I don't want to be a grown up any more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I loved Transformers. One thing I never understood though was the Dinobots. They were supposedly 'robots in disguise' but what type of disguise was a gigantic metal dinosaur?

I loved Lego but don't recall ever making anything good. One Christmas I got a box of Lego Technic. I lost one tiny but vital part which made it practically useless. The rest of the box of Lego ended up in a big basket with all my other Lego.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

bullvine wrote: »
    I had the Lego Lunar base, giving to me by my dad, early 80's. Theres one on eBay, very tempted to buy it, really is the best toy ever!
    I had the first space lego themed sets they brought out in 79 IIRC. Saved up the pocket money(the big sets were xmas and Bday pressies) and got all of them as a kid, except for the Galaxy explorer. It was mad dear compared to the rest and when I had enough money I had gone off lego, got into more "big boy" toys at the time like ZX81's and such. Years later my dad told me he spent an afternoon close to Xmas looking for the set, but it was sold out. In the interim I had broken the models up and put them in placcy bags with instructions and up in the attic they went. 30 years later I was digging around in my stuff, having a bit of a clearout after a breakup and I found the boxes. Thought feck it, I'll build them(a few vinos were imbibed). Perfect nick they were and cos I had bought baseplates at the time, I had the full moonbase and it cheered me right up. :) A month later what do I see on ebay only a Galaxy explorer, with instructions in great condition. Won it for 38 euro(they can go for mad money. Saw one unopened in it's box go for over a grand :eek:). So I finally have the complete set. Every second Xmas since I lash it up as a "decoration". Yep I'm odd. :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭glass_onion

Preferred knex.Build a rollercoaster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

sounds like a 90's toy

Feckin youngster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

WTF are stickle bricks? Must be before my time...

Lego that looks like a wheatabix,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Starcom was where it was at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I remember getting Mouse Trap from Santa one year. It was all I wanted, the ads made it look so fcuking awesome.

Well, I started building it at about 6 a.m Christmas morning, and wasn't finished until Raiders of The Lost Ark had started on telly. Rolled the ball, it missed the bath and rolled under the fireplace. Balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

All this talk of Legos and no-one's mentioned the sheer agony of stepping on a pile of them barefoot. Nopenopenope!
    I was never really into Lego all that much, to be honest, but today I was in the Art & Hobby Shop with my mother and I spotted pots of Play-Doh for about €10 for 8. So much want. Nothing better than the feel of squishy dough in my hands. Satisfying!
    I also miss my SNES. Hope to get one in the R.A.G.E in the New Year if there's a sale on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Speaking of toys, is Mechanno too advanced for a 4 year old? Am thinking of getting some for my husbands nieces son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭constance tench

Legoland's not even made out of real Lego! :(

I'm having puzghetti hoops on toast for dinner and watching the simpsons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

ardinn wrote: »
    Get out!

I'm glad to see that even the ghost from the Amityville Horror knows what sticklebricks are.

Who remembers fuzzy felt kits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

My brother actually has been collecting toys from our childhood for a number of years now, including some of the boardgames we got for Christmas, all in their original boxes and packaging. There's actually mad money to be made in highly collectible toys. But the thing that struck me as he showed off his collection was that for six boys, we seemed to have gotten a disturbing amount of dolls as children! He has tons of them and it's just when you see them all together like that! :pac:

I suppose I could put the word out here that if anyone has the original Spears Compendium of Games PM me as he can't find it anywhere on the Internet, not even on the specialist sites!

We'd great craic one evening though (all of us had fallen out with each other for about 20 years, only recently started working on healing family rift shìte) where we all sat around playing the original "Game Of Life", and it was like the clock had just been turned back 20 years the way we were all slagging the shìte out of each other - "Ha! You got hit for a massive tax bill!", "YOU BASTARD, SUE SOMEBODY ELSE!", "FCUK OFF TO YOUR COUNTRY CLUB, PRICK!"...

