Best cook-at-home Pizza?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

For serious?

Dominos is probably the worst pizza I've ever tasted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Seriously. Try getting a pizza from a chipper or a pizzeria and compare the quality and price against domino's.

Chipper pizza's are generally muck, there is a reason you get a 12" base for like 8 euro. Pizzeria's obviously different story, much higher quality.

I'll be honest, if you are hungry and/or lazy a thin base goodfella's is hard to beat. 1000 calories for 3 euro? Bargain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I actually like Dominos, but you'd want to be gone in the head to spend €18 for 8 slices. Their prices are criminal. I only ever get food there if I have a voucher or discount code.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

aldi's meat feast ones are quite tasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

rubadub wrote: »
    The decent ones are only out the last few years.

Maybe there are some good frozen pizzas out there but the ones I've seen mentioned on this thread (Chicago Town, Goodfellas, Dr. Oetker) are definitely horrible.

Funnily enough, there was a mobile Dr. Oetker restaurant set up in Wilton S.C last week giving out free slices of freshly cooked Dr. O frozen pizza. I was interested to see if they had improved it since my last tasting - it was just as bad as I remembered!

I had some chicago town one that was a little individual one, came in a two pack. That was quite delish. Pizza just isn't something I would ever buy in a supermarket or order for delivery (I ordered one last weekend for the first time in years and it was niceish but I was hungover so I think anything would have been).

Making them is easy and scrummy. Or else proper pizza from a pizzeria. None of yer goodfellas or dominos carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    Chipper pizza's are generally muck, there is a reason you get a 12" base for like 8 euro. Pizzeria's obviously different story, much higher quality.

I'll be honest, if you are hungry and/or lazy a thin base goodfella's is hard to beat. 1000 calories for 3 euro? Bargain!

My local chipper makes its pizza from scratch (including dough) and they're delicious. Seriously.

When I say chipper though, it has 2 menus. A pizza/Italian menu and a chipper menu.

I think a 9" margarita is only €4 from them. The eurospar next door has frozen yokes for €4.99. No brainer really.

First the cheap beer thread gets overrun by beer snobs, and now the frozen pizza thread is going the same way from the make-it-yourself brigade, is nothing sacred anymore??

aldi's meat feast ones are quite tasty

I do like a good meat feast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Yeah, but do you like pizza too?

Pizza?

My local chipper makes its pizza from scratch (including dough) and they're delicious. Seriously.

When I say chipper though, it has 2 menus. A pizza/Italian menu and a chipper menu.

I think a 9" margarita is only €4 from them. The eurospar next door has frozen yokes for €4.99. No brainer really.

Fair enough, sounds like it has alot of focus on pizza's then. I've had the odd slice from most of the prominent chippers around town, very poor imo. Most of the pizza's are almost entirely beige, kind of like the garlic bread pizza from dominos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

:P

Oooh matron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,536 ✭✭✭brevity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭Wossack

Geez, didnt take long to filthy up the thread :(

Im taking my italian sausage and leaving

Wossack wrote: »
    Geez, didnt take long to filthy up the thread :(

Im taking my italian sausage and leaving

Aw, that's a pity.

Anyone have any German sausage? they're usually thicker and meatier anyway.

Domino's has to be one of, if not the most over expensive takeaways in this country. Seriously.

But they have dominos cookies...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Just brought back some memories. It's been a while since I was in Ireland, but Tesco's have or used to have those counters with the pizza bases in a pizza box and all the fresh toppings laid out. Just pick the size of the base and go nuts with the toppings and you just pay by weight. Then stick it under the grill when you get home. Better than any frozen pizza I've ever had and better than a lot of pizza deliveries, I do miss those, nothing like that here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

Rankest of all the pizza takeaways. Seriously.

We have a small chipper /pizzeria near to where we live, pizzas are cheaper by far then domino's, and much nicer too.

When I ask for chicken, bacon and mushroom on my pizza from there, it's chunks of chicken breast, whole rashers, and fresh mushroom.

Not processed mass produced shyte from domino's, or frozen mushrooms.

Domino's has to be one of, if not the most over expensive takeaways in this country. Seriously.

seriously, i was joking :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

I actually like Dominos, but you'd want to be gone in the head to spend €18 for 8 slices. Their prices are criminal. I only ever get food there if I have a voucher or discount code.

Yeah, agree with that. Wouldn't be a weekly thing but I like a Dominos pizza occasionally. I certainly don't think that there's anything wrong with the quality of their product.

Like MNIU, I can't imagine too many people pay full whack for the grub in there - I never have. Just ring and say I have a "2 for the price of 1" voucher (I don't *snigger*) - I have never been asked to produce said voucher. Still works out as ~ €10 for a large pizza, which, as far as I'm concerned, is enough to be paying for a takeaway pizza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

Casa di Mama pepperoni (picante iirc) was the nicest frozen pizza I've ever eaten. The base was quality. I've not seen them in shops in over a year now though :(

Asda thin base pizzas over here aren't bad

Mr.McLovin wrote: »
    seriously, i was joking :pac:

No you weren't, stop trying to backtrack and take responsibility for your posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

+1 for Milano pizzas, they're often half-price in Tesco.

Tesco's Napoli pizzas aren't bad either, and a bit cheaper.

I love, love, love Dominos, but I think it's mostly for the garlic dip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Remember the days before goodfellas / frozen pizzas as we know them now?
    Pizzas were odd mini cheese / tomato (some had 'bacon' I think?) frozen discs sold by Green Isle in a multipack of 6 or 9 like a pack of bagels in the frozen sections... or your cheeper Thrift / Yellow Pack. They were around 7" single portions and were more goo base than anything. You'd have to grate more cheese / chuck some packet ham on them to bulk them up!!

Then can remember having a Goodfellas in 1994 watching the world cup.
    'this changes everything!!!'

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Remember the days before goodfellas / frozen pizzas as we know them now?
    Pizzas were odd mini cheese / tomato (some had 'bacon' I think?) frozen discs sold by Green Isle in a multipack of 6 or 9 like a pack of bagels in the frozen sections... or your cheeper Thrift / Yellow Pack. They were around 7" single portions and were more goo base than anything. You'd have to grate more cheese / chuck some packet ham on them to bulk them up!!

Then can remember having a Goodfellas in 1994 watching the world cup.
    'this changes everything!!!'

I think they were called "Pizzinis"

I'd murder a man for a pack right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Mr.McLovin wrote: »
    dominos ye peasant :P
    I don't like most frozen pizzas, but Dominos is horrendous. It's like some weird, deep sponge-cakey nonsense with ladle after ladle after ladle of tomato sauce on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Well this thread made me hungry :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

crazygeryy wrote: »
    ps make your own my arse.

Pick all your own toppings, make the sauce whichever way you want it, have as much or little cheese as you choose, much fresher and an awful, awful lot cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Billy86 wrote: »

Pick all your own toppings, make the sauce whichever way you want it, have as much or little cheese as you choose, much fresher and an awful, awful lot cheaper.

For me, Pizza = convenience.

If I'm going to go to the effort to cook something properly, it's not going to be pizza :pac:

o1s1n wrote: »
    Well this thread made me hungry :(

Me too
    Between this and the bannoffee where will it all end