Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best cook-at-home Pizza?

• 28-11-2013 1:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

I'm curious on this one..
    I do like a good pizza, but really I have not been able to get a decent frozen or fresh, cook at home pizza.

Let's not discuss the merits of the idea itself, rather what is your preferred brand, what topping & what makes it good (Base/Toppings/Sauce/Size/etc)

I had one of Lidl's fresh pre-made last week.. good toppings, doughy base.. 6/10

Chicago Town - Base good, toppings tasted cheap.

Dr Oatger Ristorante (?) - load of crap.

Your Recommendations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Goodfellas pepperoni.

I guarantee a massive erection\wide on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Make your own.
    It's not very hard - the base is the hardest bit - I usually make around 8-10 and then freeze them. The tomato sauce is really easy (you can freeze that too), then get some mozerealla balls, chorizo, freash basil, peppers etc and pop in the oven for 5-10mins.

You'll never go back to a goodfellas or lidl pizza again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,124 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

GTFO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The Inferno one they sell in Lidl:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 coinflip13

Goodfellas ciabatta rustica choriza piccante

http://img.tesco.ie/Groceries/pi/716%5C5391520182716%5CIDShot_225x225.jpg

Had it last week and it was gorgeous, nicest goodfellas pizza I've had. Doesn't get a rock hard crust and base or have lots of pointless dough and no toppings like some goodfellas pizzas, it is a bit spicy and is just quite good.

Chicago town pepperoni one is nice of course but I can never seem to finish one, they're massive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I'm curious on this one..
    I do like a good pizza, but really I have not been able to get a decent frozen or fresh, cook at home pizza.

Let's not discuss the merits of the idea itself, rather what is your preferred brand, what topping & what makes it good (Base/Toppings/Sauce/Size/etc)

I had one of Lidl's fresh pre-made last week.. good toppings, doughy base.. 6/10

Chicago Town - Base good, toppings tasted cheap.

Your Recommendations?

I ought to give you a pizza my mind, It's Dr. Oetker, you ignorant, foul-mouthed peasant.

To answer the question, that and Lidl Luxury pizza is the nicest i have enjoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭Horrocksjm

I love Aldi's Specially selected pizzas at home. I really like the goats cheese one. Much better than milano imho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

If one were to make there own dough where would one do the rising step? I don't have a hot press or one of those fancy heated drawers. Oven probably wouldn't go low enough would it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

I've got the goo on me for pizza now & it's lunch time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭conorhal

Chicago Town - So much sugar in the tomato base that it's actually sickly sweet. Absolutely vile.

Dr Oatger Ristorante - Saltier then the dead sea, horrible stale base.

Godfellas - acceptable, particularlty their takeaway meatfest.

Superquinn\supervalu fresh- OK, but base tends to be very doughy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

dominos ye peasant :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

I would be a Chicago Town fan myself, I really like the base on them.

The thin base ones are pretty decent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

conorhal wrote: »
    Chicago Town - So much sugar in the tomato base that it's actually sickly sweet. Absolutely vile.

Dr Oatger Ristorante - Saltier then the dead sea, horrible stale base.

Godfellas - acceptable, particularlty their takeaway meatfest.

Superquinn\supervalu fresh- OK, but base tends to be very doughy.

OETKER! OETKER!!!!!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Find most frozen pizzas to be average at best, haven't had one in years. I know a lot of people who swear by Chicago Town but I thought they were pretty poor; sauce and toppings weren't good at all.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

If one were to make there own dough where would one do the rising step? I don't have a hot press or one of those fancy heated drawers. Oven probably wouldn't go low enough would it?

Just leave it somewhere that's not really cold - with pizza bases, because they're so thin, you really don't need to worry about it too much. I usually leave the dough for 45mins or so and then roll out the bases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

mini pizzas in lidl are gorgeous.not the same as a big pizza but they are good to eat.

ps make your own my arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

I'll tell you the same sage advice I plan on telling my yet-to-be-born son on his wedding day: never buy a frozen pizza whose packaging doesnt let you see the toppings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Mr.McLovin wrote: »

Rankest of all the pizza takeaways. Seriously.

We have a small chipper /pizzeria near to where we live, pizzas are cheaper by far then domino's, and much nicer too.

When I ask for chicken, bacon and mushroom on my pizza from there, it's chunks of chicken breast, whole rashers, and fresh mushroom.

Not processed mass produced shyte from domino's, or frozen mushrooms.

Domino's has to be one of, if not the most over expensive takeaways in this country. Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

conorhal wrote: »

Dr Oatger Ristorante - Saltier then the dead sea, horrible stale base..
    There are loads of chicago towns, which are you talking about? And if its all of them then that's even weirder, since if you had 4 or 5 of the styles and found them vile why would you continue.

I think the chicago town takeaway one is alright, don't like the others, don't like some of the takeaway ones though, the ones with BBQ sauce.

One main point is not to overcook these pizzas, most have far too long a time listed on them.

When I ask for chicken, bacon and mushroom on my pizza from there, it's chunks of chicken breast, whole rashers, and fresh mushroom.

That's some fcuked up sh;t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

We have a small chipper /pizzeria near to where we live, pizzas are cheaper by far then domino's, and much nicer too.

Domino's has to be one of, if not the most over expensive takeaways in this country. Seriously.

For serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

The Inferno one they sell in Lidl:D

I tried that, now I like my spicy food, but Holy Moly.. that was NOT funny !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Wossack wrote: »
    I'll tell you the same sage advice I plan on telling my yet-to-be-born son on his wedding day: never buy a frozen pizza whose packaging doesnt let you see the toppings

*sniff* I wish I had a dad like you (will be) - my dad never gave me any pizza advice in his whole damn life!

