Gardaí smash travelling gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭swht

Im pretty sure they werent travellers. Just out and out skangers.

As I posted earlier the Irish Times have stated that some of them were travellers.

Also the parts of Coolock they are from as listed in the Indo have a very high traveller population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

"Gardai smash settled gang" :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

PucaMama wrote: »
    i can just imagine the fuss that would happen if everyone had to explain themselves when they bought houses and expensive cars in cash. thats what im talking about the feeling the post gave me was "check them i dont like them" its not a great way to be going around.
    If I started buying houses cash with no visible means of income, i'm sure revenue and cab wouldn't be ling taking an interest in me, I'd be disappointed and suprised if they didn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

Boombastic wrote: »
    If I started buying houses cash with no visible means of income, i'm sure revenue and cab wouldn't be ling taking an interest in me, I'd be disappointed and suprised if they didn't

but sure its not illegal to have money :o you should be able to buy whatever you want since you can afford it, make all the money you want its noones business :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

i can just imagine the fuss that would happen if everyone had to explain themselves when they bought houses and expensive cars in cash. thats what im talking about the feeling the post gave me was "check them i dont like them" its not a great way to be going around.

What "fuss" are you talking about? Is it the same "fuss" the bank takes in assessing your income when you apply for a mortgage?

And it is a great way to be going around if you see some guy who hasn't worked a day in his life driving a brand-new hi-spec car to ask where the fcuk is this guy getting the money, if he won the lotto it is easily proven.

If some guy buys a new house or car with cash then yeah he should be checked out. It might not suit some of the middle or higher classes but fcuk em.

EDIT: BTW yeah it is illegal to have money if it is acquired illegally.

but sure its not illegal to have money :o you should be able to buy whatever you want since you can afford it, make all the money you want its noones business :o

not illegal to have money, no

illegal not to pay tax on said money, yes

catallus wrote: »
    What "fuss" are you talking about? Is it the same "fuss" the bank takes in assessing your income when you apply for a mortgage?

And it is a great way to be going around if you see some guy who hasn't worked a day in his life driving a brand-new hi-spec car to ask where the fcuk is this guy getting the money, if he won the lotto it is easily proven.

If some guy buys a new house or car with cash then yeah he should be checked out. It might not suit some of the middle or higher classes but fcuk em.

EDIT: BTW yeah it is illegal to have money if it is acquired illegally.

if you came to me asking where i got the money to buy something id tell you where to go :o why is it suddenly everyones business who has what

It may conceivably be of practical importance to the revenue commissioners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

It may conceivably be of practical importance to the revenue commissioners?

then let the revenue ask, not the general public :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭swht

CAB legislation means that a person has to prove legitimate sources of their income as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

go to open a bank account to lodge, say €20,000, and see will you have to answer questions ;)

gonzo.phd wrote: »
    CAB legislation means that a person has to prove legitimate sources of their income as far as I know.

to CAB maybe but not to jelous neighbours :pac:

And I hope you get away with it PucaMomma. :)

The Irish Times says some of the offenders are from an extended traveller family. But hey, bad apples don't spoil the whole bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Why did the people move out?
    why don't you track down all those who lived there and moved and ask them? doesn't change the fact that theirs nothing the government could do about somebody buying a house or houses there.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

revenue and cab have been mentioned numerous times, no one suggested the general public

why don't you track down all those who lived there and moved and ask them? doesn't change the fact that theirs nothing the government could do about somebody buying a house or houses there.

Facilitating their lifestyle? Nothing to do with the government of our country of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Huh.

I was jogging down the Long Mile Road at around 9am this morning and a few Range Rovers, Toyota Jeeps and Mondeos flew past. Going mad fast with blue lights on.

I never knew the guards had Range Rovers....

Anyways, must have been to do with that.

Fair play to all involved. They deserve the public's thanks for confronting armed criminals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Pussy foot work by the police in this case. Chase should not have gone on nearly that long. It should have ended with the perps full of bullets.

Yup, I agree Dredd.

And I hope you get away with it PucaMomma. :)

The Irish Times says some of the offenders are from an extended traveller family. But hey, bad apples don't spoil the whole bunch.

oh i dont have the spending powers to interest the revenue :o

The point is is that many many people do. And nothing is done. I don't blame the revenue people, it must be pretty easy to check people out but when you're faced with redtape up the arse when you try to do anything about it it must be pretty demoralising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Poor kids witnessed the whole thing. According to the news the scumbags threatened one of the little girls with cutting her hands off.

Poor kids

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Said in the news they threatened to cut of the hands of one of the girls, pure scum, worse than scum.
    Its a pretty they didn't crash the car and die a roaring death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭bonzos

Settled career criminal scum actually.
    Not a shred of evidence that there was a single member of the Travelling Community amongst them.

Maybe some night you will have the pleasure of 7 pikey scumbags(settled or house on wheels) in your house...might change your tune then. wake up to whats going on the real world!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭sasta le

This wasnt a a random house robbery im thinking.
    Saw on the news a big house with a lock up.must have targetting a business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

bonzos wrote: »
    Maybe some night you will have the pleasure of 7 pikey scumbags(settled or house on wheels) in your house...might change your tune then. wake up to whats going on the real world!
    what are you on about?

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

what are you on about?

He's on about the prospect of....... do you really need it explained to you?

sasta le wrote: »
    This wasnt a a random house robbery im thinking.
    Saw on the news a big house with a lock up.must have targetting a business
    If it's where I think, it's a cul de sac in the middle of nowhere! It would be 5 or 6 miles from the M8 on very bad roads.

5 miles off a motorway isn't very remote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Bravo Zulu Gardia