cold weather

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

No problem with the cold, I like it, I live the winter, roasting showers and toasty fires, literally one of my favourite things to do is stand in front of the fire, comfort food. I hate the damp though, I wish it would just be frosty and be done with this rain crap.

Also my house is crapilly insulated, it's going to kill me to buy oil because I feel like its such a waste, but I'm going to have to do it soon. Also can anyone tell me why they stopped putting back boilers in houses? They were the handiest things ever, we had one in my home house and I really miss it, best of both worlds, lovely fire and warm rads, I hate central heating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The issue is not so much the cold for me rather its the damp in the air, which just makes it feel that bit worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,038 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Cold?

What Cold?

You could walk around in T Shirt today.

For this time of year its extremely mild. May it continue.

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The_Kew_Tour is a Geordie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    No problem with the cold, I like it, I live the winter, roasting showers and toasty fires, literally one of my favourite things to do is stand in front of the fire, comfort food. I hate the damp though, I wish it would just be frosty and be done with this rain crap.

Also my house is crapilly insulated, it's going to kill me to buy oil because I feel like its such a waste, but I'm going to have to do it soon. Also can anyone tell me why they stopped putting back boilers in houses? They were the handiest things ever, we had one in my home house and I really miss it, best of both worlds, lovely fire and warm rads, I hate central heating.

Because 'Jaysus, you won't need that when you've the central heating'. My parents insisted on keeping theirs and they see the benefits in winter; the house is always roasting and the water is scalding, and all for the cost of the petrol to haul the wood home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

What cold? It's wet rather than cold (and that affects me more than the cold)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I've actually gone from a big North Face parker, back to a hoodie and a vest jacket over the last couple of days.

If people think its cold now, wait till its January.

Still in Tshirts so far but beginning to notice the change. Normally do a 5am run every morning for an hour and have not really noticed it getting cold enough to justify changing my outfit to a more winter orientated one just yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Bitter lads.

It's feckin' bitter out there.

I always think of homeless people and how hard it must be for them in this weather.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

cena wrote: »
    How is everyone coping with the cold weather?

I myself don't mind it beem cold. The best about the cold is going to a cold bed and it warming up from you body heat.

Pssssssssst. Electric blanket;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Pretty cold now - fecking nuisance trying to heat the kitchen-living-room. Rest of the gaff is nice n' toasty though. And at least this is actual cold and it's dry, rather than that smelly damp.
    Yakult wrote: »
    I hate rain/wind, who doesnt?
    People in the Weather forum. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,960 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

It's really starting to get cold the past couple of days. Nothing like being warm and cozy indoors. :)

Pssssssssst. Electric blanket;)

You pissed the electric blanket?

You could have been electrocuted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Really cold night here (Dublin) - November 2012 was a fairly mild-month tho. Chances of snow this year seem good. If it sticks is another story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,751 ✭✭✭bigron2109

Just been out the Back in Wexford, and its bleeding Baltic out, down here. Its into the minus degree's down here tonight.

bigron2109 wrote: »
    Just been out the Back in Wexford, and its bleeding Baltic out, down here. Its into the minus degree's down here tonight.

What were you doing out the back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

There's nice stars out the back tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Cold? Me arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

dgt wrote: »
    Cold? Me arse
    You should put your trousers back on before you get arrested again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

You should put your trousers back on before you get arrested again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

It was so cold last night the flame on my lighter froze