat. Two in a box for tree euro. We slice a tomato and throw on some cheapo sliced ham, a bit of onion and some extra cheese. If I am feeling particularly fat I'll add a sliced up ball of mozarrella (59c) - heaven :) OH likes a sprinkling of chilli pepper on her third-I-mean-half :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I have to ask... how?

It takes me at leat and hour until the dough has risen

On topic, if I can't be bothered to make one, Dr Oetker would be my first (and pretty much only) choice.

I can't abide those thick-based things, if I want stale bread with cheese on I'll get that but I wouldn't call it a pizza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

DEFINITELY the Iceland "Spicy Double Pepperoni and jalapeno" ones.

absolutely UNREAL.

Ah now Frank, you're telling porkies.

You said 12 minutes from starting to table. Have you a recipe for that?

Well I said I make the bases and sauce in batches and freeze them too.

I admittedly can't make pizza base, tomato sauce and pizza from scratch in 12mins - but with pre-made frozen base and sauce - 12mins easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭hamsterboy

Go into your local Lidl.
    Buy the 3 pack of Margarita pizza (don't worry, will just be using it as a starting spot.
    Pick up some Jalapeneos and Mozzerrella while you're there
    Let a pizza defrost
    Add some grated Mozzerrella
    Add some chilli oil and rosemary
    Form anchovy fillets into a wheel and spoke formation
    Sprinke with Jalapeneos and sliced olives
    Into the oven
    Awesomeness

HB

Well I said I make the bases and sauce in batches and freeze them too.

I admittedly can't make pizza base, tomato sauce and pizza from scratch in 12mins - but with pre-made frozen base and sauce - 12mins easy.

Do you cook the base from frozen? I've never done that. I always have to wait for the dough to prove.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

The Inferno one they sell in Lidl:D

A rite of passage if ever there was one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

byronbay2 wrote: »
    Maybe there are some good frozen pizzas out there but the ones I've seen mentioned on this thread (Chicago Town, Goodfellas, Dr. Oetker) are definitely horrible.
    I mentioned chicago town takeaway ones, only out a few years, you had said 10 years.

I still think it strange that people are seemingly trying an entire range of products after find all the others horrible.

Chipper pizza's are generally muck, there is a reason you get a 12" base for like 8 euro. Pizzeria's obviously different story, much higher quality.
    So because the "junk mail" pizza companies charge a fortune that only idiots pay you presume its got to be better!?! Do not presume high price means high quality.

lads have been on in other threads who worked in junkmail pizza places saying the ingredients costed about €2.

The reason they are €8 in a chipper is since they are not listing it as €16 and littering your house with half price bogus offers.

I do not buy the €8 pizzas in chippers since they are still so relatively expensive. My local chipper has irish ballyfree chicken and can do a family box, 2 breasts on the bone, wing, thigh & drumstick with 2 chips for €10. The ingredients for pizza cost a pittance next to these, so it is still very expensive, while being a fraction of what the junkfood places charge.

Its like an emporer's new clothes type mindblock for some people.

I'd love a battered sausage.

Or a porkie as they're called where I grew up.

Do you cook the base from frozen? I've never done that. I always have to wait for the dough to prove.

I make the bases fully and part cook them in oven (maybe 4mins at a high temp).
    Then I freeze them and take them out when I fancy pizza.
    5 - 6mins further cooking at a high temp and they're done. Allow 6mins for oven to preheat and to dress your pizza with your chosen toppings and you're looking at a 12 minute cook time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I would be a Chicago Town fan myself, I really like the base on them.

They used to do a 5 cheese one that I'd add my own stuff to. Then I noticed the number of cheeses drop one at a time. I think they just call it cheese now because 2 cheese sounds so lame. Either way, the tomato stuff changed or something because it's really sweet. Don't like them any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭spitfireIRL

Very intrigued to try this Inferno pizza....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

I'd love a battered sausage.

Or a porkie as they're called where I grew up.

Doused in salt and vinegar. Used to call them porkies were I grew up also, back in those days they were sold from a mobile chipper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Its inedible.....dont get me wrong, I like spicy food, but that yoke is just too hot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭spitfireIRL

Anyone wrote: »
    Its inedible.....dont get me wrong, I like spicy food, but that yoke is just too hot

See, you tell me that, and I know you're probably right, but it just makes me more intrigued :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Its like the devil himself has pis sed on your tongue! They are insanely hot, but really tasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,703 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

rubadub wrote: »
    So because the "junk mail" pizza companies charge a fortune that only idiots pay you presume its got to be better!?! Do not presume high price means high quality.

lads have been on in other threads who worked in junkmail pizza places saying the ingredients costed about €2.

The reason they are €8 in a chipper is since they are not listing it as €16 and littering your house with half price bogus offers.

I do not buy the €8 pizzas in chippers since they are still so relatively expensive. My local chipper has irish ballyfree chicken and can do a family box, 2 breasts on the bone, wing, thigh & drumstick with 2 chips for €10. The ingredients for pizza cost a pittance next to these, so it is still very expensive, while being a fraction of what the junkfood places charge.

Its like an emporer's new clothes type mindblock for some people.

All well being high and mighty, but everything costs more than it should, its just the way it is, an iPhone costs about $200 to make, doesn't stop people buying them at $600 in their millions.

The bar is set high for takeaway pizza, I am not disputing that at all. In fact i rarely ever but takeaway pizza. But Domino's isn't the only chain, 4 star and Apache are cheaper (Apache any size for 9.99) and they are still miles better than a chipper pizza. What i'm saying is that in the pizza marketplace, 8 euro for 12' is cheap, and to be honest you get what you pay for cos chipper pizza's are usually absolute gash.

Your last line lets you down a bit tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Your last line lets you down a bit tbh
    Maybe you just don't understand it, it applies perfectly to yourself by the way.

I don't see how you think I was being "high & mighty".

And the same thing applies to you as the others. Why the hell did you keep going to all these chippers if the first few were so vile? Or is it only based on 1 or 2 chippers as I expect.
    everything costs more than it should
    I don't think so, I get extremely good deals in many takeaways, like the chicken one I mentioned, I doubt I could cook it myself for that price. If the junkmail pizza places were working on the same margins the pizzas would be about €3-4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

hamsterboy wrote: »
    Go into your local Lidl.
    Buy the 3 pack of Margarita pizza (don't worry, will just be using it as a starting spot.
    Pick up some Jalapeneos and Mozzerrella while you're there
    Let a pizza defrost
    Add some grated Mozzerrella
    Add some chilli oil and rosemary
    Form anchovy fillets into a wheel and spoke formation
    Sprinke with Jalapeneos and sliced olives
    Into the oven
    Awesomeness

HB

Defeats the purpose of what cook-at-home pizza is all about, see below. You may as well join the make-your-own brigade.
    Step 1: Turn on oven
    Step 2: Take pizza out of packaging
    Step 3: Put in over
    Step 4: After X mins take it out

Pizza is what I eat when I cant be assed to make something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

try one but have gallons of water close to hand

you think to yourself this is not bad and then the burning starts:eek:

i don't know how they are allowed sell them:)