Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I don't want to be a grown up any more

• 14-11-2013 5:00pm

Being serious is boring boring boring boring.

Threads on the ecomony, threads on jobbridge, on forced immigration, on feckin pensions. Boooooooo. BOOOOORRRRRIIIIIING.

I don't want to grow up and talk about boring stuff.

I want to talk about lego, and stickle bricks, and robots in disguise.

Do you like lego? what's the best lego thing you ever made?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

I'm a modern day Peter Pan :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

There is a small persons thread already.

• Site Banned Posts: 51 ✭✭Timeless12

Would have thought being a mod was fairly grown up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

WTF are stickle bricks? Must be before my time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Threads on the ecomony, threads on jobbridge, on forced immigration, on feckin pensions. Boooooooo. BOOOOORRRRRIIIIIING.

Saviour?! Pick me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Well then Ungrow up

21/25

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

Used to make the Thundertank from Thundercats a lot out of my lego

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

Remember when you had real summer holidays and you could go out at 10 in the morning and not come back until you were "wanted"

Or the Dinosaurs part-works series - it had a skeleton that glowed in the dark!!!

Those were the good ol days :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

sounds like a 90's toy

I had a giant box of lego arrive from amazon, since they had a sale on

It's for the baby cousins etc, but still...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,286 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Lego is awesome :D Lego Technic is brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Yesterday I bought new pyjama pants that have reindeer on them, I regret absolutely nothing about my purchase. I would have bought the ones with Batman on them too only for they had no large ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Get out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

nc19 wrote: »

I bet you snigger to yourself when you say that :)

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Have you tried turning yourself off and back on again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

Found my old Ghostbusters action figures and car the other day.Thought about giving them to my little nephew,but thought better of it after having an auld play with them for a few minutes.I've now hidden them under my bed for future use!

Even better as a 'grown up' now that I can just play the theme song on YT instead of having to sing it like when I was a kid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

I've had a hard day, so I'm going to go home and watch SpongeBob while eating Pom Bears and there isn't anything anyone can do to stop me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

sounds like a 90's toy

I'm a 90's kid and I don't know what they are :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

I used to have tonnes and tonnes of Lego when I was still a wee lad. Both technic as regular Lego.

Then one day my mother asked me would it be okay to loan it to a family member and I said fine, as long as you make absolutely positively sure it's coming back to me.

Never seen it again.

Been a hard and cynical grownup ever since.

And now my kids don't have lego :mad:

(why is there no crying smiley on boards?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Is this the reason you're not a mod anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,730 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Children these days have it rough. The rules to their games are so arbitrary. Playing with my nephew can be an ordeal.

"You shoot me"
    "Okay... *gun noise*"
    "No, you have to shoot me four times"
    "Okay... *gun* *gun* *gun* *gun*"
    "No, you have to shoot me four times with the rockets"
    "...Okay... *rocket* *rocket* *rocket* *rocket*"
    "Now I only have 2 lives left. Now I kill you *gun*"
    "OOOhhhhhh *death noises*"
    "No, you're still alive"
    "...okay..."
    "Now you have to shoot me here, and then I'll die"
    "Okay... *gun while pointing at where he told me to shoot*"
    "Now I blocked it with my fire shield and am going to shoot you with a laser *laser noise*"
    "Arrghhh"
    "No it didn't hit you, now you have to hit me with the laser"

I DON'T KNOW WHAT THE F*CK IS GOING ON!

Penn wrote: »
    Children these days have it rough. The rules to their games are so arbitrary. Playing with my nephew can be an ordeal.

Clearly never played calvinball

bluewolf wrote: »
    Clearly never played calvinball

No, I've never watched Harry Potter.

sounds like a 90's toy

Seriously? Stickle Bricks were AWESOME.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stickle_Bricks
    wexie wrote: »
    (why is there no crying smiley on boards?)

cos that's the why
    Is this the reason you're not a mod anymore?

I can still ban you if I want. Right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Lego Technic, loved the stuff as a kid. Spent a couple of days rebuilding some old models a couple of years ago, they now grace my bedroom at home. Tempted to treat my self to some new ones this year.

Remember stickle bricks as well, but they were a very very poor kids duplo.

