Gardaí smash travelling gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Duiske

My nana lives near Killenaule, I didn't think places like that would get hit, it's not exactly the kind of place people would go to or just be passing through.

Thats the idea. Quiet area, early hours of the morning and only a few minutes fast driving from a motorway. Chances of Gardai being around would be fairly slim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

emo72 wrote: »
    they were vicious what they done to the lad. shoved a screwdriver up his nose and broke his eyesocket. depraved.

Link to this ? RTE still reporting that the victim was hit with a gun butt by these scumbags and suffered a broken nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,540 ✭✭✭emo72

Link to this ? RTE still reporting that the victim was hit with a gun butt by these scumbags and suffered a broken nose.

No link. I know the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Dunno, literally translated its "Operation Teeth" and it sure looks like the Gardaí did more than just bear them. Fair play!

Thanks for this, I had been under the impression that the operation was called after a brand of toothpaste, indeed I was looking forward to Operation Sensodyne ( for particularly sensitive cases) or Operation Oral-B for, well....you know yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Ohh............. here comes the PC police, helmets on folks
    yeah, how dare anyone give the facts, nothing PC here, move along

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

No link. I know the guy.

they are savages that need putting down, not locking up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Did I hear Rathkeale is a base they operate from in the news :rolleyes: yup, thought so. How long are we gonna put up with these people in our society :rolleyes:

No link. I know the guy.

Fair enough.
    Evil fcukers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Has Martin Collins made any comment yet.? He will probably be able to 'educate' all of us on how these guys were 'mis-understood' as kids.

P.S. nothing but dirty horrible scum to do that to a young family in the dead of night. Just a pity a Garda's Uzi was discharged 'accidentally' seven times during the chase.:mad:

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Did I hear Rathkeale is a base they operate from in the news :rolleyes: yup, thought so. How long are we gonna put up with these people in our society :rolleyes:

The are from Coolock in Dublin

So I hear but I've also heard Rathkeale mentioned for some reason. No smoke without fire.

Regardless of who they are or where they are from they are scumbags.:mad:
    Evil, mindless, sociopathic, a waste of good oxygen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Pussy foot work by the police in this case. Chase should not have gone on nearly that long. It should have ended with the perps full of bullets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

donvito99 wrote: »
    Apparently the engine of a patrol car blew up during the pursuit inbound on the M7. Says it all about the state of either the standard of drivers' training provided or the state of patrol cars. I'm guessing that it is more so the latter.

Believe me the Guards that go through pursuit training will only be lost if their car fails. Anyway, that wouldnt be remotely surprising. In Tipp myself and garda equipment is... obsolete to say the least... Actually saw a 07 Ford Mondeo a few weeks back. Body panels mis-matched in colour and with huge gaps, still with dents and scrapes. An obvious as day buckle in a front wheel and cable ties between the passengers wing and bumper. It really was a warhorse on wheels. The thing would probably have had over 250 thousand miles on it and given just how arduous "wide open throttle" driving really is I would fully expect a jaunt with the pedal to the floor, beginning in Tipp to end before Laoise.

Pussy foot work by the police in this case. Chase should not have gone on nearly that long. It should have ended with the perps full of bullets.

It was... Roundabout but armed guards are difficult to get due to there numbers and there is just no point in a normal Guard tackling a man armed with a shotgun. Its very commendable but it will only end one way. Anyhow as far as I know the the first aru available had set up in Dublin to greet them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,167 ✭✭✭Damien360

What are the likely charges

Burglary all 7 of them
    Assault not them all
    Aggravated burglary again not them all

18 months for most of them with one third suspended minus time held in custody so released immediately after trial.

Plus extra 18 months for assault causing harm for a few of them to run concurrently, so likely released at same time .

And the victims feel this terror in their own home for years after this.

