Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭raymix

Gumbi wrote: »
    Your terminology is kind of loaded. Me and a friend have benched up to 15% differences in minimum frame rates in sc2 (which is largely CPU bound in the mid to late game). I think BF4 RAM speeds affect it too. I'm not saying hugely or anything, just that there are benefits to be seen.
    So much for real world application. I honestly think that SC2 has a bad design decission, probably because proper parallel processing is more expensive to achieve in terms of time and costs, also there are some limitations with it.
    Luck100 wrote: »
    The ram is definitely lower speed. I pulled the sticks and checked the part numbers. That also explains why I wasn't seeing any XMP options in the bios. The sticks I got aren't XMP, while the ones I ordered are.
    You could give us part number here, there's a chance you could still run it at 1600Mhz by adjusting timings and volts. It could be that website promoted it as 1600Mhz(OC) when you bought it. "XMP" is just marketing gimmic for lazy people, you can always change those settings yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,697 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Lads where the cheapest place to buy a windows 8 pro key?

I had one belonging to my upgrade windows 8 pro version but it seems that can only be used once and I forgot I did use it once :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Squaredude

Headshot wrote: »
    Lads where the cheapest place to buy a windows 8 pro key?

I had one belonging to my upgrade windows 8 pro version but it seems that can only be used once and I forgot I did use it once :(
    Do you still have your first installation installed? If not you can probably do a license transfer. Did the same myself and just had to ring up an automated number and type in a few numbers and I was up and running.

Squaredude wrote: »
    Do you still have your first installation installed? If not you can probably do a license transfer. Did the same myself and just had to ring up an automated number and type in a few numbers and I was up and running.

That's the thing I unistalled it right after installing it

I saw one look of it and decided it wasnt for me lol but feck it ill give it another shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Computer won't boot.
    Hit the power button the light flickers and the fans twitch. Then I have to disconnect and reconnect the PSU from the nations to get our to twitch again.

Checked the connections. Removed the graphics card, which was the latest change. Still the same.

It would boot yesterday after a few tries.
    Removed all usb devices. Still nothing.

Update: the CPU led stayed lot during the post. Rebooted fine though.
    What do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Squaredude

That's the thing I unistalled it right after installing it

I saw one look of it and decided it wasnt for me lol but feck it ill give it another shot
    Did the same,installed in on my laptop and didn't like it.Then decided to install on my pc and used the phone activation method and it worked fine.

Squaredude wrote: »
    Did the same,installed in on my laptop and didn't like it.Then decided to install on my pc and used the phone activation method and it worked fine.

thanks squaredude ill get that a shot

squaredude that has worked, really appreciate it

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

if it was one of the 15\30 euro upgrades that were on special at launch the keys can't be used for a clean install and the key will only work when upgraded from a previous version then you will have ring the number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭raymix

Computer won't boot.
    Hit the power button the light flickers and the fans twitch. Then I have to disconnect and reconnect the PSU from the nations to get our to twitch again.

Checked the collections. Removed the graphics card, which was the latest change. Still the same.

It would boot yesterday after a few tries.
    Removed all usb devices. Still nothing.

Update: the CPU led stayed lot during the post. Rebooted fine though.
    What do?
    have you tried jump-starting PSU with everything connected, but mobo? Simple stuff to help narrowing down the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭..Brian..

Do all the new R9 cards have a non x version? ie R9 270 and R9 270x? Or just the 290?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Luck100

Luck100 wrote: »

Just reading about it now, prompted the question. Will be interesting to see results from a 280 non x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭viperirl

These arrived in the post today. I find using a normal kb difficult and awkward to use and hated it so much that I prefered a gamepad instead. Not sure if the Orbweaver will help much but I'll see.

20131114_132227_zpsadee91fd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

viperirl wrote: »
    These arrived in the post today. I find using a normal kb difficult and awkward to use and hated it so much that I prefered a gamepad instead. Not sure if the Orbweaver will help much but I'll see.

