Ads in Ireland you find offensive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Sky King wrote: »
    'Dear 30 year old me'

*changes radio station

This ad really does grind my gears.

In these ads, an apparently contented pensioner-me is telling 30-year-old-me to take out a pension, using some kind of time-travelling e-mail. But clearly pensioner-me is doing alright, so what's the big deal? Is pensioner-me telling 30-year-old-me to do something that 30-year-old-me has clearly already done?

Look, none of us know how time travel might actually work, but if you could communicate with yourself in the past surely you'd have the wit to mail that 30-year-old-me some winning lottery numbers instead of suggesting that they take out a pension?

And for f**k's sake why not mention the small matter of the fund being potentially worthless from around 2007? That would have been nice to know!

If pensioner-me is that dim, then frankly I hope somebody switches off the life support system early!

Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭shuffles88

That fecking Kittensoft ad with the condescending pr1ck of a husband continually following his wife around with an iPad saying "Emaaaahhh"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

That prlck in the Coke Zero ad at the cinema switching people's drink. I like Coke Zero but sometimes you cant beat a sup of the real stuff. If I ordered a Coke and that prlck switched the drink I'd knock him out.
    I'd taste the difference in a second. Coke Zero tastes like battery acid. Real Coke tastes like a knife of sugar to the stomach.

Zen65 wrote: »
    This ad really does grind my gears.

In these ads, an apparently contented pensioner-me is telling 30-year-old-me to take out a pension, using some kind of time-travelling e-mail. But clearly pensioner-me is doing alright, so what's the big deal? Is pensioner-me telling 30-year-old-me to do something that 30-year-old-me has clearly already done?

Look, none of us know how time travel might actually work, but if you could communicate with yourself in the past surely you'd have the wit to mail that 30-year-old-me some winning lottery numbers instead of suggesting that they take out a pension?

And for f**k's sake why not mention the small matter of the fund being potentially worthless from around 2007? That would have been nice to know!

If pensioner-me is that dim, then frankly I hope somebody switches off the life support system early!

Z
    "It's your pension, Marty. Something gotta be done about your pension!"

Starving kids somewhere on at dinner time.. and the lies .. there are no famines that I'm aware of people are either to poor to buy food or made to live in a place they cant grow it. like the whole live aid thing there was no famine in Ethiopia it was a group of people made to go to a part of the country that they could not grow food on the government was trying to kill them off. Yet it’s sold to us as if there starving because of a a natural disaster.. And not of a war or government trying to kill off a group of people.

What's worse is that it feeds the false view that Africans are stupid and useless and helpless, overall does more harm than good. Rationally explaining the causes of food shortage and famine might get less donations than skeletal children covered in flies, but in the long term is more humane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭paulbok

"I throw my hands up in the air sometimes, saying J-Os, Jacob's J-Os..." :mad: :mad: :mad:

One does not simply wreck an epic dance anthem with this kind of sh!te

epic? dance anthem?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

That prlck in the Coke Zero ad at the cinema switching people's drink. I like Coke Zero but sometimes you cant beat a sup of the real stuff. If I ordered a Coke and that prlck switched the drink I'd knock him out.

"Hi, remember me? I'm the guy that gave you your Coca Cola. I hope you're enjoying it, because I ejaculated in it. That's right, all of them".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Ad for insurance company I'm not mentioning because I'm not going to promote them, one guy telling the other guy how he has just seen a great insurance ad? SERIOUSLY????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭mark_jmc

the radio ad for bartholomew mcelhatton, I don't know why but it really annoys me, I want to kick the guy in the face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

goose2005 wrote: »
    "It's your pension, Marty. Something gotta be done about your pension!"

"Thanks Doc, could you be a little more specific, or do I have to get into that car with you again?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Not an advert but on the radio I find someone offensive.
    His name is Moikil McMollin and he likes talking about rugby.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

No, three letters, 2 vowels and a g.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,911 ✭✭✭jmcc

Ads with Deefers doing the voiceovers trying to put on what they think are sophisticated English accents but end up sounding like a cross between a blocked drain, Miriam O'Callaghan and an extra from East Enders.

