12 pubs madness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Rod Serling

Saw some really cool lad types clearly doing this last year falling out the door of Doyles, one just made it out when he projectile'd all over his mates shoes. Not only put me off 12 pubs but also novelty christmas jumpers, since there's no novelty now everyone and their mother wear one for the entire month of December.

All drinking games are stupid, can't fathom 'em or why any grown man or woman would feel pressured into downing pints or shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭sidders

the baggot mile is also good fun !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,129 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

smurgen wrote: »
    A go away and lighten up. I've done twelve pubs on numerous occasions and it's always great fun.the rules are only loose guidelines and no one sticks to them. If you're the type of person who thinks going to a load of pubs with friends and having a blast in beneath you and immature well don't worry,I'm sure you won't get an invite to one anyway. Plenty of time to be grand and sensible when you're in the grave!

This attitude that if someone doesn't want to get absolutely hammered it makes them a dry ****e annoys me. I don't have anything against 12 pubs, I know if I did it there is no way I would be able to have an alcoholic drink in every pub and if I didn't want to its ridiculous that I would have to do a forfeit or be bullied into it. Nothing wrong with a few drinks but why can't some people understand that not everyone wants to get totally smashed.

And to the people who think that 12 pints isn't a lot to drink in 6 hours, what planet are you on?! Only in Ireland would that opinion be commonplace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    This attitude that if someone doesn't want to get absolutely hammered it makes them a dry ****e annoys me. Nothing wrong with a few drinks but why can't some people understand that not everyone wants to get totally smashed.

the drys*ite reference is for people who condemn the 12 pubs as if its some sort of cult that emits a reign of terror and destruction on the City.

your last line can easily be used for the opposite means - why should people like like not understand that there are people who like to have their 12 pints and have a bit of fun.
    I don't have anything against 12 pubs

yet then you come out with this?????
    And to the people who think that 12 pints isn't a lot to drink in 6 hours, what planet are you on?! Only in Ireland would that opinion be commonplace.

and for what its worth, go to other countries around the world and you will see that they drink as much as we do...the only difference is instead of beer, they drink wine or spirits.

for some people, 12 drinks is very manageable and no less than would be drank at a wedding, work night out or a normal night out on a saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

foxyboxer wrote: »
    I love the twelve pubs at Christmas. It makes me feel better about my alcoholism.

You only get one life mate, why not show up for it sober ;)

for some people, 12 drinks is very manageable and no less than would be drank at a wedding, work night out or a normal night out on a saturday night.

Bar maybe your first or second pint, I doubt that.
    Maintaining a rate of two pints an hour for an entire night?(6 hours so equivalent to starting at 8pm-2am).

I'd say it would take a concise effort for anyone bar 0.1% of the population.

There isn't really anyway you can drink 12 pints over the course of a 6 hour period without being absolutely plastered to the point where you're a danger to yourself.
    I know people who drink to the point where they do that to themselves, but that related to an alcohol problem more than anything else.

I'm not debating the merits of the 12 pubs here, but you are saying people regularly drink 12 pints in a 6 hour period without a bother.
    I just think that's plain wrong and even drinking 12 pints at 1 per hour would leave you fairly legless.
    So while there might be people who do it as you say, they're the people also getting thrown out, making a show of themselves etc... certainly isn't a breeze or as common as you think.

Saw some really cool lad types clearly doing this last year falling out the door of Doyles, one just made it out when he projectile'd all over his mates shoes. Not only put me off 12 pubs but also novelty christmas jumpers, since there's no novelty now everyone and their mother wear one for the entire month of December.

All drinking games are stupid, can't fathom 'em or why any grown man or woman would feel pressured into downing pints or shots.

I thought that about the jumpers too, everyone wears them thinking they're hilarious altogether, 'oh look at me aren't I great wearing a silly jumper like everyone else':rolleyes:

usual sheep mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

lufties wrote: »
    I thought that about the jumpers too, everyone wears them thinking they're hilarious altogether, 'oh look at me aren't I great wearing a silly jumper like everyone else':rolleyes:

Furkan right. I have been consistently wearing silly jumpers every Christmas since 1989, constant as the Northern Star, oblivious to the unbelievers and heathens as I ploughed my lonely but oddly satisfying furrow. And now they're all at it. Cúnts. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

There isn't really anyway you can drink 12 pints over the course of a 6 hour period without being absolutely plastered to the point where you're a danger to yourself.
    I know people who drink to the point where they do that to themselves, but that related to an alcohol problem more than anything else.

I know a few people that can drink 12 pints in 6 hours and not be completely rat-arsed. Tolerance builds up quite quickly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

the drys*ite reference is for people who condemn the 12 pubs as if its some sort of cult that emits a reign of terror and destruction on the City.

your last line can easily be used for the opposite means - why should people like like not understand that there are people who like to have their 12 pints and have a bit of fun.

and for what its worth, go to other countries around the world and you will see that they drink as much as we do...the only difference is instead of beer, they drink wine or spirits.

