12 pubs madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

there is some amount of dryshi*es on here, ffs its one day a year. if you dont like it, dont bother doing it and certainly dont judge those who do.

for what is worth, 12 pints in 6 hours is not a huge deal for many people,especially when its once a year.

rules are normally only done for those who are not used to it - 12 pubs, 12 pints is the only "rule" and thats it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

there is some amount of dryshi*es on here, ffs its one day a year. if you dont like it, dont bother doing it and certainly dont judge those who do.

for what is worth, 12 pints in 6 hours is not a huge deal for many people,especially when its once a year.

rules are normally only done for those who are not used to it - 12 pubs, 12 pints is the only "rule" and thats it.

so if you don't approve of binge drinking , it makes you a drysh1t, maybe we need to piss ourselves of face being forcefully fed shots to wet ourselves up a bit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Went to one last year with friends and the organiser can only be described as a nazi.
    My friends were glad when I arrived with my girlfriend as they were sick of being rushed around so we let the main group go off ahead and spent 40-45 minutes a drink and then around pub 10, we stayed for 2.

The organiser has a whistle for feck sake. Also that shot business is never ever enforced and is put there by people who wouldn't dare do a shot themselves but would always be first to call someone out on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'll judge who I want - it's in my nature! Don't judge me for judging others you judger!

Sincerely,

Judgey McJudgerton.
    Caliden wrote: »
    The organiser has a whistle for feck sake.

For f*ck's sake! I know of a lot of pubs where that whistle would be removed and inserted into a different orifice if they were blowing it and annoying everyone else on the premises!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭tigger123

The difficulty is though that everyone else has to watch and listen to the 12 Pubs Brigade of D*cks on their nights out.

At least with Christmas jumpers you can now spot an a*sehole at 50 paces.

Boombastic wrote: »
    so if you don't approve of binge drinking , it makes you a drysh1t, maybe we need to piss ourselves of face being forcefully fed shots to wet ourselves up a bit?

how is something that happens once a year, a binge? and stop with the PC s*it, most people are complaining about having to move pub or being told how quick to drink their drinks.

but its ok, you can be a dry s*ite if you want, ill drink a few pints for you ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

how is something that happens once a year, a binge? and stop with the PC s*it, most people are complaining about having to move pub or being told how quick to drink their drinks.

but its ok, you can be a dry s*ite if you want, ill drink a few pints for you ;)

binge (bibreve.gifnj)
    n.1. A drunken spree or revel.
    2. a. A period of unrestrained, immoderate self-indulgence.
    b. A period of excessive or uncontrolled indulgence in food or drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Sarah2014

I done 12 pubs last year for the first time. No one made it to 12, we were all langers by 8th and most of the women couldn't drink after that, lads made it to 10 max.. you can start easy and buy a non alcoholic drink in between, like coke or something.. no one would know (if you want to make it to 12th pub that is)

drink at your own pace. Enjoy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Jamsiek wrote: »
    In Scotland I saw people playing Pub Golf where they dress in silly golf clothes and go to 18 pubs.
    They would think the 12 pubs is for lightweights

Pub golf is generally done over 9 pubs though isn't is. It's quite hard to organise too, you'd almost want one sober person just to get the counts, it's a first year "Uni" thing in the Uk and doesn't really see the light of day afterwards.

While drinking their 25ml spirits or their glasses of 3.8% beer?

Most normal draught beers here are only around the same or a bit more. Smithwicks 3.8%, Guinness 4.3%, Carleberg/Heineken etc 4.3 to 4.5% etc.

Makes very little difference over the course of 12 pints, maybe one pint in the difference between a 3.8% and a 4.3%.
    not to mention the cost to the health service and the drustruction in a &e every weekend, but hey. lighten up!

Myself or the lads I have done 12 pubs with have never been that bad never mind ending up in A&E and thats with continuing to drink after the 12th pint every time we do it.