Regards...jmcc

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

them ads for the black babies that come on at meal times. its a ****ing disgrace

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

I hate that Coke Zero ad.... They taste completely different! And anyway if that was actually tried somewhere they could be sued for false advertisement, advertising real Coke but actually only giving Coke Zero. That Flora ad with the wrestling makes me cringe something fierce..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Agreed on the Donal one and the supremely lame Coke Zero one.

Also the "Emmaaaaa" one. Smug gimp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

The insurance ad where the family are standing in the drive and the thief climbs out the window, down the ladder they've left there and then steals the ladder.

If you were robbed in that way you wouldn't be covered by your insurance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

The Harvey Norman ads. They're always having a sale of some sort, yet whenever I go in, their stuff is really expensive. Bastards anyway! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

The ad that criminalizes car drivers by showing them motorbike users, and telling the car drivers that half of motorbike users accidents are caused by car drivers.
    Complete with open eyed helmet knocking on the ground image.

I'm the careful car driver who sees at least 50 % of motorbike users zooming past me way above the speed limit, I do no need to feel criminalized by such an ad. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The ad that criminalizes car drivers by showing them motorbike users, and telling the car drivers that half of motorbike users accidents are caused by car drivers.

I'm the careful car driver who sees at least 50 % of motorbike users zooming past me way above the speed limit, I do no need to feel criminalized by such an ad. :mad:

'A motorcyclist is someone's son...father...partner...brother'...maybe those people should remind them to drive properly and not along the white line in between two lanes of traffic.

All those ads are ridiculous though, especially the cycling ones. If you are going to try and raise drivers awareness of cyclists show them as they really are....cycling in the middle of the lane holding up traffic, pulling out into lanes without hand signals, and cycling through red lights without concern for the people crossing or on coming traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

'A motorcyclist is someone's son...father...partner...brother'...maybe those people should remind them to drive properly and not along the white line in between two lanes of traffic.

All those ads are ridiculous though, especially the cycling ones. If you are going to try and raise drivers awareness of cyclists show them as they really are....cycling in the middle of the lane holding up traffic, pulling out into lanes without hand signals, and cycling through red lights without concern for the people crossing or on coming traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Garzard

Ads for foot fungus on in the middle of the main evening news at a time when a lot of people are eating dinner/tea or whatever you call it. It's across RTE and TV3 and they even have disgusting little animations of little fungus men crawling out from under toenails. Absolutely disgusting.

Not to mention that ad of some auld wan sanding dead skin flakes and dust off her feet! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭meath4sam

Garzard wrote: »
    Not to mention that ad of some auld wan sanding dead skin flakes and dust off her feet! :mad:

Or the JML one where they start scrapping skin off there feet, and then empty the skin out of the thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Plasid

Turtyturd wrote: »

Obvious troll is obvious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

I really hate the Ensure as with the aul fella telling the young hot one to 'calm down, dear'. Condescending sh1te.

Yes, by all means, someone tell me to calm down dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Xios wrote: »
    So, after reading up on that whole Hunky Dory's rugby girls controversy. I was wondering what Ads have boardsies found offensive or of bad taste.

For Reference

They could've went with my idea for that ad, much less offensive :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Every Meteor ad. They always portray Irish people as being big fcuking unattractive eejits, gimps and gombeens who just want to have the craic.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

I dunno about offensive, but I really hate about 90% of Irish radio ads! There's always:
    - some portraying women as airheads who only care about fashion or spa treatments or getting a new kitchen...
    - the ones that show men as bumbling idiots who can't manage basic tasks without their gf/wife ("So, I borrowed the missus's car but some donut dented it with a shopping trolley" "You're a dead man!"... Imagine if that was the other way around, it'd look like domestic violence!)
    - the ones using stupid over-exaggerated regional accents that just make Irish people look like idiots
    - some with a really annoying high-pitched kid's voice.

Frequently find myself muttering "Jaysus..." during the ad breaks on Nova :pac: