My boss has revealed personal information about me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Legal discussion is where you need to be at!

How serious is the info? Is it causing you distress and embarrassment in work? (yes is the answer)

AH answer: your boss is a scumbag, knock him out. Spike his tea with an E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭pedanticpat

eigrod wrote: »
    Why did you tell your boss in the first place ?

If you felt it's information that is relevant to your job that he needed to know, then you can't really expect him to keep it to himself because I'm sure he then felt he had to talk to someone else about it in the same way you did.

The information has no bearing on my performance.

The information was revealed in a private, formal meeting, and it was explicitly agreed that it would remain private.

He then revealed the information to a lower level manager.

This person then revealed this information to someone who isn't employed by the same company, but still has links to the company.

That person then revealed the information to a colleague, who told me about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,058 ✭✭✭✭josip

You didn't tell your boss about the lunch that ran late and the shoes in the office, did you?
    That was always going to get legs.

Legal discussion is where you need to be at!

How serious is the info? Is it causing you distress and embarrassment in work? (yes is the answer)

AH answer: your boss is a scumbag, knock him out. Spike his tea with an E.

It's not embarrassing in the slightest. It's just private. I've made a point of keeping my private life completely separate from work up until this point, and the information I revealed was done so in confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Ah here, you have to at least tell us the general topic. Dark past? Medical issue? Religious thing? Sexual fetish? You shot JFK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

If gone to the trouble of creating a hypothetical to help everyone? Not sure if its physically possible buit again its a hypothetical.........

Pat says in a meeting to manager

Scene 1
    “I’m pregnant and I’m going to be putting in for maternity leave next year”

Manager X says, “Grand, good on ya”

Pat says “keep it to yourself for now would ya”

Manager X says “grand, no bother”

Scene 2

Manager X and Manager Y are in weekly session. Manager X decides he should probably report Pats news for the sake of 2014 resource plan.

“Pats up the duff so we need to look at a temp for the 6 months or whatever mid nest year, oh and that’s on the QT for now right!”

Scene 3

Bit of a work do going on, lots of booze going around. Manager Y is losing the self control and hinting to people “ye could be under some pressure next year as Pats you know, hint hint” while doing the Roundy belly mime.

Scene 4

Pat hears from trusted co-worker “That gob****e manager Y has pretty much told everyone yer bizness”

What do you think Pat, is that close enough to the context? If so then I’d advise a subtle word to them both indicating that Manager Y is the goon and should make amends in an informal context.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

It's not embarrassing in the slightest. It's just private. I've made a point of keeping my private life completely separate from work up until this point, and the information I revealed was done so in confidence.

If its effecting your ability to work there, you take it up directly with the boss. If not, put it down to a lesson learned. Key to this is what you will gain/ lose in the mix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭deise08

Is there a union rep where you are or are you part of a union? if it were my private info I wouldn't be too happy at all!

@ minotaur, that's a lovely sequence, but alas, without any female reproductive organs, I'm not in the family way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

This is where a picture of your boss, Photoshop, access to humping grannies dot com and the email addresses of everyone in the company will be of benefit to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

Its already been established in other threads that pat is unhinged so chances are that whatever it is exists only in his head and everybody else on the planet wouldn't be bothered by whatever it is he's obsessing about.

Adults are talking, please vacate this thread and go read about Zombies, you odd person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,058 ✭✭✭✭josip

You mean the scenario is more likely to be?
    1. Pat tells his boss he's got tickets to the Ireland - New Zealand match and won't be able to work on Sunday. They agree to keep reason secret and Pat agrees that his attendance at the event won't extend beyond the reasonable time of 6pm.
    2. Pat's overweight and unattractive boss tells lower boss in an unreasonably loud voice that Pat's going to match on Sunday.
    3. Lower boss tells ex colleague while over for late Sunday lunch that Pat's at the match.
    4. Ex colleague mentions it to current colleague who he bumps into barefoot in the local shoe shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

Urine must be blasted in his general direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Time to release some information about your boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭Corvo

Only option left is to burn the place down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Corvo wrote: »
    Only option left is to burn the place down
    It worked for Carrie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭giles lynchwood

Take a Dump in the drivers seat of his car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭nelly17

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

Approach him and ask 'What's the story, boss?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,892 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

First things first, are you sure that you haven't told ANYONE else ANYTHING at all, and by anyone I count doctors, spouses, family, friends, work colleagues etc. Asking this because I thought I identified a leak once but found the leak elsewhere eventually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭yizorselves

Whats so hard about having a chat with them. If you are so sure that you have told no one else?

"Remember that thing I told you about? You didnt say it to anyone else did you? Because it came back to me and I'm just wondering how". They're not above being questioned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

My 6 year old revealed personal information about me to her Class and Teacher..

Morto!!!!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

ruthloss wrote: »
    My 6 year old revealed personal information about me to her Class and Teacher..

Morto!!!!:o

Do tell!

OP, was the information related in anyway to your work or was it just general private life info?

It sounds like gossip to me so unless you bring it up with your manager then you've obviously learnt your lesson not to tell them anything private.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

deise08 wrote: »
    Is there a union rep where you are or are you part of a union? if it were my private info I wouldn't be too happy at all!

Time for a beard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

diomed wrote: »
    It worked for Carrie.

Reference recognition fail. Watch 'Office Space'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

Not going to lie, this thread better get salacious quick or I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

No, I'm not gay. Thanks for asking though :D

Beards are gay? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Hello.

I've disclosed personal information to my boss in a private, formal meeting that I made clear that I didn't want it to leave the room. Through a couple of sources, I've heard that not only has this information been shared amongst management, but also has been given to people outside of the workplace via a member of the management team. This information has come back to me via a colleague who didn't know the information, as I like to keep my private life separate from my work life.

What should I do? Approach him? Approach the manager who has almost certainly revealed this information to someone outside my work? (who is linked to several people I work with) Or just leave it?

Legal advice is welcome, of course. Surely he's obliged to keep such information to himself if I explicitly say that it's confidential?

Lesson learned, there's some plenty of cnuts out there that cant hold their piss....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL