Garda recruitment to restart (and they’re already expecting lots of applications)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

thekopend wrote: »
    There can't really be anyone younger than 22, I'd say not many between 22 and 25

I'm 21 atm but is it just me or is that to young to be recruiting to the garda? I find it amazing to think a lot of guards joined at 18.. Jesus I wouldnt have had much cop on at that age :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭vektarman

jamesr123 wrote: »
    I'm 21 atm but is it just me or is that to young to be recruiting to the garda? I find it amazing to think a lot of guards joined at 18.. Jesus I wouldnt have had much cop on at that age :o

I see what you did there...:)

vektarman wrote: »
    I see what you did there...:)

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Cd_doe

Having worked in Public sector post for the majority of my working life, I have found the following to be true.

All notifications for promotion courses, appointments or other eagerly awaited news are made on a Friday afternoon, when
    (a) most of those waiting have left the building, having taken the afternoon off
    (b) when the reader can do nothing about it but stew over the weekend,
    (c) when clarification of errors made on the notification cannot be queried, so the relevant department department won't be hounded by calls, seconds after it's release.

2 weeks before Christmas is similar to a Friday afternoon, in a competition of this scale so eagerly awaited.

This is very true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭annlewis

Same as folks.. will it ever come on and be announced :) imagine the buzz and excitement around the place when it's announced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

annlewis wrote: »

You'll be surprisingly deflated when it does eventually happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

+1,

so I believe the waiting is probably worse throughout the competitions, plus the fear of failure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

+1,

so I believe the waiting is probably worse throughout the competitions, plus the fear of failure.

“Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.”
    Confucius

Less of the negativity. Of course it'll be great. Finally something we've been waiting for for so long. Wait till you see...this forum goes mad when it opens up

+1,

I re phrase that. I more or less meant that the waiting is worse or seems longer on the antisipation or results during the competitions, iv seen posts from people as they have been preparing for interview etc and waiting for results and they seemed to be bricking it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭danish pasterys

Can you join the gards with no leaving cert but a PLC in a course aimed for people to join the gards ? Full fetac level 5

Think you need your leaving cert:)

For the moment you need the stated requirements but there is talk of this changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭adrian2

Well lads/ladies what day are we thinking this week it will be announced,?,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

adrian2 wrote: »

Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭mycro89

Scouser wrote: »
    Friday

Monday

mycro89 wrote: »
    Monday

but I didnt say which Monday missus

Whe Whe Whe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭SonnyB

Would they ever c'mon te f***...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Juicy432

Not till January now, heard this from a friend who is a guard. I could be wrong do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭SonnyB

Juicy432 wrote: »
    Not till January now, heard this from a friend who is a guard. I could be wrong do.

I think January was a given anyways, but surely this week we will hear the announcement. Every email I get from PublicJobs.ie my heart goes crazy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

2 weeks before Christmas..

bump.

bump.

the 11th, Wednesday

Fegten wrote: »
    I think January was a given anyways, but surely this week we will hear the announcement. Every email I get from PublicJobs.ie my heart goes crazy!

What emails are u getting out of curiosity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Faith and Justice

Didn't Gilmore say it would be announced this week? If it's not then how can we take that man seriously in future?

I didn't expect it to be announced today because they're only back to work after there weekend off. It surely has to be announced though tomorrow or Wednesday. Im sick of all these false statements saying September, October, November and now they say its going to be this week? I really hope they stick to that.

I don't know what all the big hassle is anyway. If your going to recruit Gardai then go off and do it. No need to be feeding people lies and giving them false information about when it starts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Faith and Justice

Didn't Gilmore say it would be announced this week? If it's not then how can we take that man seriously in future?

I didn't expect it to be announced today because they're only back to work after there weekend off. It surely has to be announced though tomorrow or Wednesday. Im sick of all these false statements saying September, October, November and now they say its going to be this week? I really hope they stick to that.

I don't know what all the big hassle is anyway. If your going to recruit Gardai then go off and do it. No need to be feeding people lies and giving them false information about when it starts.

This is the only official statement they have given for the time of the announcement. First week in December is the only one they have given, before that all they said was the coming weeks. The September October November was only hearsay and romours from unofficial sources. So if you ask me the haven't given any false statements. If we have waited this long we can surely wait till next Sunday when the week is out before loosing the run of ourselves and then we can say it was a false statement.