"You shoot me"
    "Okay... *gun noise*"
    "No, you have to shoot me four times"
    "Okay... *gun* *gun* *gun* *gun*"
    "No, you have to shoot me four times with the rockets"
    "...Okay... *rocket* *rocket* *rocket* *rocket*"
    "Now I only have 2 lives left. Now I kill you *gun*"
    "OOOhhhhhh *death noises*"
    "No, you're still alive"
    "...okay..."
    "Now you have to shoot me here, and then I'll die"
    "Okay... *gun while pointing at where he told me to shoot*"
    "Now I blocked it with my fire shield and am going to shoot you with a laser *laser noise*"
    "Arrghhh"
    "No it didn't hit you, now you have to hit me with the laser"

I DON'T KNOW WHAT THE F*CK IS GOING ON!

sounds like playing Call of Duty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Seriously? Stickle Bricks were AWESOME.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stickle_Bricks

cos that's the why

I can still ban you if I want. Right.

Don't be so serious. Are you a mod or not?

Stickle Bricks were like the bastard love child of Lego and that fake plastic grass you see in Homebase displays.

No, I've never watched Harry Potter.

I don't know if you're joking :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Never much into lego as a kid but if anyone wants to swap fancy paper, I'm in :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Festy wrote: »
    I'm a modern day Peter Pan :)

Howya wacko?

Whats the craic?

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Yay!! I love transformers!! :D

If you can read this, you're too close!

Don't be so serious. Are you a mod or not?

Banned for questioning a mod on thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

Classic case of Pyramint deficiency.

Do you think builders were just really into Lego when they were younger and thought being a real builder would be equally as much fun?

I'm not saying that question keeps me awake at night, but I'm also not denying it does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I got a brand new €2 coin today in my change and it's so shiny I secretly think it's worth far more than €2 so I'm reluctant to part with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Was talking about Lego with friends last night. All the different sets (Star Wars, HP, Indiana Jones, etc) WITH INSTRUCTIONS! Just give me a bucket of random pieces and I can build what I want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Jesus, nostalgia is a bitch. Have to keep myself from shedding a tear while at my desk in work.

Every birthday/xmas present I asked for from the age of 6 til 11 was lego technic. I was pretty spoiled with what I got tbh. My favourite ones were the JCB set and the drawing machine/crane set. Probably cos they had the most and coolest pieces. Had a good few of the smaller sets too, including the forklift and motocross bike.

I had even separated the pieces needed into regular big bits, the smaller, rare "hard to find" bits and then the bits which I ashamedly had toothmarks in from trying to separate when I was younger. All in individual bags, which kept tearing. Had bags with the pneumatic pumps, cylinders and tubes which I made sure were in good condition.

Feck. Next time I'm at my parents, I'm gonna scour the attic to make sure they didn't give it all away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

What I wouldn't give for a go of a remote controled car right now, almost as good as the commodore 64 I got a few years later...

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    Was talking about Lego with friends last night. All the different sets (Star Wars, HP, Indiana Jones, etc) WITH INSTRUCTIONS! Just give me a bucket of random pieces and I can build what I want!

Hell yeah. That's not bloody lego. That's just expensive kinder surprise. I think James May might have touched on that subject on one of his shows before, saying that the point of lego was to build whatever you wanted and use your imagination. Nowadays, all the lego pieces are moulded for one specific purpose only and are an abomination.

The pure joy of finding that missing Meccano piece to finish your work of art...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

I had the Lego Lunar base, giving to me by my dad, early 80's. Theres one on eBay, very tempted to buy it, really is the best toy ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

The pure joy of finding that missing Meccano piece to finish your work of art...

Was given a meccano set one xmas. Maybe I was too retarded, but I just couldn't master it. Way too fiddly. Think it was donated to an african child appeal or something after it had started gathering dust

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

The best thing about having kids is that I can buy all the lego I want and play with the lego at home, build a home out of lego, lego, lego LEGO, LEGOO.

All this Lego talk, there's a movie coming out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

Forget Lego. Give me Duplo any day, pretty sure it was just Lego for simpletons but I loved it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Sigourney

I made a crucifix for a mock exorcism, just to piss my granny off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭SherlockWatson

How do people not remember Stickle Bricks?

Used to love watching the Turtles on Rte2 every morning before going to school!