Kinda weird the way our lives turned out in the intervening 20 years, added somewhat of a surreal dimension to the game :D

All this talk of lego, I remember one time as a child I built a "clubhouse" out of breeze blocks, had it built up about five blocks high before I put the roof on - a 4x4ft sheet of inch thick steel. I was well proud of myself, climbed in, and was in there about five minutes when the whole thing collapsed down on top of me! By some sort of a miracle, the only injury I got was a small bullet hole puncture in my leg where the corner of a breeze block went in. I only needed three stitches but even while my old man was roaring the face off me for my stupidity, I was already making revisions to my design in my head :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭SherlockWatson

I'm having puzghetti hoops on toast for dinner and watching the simpsons.

Good or Bad simpsons?

Duplo was great. It worked with normal Lego so if you had one Duplo piece it was like having about eight Lego pieces.

Speaking of toys, is Mechanno too advanced for a 4 year old? Am thinking of getting some for my husbands nieces son.

Not at all Pumpkinseeds, I got my young lad Mecanno for Christmas when he was about 3, and he has a fcukton of those themed lego sets (they're not frickin' cheap, €20 up to about €80, but I nearly dropped when I saw some Star Wars spaceship in Smyths there last month for nearly €400! It was about two foot long and two foot wide, I was never a big Star Wars fan, more Star Trek, but t'was still bloody impressive! :eek:) and as others were saying about Lego nowadays - there's a lot of very rigid play with the parts they give you, not much in the way of free play or creativity to build whatever the hell you want.

I'd make sure he'd adult supervision nearby though, not because he might swallow small parts, but because if any of the small parts fall on the floor they're a hoor to try and find them! :(

That reminds me, we've still to tackle the 1,000 piece jigsaw my mother gave him for his birthday! Jesus the thoughts of it :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭Corvo

Lads, Lego was for underdeveloped children.

Eating glue was where it was at.

<eye twitches>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Stickle bricks were the best. I still have a big box of them. I love lego too. I have the lego Italian police Lamborghini. Not mad about mechano.

Did anyone else have a cool watch like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭Corvo

*adds to Christmas list*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

*waves*

I robbed it from my brother.

Had this one alright, you can still get them too! :D

cmd-40-1uztdr_01.jpg

My brother had one of those water watches, these ones -

water-watch-4.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Czarcasm wrote: »

That reminds me, we've still to tackle the 1,000 piece jigsaw my mother gave him for his birthday! Jesus the thoughts of it :o

Jigsaws are brilliant! They can make you a bit obsessive though - we got snowed in over Christmas one year and spent days at a massive puzzle. We were even dreaming about it by the end. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I'm building a fort if anyone wants in? Bring drink :D

Muise... wrote: »
    Jigsaws are brilliant! They can make you a bit obsessive though - we got snowed in over Christmas one year and spent days at a massive puzzle. We were even dreaming about it by the end. :)

You must have been in bits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

You're taking the new found childishness to hilarious levels :pac:

Imagine all the awesomeness of being an adult (drink, sex, staying up as long as you want) and all the awesomeness of being a child (cereal for breakfast, playing games all day and insisting pants are the devil) and you will understand how my life works :D

Even my job is like childish adult fun! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Not at all Pumpkinseeds, I got my young lad Mecanno for Christmas when he was about 3, and he has a fcukton of those themed lego sets (they're not frickin' cheap, €20 up to about €80, but I nearly dropped when I saw some Star Wars spaceship in Smyths there last month for nearly €400! It was about two foot long and two foot wide, I was never a big Star Wars fan, more Star Trek, but t'was still bloody impressive! :eek:) and as others were saying about Lego nowadays - there's a lot of very rigid play with the parts they give you, not much in the way of free play or creativity to build whatever the hell you want.

I'd make sure he'd adult supervision nearby though, not because he might swallow small parts, but because if any of the small parts fall on the floor they're a hoor to try and find them! :(

Good, we bought him Brio last year, my husband was over in England with his folks and siblings for it, and he said the nephew spent all day playing with it, and not really bothering with all the other stuff he got. I don't mind buying expensive stuff that will last. It's his birthday the following week so we get hit for 2 presents, so I thought we might get him 2 sets of it. I always hated Lego.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

please don't grow up! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Himself and I decided this year we were gonna get each other a Christmas pressie from our childhood that we always wanted as a kid but never got.
    So I'm getting Screwball Scramble and he's getting a Mr Frosty. Can't frigging wait :D