Regarding pizza: I haven't bought a frozen pizza in at least 10 years - they are all horrible. It's very hard to get a good fresh pizza too but the best I have had are the Lidl ones. Chicken and pesto for the children, Parma ham and salami for the adults. Handy to have in the fridge for the weekend when you don't feel like cooking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,301 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

All frozen pizzas are sh!t. Some of the fresh ones you can buy are ok but really if you want the best you need to make it yourself

That's some fcuked up sh;t.

Sorry. What I mean is bacon pieces from actual rashers. Not the fake bacon from dominos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

byronbay2 wrote: »
    Regarding pizza: I haven't bought a frozen pizza in at least 10 years - they are all horrible.
    The decent ones are only out the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Mr.McLovin wrote: »

Yeah, order a Dominos uncooked and throw it in the oven.

You know, like the way the thread title specified cook-at-home pizza.

You know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Dixie Chick

Without making it yourself...

Lidl Alfredo ones, the margherita ones add lots of bacon and pineapple*

*controversial

For serious?

Seriously. Try getting a pizza from a chipper or a pizzeria and compare the quality and price against domino's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

For serious?

Dominos is probably the worst pizza I've ever tasted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,069 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Seriously. Try getting a pizza from a chipper or a pizzeria and compare the quality and price against domino's.

Chipper pizza's are generally muck, there is a reason you get a 12" base for like 8 euro. Pizzeria's obviously different story, much higher quality.

I'll be honest, if you are hungry and/or lazy a thin base goodfella's is hard to beat. 1000 calories for 3 euro? Bargain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,124 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I actually like Dominos, but you'd want to be gone in the head to spend €18 for 8 slices. Their prices are criminal. I only ever get food there if I have a voucher or discount code.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

aldi's meat feast ones are quite tasty

rubadub wrote: »
    The decent ones are only out the last few years.

Maybe there are some good frozen pizzas out there but the ones I've seen mentioned on this thread (Chicago Town, Goodfellas, Dr. Oetker) are definitely horrible.

Funnily enough, there was a mobile Dr. Oetker restaurant set up in Wilton S.C last week giving out free slices of freshly cooked Dr. O frozen pizza. I was interested to see if they had improved it since my last tasting - it was just as bad as I remembered!

I had some chicago town one that was a little individual one, came in a two pack. That was quite delish. Pizza just isn't something I would ever buy in a supermarket or order for delivery (I ordered one last weekend for the first time in years and it was niceish but I was hungover so I think anything would have been).

Making them is easy and scrummy. Or else proper pizza from a pizzeria. None of yer goodfellas or dominos carry on.

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    Chipper pizza's are generally muck, there is a reason you get a 12" base for like 8 euro. Pizzeria's obviously different story, much higher quality.

I'll be honest, if you are hungry and/or lazy a thin base goodfella's is hard to beat. 1000 calories for 3 euro? Bargain!

My local chipper makes its pizza from scratch (including dough) and they're delicious. Seriously.

When I say chipper though, it has 2 menus. A pizza/Italian menu and a chipper menu.

I think a 9" margarita is only €4 from them. The eurospar next door has frozen yokes for €4.99. No brainer really.

First the cheap beer thread gets overrun by beer snobs, and now the frozen pizza thread is going the same way from the make-it-yourself brigade, is nothing sacred anymore??

aldi's meat feast ones are quite tasty

I do like a good meat feast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Yeah, but do you like pizza too?

Pizza?

My local chipper makes its pizza from scratch (including dough) and they're delicious. Seriously.

When I say chipper though, it has 2 menus. A pizza/Italian menu and a chipper menu.

I think a 9" margarita is only €4 from them. The eurospar next door has frozen yokes for €4.99. No brainer really.

Fair enough, sounds like it has alot of focus on pizza's then. I've had the odd slice from most of the prominent chippers around town, very poor imo. Most of the pizza's are almost entirely beige, kind of like the garlic bread pizza from dominos.

:P

Oooh matron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,707 ✭✭✭brevity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

Geez, didnt take long to filthy up the thread :(

Im taking my italian sausage and leaving

Wossack wrote: »
    Geez, didnt take long to filthy up the thread :(

Im taking my italian sausage and leaving

Aw, that's a pity.

Anyone have any German sausage? they're usually thicker and meatier anyway.

But they have dominos cookies...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Just brought back some memories. It's been a while since I was in Ireland, but Tesco's have or used to have those counters with the pizza bases in a pizza box and all the fresh toppings laid out. Just pick the size of the base and go nuts with the toppings and you just pay by weight. Then stick it under the grill when you get home. Better than any frozen pizza I've ever had and better than a lot of pizza deliveries, I do miss those, nothing like that here.

seriously, i was joking :pac:

I actually like Dominos, but you'd want to be gone in the head to spend €18 for 8 slices. Their prices are criminal. I only ever get food there if I have a voucher or discount code.

Yeah, agree with that. Wouldn't be a weekly thing but I like a Dominos pizza occasionally. I certainly don't think that there's anything wrong with the quality of their product.

Like MNIU, I can't imagine too many people pay full whack for the grub in there - I never have. Just ring and say I have a "2 for the price of 1" voucher (I don't *snigger*) - I have never been asked to produce said voucher. Still works out as ~ €10 for a large pizza, which, as far as I'm concerned, is enough to be paying for a takeaway pizza.