Gardaí smash travelling gang.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

There all on facebook, nice decent looking fellas:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭sasta le

What was the business?A bed warehouse?Would there have been much cash held there i wonder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,352 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Job very well done. Now judges, lets do them justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

xploderz wrote: »
    I think it's fair to comment on something like a disproportionate amount of travellers being involved in crime given their tiny % of the overall population. Until we acknowledge simple facts like that, nothing will change. I've nothing against travellers and not gonna come out with comments like "drop a nuke on their halting sites" etc etc, but there does seem to be a societal problem with higher % of them terrorizing the community in comparison to settled people.
    It's not useful to take one incident, no matter how awful it is, and link it to generalisations about a subculture.

If you want to discuss criminality among travellers, you should conduct a proper statistical study. If you work from anecdotal evidence of questionable accuracy at a time when feelings are running high, then you are not likely to get a reasoned evidence-based discussion going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I kind of know one of those lads. Not as a friend, or even an acquaintance. Hes only out of prison since July or so after about 3 years.

I guarantee he will not get off lightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

snubbleste wrote: »
    People do their job.
    Isn't that what they are paid for :confused:

Judges probably get paid even more-but will they do their job?
    I doubt it-I'm expecting yet another ridiculous "sentencing" in this case.

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

why cant we just LI them ?
    who needs these vermin to live ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

alphabeat wrote: »
    why cant we just LI them ?
    who needs these vermin to live ?
    Because we are better than that.
    Now lets just lt the justice system get on with its job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

if he was walking into court anywhere else in the world bar here or the uk, he wouldn't be roaring like that........fact ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

and because society doesn't get to decide who lives or who doesn't, hitchens in 3, 2, 1

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

That shouty fella... whatever about the death penalty.. and auld fall down a rake of steps wouldn't go amiss with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭swht

It's not useful to take one incident, no matter how awful it is, and link it to generalisations about a subculture.

If you want to discuss criminality among travellers, you should conduct a proper statistical study. If you work from anecdotal evidence of questionable accuracy at a time when feelings are running high, then you are not likely to get a reasoned evidence-based discussion going.

Fair point allright, however I wonder why it hasn't already been done. The data is already there from the CSO census. I've tried to find data from respondents that have criminal convictions and correlate it to those who identify themselves as travelers.

Fairly standard use of datasets. I wonder why it hasn't already been done by the CSO... but that might be racist would it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

gonzo.phd wrote: »
    Fair point allright, however I wonder why it hasn't already been done. The data is already there from the CSO census. I've tried to find data from respondents that have criminal convictions and correlate it to those who identify themselves as travelers.

Fairly standard use of datasets. I wonder why it hasn't already been done by the CSO... but that might be racist would it?
    I didn't think the census asked about criminal convictions.
    It didn't http://www.census.ie/The-Census-Form/The-Census-Form.107.1.aspx

I didn't think the census asked about criminal convictions.
    It didn't http://www.census.ie/The-Census-Form/The-Census-Form.107.1.aspx

Might not actually, never had to fill it out, it should though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭Motivator

What justice system?

These fellas will get 6 or 7 years each, with 2 suspended.

Out in 3 with good behaviour.

If rapists & murderers aren't doing proper time in our jails then these fellas aren't going to get much more than what I said. This country is a joke. I will say well done to the Guards on this, they've done their bit but the judges just consistently **** up when it comes to sentencing these disgusting people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Mr. Tom

Never a borrower or a "Gardai smash travelling gang" be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭flanzer

I remember seeing a video on LiveLeak a while back where a thief's punishment was losing his fingers by axe. He'd to lay his hand down on what looked to be a log, then down came the axe on them and they fell to the ground like mini mars bars.

I've a strong belief that capital punishment of some sort should be introduced back into society for scum like these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Motivator wrote: »
    What justice system?

These fellas will get 6 or 7 years each, with 2 suspended.

Out in 3 with good behaviour.

If rapists & murderers aren't doing proper time in our jails then these fellas aren't going to get much more than what I said. This country is a joke. I will say well done to the Guards on this, they've done their bit but the judges just consistently **** up when it comes to this.

We need a couple of new prisons in all fairness. There's just so much even judges can do with the limitations on spaces available.
    flanzer wrote: »
    I remember seeing a video on LiveLeak a while back where a thief's punishment was loosing his fingers by axe. He'd to lay his hand down on what looked to be a log, then down came the axe on them and they fell to the ground like mini mars bars.

Where was that from..? The same sort of place that punishes rape victims and sentences them to floggings or stonings probably.. or similar to some communities in Africa where people are set alight for stealing vegetables?

That shit ain't no deterrent. All it does is make people feel better about living in almost lawless societies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Mr. Tom

Let he who is without sin, cast the first "Gardai smash travelling gang".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

131spanner wrote: »
    Props for the arrests, good job, but "Operation Fiacla"?

Could they not think of something a bit more badass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭Motivator

I remember seeing a video on LiveLeak a while back where a thief's punishment was losing his fingers by axe. He'd to lay his hand down on what looked to be a log, then down came the axe on them and they fell to the ground like mini mars bars.

I've a strong belief that capital punishment of some sort should be introduced back into society for scum like these

Yeah I saw that, for some reason I watched up repeatedly. Horrific video! Apparently the guy who lost his fingers stole a scooter from the son of a guy who was not to be messed with. The video was in Brazil as far as I can remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Great work by the Gardai. But sure some here will find something to criticise.

Sentence reform needs to be prioritised in this country. More prison space and no concurrent sentencing. Its a joke at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

Mr. Tom wrote: »
    Let he who is without sin, cast the first "Gardai smash travelling gang".

Tom , shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

can't be done in ireland, we removed all capital punishment from our constitution, that sort of **** belongs in the stone age anyway, only wild animals would support it

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭okedoke

People shouldn't be too quick to judge these fella's, none of them have had an easy life up to now, that's for sure.

How many people can say for sure they wouldn't do these kind of things if they were brought up without an education or any opportunities?

okedoke wrote: »
    People shouldn't be too quick to judge these fella's, none of them have had an easy life up to now, that's for sure.

How many people can say for sure they wouldn't do these kind of things if they were brought up without an education or any opportunities?

Absolutely... I had none of these opportunities and when I break into your house and terrorise you family I hope for the same understanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭madred006

okedoke wrote: »

Are you for real , they got the same upbringing as most on here and turned their backs on education and training , they want nothing out of society only a free ride ,and whinge about been discriminated .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭okedoke

the way the dole and other benefits have been cut by the troika they are probably desperate have no legitimate means of earning a few bob