Gardaí smash travelling gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

UCDVet wrote: »
    I'd fully support the death penalty for crimes such as this. I can't imagine a world where anyone who participates in something like that and goes on to do anything that could offset the damage to society they've done.

We'd all be better off if they were killed.

If they have children of their own, it's even more tragic - but let's be honest, the children would be better off *without* parents than being raised by the types of people who would commit these crimes.
    thankfully you me or the state don't get to decide who lives or dies and rightly so, the death penalty is gone and not coming back to ireland

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Mint Aero wrote: »
    A "gang" in Rathkeale aided and abetted
    did they? how do you know that? because the indo said so?
    do you think this particular "gang" should be impervious to the law?
    lol, accusing somebody of wanting somebody to get away with something because their from an area who has a large population of travelers or are infact a traveler, under the bottom of the barrel stuff

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

thankfully you me or the state don't get to decide who lives or dies and rightly so, the death penalty is gone and not coming back to ireland

it will be back though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

did they? how do you know that? because the indo said so?
    lol, accusing somebody of wanting somebody to get away with something because their from an area who has a large population of travelers or are infact a traveler, under the bottom of the barrel stuff

Huh?! :confused::confused:

Agueroooo wrote: »
    Pavee Point come out, come out, Wherever You Are !!!
    for what?

Hitchens wrote: »
    it will be back though
    no it won't, its illegal under EU law, and as much as theirs a lot wrong with the EU, i'd rather be in it then bankrupt more then we were

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Agueroooo wrote: »
    Pavee Point come out, come out, Wherever You Are !!!
    Why would be Pavee Point be involving themselves in this?
    Nothing to do with them!

A "gang" in Rathkeale aided and abetted or do you think this particular "gang" should be impervious to the law?
    No evidence at all of any aiding and abetting, not a shred.
    Why are you making this shíte up?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Maybe its time for people to start arming themselves ?

Its not as if guns are illegal in Ireland. If you are a farmer or belong to a gun club you are allowed to keep firearms.

Criminals are already carrying so why not ordinary citizens.

no it won't, its illegal under EU law, and as much as theirs a lot wrong with the EU, i'd rather be in it then bankrupt more then we were

the EU won't last either

No evidence at all of any aiding and abetting, not a shred.
    Why are you making this shíte up?:confused:

What rock are you living under?

the EU won't last either

They have been saying that since the Treaty of Rome in 1957, and it's still here and gets bigger and stronger all the time.

Stronger is one word for it alright ;)

so did the USSR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,085 ✭✭✭donaghs

Why would be Pavee Point be involving themselves in this?
    Nothing to do with them!

I heard a guy from Pavee Point on the radio, around the time some travellers in the UK were found guilty of enslaving homeless people. He first made the point that all people commit crimes, not just travellers, but eventually couldn't resist defending the criminals in that case. He made the point that some of the enslaved said they didn't mind their treatment, "so what was wrong with it then?"

I'm sure the same guy could mount a spirited defence of the robbers in this case!

so did the USSR

well we will just have to agree to differ since this thread is not about the EU, it is about a gang of Dublins finest scumbags getting caught at last.Lets just hope they spend a long long time behind bars.

donaghs wrote: »
    I heard a guy from Pavee Point on the radio, around the time some travellers in the UK were found guilty of enslaving homeless people. He first made the point that all people commit crimes, not just travellers, but eventually couldn't resist defending the criminals in that case. He made the point that some of the enslaved said they didn't mind their treatment, "so what was wrong with it then?"

I'm sure the same guy could mount a spirited defence of the robbers in this case!
    Why would he ? Especially since they aint travellers.
    Also I would like a link to your claim that Pavee Point defended those who enslaved people, you wont be able to provide one because you're lying about it.

well we will just have to agree to differ since this thread is not about the EU, it is about a gang of Dublins finest scumbags getting caught at last.Lets just hope they spend a long long time behind bars.

yes indeed, I concur with that

Also I would like a link to your claim that Pavee Point defended those who enslaved people, you wont be able to provide one because you're lying about it.

