12 pubs madness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

They've been open again ages. Not sure how long because I don't remember it closing. Was certainly open as of last Sunday.

Deadly - must drop in. It closed down there at the end of 2011 I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭TheSetMiner

taking a pint to be 4 euro a piece, and the average shots per person to be probably 4 or 5 @ 4 euro each too, thats nearly 70 euro on drink alone? eh no... 8 pack of bav and a naggin in a friends gaf will do me thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Have only done it once, and it was good fun. No rules apart from spending around 30 mins per pub, and no pressure on what to drink. There were about 20 of us, and by moving around, it meant we got to chat to different people in each pub. Also worth noting that we did it in early December to beat the crowds, and picked pubs that wouldn't be jammers. Most of us got through it, and although drunk, no one ended up in a complete state.

Last Christmas, was attempting to catch up with friends I only see once a year, but kept having complete knob-ends falling all over the place, blocking the bar (even though they hadn't a hope of being served) and then being aggressive to the bar staff. This wasn't confined to one pub.

So I can see both points of view, but that said, muppets who cant behave themselves on a night out will act like muppets no matter what. People who know their limits will generally call it a night when they've had enough. Doesn';t matter if you're doing 12 pubs or not

That said, to do it with work people? What a terrible terrible idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭Daith

I always find that you can never plan a pub crawl. It just happens. 12 pubs always seems like manufactured fun.

That said, to do it with work people? What a terrible terrible idea

Why sure it's only the people who are up for the craic who will go. I've only ever done the 12 pubs with friends from work, I've done weekends on the lash with friends from work and would be out almost weekly with friends from work. We act no different to each other than people I'm friends with from outside work.

Of course there are people at work I wouldn't be getting hammered in front of (though there aren't many left I haven't been at this stage) but most I couldn't care less and vice versa. Same for any work place I've been.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

jimgoose wrote: »
    This "12 Pubs" shyte is for students, HR bints, teenage girls and other mental defectives who think they're being "Great Craic!!(TM)" when they're wobbling around screaming through gouts of projectile-puke at nine o'clock in the evening while the rest of us grown-ups are sitting at the bar trying to have a quiet few pints (in ONE spot!) and a read of the paper. Leave me alone or I'll kick you in the groin. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

It's completely retarded, the bar staff in the first few pubs have nothing to worry about. By pub 7/8 these wanktards are doing thier best to spoil the staff in the bars Xmas.

I'm sure the staff in A&E love these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Deadly - must drop in. It closed down there at the end of 2011 I think.

Been open since at very least New Years.... was in there on the way to Charlies on New Years day after finishing work at 4 am.... They're lucky they reopened, if an early house stays closed for more than a year they lose the early licence and there is no getting it back once it's gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

jimgoose wrote: »
    This "12 Pubs" shyte is for students, HR bints, teenage girls and other mental defectives who think they're being "Great Craic!!(TM)" when they're wobbling around screaming through gouts of projectile-puke at nine o'clock in the evening while the rest of us grown-ups are sitting at the bar trying to have a quiet few pints (in ONE spot!) and a read of the paper. Leave me alone or I'll kick you in the groin. :cool:

Gout would have you screaming alright - very painful. Cut down on rich food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Never done it. I'd hate it though - I want to stay in the same pub for the night on a cold night, or at a push, go to just one other pub. 12 Pubs seems forced and overkill IMO.

Been open since at very least New Years.... was in there on the way to Charlies on New Years day after finishing work at 4 am.... They're lucky they reopened, if an early house stays closed for more than a year they lose the early licence and there is no getting it back once it's gone.

I think I've found the confusion. I'm talking about The Welcome Inn on Parnell St. in Dublin - you're talking about a Cork pub of the same name are ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Uaru

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I think I've found the confusion. I'm talking about The Welcome Inn on Parnell St. in Dublin - you're talking about a Cork pub of the same name are ye?

He is and so was the other guy. Boo!

Uaru wrote: »
    He is and so was the other guy. Boo!

Stupid Cork getting my hopes up!

