Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Boots234 wrote: »
    Why are Mitchelstown at such long odds to beat Keel of Kerry on Sunday? They are at 11/4. Surely with it being on in Cork and Mitchelstown having played competitive games recently they would be at much shorter odds....

Its a bit odd alright,tompkins being with mtichelstown i thought would have made them shorter.What tompkins will bring is commitment,fitness(probably has them running laps of the Galtiees or Ballyhoura) and stamina.

That may be okay at this level.However tactially he is short ,but junior level ,your not tested really.
    I don't know much about keel,but there meant to be a soild team ,according to a kerry poster.Mtichelstown only have one main man,shane beston ,but he tends to blow hot and cold.
    They didn't look great against st colums.

2013 Reardens Cork SHC All Star Hurling Nominees

Goalkeepers
    Tommy wallis mideleton
    Decie macarthy ballymartle

Full backs
    Killan burke
    patrick o mahony,
    alywin kearney (mideleton)
    darren mannix na piasrsaigh,
    conor o sullivan,sars,
    shane o neill bishoptown

Half backs
    Eanna martin,
    eoin quigley sars
    Finbarr o mahony ,
    jamie nagle mideleton
    Seamus corry ,
    patrick dywer ballymartle

Midfield
    daniel Kearney,sars,
    peter dowling mideleton,
    paul haughney midelton
    Brian murray bishoptown

Half forwards
    conor Lehane,
    Padraigo shea,
    aidan ryan midelton
    Darren mccarthy ballymartlye
    Cian macarthy sarsfields
    Jamie coughlan newtownshandrum

Full forwards
    Cussen sars
    Alan cadogan douglas
    Paul virgo Glen rovers
    Ian lordan st finbars
    Ian Mcdonnell Na Piarsaigh
    Seamus Harnedy UCC

2013 Reardens All Star Cork SFC Nominees

Goalkeepers
    Paudie hurley haven
    Pat prendergast carbery

Full backs
    David limerick haven
    Liam collins haven
    Tomas o leary haven
    Alan cronin nemo
    Eoin byrne bishoptown
    Wayne murphy st vincents

Half backs
    Roland whelton haven
    Damien cahalane haven
    Brian o driscoll carbery
    Jamie wall carberz
    Colin o brien nemo
    Conor dorman bishoptown

Midfield
    Alan o connor carbery
    Sean dineen haven
    Daniel o donovan bishoptown
    Hugh curran newecstown

Half forwards

Mark collins haven
    Stephen hurley haven
    Paul kerrigan nemo
    Ruairi deane carbery
    Colm o driscoll carbery
    John hayes carbery

Full forwards

Brian hurley haven
    James masters nemo
    Luke connolly nemo
    Declan barron carbery
    San oakes bishopstown
    Denis crowley bishopstown

No ladies teams but their will be a Camoige club player of the year along with a ladies footballer of the year.
    A great idea for them,and desereved recoognition.

Im not sure with the camoige but Denise cronin and amanda geary be surely in contention,and in the ladies football you would imagine caoime creedon and briege corkery be in contention.
    It didnt list any nominees yet.

Maybee RG15 can give us her view,she would know more than any of us in regards the ladies club scence.

Delighted,hurling league is not being changed next year.
    Thats a real blow to the Cork county board.
    At last ,GAA stood its ground,all the fuss for nothing.
    Andy kettle of dublin,fair play,during the week said the new format could be challenged at any time .One of the few to be against it but fair play ,Cork county board couldn't do much,Dublin arent small fish like weaker counties.

Great news ,we didnt do it on the field of play,we dont deserve to be their.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Agree about the league, we are where we deserve to be based on this years league. 1b didn't do Limerick or Dublin much harm the last few years.

Best of luck to those representing Cork at vaious grades tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,249 ✭✭✭slingerz

Its a bit odd alright,tompkins being with mtichelstown i thought would have made them shorter.What tompkins will bring is commitment,fitness(probably has them running laps of the Galtiees or Ballyhoura) and stamina.

That may be okay at this level.However tactially he is short ,but junior level ,your not tested really.
    I don't know much about keel,but there meant to be a soild team ,according to a kerry poster.Mtichelstown only have one main man,shane beston ,but he tends to blow hot and cold.
    They didn't look great against st colums.

