Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best and **** euro can of beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

Links234 wrote: »
    But that's not really what anyone's saying, if you've only a few euro to spare rattling around in your pocket, and you want to get drunk, there's still some great beers for your money. Didn't someone mention a pack of Leffe for 4.99 in Lidl? Silly cheap for a decent Belgian beer, not quite my thing but you get my point, and I do seem to remember getting Spitfire in Lidl for 1.50.

Nobody is saying buy a crazy expensive tenner a pop beer to show off how refined they are, but it's being taken that way.

Oh sure look, I know well that people have some kind of chip on their shoulder over "beer snobbery", I've been called one myself, and there has been a bit of over-reaction, but the second reply to the OP was "Life's too short to drink crap beer" with no helpful suggestions. I'd hazard a guess that it might be the tone of some of the posts that are getting people so annoyed, but people have also been suggesting beers that cost upwards of €2 or recommending drinking one nice beer rather than three cheap ones or spending the extra euro. It's just not very helpful and it doesn't come across well.

That said, there have been some great suggestions, and as far as I see the OP has thanked them all.

I'm going to warn people off hackenberg as well, think I saw it recommended earlier, blech, yuck, rotten stuff and terrible hangover

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 132 ✭✭Rewind one

MadsL wrote: »
    The one I'm drinking right now, local microbrew at $1.32 a pint...I just invested the $52 upfront...:D

I'd drink that Leffe if I only had a fiver.

If I only had a euro to spend on beer...I'd probably not bother with a beer or get my ass to the Czech Republic.

One dollar 32 cent is worth one euro,i accept your answer. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

disco1 wrote: »
    Maybe not for a euro but bud is pure piss I dont understand how people pay good money for it...

Another fookin' beer snob! :D

Links and Madsl would buy sugar with the €1 and make up some wonderful hooch-nectar rather than sip on a can of cheap piss.

Feckin' beer hipsters.. :D

In the their eyes its a crime against humanity to drink a beverage that cost under a couple euro,how about i piss in to a bottle and price it at 6e...id say they'd give it rave reviews. :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Links and Madsl would buy sugar with the €1 and make up some wonderful hooch-nectar rather than sip on a can of cheap piss.

Feckin' beer hipsters.. :D
    Funny you should mention it, but I'm planning to brew my own soon, nothing fancy but it'll be a fun thing to do and I'd get a good few beers out of it. I think you get something like 40 pints out of your standard homebrew kit

so really, brewing your own IS a really cheap way to get beer, you just have to put in a little effort and patience ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Rewind one wrote: »
    In the their eyes its a crime against humanity to drink a beverage that cost under a couple euro,how about i piss in to a bottle and price it at 6e...id say they'd give it rave reviews. :D:D

Try it. Let us know how you get on...

It's the taste of beer not the price. That said, would you eat a steak I sold you for €1.05...?

If anyone knows of a of really pale almost watery coors style 1e larger please let me know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

I quite like Dutch Gold. Tastes like nostalgia and, let's be honest, is no worse than all the other generic lagers (Heineken, Bud, Carlsberg etc) that you get in your average pub and club.

I'm not a huge fan of the craft beer\ale market. I mean, they taste alright like, but not enough to be paying large amounts for them.

Try it. Let us know how you get on...

It's the taste of beer not the price. That said, would you eat a steak I sold you for €1.05...?

TBH i ate a piece of stake that only cost me e1.38 already this week. :P

the second reply to the OP was "Life's too short to drink crap beer" with no helpful suggestions.

I've made several since...my first post was a joke of sorts...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Home brewing sounds pretty cool actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Miprocin

:D Those beer snobs hijacked the first couple of pages of this thread,they seem to have calmed down but i must say before the other posters called them into line,they did come across as pretentious feckers!
    Well you aren't getting your tablets now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

I've made several since...my first post was a joke of sorts...