I haven't mentioned travellers anywhere in this thread. Where are you getting your info from that the perpetrators of this crime were or weren't travellers? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,085 ✭✭✭donaghs

Like I said, it was on the radio. It was either Matt Cooper, the Right Hook or the RTE1 drive time show. I heard the interview, but sorry, I wasn't taking notes on the exact time, the speakers names, etc, in case I was cross-examined on it at a later date.
    I haven't mentioned travellers anywhere in this thread. Where are you getting your info from that the perpetrators of this crime were or weren't travellers? :confused:

Some of the news outlets are starting to mention it.
    "They are from Coolock, north Dublin, and some are members of an extended Traveller family.".
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/seven-arrested-after-family-held-hostage-in-tipperary-1.1602532

Last night there was also mention of a possible connection with Rathkeale gang who had been doing a lot of business in the area, buying and re-selling stuff, including bedding material from the couple's business. Not sure what the very latest is on the possible link.

so did the USSR
    whatever happens with the EU, the death penalty isn't coming back to ireland, the irish people have spoken, thats it

donaghs wrote: »

Some of the news outlets are starting to mention it.
    "They are from Coolock, north Dublin, and some are members of an extended Traveller family.".
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/seven-arrested-after-family-held-hostage-in-tipperary-1.1602532

Last night there was also mention of a possible connection with Rathkeale gang who had been doing a lot of business in the area, buying and re-selling stuff, including bedding material from the couple's business. Not sure what the very latest is on the possible link.

Oh no, I'm completely shocked :eek:

Bah feckin humbug and end of the road....Sorry but ye did put up a good fight all the same ;)

whatever happens with the EU, the death penalty isn't coming back to ireland, the irish people have spoken, thats it

I disagree

I haven't mentioned travellers anywhere in this thread. Where are you getting your info from that the perpetrators of this crime were or weren't travellers?
    heres a little gem from you that shows what you just wrote to be echanomical with the truth
    A "gang" in Rathkeale aided and abetted or do you think this particular "gang" should be impervious to the law?

now its known that Rathkeale is an area with a large traveler community, as another poster suggested that you had no evidence that a gang from this area was involved in this crime you then asked should this gange be exempted from the law, a question usually asked by someone trying to make a dig at the belief that all travelers break the law, of course i could be reading to much into this, but from your posts so far i don't think so

I disagree
    you disagree, i say its fact

heres a little gem from you that shows what you just wrote to be echanomical with the truth

now its known that Rathkeale is an area with a large traveler community, as another poster suggested that you had no evidence that a gang from this area was involved in this crime you then asked should this gange be exempted from the law, a question usually asked by someone trying to make a dig at the belief that all travelers break the law, of course i could be reading to much into this, but from your posts so far i don't think so

You're clutching at straws. What evidence do I need? I'm going by the excellent, hardworking and diligent journalists reporting on this, that's all. It's been reported constantly that a 'gang' in Rathkeale is involved, that their dealing with the family prior to the incident turned sour. Rathkeale is involved according to the media whose word I will take for now until more info comes out.

I'am really puzzled as to why no one in Rathkeale has been arrested yet.

You're clutching at straws. What evidence do I need? I'm going by the excellent, hardworking and diligent journalists reporting on this, that's all. It's been reported constantly that a 'gang' in Rathkeale is involved, that their dealing with the family prior to the incident turned sour. Rathkeale is involved according to the media whose word I will take for now until more info comes out.

I'am really puzzled as to why no one in Rathkeale has been arrested yet.
    because the guardai don't have any evidence, and their not going to pluck some out of thin air or make up some just to please you

you disagree, i say its fact

the tipping point will be reached eventually, the vote will be in favour of bringing it back, and it will merely be a choice of which system to use

because the guardai don't have any evidence, and their not going to pluck some out of thin air or make up some just to please you

Well as long as they get them eventually I'll be happy. This was a horrendous crime.

the tipping point will be reached eventually, the vote will be in favour of bringing it back, and it will merely be a choice of which system to use
    their won't be another vote on it so not going to happen