12 pubs madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

ive done it before with super bonus pubs also....the only rules we had was you had to have a drink..could be non alcoholic or shot/pint/bottle whatever you want if you but idea was of course to have alcohol. Was great craic. I find over 5/6 hrs the 12 pubs is doable as long as you dont rush yourself too much.

the Super Bonus pubs are what makes it :D

I never understand drinking games in general, let alone this 12 pubs thing. I want to sit and drink at my own (admittedly unhealthy) pace and go to no more than no places during that session, preferably just the one place.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'll be wearing a Christmas jumper and doing the 12 pubs. Are you saying I'm a twat?

"If" I answer "Yes," is that attacking the poster, or responding to the post? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

flanzer wrote: »
    I'll ask you to watch the groups doing '12 pubs' this Christmas. I'm sure the 'sweeping generalisation' you say, is actually quite factual!

Quite factual? What a load of utter nonsense. I've never once done the 12 pubs where the majority or people didnt know each other. Rules, fair enough they are talked about a fair bit at the start but generally go other the window as the night progresses (in my experience). There's more of a chance that the person like yourself just sitting in a pub will be glued to their smartphone. If nothing else those doing the 12 pubs dont have much time for that between trying to order and drink in half an hour and moving from pub to pub and chatting to different groups due to all the moving. And so what if they are taking a few pictures. That happens every single night with most groups of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭hayser

Those rules are just a joke to get the night started. I've done loads of 12 pubs before and if you don't want a drink in some of the pubs then just get a soft drink. Also from now til Christmas, all the pubs are going to be busy so probably no one will be paying attention to what you're buying. Enjoy the night. They're always a great atmosphere if you pace yourself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

hayser wrote: »
    Those rules are just a joke to get the night started. I've done loads of 12 pubs before and if you don't want a drink in some of the pubs then just get a soft drink. Also from now til Christmas, all the pubs are going to be busy so probably no one will be paying attention to what you're buying. Enjoy the night. They're always a great atmosphere if you pace yourself.

Come to Longford and claim this afterwards!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭Feisar

Obviously I've problems, I breezed through it last year. Actually I arrived late in pub three but by the time we left pub 5 I had caught up. Ended up fairly drunk in the nightclub. And deffo had more than 12 drinks.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Feisar wrote: »
    Obviously I've problems, I breezed through it last year. Actually I arrived late in pub three but by the time we left pub 5 I had caught up. Ended up fairly drunk in the nightclub. And deffo had more than 12 drinks.

I got lost at pub ten with a few others and ended up doing an extra pub. Was drunk by pub 12 but lasted the night as did a good few others. Ive had my fun, thats all that matters :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭number66

Sounds like madness to me, whatever happened to drink responsibly!! Those rules are just insane and guaranteed to lead to some people getting dangerously drunk. I'd suggest you have a word with whoever posted them and suggest they make drinking alcohol optional.

Why not do a 12 kind deeds of Christmas instead of a 12 pubs of Christmas, would be a much better idea and much more appropriate. After you finish your 12 good deeds then head to the pub with a warm glow that is not from drinking too much over priced booze.

Regards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

I was in a pub last year when a bunch of 12-pubbers came in (they'd even had tshirts made) and one of them proceeded to sit down and vomit everywhere...and then finish his drink.

Kind of put me off the idea.

number66 wrote: »

Why not do a 12 kind deeds of Christmas instead of a 12 pubs of Christmas, would be a much better idea and much more appropriate. After you finish your 12 good deeds then head to the pub with a warm glow that is not from drinking too much over priced booze.

Regards

I dont think its a better idea, a different idea but not a better one. Its one night a year and i enjoy it.

Each to there own and all. I can see why people dislike it, but i and many others enjoy it so ill continue this year.

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    I was in a pub last year when a bunch of 12-pubbers came in (they'd even had tshirts made) and one of them proceeded to sit down and vomit everywhere...and then finish his drink.

Kind of put me off the idea.

Again all 12 pubbers arent the same, though i would agree that most are like the Pukey McPukersen above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭Danger781

We did this for a friends birthday in October, minus the Christmas jumpers. Twas pissing rain that night as well so it made the walk all the more interesting! :pac:

We did it along Oliver Plunkett Street / Washington Street
    #1 - The Parnell : Pint of Guinness

#2 - The Welcome Inn : Nothing because it seemed like a manky pub. Was told I had to get a shot in the next pub. Feck that!

#3 - Ovens Tavern : 1/2 pint Guinness

#4 - The Oliver Plunkett : Pint of Guinness

#5 - Old Oak : Jameson

#6 - Counihans : Pint of Guinness - But I don't play on going back there again as the barman told my friend he had to either buy a drink or get out after he asked for a pint of water. Who does that?