Of course there is tactics at junior level!! What a ridiculous thing to say! All it needs is a coach of good enough intelligence and there are plenty of those at junior level

The harsh reality is div2 is poor as in terms for making real progress in the Hurling next year.

It could be said Dublin and limerick ,it didn't affect them ,but i wouldnt be getting jolly or dancing a jig,that it didnt do them any harm and we can presume to assume it will be the same for us.Dublin did do magnificenty all credit to them,but at the end of day i wouldnt be getting carried away with limerick.Had home advantage,in two of those.

People can dress it up all they want but this is a dissaster,and it Must be seen by people as that ,as that way make sure were not in that scenario again.We start to gloss over ,and it aint that bad,thats the day you cork begin to drop standards and no offence meant,but we become like antrim,laois etc.
    This year we didnt see the real effect with cork as even do we got beat,you can learn way more loosing by a point or two to top real hurling teams,than playing offaly,antrim,laois that will play footloose,fancy off the cuff hurling,and cork beating these teams handy you learn sweet f**ck all,in half empty stadiums where their is no real intensity,tension at the ground,and only real loud noise you get is if someone coughs or sneezes.

Considering walsh needs games at top level, we need to blood a full back,and half back needs to be balanced with a partner for kearney playing laois,antrim etc you cant gauge it as accurate.

I hope to god four our sake we get wexford away,traditionally south east,them or waterford cork struggle,and playing a physical wexford with a huge home crowd,will at least test the attuide of players.
    Getting them in the pairc ,not the same.
    Wexford are training already ,a good few u21s, a good coach,with limerick our only test til we get to the q final.
    Wexford are playing kk,and tipp,back to back in december,in challenge matches and are taking the league seriously.

Wait til you get a wet day or a cold day what would freeze the b***s of a brass monkey,and people be less inclined to go up to the pairc to see laois,antrim,offaly ,wexford ,and the attendences hit an all time low,it is then County board will see a huge drop in revenue.

The other point to remember ,is when youre beaten,the best antidote is play as soom possible.Playing lower tier,devoids you of real momentum.

The players as well will be gutted at this.All they want is to test themselves against the best.I was talking to one player today,and when i said to him that ,league hadn't changed,he was like us all greatly suprised ,after all the talk,they were in div 1b.

And you could clearly see hes dissapointment,it hit home that that they were playing 2nd tier teams.He was gutted,and said its hard to test yourself in sparsely populated ptiches with no real atmsphere.They are no fools either.He couldnt believe it.A major dissapointment.

What was good to hear was kingston is rated highley and cunnigham is a huge loss but kingston is meant to be very good.

The county board be better off taking measures and putting stsuctures in play to make sure on the field it doesnt happen again than creating a hullaboo about the rules aftes.

That old age proverb, they could do well to remember, Prevention is always better than cure.
    The rude awakening is when they see the hit in revenue next spring.

I am very confident after hearing ned english on the radio today,clyda will do it,and be the ist club since Mallow to get to a munster final.Great articulate,gaa man,speaks well.
    He is not getting a single bob coaching clyda.What a man.What a club.

Midelton id be quietly confident and its a bonus o farell is availble and also if they make the final.Boherbue in a ladies all ireland semifinal in football,the best of luck to them.

slingerz wrote: »
    Of course there is tactics at junior level!! What a ridiculous thing to say! All it needs is a coach of good enough intelligence and there are plenty of those at junior level

Ah stop ,thats ridiculous said the fella that said liam shorten is an intercounty player.That was one choice,cuthbhert got right yesterday.

I never said tactics were non existent at junior level,i said tactially your not really tested.In other words ,tested to only a certain degree.

As in a lot of teams are fairly even at the same level,you don't really come up against a team vastly superior ,where you really have to outfox them on the line.
    Their is a huge difference between coaching at junior level than even intermediate level in cork for instance.The game while slower than senior is faster than junior.

Take last weeks game, very poor standard, very bad weather and very slow wise,was not any great tactics bar give Beston the ball.

Tommorrow that wont just be good on its own.Tompkins will have to devise a plan of getting beston free and also getting scores elsewhere as keel being a kerry team will be up a different level than st colums.

You want to see real tactics ,go watch Clyda,but of course you think their bad for cork football.Id say you must of been delighted with their superb counter attacking against Macroom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

The harsh reality is div2 is poor as in terms for making real progress in the Hurling next year.