The fact is the vast majority of people can go out and drink away to their hearts content not end up in A&E, its only a tiny tiny few who end up in A&E in comparison to the total drinking population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭ronjo

I might have drank 12 pints a few times in my 20s but havent in many years.
    Do you not think though it is a huge deal to drink so much especially for someone not used to it??

FWIW I would love to do it but it would take my about 4 days to recover and the wife would kill me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Most normal draught beers here are only around the same or a bit more. Smithwicks 3.8%, Guinness 4.3%, Carleberg/Heineken etc 4.3 to 4.5% etc.

Makes very little difference over the course of 12 pints, maybe one pint in the difference between a 3.8% and a 4.3%.

Myself or the lads I have done 12 pubs with have never been that bad never mind ending up in A&E and thats with continuing to drink after the 12th pint every time we do it.

The fact is the vast majority of people can go out and drink away to their hearts content not end up in A&E, its only a tiny tiny few who end up in A&E in comparison to the total drinking population.

Meanwhile, alcohol-related harms cost each tax payer in Ireland an estimated €3,318 a year. And that’s just the financial cost:

88 deaths every month in Ireland are directly attributable to alcohol
    One in eleven children in Ireland say parental alcohol use has a negative effect on their lives – that is about109,684 children
    There are 1,200 cases of cancer each year from alcohol in Ireland
    One in four deaths of young men aged 15-39 in Ireland is due to alcohol
    One in three road crash deaths is alcohol-related

http://alcoholireland.ie/facts/alcohol-related-harm-facts-and-statistics/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

How much do you realistically have to drink to have to go to a and e. I mean I have been in some seriously bad states as have my mates but not once has one of us had to go to the hospital. I realize this is off topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I had no idea there was a one piss per pub rule?

I can just picture Fintan from Accounts high-flving Nick because he's "fucking bursting".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

How much do you realistically have to drink to have to go to a and e. I mean I have been in some seriously bad states as have my mates but not once has one of us had to go to the hospital. I realize this is off topic.

Ive been on 5 separate 12 pubs over the last 3 years and no one ever went to hospital? some got fairly drunk but no one could never stand or made an absolute show of themselves. Those who couldnt last the pace stopped/ went home. No one judged them for it.

Those who had 12/13 units were drunk but didnt wreck anyones heads. All pubs we entered we had banter and craic with others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Not really since the "challenge" for most people is to finish, so they won't be drinking doubles or Super all night.

If you say so ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

One in eleven children in Ireland say parental alcohol use has a negative effect on their lives

1/11? thought it would be far higher than that. I think we should put pictures of sad kids on our pints to remind us that 1/11 kids are sad because mammy or daddy has a hangover.

12 pubs isn't for everyone, I've done 12 pubs once with my friends from college who i never see any more and it was great crack. there was no rules just a few different bars.

• Site Banned Posts: 52 ✭✭dutcher

People taking it so seriously. The rules are a bit of craic and no one is going to force you to drink and keep up or slag you for skipping drinks. I've been on numerous 12 pubs but we done it right way where I'm from and start at 2PM so you get an hour in each pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭ronjo

dutcher wrote: »
    People taking it so seriously. The rules are a bit of craic and no one is going to force you to drink and keep up or slag you for skipping drinks. I've been on numerous 12 pubs but we done it right way where I'm from and start at 2PM so you get an hour in each pub.

Thats makes far more sense.
    Throw in some grub around 6 or 7 and a great day out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Seems like the 12 pubs was thought up by the same marketing crowd that thought up Arthur's Day...

anncoates wrote: »
    I had no idea there was a one piss per pub rule?

