Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cold weather

• 10-11-2013 9:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭

How is everyone coping with the cold weather?

I myself don't mind it beem cold. The best about the cold is going to a cold bed and it warming up from you body heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I'll tell you when it's cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭cena

lertsnim wrote: »
    I'll tell you when it's cold

Most people would find it cold. I don't myself. It is grand myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭Gerry91

It's hardly that cold yet tbh

I do like it myself but to an extent. I remember back in 09/10 it was unbearable in December on occasion!

Even this January had some freezing days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Just got out of toasty hot shower and sitting beside the fire so all good and snug here

Do ye have the heat on in the house?

I like that I get to wear my new pretty coat and my new pretty hat :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

cena wrote: »
    Do ye have the heat on in the house?

of course! i'd be cold otherwise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Dont mind the cold per se but it breaks my heart paying a fortune to heat the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

I don't think its that cold yet
    I just throw on my wooly jumper if I get too cold
    Haven't had to turn on the heating
    Or light a fire in the last few weeks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

I don't mind it at all. Nothing better than stepping out of a bright, cold morning wrapped up in a good wool coat, with a light Cashmere scarf to finish the ensemble. Your breath cutting lines through the cold air as you brace yourself for a brisk walk.

In the evening a glass of Scotch to warm the cockles of your heart before retiring to your bedroom. All the better if you have a squeeze in the bed beside you to raise the temperature another few degrees.

I filled up the tank with oil but the burner wouldn't work and I still don't have the cash to front up for getting it fixed, coal fires going to have to do for now. Damn my lack of plumbing skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

Much prefer the cold to the heat actually. Just as well really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Love the cold! But it's not really cold enough during the day yet. We've had a few chilly nights though.

pharmaton wrote: »
    I filled up the tank with oil but the burner wouldn't work and I still don't have the cash to front up for getting it fixed, coal fires going to have to do for now. Damn my lack of plumbing skills.

Could be air locked if you ran out of oil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭tomdempsey200

few lumps of coal in living room stove

occasional hot shower

cheap licker

warm bed

times are hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Awaits all those who complaned about the heat to start posting its too cold.

Could be air locked if you ran out of oil
    bled it and fiddled with knobs as directed by the very helpful people over in diy, no joy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

How is everyone coping with the cold weather?

I myself don't mind it beem cold. The best about the cold is going to a cold bed and it warming up from you body heat.

What cold weather? Bleedin' Nora, we've only had 3 nights of light frost so far. Come back and ask when it actually gets cold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭cali_eire

It's my first Irish winter in like 20 years and after being used to the Mojave Desert in Southern California it's an adjustment to say the least. Today was one of those days where it felt warmer out than in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

My lips are really chapped because of it :/

pharmaton wrote: »
    bled it and fiddled with knobs as directed by the very helpful people over in diy, no joy

Needs a service so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,852 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Top tip from Viz magazine.

“Keep your hands warm in the cold weather by cutting the finger tips off a pair of wooly gloves. These can be used as little warm ‘hats’ for each of your fingers” (Viz 202, February 2011 p9)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

It's been cooler recently but I wouldn't call it cold yet. That said I've the fire lighting but no heating on - it's not needed yet.

Needs a service so.
    yep thats the bit I don't have money for. soon though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yeah feckin dampness.
    I don't mind cold per se but this wet cold will be the death of me one year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭tomdempsey200

Top tip from Viz magazine.

“Keep your hands warm in the cold weather by cutting the finger tips off a pair of wooly gloves. These can be used as little warm ‘hats’ for each of your fingers” (Viz 202, February 2011 p9)

makes sense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Lol, this is such an Irish thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Anyone else love this guys threads? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Sleeps bollock naked but wear socks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

I don't think its that cold yet
    I just throw on my wooly jumper if I get too cold
    Haven't had to turn on the heating
    Or light a fire in the last few weeks

You a poet Benjamin?

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Sleeps bollock naked but wear socks :)

And what about wellies?

