Which Party do you definately not want to see in the next Government?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

newbie2013 wrote: »
    wheres the evidence it was them. I believe strongly it was the brits. think back to when it happened. the brits needed something like this to blacken the ira even more at this stage

Ok. For the sake of argument, let's pretend you're right about 'that' bank raid. How about all the others?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

endacl wrote: »
    Let me assure you that its mostly a bombing and shooting issue. With the odd bank robbery thrown in for good measure.

Riiiiiiight? Because of all the condemning SF used do around murders and robberies etc :confused: even intervening at times to try prevent violence.

But no you sit there in your comfy armchair and lambast SF with jaded and ancient rhetoric. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭newbie2013

Ok. For the sake of argument, let's pretend you're right about 'that' bank raid. How about all the others?

When you bully someone, expect to take some back. You look throughout the history of the north. Are you trying to tell me that there was another way. NOT A FCUKING CHANCE OF IT!! The IRA where justified in what they done, yes they made mistakes but there was a war on.

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Riiiiiiight? Because of all the condemning SF used do around murders and robberies etc :confused: even intervening at times to try prevent violence.

But no you sit there in your comfy armchair and lambast SF with jaded and ancient rhetoric. :rolleyes:
    Oh, what wouldn't I give for a comfy armchair.... :(

Jaded and ancient rhetoric? Tell that to Jean McConville's family. I suppose they should try to put it behind them? And the others http://www.iclvr.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭newbie2013

Jaded and ancient rhetoric? Tell that to Jean McConville's family. I suppose they should try to put it behind them? And the others http://www.iclvr.ie/

Jean mc conville was a tout and deserved to die. She got warned and didnt listen so she paid with her life.

BANNED.
    Mod

When you bully someone, expect to take some back. You look throughout the history of the north. Are you trying to tell me that there was another way. NOT A FCUKING CHANCE OF IT!! The IRA where justified in what they done, yes they made mistakes but there was a war on.
    You know that you come across as a bit ... 'shouty'.

Never a winning quality in a debate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Stinicker wrote: »
    The fact that Fianna Fail are even allowed to continue as a political entity is a thundering disgrace, the leaders of the Easter Rising were executed and they were patriots. The Fianna Fail traitors got gold plated pensions and massive pay offs when it is everyone of them who should have got the firing squad and hang mans noose. Fiddle and Fraud traitors are what they are.

Well one of them did get hit with a crutch...:P

Jean mc conville was a tout and deserved to die. She got warned and didnt listen so she paid with her life.
    Now you come across as a bit .....

Well, lets just say I'm done talking to you.

I dont get what's that to do with the Dail?? SF are building on the youth of this country. People with no connections or memory of the troubles. Gerry Adams is a better politician than the Berties and Cowans imo.

Have ya not got one? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Holy crap! We're you born without a sensitivity gene?

I dont get what's that to do with the Dail?? SF are building on the youth of this country. People with no connections or memory of the troubles. Gerry Adams is a better politician than the Berties and Cowans imo.

SF are doing their thing all right. Maybe in another generation or two they'll have shed the baggage of their history. Until then, no effin' way for me. Mary Lou, for example, I've a lot of time for. But once she's part of that organization, she'll never get my vote.

And no. I don't have one. I used to have a lovely one, but a big fat friend sat in it and its banjaxed. I'm saving up for a new one. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭hotbabe1992

Thats whats wrong with irish people right there,they will keep bringing up the sinn fein - ira connection, when in fact it was sinn fein that brought out the IRA and decomissioned them for all to see.

They were instrumental in the peace process,i know bertie aherne and blair would like to attribute their name to the peace process but all they did was squeeze it in on a tight political schedule,they werent there working intensly from the beginning like gerry adams was - and you can say what you like about the man.

Im all for giving a party that has never got one decent shot in politics a fair chance of the crack of the whip,i think they are people with a social conscience that are intent on making a change for the better of Ireland.

Not like fine gael or labour who lied pre election and werent a good opposition party to FF - they over saw a lot of brown envelopes and towed the party line ,not showing an oucne of integrity.

You know under labour and fine gael they want MORE austerity more taxes more cuts eventhough the IMF are leaving..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭wendell borton

It not just SF, all the main political parties have had connections to paramilitaries at some stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Was gonna just ignore this but i will gladly accept whatever ban the mods deem appropriate
    -you are a filthy scumbag to say such a thing and precisely the sort of reason why decent people wil not vote sinn fein.

Sorry mods

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Jean McConville was executed. Why would the IRA want to get bad publicity by executing her if they didn't have a valid reason? Remember, Britain executed their spies as well. As did every other country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Was gonna just ignore this but i will gladly accept whatever ban the mods deem appropriate
    -you are a filthy scumbag to say such a thing and precisely the sort of reason why decent people wil not vote sinn fein.