Aye I know, I'm just saying Mads, for some reason you can tend to rub sensitive people up the wrong way :P some people probably came here specifically to whinge about beer snobbery and that didn't help

(please don't argue at me)

Aye I know, I'm just saying Mads, for some reason you can tend to rub sensitive people up the wrong way :P some people probably came here specifically to whinge about beer snobbery and that didn't help

Ah im sure he has a heart of gold mads/links i forgive you. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Sacramento wrote: »
    4 packs (bottles) of Leffe or Hoegaarden in Lidl for €4.99.

They never have the Hoegarden in stock!

Also Prazsly is the numero uno cheap beer!

Rolling rock was the best cheap beer i ever drank,i think its been pulled from the market though,it used to be one euro a bottle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭SeaDaily

Prazsky is always a safe bet. Very cheap most of the time. Its €1 a can in o'briens in donnybrook at the moment. Not the worst out there either(although it is close).

Ah im sure he has a heart of gold mads/links i forgive you. ;)

I even invited AH to my house for a boards beers to celebrate my new draft system. None of you feckers showed up :mad: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Home brewing sounds pretty cool actually.

Its really rewarding.

I have a batch of 12% cider aging since May. Its potent stuff and tastes better than any cider i have ever drank.

Equipment and ingredients cost me about €70, bottles i had already, crates i liberated from a pub. The next batch will cost me €20 as i only need the apple juice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 Dry Hopped

I'm far from a beer snob, and would drink stout from a farmer's welly. But the O'Hara's Pale Ale in Aldi is lovely tack. It's about €1.80 per bottle. It costs about the same as a 6-pack of Heineken, but I much prefer the taste of it. Galway Hooker is nice as well. I'm developing a taste for beers not produced by the big breweries. Just because they are Irish, and produced by a man with a beard in a shed in Outer Leitrim doesn't automatically make them good. I'm still happy to go to a pub with good company and the usual beers over a place where I've to make the epicness of the beer I'm drinking the central point of conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,141 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I like Weissbier, and I thought the Grafenwalder Hefe Weissbier from Lidl was solid at around €1.15 a can IIRC. Fruity, needs to be served as cold as possible, I thought. The Pils is around €1 a can, too, and both are German "Purity Law" beers.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Why would you even consider buying that ****e when you can buy 20 bottles of Heineken for €20 in Aldi?

Its for bums and wino's only. Have a bit of self respect man!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 Dry Hopped

bnt wrote: »
    I like Weissbier, and I thought the Grafenwalder Hefe Weissbier from Lidl was solid at around €1.15 a can IIRC. Fruity, needs to be served as cold as possible, I thought. The Pils is around €1 a can, too, and both are German "Purity Law" beers.

The German 'Purity Laws' are up there with Denny's 'Irish Style Ham'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Rolling rock was the best cheap beer i ever drank,i think its been pulled from the market though,it used to be one euro a bottle.

Agreed. Are you sure it was pulled? I thought Anheuser–Busch/InBev bought it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,141 ✭✭✭✭bnt

CJC999 wrote: »
    Why would you even consider buying that ****e when you can buy 20 bottles of Heineken for €20 in Aldi?

Its for bums and wino's only. Have a bit of self respect man!
    Was that in reply to my post? Heineken's a Lager, and I'm bored of Lagers.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Flesh Gorden

CJC999 wrote: »

Heineken!!!

F*ck that Sh!t - Pabst Blue Ribbon!!!

Seen it for sale in the O'Donovans on Summerhill North, here in Cork
    Yet to try it, but it's bound to be dirt cheap

Another supporter of Praztky here
    Either that or Carling if I need something cheap and easy to drink at a party

Showed up to a party before with that Germania stuff and got a fair few weird looks

Only bought the stuff as cool things end in Mania
    like.... Wrestlemania..... Pyromania... Nymphomania and so on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,423 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Grolsch is a grand lager and often found in bargain baskets in offy's for some reason.

Rolling Rock was a godsend back in the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

I'm actually drinking tuborg from a can right now. It's not that bad. A little watery perhaps.

I find fosters the nicest cheap beer