I can just picture Fintan from Accounts high-flving Nick because he's "fucking bursting".

there isnt, in fact there can be no rules for 12 pubs. people make up their own rules, but most people just have 12 drinks, 12 different pubs in a set time frame.

im not really sure why people are going mental over rules, when they are up to the people who are on the piss up. seems like just an excuse to hate it, despite the fact that people have never done it and the real reason people whinge about it, is simply that they are not able to do it.

a day on the piss with your friends adding in a bit of novelty is one of the best days of the year in terms of socialising. some of ye should try it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

I can see why people dont like it, i can imagine how some people wouldnt like it or it not being their thing. I do like it. I like the dressing up in an xmas jumper, I like the odd rule in certain pubs (eg the foreign accent pub), I like the forfeit system as it will encourage you to stick to said rules and avoid shots and other forfeits. But as I said thats just me, each to there own.

Meanwhile, alcohol-related harms cost each tax payer in Ireland an estimated €3,318 a year. And that’s just the financial cost:

One in eleven children in Ireland say parental alcohol use has a negative effect on their lives – that is about109,684 children
    There are 1,200 cases of cancer each year from alcohol in Ireland
    One in four deaths of young men aged 15-39 in Ireland is due to alcohol
    One in three road crash deaths is alcohol-related

http://alcoholireland.ie/facts/alcohol-related-harm-facts-and-statistics/

If you believe that propaganda you would believe anything.

Just to start they are totally ignoring all the excise duty and vat directly related to alcohol, then there is the indirect VAT from chippers, taxis etc. Then there is the massive employment in the sector and all the indirect employment again in chippers and taxis etc etc.

I would have absolutely no faith in the other figures either, 1 in 11 not a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

A number of people here seem very concerned about how the regular punters will be affected by the 12 pubs crowds. It was the same as well for Authurs Day. Are you guys just as concerned about these people every time a Boards Beers event is organised?

a day on the piss with your friends adding in a bit of novelty is one of the best days of the year in terms of socialising. some of ye should try it ;)

Going on this piss with your friends at Christmas. What a fantastic idea.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I've just been on holiday and drinking fairly regularly throughout (mostly few pints of an evening type deal) and by the end of two weeks my tolerance had build to a level where I had about 12 drinks in 6 hours and still remained fairly compos mentis. But normally? No ****ing way

A number of people here seem very concerned about how the regular punters will be affected by the 12 pubs crowds. It was the same as well for Authurs Day. Are you guys just as concerned about these people every time a Boards Beers event is organised?

Calm down, Brendan.

Look, check out the jumper on Shaky in this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,804 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Have done a good few 12 pubs. The majority of them in college, with a smaller crew of 6/7, all in Galway which has a great rep for it.

The first one, I got sick around pub 10, but lasted the night. Great night. Second one that year I did with similar crowd, just a few more that day. Actually did 14 pubs (well pubs 11 & 12 twice!) and had a brilliant night. Another few throw in in Galway with an older crowd so the pace was upped, think we abandoned it around 10/11 cos lads wanted to go off with their gfs/ nightclubs earlier as far as I remember. All with no rules, apart from the customary Christmas jumper.

My favourite one so far was in Ibiza. We just picked random bars to have a pint, but we had rules for each pub. Each time you break a rule, you had to do a shot/jagerbomb. Max of 3 per bar tho, and after your pint was finished/done 3 forfeits you could break the rule. We got well in to it, trying to catch each other out etc and the majority had no problem having to cough up for the forfeits but ibiza was handy cos there was 'shot girls' going around selling shots for cheap like €1 a go etc. They copped on fairly quick and hung around with us trying to get us to break rules so they would sell more shots! :) Cos there wasn't as many Irish there as other nationalities, all the bars thought it was great and played along with us, even moving furniture to accommodate the rule where we couldn't touch the floor! We got so hammered we finished on pub 8 ha! On average 8 pints and about 10/15 jagerbombs each!! Some heads the following day. It was about day 7 or 8 of non stop drinking too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Hierro_4

Looking forward to doing this over Christmas, one of the best nights of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I love the twelve pubs at Christmas. It makes me feel better about my alcoholism.