12 pints is a large intake of alcohol, you can assume that in other parts of the world it would be considered normal, but it isn't.

12 pints before a work day the next day will not leave you in a state to work.

It has fck all to do with being a dry sh1te, as most people are millions of times more entertaining after 6 pints as opposed to 12. You might think you're deadly and in control, in reality you are probably seriously slurring your words, repeating yourself, boring and having difficulty coordinating your movements.

12 pints is about 30 units, a glass of wine is 1 unit, with 6 glasses (very generous glasses) you'd need to drink about 5 bottles of wine to get the same effect. People don't do that in wine drinking countries because it is stupid, generally outside the "problem drinking countries" , and yes, Ireland is in there, people know how to enjoy alcohol. Drink slower, eat a bit and carry on later into the night. It also equals one 750 ml bottle of whiskey or vodka. Again, if you're drinking a full one of those per night you will be of fck all interest to anyone by the time the effects kick in. Of course, you can drink this quantity quickly, by which point you will be at your most drunk on the way home, or in bed. At which point you have to wander what the point in that was? Why not just drink half the amount slower, or 2/3's with a bit of food.

To your limited way of thinking alcohol = craic. 12 pints is more craic than 6 pints. It's blindingly stupid. Do you think the banter gets better as you lose control of your speech and memory? Can you dance better if yer into that sort of thing? No, no and no.

No point fooling yourself, 12 pints is extremely excessive, even in Ireland I would say.

Alcohol is great, I love a drink, but I had to learn how to get the most from it and to be honest it sounds like your thinking around how to enjoy alcohol hasn't got much further than bang in as much as you can and rush a load of chips in on top of it. Some how that makes you more craic and more manly I suppose...

I agree with you to an extent, twelve bottles could be done perhaps.

Personally, these times I've copped on a lot with regard to boozing, in my early thirties now and find getting pissed boring and a bit shameful :eek:. Once in a while blowing off steam is sometimes required but the aftermath is awful. I never get a sore head from drink ,but get really really bad depression afterwards for days, where if the session was heavy enough I could spend nearly 3 days in bed.

Think I'll give the 12 pubs a miss..:cool:

lufties wrote: »

usual sheep mentality.

Or.... It's people just having a bit of fun with their mates..

rarnes1 wrote: »

rather the jumpers indeed than some eejit unable to hold himself upright blathering shyte to anyone unfortunate enough to listen after pint 9,10,11 & 12.

I am pie wrote: »
    rather the jumpers indeed than some eejit unable to hold himself upright blathering shyte to anyone unfortunate enough to listen after pint 9,10,11 & 12.

You'll find many pubs rammed with people like that every weekend of the year. Every night in fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭Danger781

Two pints per hour is my usual rate on a standard 'nothing special' night out.

Don't see the big deal here.. It's a very very rare occasion that I am in an awful state during the night..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,129 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I do understand that some people like to drink 12 pints. That's up to them to do as they please. My point was why feel the need to call people that don't dry ****es? I wouldn't call someone an alcoholic for taking part.

As I said, I don't have anything against 12 pubs and wouldn't judge anyone for doing it. I would judge people for being militant about it and not accepting that some people just aren't able to drink that amount but still want to go along for the craic.

And I have been to many countries around the world and most would not consider 12 pints or drinks a normal intake of alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭K.C

Myself and my mates do this every year. There is only one rule, wear a cheesy Christmas jumper. Drink if you want to or have a soft drink. Its about meeting up with a bit of novelty. Always a good night, these rules that people insist on are a joke. Enjoy yourself, thats the reason you are going out !

Danger781 wrote: »
    Two pints per hour is my usual rate on a standard 'nothing special' night out.

Don't see the big deal here.. It's a very very rare occasion that I am in an awful state during the night..

Sort of hard to tell after 12 pints I would say. I imagine you think you're grand, but in reality...you aren't.

rarnes1 wrote: »

I just find the new silly christmas jumper mass hysteria trend a bit cringeworthy..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

12 pints is about 30 units, a glass of wine is 1 unit, with 6 glasses (very generous glasses) you'd need to drink about 5 bottles of wine to get the same effect.

Typical bottle of wine (12%) is 9 units, typical pint of beer is 2.5 units (stout less). 5 bottles of wine is way, way, way too much for anyone and 12 pints is an excessive amount.

That said I look forward to it, great excuse for a pub crawl. Down with rules. Wear what you want, eat what you want and drink / dont drink what you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭Danger781

Sort of hard to tell after 12 pints I would say. I imagine you think you're grand, but in reality...you aren't.

No memory loss, no vomiting, no property lossed / damaged, no trouble caused. Not seeing an issue.

I would be quite drunk yes, no doubt. I would almost certainly wake up hungover, but I am completely able to navigate the city, ask politely for food, and then navigate my way to a taxi and make my way home while having a conversation with the driver and / or my friends.

Perhaps I can handle my drink better than some. However there are people in this thread condemning anyone who considers doing the 12 pubs as being as a menace to society. We're not going out starting fights. We're not going out causing trouble. We're out for an excessive quantity of alcohol with a group of friends.

In my personal experience, we tend to find the quietest part of whatever pub we go into. We know we're probably going to be loud and don't want to bother people.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The 12 pubs is great. We usually do it with the half hour rule, but that goes out the window at around pub 8.

• Site Banned Posts: 52 ✭✭dutcher

Danger781 wrote: »
    No memory loss, no vomiting, no property lossed / damaged, no trouble caused. Not seeing an issue.

I would be quite drunk yes, no doubt. I would almost certainly wake up hungover, but I am completely able to navigate the city, ask politely for food, and then navigate my way to a taxi and make my way home while having a conversation with the driver and / or my friends.

Perhaps I can handle my drink better than some. However there are people in this thread condemning anyone who considers doing the 12 pubs as being as a menace to society. We're not going out starting fights. We're not going out causing trouble. We're out for an excessive quantity of alcohol with a group of friends.

In my personal experience, we tend to find the quietest part of whatever pub we go into. We know we're probably going to be loud and don't want to bother people.

:mad:

I think most people around 21 can handle 12 pints or more without making a show of themselves. Its the shots that are the killers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

smurgen wrote: »
    A go away and lighten up. I've done twelve pubs on numerous occasions and it's always great fun.the rules are only loose guidelines and no one sticks to them. If you're the type of person who thinks going to a load of pubs with friends and having a blast in beneath you and immature well don't worry,I'm sure you won't get an invite to one anyway. Plenty of time to be grand and sensible when you're in the grave!

If its immature to be on the recieving end of having to clean up the carnage and trouble caused by these little fun nights out, then im guilty as charged. If im immature by not going out of my way to get totally **** faced and incapable of looking after myself, then im guilty as charged - sure thats what the barstaff are there for, to hold your hand while you puke all over the bar or pass out because your so intoxicated (and thats just having the misfortune of having these idiots fall into your bar without even having served them). I must be a right muppet not wanting to end up in A&E with alcohol posioning. I guess the staff in A&E must be immature for giving out about these muppets wasting their time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

dutcher wrote: »
    I think most people around 21 can handle 12 pints or more without making a show of themselves. Its the shots that are the killers.

Most people no chance!

• Site Banned Posts: 52 ✭✭dutcher

Most people no chance!

Really? Any of my friends usually drink 6 cans and a naggin before they go out and a load of pints on top of it.

Some even drink a 700 ML bottle of Vodka minus the cans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

If its immature to be on the recieving end of having to clean up the carnage and trouble caused by these little fun nights out, then im guilty as charged. If im immature by not going out of my way to get totally **** faced and incapable of looking after myself, then im guilty as charged - sure thats what the barstaff are there for, to hold your hand while you puke all over the bar or pass out because your so intoxicated (and thats just having the misfortune of having these idiots fall into your bar without even having served them). I must be a right muppet not wanting to end up in A&E with alcohol posioning. I guess the staff in A&E must be immature for giving out about these muppets wasting their time.

I worked in bars and nightclubs during college,I know exactly what its like and yes,I've.cleaned up sick of people who drank too much,it didn't leave me mentally scared,its part of the job.

I work extremely hard all year,pay my taxes and keep my head down.I've never had any brushes with the law,never even had my name taken. I love to drink and so do my friends,we're fairly well rounded people so it's not or only social outlet. If I want to go out and get ****faced a few times a year,there ain't no one gonna stop me.
    Its one of the few times a year that all of.my friends will be home at the same time,most live in different countries and it's a great way for us all to get reacquainted with one another again. So to summarize , f#@k the begrudgers! If you don't want to see people having fun or.making noise go to a quieter bar or better still stay at home.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

dutcher wrote: »
    Really? Any of my friends usually drink 6 cans and a naggin before they go out and a load of pints on top of it.

Some even drink a 700 ML bottle of Vodka minus the cans

The youth of today, Your liver will be bucked by the time your 20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

The 12 pubs of xmas is practically a homecoming event in my town, all those who have ventured off to distant and foreign lands come back to the place where it all began to tell anecdotes of their travels. It's even part of 'The Gathering' this year (may not be true). I always found the 12 pubs to be good craic and am a bit surprised to see all the aggro here towards rules and 'organised fun', what's wrong with a few silly rules if they involve having the craic and the bants? Do people feel the same about hens and stags? Agree with the remarks about binge drinking though, 12 pints is way too much for any spell of drinking, I try to mix it up with bottles and soft drinks, there's no point gettin absolutely off the face by the end of the session, you want to hang around for a while afterwards for the inevitable trip into the bigger neighbouring town!

Most people no chance!

Most lads I know would be able to drink 12 pints in a day of drinking and plenty of us could drink more. Actually I've often found id be in better condition after 12 or 14 pints over the course of 12 hours or so than after a 4 or 5 hour session.