Stupid me, not checking posters' locations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Uaru

The first pub on the first guys list was The Parnell followed by the Welcome Inn. I stopped reading after that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

Daith wrote: »
    I always find that you can never plan a pub crawl. It just happens. 12 pubs always seems like manufactured fun.

A very good point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

In Scotland I saw people playing Pub Golf where they dress in silly golf clothes and go to 18 pubs.
    They would think the 12 pubs is for lightweights

Jamsiek wrote: »
    In Scotland I saw people playing Pub Golf where they dress in silly golf clothes and go to 18 pubs.
    They would think the 12 pubs is for lightweights

While drinking their 25ml spirits or their glasses of 3.8% beer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

While drinking their 25ml spirits or their glasses of 3.8% beer?

Yes because you can't drink doubles or get stronger beer over there.
    Anyway the Gladgow Subway run is much more fun :)

Yes because you can't drink doubles or get stronger beer over there.
    Anyway the Gladgow Subway run is much more fun :)

And I wouldn't be sticking to the "one drink" thing here if I was doing it, swings and roundabouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

I've done it for the last few years with work colleagues and will be doing it again this year- I love it because we start at lunch time and people can drop in and out of it as they wish, but it just means at all times there's someone out. Some people go home for a while and come back for the night time part. Flip this rules business, and forcing people to drink is just juvenile and irresponsible. We do come up with a schedule so that people have a fair idea where we'll be if they want to meet us, although usually they end up ringing first anyway so it doesn't matter if we don't stick to it.

Weirdly enough though I never feel totally hammered even if I do all 12 because it's such a long day that all the drinks are really spread out. I'd often be worse going home after a night when I started drinking at 9pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I'm always riddled with contact embarrassment when I see grown ups playing drinking games. But each to their own I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

And I wouldn't be sticking to the "one drink" thing here if I was doing it, swings and roundabouts.

My point was it was a stupid statement to make as we all know stronger drink is available ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Did it when I was home for the Christmas a few years back, a group of us went around all the main pubs in the area we grew up. It was great to have a pint in each and reminisce while also having a bit of a laugh.

I lasted all 12 but we lost a few brave souls along the way, started at 4pm and finished at last orders by which time we were understandably gee-eyed. It was a great laugh as a once off. No poxy jumpers were worn though.

The "one piss per pub" rule was a killer towards the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

It's completely retarded, the bar staff in the first few pubs have nothing to worry about. By pub 7/8 these wanktards are doing thier best to spoil the staff in the bars Xmas.

I'm sure the staff in A&E love these people.

A go away and lighten up. I've done twelve pubs on numerous occasions and it's always great fun.the rules are only loose guidelines and no one sticks to them. If you're the type of person who thinks going to a load of pubs with friends and having a blast in beneath you and immature well don't worry,I'm sure you won't get an invite to one anyway. Plenty of time to be grand and sensible when you're in the grave!

What this thread has taught me is that people get very very serious about organised alcohol abuse. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

smurgen wrote: »
    A go away and lighten up. I've done twelve pubs on numerous occasions and it's always great fun.the rules are only loose guidelines and no one sticks to them. If you're the type of person who thinks going to a load of pubs with friends and having a blast in beneath you and immature well don't worry,I'm sure you won't get an invite to one anyway. Plenty of time to be grand and sensible when you're in the grave!

Moderate drinking is a leading cause of premature death alright.

My point was it was a stupid statement to make as we all know stronger drink is available ;)

Not really since the "challenge" for most people is to finish, so they won't be drinking doubles or Super all night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Moderate drinking is a leading cause of premature death alright.

not to mention the cost to the health service and the drustruction in a &e every weekend, but hey. lighten up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Boombastic wrote: »
    not to mention the cost to the health service and the drustruction in a &e every weekend, but hey. lighten up!

Well you could do nothing for the rest of your life.you could stay in your house and watch t.v . That way you'd probably be a lot safer,therefore live longer and save the health services from having to patch your ass up should anything go wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

smurgen wrote: »
    Well you could do nothing for the rest of your life.you could stay in your house and watch t.v . That way you'd probably be a lot safer,therefore live longer and save the health services from having to patch your ass up should anything go wrong

Is staying in house and watching t.v. the only alternative to drinking? Interesting