We really need to rebalance the legal system. I still think removal of Garda protection of judges would bring them in to the real world like the rest of us and you would get very different sentencing. Removal of concurrent sentencing would be a massive leap forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Believe me the Guards that go through pursuit training will only be lost if their car fails. Anyway, that wouldnt be remotely surprising. In Tipp myself and garda equipment is... obsolete to say the least... Actually saw a 07 Ford Mondeo a few weeks back. Body panels mis-matched in colour and with huge gaps, still with dents and scrapes. An obvious as day buckle in a front wheel and cable ties between the passengers wing and bumper. It really was a warhorse on wheels. The thing would probably have had over 250 thousand miles on it and given just how arduous "wide open throttle" driving really is I would fully expect a jaunt with the pedal to the floor, beginning in Tipp to end before Laoise.

yeah it doesn't look great, but....It's got a cop motor, a four hundred and forty cubic inch plant, it's got cop tires, cop suspensions, cop shocks, it's a model made before catalytic converters, so it'll run good on regular gas. ;)

Hitchens wrote: »
    yeah it doesn't look great, but....It's got a cop motor, a four hundred and forty cubic inch plant, it's got cop tires, cop suspensions, cop shocks, it's a model made before catalytic converters, so it'll run good on regular gas. ;)

:eek::eek: Its got a 1.8 or mabye a 2.0 litre 4-pot. Mabye a remapped ecu, standard springs and shocks because a hardened set up will open the state to legal action for Guards with sore backs after years of patrolling, they have to keep restrictive emissions systems in place as only the military are emissions exempt. Top level tyres but not much else. :D

Damien360 wrote: »
    What are the likely charges

Burglary all 7 of them
    Assault not them all
    Aggravated burglary again not them all

18 months for most of them with one third suspended minus time held in custody so released immediately after trial.

Plus extra 18 months for assault causing harm for a few of them to run concurrently, so likely released at same time .

And the victims feel this terror in their own home for years after this.

We really need to rebalance the legal system. I still think removal of Garda protection of judges would bring them in to the real world like the rest of us and you would get very different sentencing. Removal of concurrent sentencing would be a massive leap forward.

Judges don't get Garda protection and they, like the rest of us, walk the streets of our towns and cities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭flutered

Settled career criminal scum actually.
    Not a shred of evidence that there was a single member of the Travelling Community amongst them.

all the evedence you need is on the web, sorry all the evidence that you do not require is on the web.

they were vicious what they done to the lad. shoved a screwdriver up his nose and broke his eyesocket. depraved.

whats the betting that the perpretaators will have more rights than the victim

flutered wrote: »
    all the evedence you need is on the web, sorry all the evidence that you do not require is on the web.

There is any amount of crap on the web, including conclusive proof that Elvis is alive, and that lizard people control the worlds politicians!
    Your point was?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

:eek::eek: Its got a 1.8 or mabye a 2.0 litre 4-pot. Mabye a remapped ecu, standard springs and shocks because a hardened set up will open the state to legal action for Guards with sore backs after years of patrolling, they have to keep restrictive emissions systems in place as only the military are emissions exempt. Top level tyres but not much else. :D

coffee cup and cream bun holders surely? :pac:

Nah Doughnuts, jam doughnuts:D

the rathkeale cousins used to do the caseing, then offer for free, or get paid for the info

Nah Doughnuts, jam doughnuts:D

Absolutely nothing else will do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

definitely :) It wouldn't be worth driving otherwise.

Tipp to dublin chase? did the boys in blue loose them at junction 15 by any chance? :pac:

flutered wrote: »
    the rathkeale cousins used to do the caseing, then offer for free, or get paid for the info

Rathkeale is an indictment of our country. How on Earth have our government let these people take over a community like that. I suppose when it's not on your door :rolleyes:

There is any amount of crap on the web, including conclusive proof that Elvis is alive, and that lizard people control the worlds politicians!
    Your point was?:confused:

my point was/is that all the info as regards who and what they are is readily advailable on the web, in the national papers on line.