Lol, this is such an Irish thread.

How is that?

MadYaker wrote: »
    Anyone else love this guys threads? :P

I could be a woman. But why do you like my threads or are you missing with me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Abigayle

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Awaits all those who complaned about the heat to start posting its too cold.
    You rang m'lud :pac:

I'm going to have to be honest here, I'm not good with either extremes. I hid indoors during the unbearable (to me) sun we had this year; only venturing out at night for supplies. The flip side of that is I cannot hold any heat in me in cold weather - regardless of how many layers I put on.

Not complaining though ....... >_>

(Brrrrr..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭cailinardthair

I wouldn't find it cold yet but there's is a nip in the air that requires a warmer jacket....when the hat and gloves go on then its cold....but I do like the fire on and the hotwater bottle....Its all cosy....love this time of year! (expect the rain)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Abigayle wrote: »
    You rang m'lud :pac:

I'm going to have to be honest here, I'm not good with either extremes. I hid indoors during the unbearable (to me) sun we had this year; only venturing out at night for supplies. The flip side of that is I cannot hold any heat in me in cold weather - regardless of how many layers I put on.

Not complaining though ....... >_>

(Brrrrr..)
    Yeh there's nothing wrong with not liking either and preferring a happy medium.

Few hours of heating is definitely needed in this weather to get rid of the cold feeling from the house. Putting on a jumper just doesn't cut it, sitting there in a cold room is uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Abigayle

Thank God someone else said it :pac:

I quite like my hat and gloves too though. Triple-layered :p

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Abigayle wrote: »
    I'm going to have to be honest here, I'm not good with either extremes. I hid indoors during the unbearable (to me) sun we had this year;

Same, I hate extreme weather.

But I was fine with the summer we got this year though. Anything over that would be going into the extremes for me.

Something like 20-25° all year would be perfect :) Low humidity too.

Maybe a week or two of extremes to keep it interesting..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

It's not cold, it's a lack of heat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

I don't mind it at all. Nothing better than stepping out of a bright, cold morning wrapped up in a good wool coat

Yeah, but this is Ireland where cold, damp, overcast conditions are the winter norm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Geomy

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I hate rain/wind, who doesnt? But I love those clear, bright, freezing days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Few hours of heating is definitely needed in this weather to get rid of the cold feeling from the house. Putting on a jumper just doesn't cut it, sitting there in a cold room is uncomfortable.

You could get one of these:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/b?node=2453532031

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

What cold weather? Bleedin' Nora, we've only had 3 nights of light frost so far. Come back and ask when it actually gets cold!

At 4 this morning, the car temp read -1 and I had to use the scraper to get the ice off windscreen so I could drive to work...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Im in Australia on one of those working holiday visas. Its not even summer yet and some days are very hot. With a hot sweaty ass all day. Here you're wet with sweat. At home its wet with rain.

I miss the fresh air. Its too hot here. The wind on a hot day here is like a hair dryer in your face. I dont know what im at coming here. I think I might be better going home and getting a car to keep warm and dry while venturing outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Im in Australia on one of those working holiday visas. Its not even summer yet and some days are very hot. With a hot sweaty ass all day. Here you're wet with sweat. At home its wet with rain.

I miss the fresh air. Its too hot here. The wind on a hot day here is like a hair dryer in your face. I dont know what im at coming here. I think I might be better going home and getting a car to keep warm and dry while venturing outside.

You're not going to work - you went there for a good time and a holiday.

Amazing how folks say they're forced to emigrate and pick the furthest possible place to allegedly "find work", which also just happens to be sunny and have nice beaches. They care so much for seeing their family of course which is why they didn't pick anywhere in Britain. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 226 ✭✭Frank Garrett

If it's -5*C on a frosty morning - I love it.

If it's +5*C with wind and rain pounding my beautiful face - I loathe it.

Obviously her future looks very rosy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

It's cold outside?

<---Takes motorcycle clothing off.