Sorry mods

Joe baby! I lived in South Dublin up to three years ago and I know quite a few middle class educated people that did just that. Just because you keep repeating it doesn't mean that it's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Jean McConville was executed. Why would the IRA want to get bad publicity by executing her if they didn't have a valid reason? Remember, Britain executed their spies as well. As did every other country.
    There's so much wrong in that post I can't even...

http://i1183.photobucket.com/albums/x470/bintangtimurfull/Facepalm/3Triplefacepalm.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭OttoPilot

Gerry Adams is an idiot at politics. If he really wanted SF in power he would have stepped down long ago and distanced himself (and his shady past) from the party. I think his ego must be too big or something, he would rather sacrifice his own party's popularity to further his career rather than go quietly. Maybe he fancies himself as a modern day Guevara, from rebel to statesman :rolleyes:

Hopefully the delusional git stays in charge of SF well into his 70s and we won't have to worry about them getting into power for many years :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,961 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

I think before people answer the question they should ask themselves what they expect of a government and seriously think about whether or not it is realistic.

I see a lot of people lambasting FG for austerity budgets and implementing various taxes but, unless I'm missing something, they've had to choose between the lesser of several evils and made a decent fist of it.

Lol at the lads saying Gerry Adams would sort out the Troika. For God's sake lads, that's Fantasyland stuff.

Also while we have our problems, if people think Ireland is that bad you should get out more. There is a real world out there full of things that we, thankfully, don't and won't ever have to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

Ok that was a tough one. I don't like SF because of the baggage that they have and because their policies are completely ridiculous. I despise FF because of what they did to this country, their corruption, and the idea that they would be part of any future government makes me want to gag. But I had to go with the ULA because they would so utterly destroy this country that it would make the past 5 years look like a walk in the park. So ULA it is then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭rockatansky

OttoPilot wrote: »
    Gerry Adams is an idiot at politics.

Pointless reading on after that statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭rockatansky

I posted this in a similar thread, I will never vote for Fianna Fáil again. I admit I did in the past. Just like the hundreds of thousands of people who did and are now blaming them for everything that wrong in their lives. Everyone just wanted the good times to continue.

Labour, for some reason I don't trust left wing economic policies. Especially in a recession / high unemployment.

SInn Fein, no, purely because of their economic policies.

This only leaves Fine Gael. I have no problem admitting that I will be voting for them in the next election. I think they deserve their chance to see this thing through to the end. I believe they won that right when you see the utter mess that was handed to them.

At the end of the day, we're 200 billion in Debt so they can't exactly do any worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I hope SF never get into power here with a scumbag like Gerry Adams leading them. They'll never get a preference from me until there's been a change, but don't see that happening anytime soon.

Utter nonsense :rolleyes:
    Gerry Adams is an idiot at politics.

Wow :eek: oh really? :confused: Oh, ok thanks I see everything so clearly now :D jeez great to have insightful people like you around isn't it :P
    If he really wanted SF in power he would have stepped down long ago

Ahahaha! Let me take you back to 2009 compadre. The general consensus amongst the populace went a little something like this..."ooooo :mad: that Enda Kenny :mad: I can't stands him :mad:" ...."ye know :rolleyes: FG would do far better if they didn't have that muppeh' Enda head of the parteh" :rolleyes:"

:D HAHA! look where we are now! Enda is the Taoiseach! I bet I can come back someday day and say "HAHA! look where we are now! Gerry is the Taoiseach!
    (and his shady past)

as compared to what? ....Bertie's shady past? Haughey's shady past? Hey! you try growing up in the North during the trouble :rolleyes: then maybe you can take the high horse rhetoric from the comfort of your armchair :rolleyes:
    I think his ego must be too big or something, he would rather sacrifice his own party's popularity to further his career rather than go quietly.

What you basing that nonsense on?! LOL!
    Maybe he fancies himself as a modern day Guevara, from rebel to statesman

I doubt he does but I certainly do! Only in Ireland could people be like this lol, I'm sure if Gerry was from any other country, there would be statues of him around the place.
    Hopefully the delusional git stays in charge of SF well into his 70s and we won't have to worry about them getting into power for many years

You have nothing to fear but fear itself compadre. ;) Don't be afraid of the future and cling desperately to darkened past times, the future is bright, very bright indeed. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭hotbabe1992

Ridiculous this is half the reason why irish people will NEVER vote for any other party other than FF,FG,LAB - this is half the problem with this godforsaken country.

If they just opened their minds and gave SF a shot there would be real change in the system.

gave SF a shot.

Unfortunate turn of phrase...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 verbumdei

Sinn Fein. For obvious reasons

Sorry mods

I'm making a note of the people thanking this post :confused::P
    You don't vote for a party because of something some random joe soap on internets says?! :confused::confused: No wonder the country is in the mess it's in :rolleyes:

Btw, the "scumbags" as you put it aren't SF heads at all as is the general misconception among the middle classes in this country, SF are sellouts in their minds :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson