Do you like the Hare Krishna?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Was in town earlier (That's town in Dublin for you country folk lol :pac: )

Well then why couldn't you just say you were in Dublin? Or on whatever street, in Dublin?

I think they're ripping off Catholicism. Whenever WE sing or give out free food, people just say "Ah look at them do-gooders, ramming their religion down my throat":mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

newmug wrote: »
    I think they're ripping off Catholicism. Whenever WE sing or give out free food, people just say "Ah look at them do-gooders, ramming their religion down my throat":mad:

In what way are they ripping of Catholicism? The Hare Krishna's are doing their thing, and you can do your thing, surely - not seeing the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Well then why couldn't you just say you were in Dublin? Or on whatever street, in Dublin?

So they're Catholicism without the envy, simmering distrust or insidious guilt?

Benny_Cake wrote: »
    In what way are they ripping of Catholicism? The Hare Krishna's are doing their thing, and you can do your thing, surely - not seeing the problem.

Eh, by singing and giving out free food. I never said it was a problem, just pointing out the different reactions the public generally give.

Grayson wrote: »
    So they're Catholicism without the envy, simmering distrust or insidious guilt?

Never seen any of that in the Bible. Where does it say you have to be those things to be a Catholic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Jijsaw

All the little cymbals ye're talking about are called finger cymbals :)

Have no problem with the Hare Krishna's, they're quite interesting when you get to talk with them
    That and they have good music
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=4y_A7bWMdHo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Never seen any of that in the Bible. Where does it say you have to be those things to be a Catholic?

Were you not given the top secret "Guide to being an Irish Catholic" on your first day in the CBS?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Thats complete rubbish.. I've two friends who are Krishna's and they're like anyone else when it comes to their sex life, dating etc.. And one of these is pretty devout too.

Obviously not *too devout though. "Avoiding illicit sex" is one of the 6 main must do things with the Hare's. Illicit sex being any sex engaged in for any reason other than procreation, as otherwise it's gratification of the personal senses and not for Krishna's pleasure.

I took all but the guilt from your post. I'm also going to add overly sensitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,014 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

there was one on Dame St yesterday putting his own spin on the song and mighty it was too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

Eh, by singing and giving out free food. I never said it was a problem, just pointing out the different reactions the public generally give.

It's hypocrisy on the part of the people who react that way, but it's hardly the fault of the Hare Krishna's. Catholics don't have a monopoly on singing and acts of charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

They always brighten up my day.

I took all but the guilt from your post. I'm also going to add overly sensitive.

You've a great imagination.

It's hypocrisy on the part of the people who react that way

It sure is.
    but it's hardly the fault of the Hare Krishna's.

Never said it was.
    Catholics don't have a monopoly on singing and acts of charity.

Never said we do either. I merely drew parallels between what we do and what the Hare do, and pointed out the different reactions people give. The last few posts proved my point. Sure the Hare are great, but the minute I mention the "C" word, accusations of "guilt, insecurity, over-sensitive, simmering envy" etc are thrown my direction. People are weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Interesting piece of useless info...Maurice Foley, the guitarist/vocalist of the legendary Dublin punk band The Threat,
    became a Hare Krishna in 1982 after the band split up.

You've a great imagination.

It
    It sure is.

is
    Never said it was.

so fcuking
    Never said we do either. I merely drew parallels between what we do and what the Hare do,

annoying when people feel the need
    and pointed out the different reactions people give. The last few posts proved my point.

to break a post into itsy bitsy pieces
    Sure the Hare are great, but the minute I mention the "C" word, accusations of "guilt, insecurity, over-sensitive, simmering envy" etc are thrown my direction. People are weird.

and post pointless replies.

Seriously stop it.

And if people react differently to catholics rather than Hares it's because of their experience with catholics and Hares.

Hares dance and sing to music and give out free food. That's 99% of of our experience with a hare Krishna.

catholics don't dance in the street that much. In fact I can't remember when I last saw a catholic dance. When they sing, there's very little joy in their voices. And the rest of the time when we have an experience with a catholic they are preaching. Or protesting against something like contraception, divorce, abortion or gay rights.
    catholics do not come across as happy people. It's far easier to state what a catholic is against rather than what they are actually for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

they seem grand, though they're not quite as mellow as they might appear. they're not a fan of gays or women for instance.

some interesting stuff here

http://harekrishnacultexposed.blogspot.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

MadsL wrote: »
    The kept me alive in Prague, they cook free food without having to listen to a lecture. Donations suggested but really cheap suggested donation. Yummy vegan food.

They do the same at Glastonbury.

Total legends. Passed one of their restaurant yokes in town the other day and dived in for a nose. Ended up stuffing myself with samosas, chickpea curry, cauliflower curry, pilau rice and a raft of other vittles. Absolutely fantastic grub and they were looking for around £3 only. I felt guilty leaving them only £6.50.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

I like them. Not into their beliefs at all or anything, it's more the fact that they meet people and say "hey, the world is great lets all be happy together", whereas the catholic street preachers (mar shampla, the fat red head at the GPO) are telling everyone "hey, the world is fooked, join Jesus or die and get burned forever, and don't be gay or get abortions or else".

At least the Hare Krishnas have a bit of positivity about them. And are generally nice folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭mojesius

Love the positivity, their outlook, their general demeanor. Yummy food too. They drive a small car around the area (Capel street) a few times most days blaring their tunes. Sometimes people join in and cheer and sing. Great stuff altogether!

Better than the wails of skangers screaming at each other from one end of the street to the other anyway. Or drunken eejits falling out of the early houses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Evelyn Cusack

At least they seem to really enjoy their religion whereas many other religions seem to mourn theirs

I was in London once and there was a Hare Krishna parade going down a street, with a Buddhist one walking in the opposite direction. Oh how I would have loved if both had squared off against each other, in a West Side Story-style fight.

Have a lot of time for these guys. It's nice to see a religion promoting happiness and joy and well-being, as opposed to the Catholic people you see near the Spire, who seemingly spout fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

My father told me about this time he was at a music festival and had set up his tent near a group of Hare Krishnas. One of the nights a couple of drunk lads started harassing them and throwing stones at their tent thinking the Krishnas would be incapable of responding violently.

They were wrong and had the shit kicked out of them to the cheers of other festival goers.

That story is literally the only thing I've heard about them and so I quite like them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Like Catholics so?....

No, it was more detailed then Catholocism and "no contraception". I only vaguely recall it. Anyway some else said they have Hare Krishna friends who don't live by this but there was something weird about sex and babies or something with this commune in Wicklow.

It was a while ago I saw it!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

The thread title is "Do you like the Hare Krishnas?". Why the fcuk does every thread in this forum that mentions a religion have to descend into the same old sh*te about Catholicism? It's been done to death a thousand times and is beyond boring at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

catholics don't dance in the street that much. In fact I can't remember when I last saw a catholic dance. When they sing, there's very little joy in their voices. And the rest of the time when we have an experience with a catholic they are preaching. Or protesting against something like contraception, divorce, abortion or gay rights.
    catholics do not come across as happy people. It's far easier to state what a catholic is against rather than what they are actually for.

Agreed there. The catholic religion is very commanding. All rise, kneel, bend over etc
    Not a lot of happiness or colour going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

....I remember when they used go up and down grafton street singing in a large group. Was in town one weekend (must have been late 80's) and the cops reefed them out of it. Despite the clatters and the dogs abuse they got, they never raised a hand back to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭stanley1

sound lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Was in town earlier (That's town in Dublin for you country folk lol :pac: )

It was a joke :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,501 ✭✭✭ablelocks

MadsL wrote: »
    The kept me alive in Prague, they cook free food without having to listen to a lecture. Donations suggested but really cheap suggested donation. Yummy vegan food.

They do the same at Glastonbury.

they kept me and possibly thousands* alive at Feile 1990 and/or 1991. for some reason i have it in my head that on the last night a gang of bikers burnt down the marquee.

*slight exaggeration, possibly