#7 - Cantys : Pint of Guinness

#8 - Boudhran : Pint of Guinness

#9 - Thomond : Pint of Guinness

#10 - The Grafton : Captain Morgans & Fanta

#11 - The Wash : Pint of Guinness

#12 - The Bailey : I wasn't queuing in the rain to go into that hole so I went home

Despite the rain, and the excess alcohol a great night was had by all! And nobody got sick! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭pconn062

Nothing brings out the knuckle dragging instinct in people like the 12 pubs of Christmas. It's retarded beyond words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

This "12 Pubs" shyte is for students, HR bints, teenage girls and other mental defectives who think they're being "Great Craic!!(TM)" when they're wobbling around screaming through gouts of projectile-puke at nine o'clock in the evening while the rest of us grown-ups are sitting at the bar trying to have a quiet few pints (in ONE spot!) and a read of the paper. Leave me alone or I'll kick you in the groin. :cool:

pconn062 wrote: »
    Nothing brings out the knuckle dragging instinct in people like the 12 pubs of Christmas. It's retarded beyond words.

Yawn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

jimgoose wrote: »
    This "12 Pubs" shyte is for students, HR bints, teenage girls and other mental defectives who think they're being "Great Craic!!(TM)" when they're wobbling around screaming through gouts of projectile-puke at nine o'clock in the evening while the rest of us grown-ups are sitting at the bar trying to have a quiet few pints (in ONE spot!) and a read of the paper. Leave me alone or I'll kick you in the groin. :cool:

Which pub exactly, old timer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭RichardoKhan

Why 12 pubs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Why 12 pubs?

12 days of Christmas....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Why 12 pubs?

Are you honestly asking that? :confused:

lufties wrote: »
    Which pub exactly, old timer :D

The Catwalk on Prince's Street. "Jay-SINNN! See him ovar day-ar! He was lookin' a'me, liiiike! Goan bateim!!" :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Ah here, I didn't mind people slagging off the 12 pubs things.

But christmas jumpers? Get the fcuk out the lot of ye.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Unisex-Humbug-Christmas-Sweatshirt-Jumper/dp/B00F5UEZ92

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭RichardoKhan

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Are you honestly asking that? :confused:

Was unsure why OP specifically wanted 12 Pubs. Long long time since I was a student. Makes perfect sense now (!);)

Ah here, I didn't mind people slagging off the 12 pubs things.

But christmas jumpers? Get the fcuk out the lot of ye.

Gerrupdayardyabaggamutton. Vall Doonican rocks. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Uaru

Danger781 wrote: »
    #2 - The Welcome Inn : Nothing because it seemed like a manky pub. Was told I had to get a shot in the next pub. Feck that!

I thought the Welcome Inn was shut. Great news if its back open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭kryptonmight

I did the 12 pubs once. It was similar to the OPs rules but not quite as many. I had a pint in the first and second pub but my limit of pints is about 4-5 so I just started having whiskey and coke instead. I did all 12 pubs with an alcoholic drink in each but it was very tough going by pub 10 and I was close to giving up.

Not sure I'd be able for it these days.

OP unless these people are insanely strict, I cant see all these rules being enforced at all, especially as the night goes on.

I'd say go but only drink as much as you are comfortable with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I never understand drinking games in general, let alone this 12 pubs thing. I want to sit and drink at my own (admittedly unhealthy) pace and go to no more than no places during that session, preferably just the one place.

Ideally that place will have plenty of seating and not have the music turned up too loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,101 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

I'm sorry if this has been done before but I did a search and all I could find was posts on suggestions for 12 pubs etc.

I've been invited to a 12 pubs session with work (social club, not the company). I've never been on one before but I've heard about them. So today I get an email with the rules of it. This isn't it word for word but its the jist of it.

1. Eat before the first drink. No eating allowed after this until the 12th pub is finished
    2. Each pub is 30 minutes and 1 alcoholic beverage must be consumed in that time (pints for men). If you don't you must down the drink before leaving the pub and do a shot in the next pub.
    3. If you are caught cheating (i.e. not drinking/drinking a non-alcoholic drink) you must do a shot
    4. If you fall/spill a drink/some other silly scenario you must do a shot
    5. If you get sick you must do a shot after
    6. If you get thrown out of a pub/cause the group to get thrown out you must do a shot in the next pub.

And it continues in that vein. Now, I like a drink as much as the next person. I do drink to excess/binge drink regularly enough and I enjoy being out having the craic with my friends. I'm not anti-drink by any stretch of the imagination; but this concept of drinking 12 pints in 6 hours, as well as shots (which is unavoidable by the looks of things) just seems like madness to me. Surely that's drinking on a very dangerous level?

I know that there are many here who will give me grief over this "hurr durr Ya big Wimp, man up, bit of fun, blah blah..." but I can't be the only one who thinks encouraging people to drink that amount of alcohol that quickly is plain stupid? Has anyone done the 12 pubs before and what was your experience of it? The lad organizing it said that he got the rules off the internet so at least one gang of people has done this particular set before.

12 pubs should be 12 pubs at your own pace and not what is planned for your night out.

That kind of nonsense will only end in tears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭Danger781

Uaru wrote: »
    I thought the Welcome Inn was shut. Great news if its back open.

It is indeed. I felt very uncomfortable in there.

As soon as we walked in the whole bar went quiet and the auld fellas just stared at us. On top of that, the smell inside the bar was just atrocious.

The worst part? The mens bathroom floor was flooded and there was an overwhelming smell of piss.

Never again! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

What usually happens in ours, is meet in pub 1, get food in and head on.

The only rule we have is its 30mins per pub.