It could be said Dublin and limerick ,it didn't affect them ,but i wouldnt be getting jolly or dancing a jig,that it didnt do them any harm and we can presume to assume it will be the same for us.Dublin did do magnificenty all credit to them,but at the end of day i wouldnt be getting carried away with limerick.Had home advantage,in two of those.

People can dress it up all they want but this is a dissaster,and it Must be seen by people as that ,as that way make sure were not in that scenario again.We start to gloss over ,and it aint that bad,thats the day you cork begin to drop standards and no offence meant,but we become like antrim,laois etc.
    This year we didnt see the real effect with cork as even do we got beat,you can learn way more loosing by a point or two to top real hurling teams,than playing offaly,antrim,laois that will play footloose,fancy off the cuff hurling,and cork beating these teams handy you learn sweet f**ck all,in half empty stadiums where their is no real intensity,tension at the ground,and only real loud noise you get is if someone coughs or sneezes.

Considering walsh needs games at top level, we need to blood a full back,and half back needs to be balanced with a partner for kearney playing laois,antrim etc you cant gauge it as accurate.

I hope to god four our sake we get wexford away,traditionally south east,them or waterford cork struggle,and playing a physical wexford with a huge home crowd,will at least test the attuide of players.
    Getting them in the pairc ,not the same.
    Wexford are training already ,a good few u21s, a good coach,with limerick our only test til we get to the q final.
    Wexford are playing kk,and tipp,back to back in december,in challenge matches and are taking the league seriously.

Wait til you get a wet day or a cold day what would freeze the b***s of a brass monkey,and people be less inclined to go up to the pairc to see laois,antrim,offaly ,wexford ,and the attendences hit an all time low,it is then County board will see a huge drop in revenue.

The other point to remember ,is when youre beaten,the best antidote is play as soom possible.Playing lower tier,devoids you of real momentum.

The players as well will be gutted at this.All they want is to test themselves against the best.I was talking to one player today,and when i said to him that ,league hadn't changed,he was like us all greatly suprised ,after all the talk,they were in div 1b.

And you could clearly see hes dissapointment,it hit home that that they were playing 2nd tier teams.He was gutted,and said its hard to test yourself in sparsely populated ptiches with no real atmsphere.They are no fools either.He couldnt believe it.A major dissapointment.

Maybe Cork should have done better in the league last year to avoid this disaster as you call it yourself.Cork have nobody to blame but themselves.You do know that the league system isn't designed to help Cork in particular to succeed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,714 ✭✭✭Grats

Maybe Cork should have done better in the league last year to avoid this disaster as you call it yourself.Cork have nobody to blame but themselves.You do know that the league system isn't designed to help Cork in particular to succeed.

Exactly. And if, as was posted, that Cork player's attitude reflects that of the other players, then JBM has a major task on his hands. Once again ye can only blame your own, the County Board this time, for sending out false hopes. Their stance was arrogant at a minimum. Is it any wonder genuine Cork fans get annoyed.

Maybee if you researched my views better with the greatest respect you would Clearly understand my views on the league restructure and was opposed to it being changed.
    And you do know i hope,i have clearly maintained for months,i want cork to stay up ,with honour and dignity and not just changing the goalposts behind the scences.

I suggest you keep that in mind before suggesting i wanted otherwise or telling me what i want ,that the league is not designed to help Cork succeed.
    In fact you will find most posters here hold the same view,and a lot of hardcore fans did not want cork to be in div 1 next year due to a rule change.

Grats wrote: »
    Exactly. And if, as was posted, that Cork player's attitude reflects that of the other players, then JBM has a major task on his hands. Once again ye can only blame your own, the County Board this time, for sending out false hopes. Their stance was arrogant at a minimum. Is it any wonder genuine Cork fans get annoyed.

It should never have been debated in the first place.
    Thats the saving grace JBM, has the postive effect on players.With the strength of the panel being stronger next year,added to the belief cork are much better than last year.

However to kick on and make progress,we have to interegrate new players and playing second tier teams hinders that ,as you play teams below you,you loose focus,and develop bad habits.

This cork team was always a work in progress and at the very least will be competitve.To get to the top,we need around 3 players.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 havent got a kalou

A few Middleton teams where in finals today how did they get on ??
    Some teams coming

A few Middleton teams where in finals today how did they get on ??
    Some teams coming

Newtown beat them handy in u16 hurling league.
    The dean ryan cup was cancelled til next saturday.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 havent got a kalou

How did beasung & Manley play for Middleton ?? Newtown after doing the double

• Registered Users Posts: 5,249 ✭✭✭slingerz

Ah stop ,thats ridiculous said the fella that said liam shorten is an intercounty player.That was one choice,cuthbhert got right yesterday.

I never said tactics were non existent at junior level,i said tactially your not really tested.In other words ,tested to only a certain degree.

As in a lot of teams are fairly even at the same level,you don't really come up against a team vastly superior ,where you really have to outfox them on the line.
    Their is a huge difference between coaching at junior level than even intermediate level in cork for instance.The game while slower than senior is faster than junior.

Take last weeks game, very poor standard, very bad weather and very slow wise,was not any great tactics bar give Beston the ball.

Tommorrow that wont just be good on its own.Tompkins will have to devise a plan of getting beston free and also getting scores elsewhere as keel being a kerry team will be up a different level than st colums.

You want to see real tactics ,go watch Clyda,but of course you think their bad for cork football.Id say you must of been delighted with their superb counter attacking against Macroom.

Kevin O'Driscoll isn't an inter county footballer either but Cuthbert has included him so he's hardly the expert on it all

Clyda have the best tactic that ever existed, everyone behind the ball, super tactic altogether I for one can't wait to see how it works for them next year.

The junior county final was played in the worst of conditions and your comments are nothing short of derogatory to the Mitchelstown team. Beston is a very good player for them but they have a number of very good players.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Horse84

Would agree with that. Mtown have Shane Cahill and Dave dineen midfield who more than held his own against Alan o Connor.
    As regards clyda against Ballyporeen, I wouldn't be that confident. I know myself Bally are taking this extremely seriously and have the ability to cause an upset, if it could be called that. I don't care what red or whatever his name is is saying

slingerz wrote: »
    Kevin O'Driscoll isn't an inter county footballer either but Cuthbert has included him so he's hardly the expert on it all

Clyda have the best tactic that ever existed, everyone behind the ball, super tactic altogether I for one can't wait to see how it works for them next year.

The junior county final was played in the worst of conditions and your comments are nothing short of derogatory to the Mitchelstown team. Beston is a very good player for them but they have a number of very good players.
    I agree bout kevin,the other brother is good though.
    Yes mitchelstown have a few good players,very good is open to debate.

Beston is very good up front, i dont think they have many like him up front.

How kevin canty,sheehan,andrew o sullivan ,john hayres(fin
    e club player dont get me wrong)john mcloughlin and eoin keane made it is beyound me.

These are all good club players,very good on good days but not up to intercounty.

Its not deragorty at all,but theres no point in saying mtichelstown dont depend on beston ,a lot.I hope they win today.

You change school of thought when it suits.You were totally against mtichelstown when they played glenblower and said they were a disgrace when over their stance with a club fixture with kilmichael.

I didn't see you exaclty full of praise with greatest respect.

Clyda wont have an easy game,and i never said english said otherwise,what i said was he's interview is brillant,in that way he understands the game.He said it will be a tough game.

You werent at the county final ?i take it.Surely a man even totally biased against clyda would agree they counter attacked very well.

Its clear your jealous of clyda as most club teams in cork play similar style to clyda,bishoptown ,with cuthbhert played similar of football.

Anyone that can post half and full time in midelton game and mtichelstown and boherube ladies be greatly appreciated

Thanks.

Yougal munster champions great game

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

full time in midelton game

Lost.

• Registered Users Posts: 675 ✭✭✭webels

AIB Munster Club SHC S-Final Midleton (Cork) 1-13 Sixmilebridge (Clare) 1-17 (FT)

Youghal won a great game ,hurling decided to go to this,as it was a munster final.
    They dont come around too often.

Youghal played very good,and fair play to them they won,once they got the handle on swift and breen,had grace in all sorts of trouble,but brendan ring at corner back wearing no 3 had a super match ,made one great block,put hes head in where many wouldnt even put their foot in to save a certain goal in the end.

Leigh desmond was immense at midfield Alan frahill o connor with cooper swapped and interchanged reguarly done a great days work,last year you would of said maybee cork should look at them,but now now with walsh in the fray.

Cooper maybe though.Ollie dempsey,and ring got two great goals but youghal were robbed had a fine curtin goal dissallowed for in the spuare.

A fine win and great cork have a club title.

I thought michael breen,and o brien,may prove too much for youghal ,but they curbed breen well in the end.

In regards the football,mtichelstown proved what i said about them this morning,good at a certain level,but rely on shane beston way too much.

I was told they had very good footballers ,but like i said very good is open to debate,and very good score more than 3 points.Their a good club team,and credit them for winning cork ,but kerry ,teams are a level above.

I heard from a lad at it,he said keel outplayed and outhought them.Thats what i meant about tactics with Larry,wasnt tested in cork,today he was,and shown up for what we know,tactially was not a strong point for the great larry.

Any team can be beat,but when your not even competive,it is no a good reflection on management.

As for clyda ,i was so tempted to go to it,but i just felt i would have another chance to see them,wasnt as sure with youghal.
    Talking to a lad their,clyda were just sublime, and the monkey of their back in cork,playing with a renewed confidence and freedom.

And unlike mtichelstown have a shrewd manager tactially.A superb win ,and the first cork club at this level to get to a final since mallow in 07.
    Sum achievement if their the ist cork side in 8 years to win it.

They will win it i feel.

All the begruders and so called experts are fairly sick to see clyda in a final.I wonder will they say well done to clyda now.

More power to clyda,doing cork gaa proud and a credit to the small club.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Well do to Youghal and Clyda.

Clyda well on top, eased off a bit in the 2nd half, made it harder than they needed to. Like Donegal a few years ago, would be interesting if Clyda could change it up to chase a game but so far so good.

Munster final next Sunday against Milltown Malbay

• Registered Users Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭Boots234

Clyda well on top, eased off a bit in the 2nd half, made it harder than they needed to. Like Donegal a few years ago, would be interesting if Clyda could change it up to chase a game but so far so good.

Na Piarsaigh and Sixmilebridge and doing a draw for choice of venue so if that game is on in the Gaelic Grounds where could this game be played?

Thats a great point and i think it could be their undoing against better sides but if they become only the third cork side to win the munster title at this grade,it would be some going considering macroom,ballincollig,mallow,all flatter to decieve.

Clyda play to their strengths,dont have top quality forwards but they get by without them.Their a credit to north cork and cork football,and unlike some mid cork teams dont blame everyone for their problems,they jurt get on with it .

Where is the final on?

Just saw a recording of the midelton game,and all my fears were proven,outside of lehane who was superb,a great goal of super reflexes,they had no real game changer.

Luke done okay,but how many times have i said,a man of hes talent must do more.
    My biggest fears were at full back and half forward,and it reflects poor management they didnt react to the cracks that were evident.

I said midelton were like limerick up front,a hard working half forward line that would win ball but couldnt do what a forward must do is Score.

Ryan and o shea the main examples.Great honest players,but played out of position up front,cant score four or five points.

They ,i said would be exposed against better teams,today they were.

Full back,o mahony was awful,and the goal exposed him again as a ball player,not an orthdox full back.

For all those that say he is corks answer,i suggest people watch the u21 game against tipp,mallow last week,the county final and now today.What is sad is a very very good player is made look poor,simply because he is asked to do a job,he doesnt have the skills for.An out and out corner back,attacks the ball,never minds the square.Too clean a hurler for such a central posisiton.

Jamie nagle ,superb,this guy has been senasitonal all year,a rock today,a real leader when so many went missing around him,he fought for every ball.

A certainty for the league.

If cork don't unearth a full back,i would seriously think about playing him there.Should of been their today for midelton today.

He was strong,superb hand under the ball,tough,hard,and not afraid to mix it.He plays the man rather than the ball ,as rarely will both get past him.When cork have put o neil,murphy,o mahony in at full,they will surely see nagle has the attributes that may make him a top full back.

Plenty of hurling.He needs to be tried with spillane.The rock was a wing forward for midelton cbs until Bertie og murphy realised he had the makings for a full back.Mclirney of Clare was a forward but now a top full back.

They were all converted because they all had the physicality,hand and hurling to be a no 3.Nagle has the same attributes.

Bud hartnett again like all year ,flattered to decieve.Wont fight for the dirty ball.Missed a great goal chance.

Cormac walsh done well never gave an inch and a great touch.

Haughney was solid in fairness,and with the superb dowling he couldnt be faulted.

As for lehane ,like i said the bridge had a plan for him,but he was superb,it is a shame o farell and hartnett never stepped up to help him.
    Jamie shanahan,golden,and morey were magnificent for the bridge ,and they deserved the win.
    Giligan was very good,a great point ,and at 37 hes attuide and work rate ,a few of the midelton lads much younger ,should try and replicate.He always showed for the ball.

A dissapointment ,and cork really could have done with a good club run,and it really shows those stupid critics of newtown hurling, never realised how good cork hurling had it,when they were at the top of the game.Like clyda,in football,their a small club,an easy target,but people wont realise how good they were til their gone and we see what comes after them.

The one good thing,is midelton are a young team and i have no doubt they will come again but tactially they will have to be much shrewder,and realise that while you will get away with things in cork,weaknesses will be exposed in Munster.

Credit to the haven for another county title ,u16, truly the heartbeat of west cork football and indeed cork football this year.Another team that doesnt get the credit it deserves.

Hard luck to Boherbue ladies today.
    Congratualions to kilshannig u14 ladies for their win yesterday.
    Theirs a great game next week ,cork v kerry,ladies chairty match in Bantry for the late great Donal walsh(rip)

A great cause,i would go only for the clyda game.Credit to both teams for taking part and graham canty also for organising it.

Speaking of bantry,they beat mallow yesterday,u16 replay.But i heard mark foley (dentist 2-7 against tipp in 1990)son was meant to be awesome.

A big strong lad(meant to be very tall for he's age), but very pacey,i hear he was brillant ,and one with real talent for the future.

In regards ,newtown win yesterday it was a superb achievement to do the double.
    Darragh guiney was masterful.

I was asked by a poster about,Josh beasang ,and garan manley ,they were okay ,tried hard but in truth newtown were on top all over the field,so its hard to judge any young lads.Just one of those days for mideleton.

They have been brillant all year,and for midelton cbs also.

Garan ,i think is u16 again next year,thats how good he is that he is in a dean ryan cup final next saturday.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Midleton lose. A Cork team beaten again by another Clare team. I hope this doesn't become a habit with every Cork team that plays a Clare team from now on.

Amprodude wrote: »
    Midleton lose. A Cork team beaten again by another Clare team. I hope this doesn't become a habit with every Cork team that plays a Clare team from now on.
    That would be a worry.
    Even more so clare had no players on the bridge team bar morey ,he was not a starter for clare and bar giligan they dont have senior intercounty expierence.

Youghal did no show up any cork players but desmond mabee,a lot depends if he has the commitment.

Grenagh,as i said on the waterford thread,friday,a good coached team,and will always make a game of it and johnny keane got every ounce from them,but lacked real quailty bar kenny .

Midelton have lehane a definte cork starter ,o farell is under serious pressure,will make the panel do, but don'thave anyone new to make a serious claim bar Jamie Nagle and Cormac walsh.

When you look at the rest of the team,you coudnt say their cork material.
    The days newtown were dominating,jerry ben,and pat mulchay were all cork starters and deserving to start,and only for being in competion with the imperious ronan curran would have started for cork at centre back,he's best position.

The likes of jp king, gerry o mahony, brendan and pat mulchay were all serious club players.Brendan was a solid full back,like killan cronin and darren mannix,they were going for a position that was not open for debate,as the Rock was the No 1 ,no doubt.You look at the standard of sars and midelton guys outside of the cork lads, and their not at the same level newtown were since.

Also what must be looked at ,is the mideleton management were very naive,got match ups all wrong.

Whatever they say about Bernie o connor,he is a top ,shrewd coach.Ger cunnighan the same ,when he was their.

The bridge were good,credit due,but they are beatable ,and sean stack i feel for facing hes old club in the final.Midelton tactics were baffling ,and they never ajusted to bridge third midfielder.

Boots234 wrote: »
    Na Piarsaigh and Sixmilebridge and doing a draw for choice of venue so if that game is on in the Gaelic Grounds where could this game be played?
    Would they go to newcastle west?a fine ptich and held the limerick county final.

Id say clyda would prefer a ptich like that than the gaelic grounds,the big open spaces wouldnt suit their style.