20131114_132227_zpsadee91fd.jpg

Pls let me know how you get on with that as Ive been looking at that myself. my key board is directly behind my mouse pad and on one of those slidey panels you pull out...would much prefer a small WASP set up left of my mouse pad..:cool:

dwighet wrote: »
    Pls let me know how you get on with that as Ive been looking at that myself. my key board is directly behind my mouse pad and on one of those slidey panels you pull out...would much prefer a small WASP set up left of my mouse pad..:cool:

I'm quite liking it now and thats just after about 30 mins of gaming. Took a while to get used to and I wasnt sure at first. I've mapped WASD onto the little thumb pad and it works quite while. Havent mapped the buttons the way I liked yet but I'll do so later. It'll take another while to get fully accustomed to it so I'll report back later if youre interested.
    Its a very expensive piece of kit though so a costly gamble if it doesn't work for you.

The Deathadder mouse feels great though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Portlawslim

I have the deathadder and a belkin n52te powered by razer.
    I love the belkin and the deathadder is a great mouse..:)

Wait for the Razer fanboy accusations to start flying..:rolleyes:

I'm quite liking it now and thats just after about 30 mins of gaming. Took a while to get used to and I wasnt sure at first. I've mapped WASD onto the little thumb pad and it works quite while. Havent mapped the buttons the way I liked yet but I'll do so later. It'll take another while to get fully accustomed to it so I'll report back later if youre interested.
    Its a very expensive piece of kit though so a costly gamble if it doesn't work for you.

The Deathadder mouse feels great though.

Pls do sir. Im happy enough with my rat 7 mouse...had it for 2 yrs now and still going welL. that yoke you have looks like it would do the trick

Can someone confirm if you are using a Corsair SP120 fan as a pull fan on a rad, that the colour ring will not be visible?

..Brian.. wrote: »
    Can someone confirm if you are using a Corsair SP120 fan as a pull fan on a rad, that the colour ring will not be visible?

The colour ring will not be visible unfortunately. I have them in pull on my bottom rad but since I have a lower side panel grill on my case which would cover up the colour anyway so it doesnt bother me. If performance is more important to you then the Gentle Typhoons are the ones to go for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,847 ✭✭✭Calibos

..Brian.. wrote: »

Confirmed

Ah that's a pity. The gentle typhoons seem to be highly recommended and I might actually use them as push fans where you can't see em but I'm looking for a black and white theme inside the case.

Pls do sir. Im happy enough with my rat 7 mouse...had it for 2 yrs now and still going welL. that yoke you have looks like it would do the trick

I did some more testing last night and found a major issue with BF3/4. Diagonal movement with the thumbstick doesnt work too well and you either move forward or strafe, sometimes with a tiny delay. I believe this issue is the same with the WASD keys also. I knew this was issue with BF3 before purchasing but I had hoped it would be fixed with BF4. Since I'm not a huge BF player its not too bad but still annoying.

On the other hand, movement in games like Crysis 3 and Borderlands 2 is perfect. Using the thumbpad for movement feels very fluid here.

If you're a big BF player then the Nostromo or Logitech G13 might be better options. The G13 stick though is an odd shape and some people dont like it.

I *might* get the Nostromo and if works as well in Crysis etc I'll return the Orbweaver.

Hows the 750D going dwighet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭brianblaze

Had the PC built for nearly a week now, and my most played gaming on my awesome graphics PC? Prison Architect.... Typical!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Sarz91

brianblaze wrote: »
    Had the PC built for nearly a week now, and my most played gaming on my awesome graphics PC? Prison Architect.... Typical!

Same as myself. Most played games are Hotline Miami and FTL. Seems like such a waste haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭brianblaze

Just wait until I start emulating a SNES on it, it'll happen! I turn on ARMA 3 every so often just to do a UAV flyover and appreciate it, then back to building prisons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,617 ✭✭✭Revoker88

http://www.pcgamer.com/uk/2013/11/14/battlefield-4-update-released-aims-to-reduce-crashes-and-eliminate-network-sync-bug

Looking forward to see if the netcode is fixed, haven played the last few days because of it.

And hopefully help with the crashes people getting, found it hilarious how everyone aborted the minute siege of shanghi came up in map rotation!

Hows the 750D going dwighet?

Good mate..

Good mate..

Are you going to use the stock fans or going to change?