Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ads in Ireland you find offensive?

• 08-11-2013 9:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭

So, after reading up on that whole Hunky Dory's rugby girls controversy. I was wondering what Ads have boardsies found offensive or of bad taste.

For Reference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

The Go Compare ad's.

I find it offensive that he hasn't been shot with his own balls of shite yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

That guy who sells gold in the ILAC centre.

Creepy fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,799 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

That ad where yer wan shouts "Donal" every 5 seconds, offends me no end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Lads hardly offensive!

The anti abortion billboards that group put up.

Fock off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭bop1977

Every single ad. Hate them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

"want condoms with that"

No thanks, I'll just fuck her up the arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

BNMC wrote: »
    "want condoms with that"

No thanks, I'll just fuck her up the arse.

Should an alternative advert, "No rubbers?, no problem, take the dirt trail".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Any ads that make the average man look like a feckin' eejit.

Any ads that make the average woman look like a feckin' eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

'Dear 30 year old me'

*changes radio station

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I was offended Tesco pulled the Gay best friend before I could get one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Eoin247

The only thing outrageous about the hunky dory adverts, was that there exists backwards irish people who spent time complaining/campaigning against the adverts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Any banking ads.....fcuk off.

Please continue to deduct your fees without telling me you are going to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Xios wrote: »
    So, after reading up on that whole Hunky Dory's rugby girls controversy. I was wondering what Ads have boardsies found offensive or of bad taste.

For Reference

What about yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

'It's so easy, even an adult could understand it.'

That's not how it works little boy. You know NOTHING!!

In the Coke Zero ad (aimed at men), the guy beds the girl, causes a distractionary explosion, abseils down a building and gets a lift on a helicopter, all to avoid her parents, while blowing her a kiss as she reminds him to call her.

He's a hero, who wouldn't want him or want to be him?

In the Diet Coke ad (aimed at women), the woman-puppets downsize a handbag to accommodate a can of diet Coke. And they're all delighted with the achievement. They even do a little puppet dance to celebrate.

I don't drink Diet Coke any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

That diet coke ad where them 3 wans shake your mans coke and the poor fella gets soaked and has to take off his t shirt........ very offensive :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Take your pick of any of the adverts which use precocious, obnoxious and patronising kids to make adults look like idiots. I will NEVER purchase any of their products, solely because those ads annoy me so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

Yon fella from the Aldi ad, why dont YOU shop in aldi, im aldi aldi aldi all the way now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

That one that always seems to come up on youtube when I'm trying to watch The Great British Bake Off - 'Sorry for being so direct but you've been obese for a long time'. I may be watching a show about cake but that doesn't mean I'm fat :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Lads hardly offensive!

The anti abortion billboards that group put up.

Fock off.

Thats what abortion looks like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Take your pick of any of the adverts which use precocious, obnoxious and patronising kids to make adults look like idiots. I will NEVER purchase any of their products, solely because those ads annoy me so much.

even an adult could understand that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

The ad where the man with the full head of hair is bragging about every hair counting and making you feel good or some ****e like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

That prlck in the Coke Zero ad at the cinema switching people's drink. I like Coke Zero but sometimes you cant beat a sup of the real stuff. If I ordered a Coke and that prlck switched the drink I'd knock him out.

mind you we used to do it to the Spanish students in the fast food i worked in back in the day.

also, this must be the first year where Meteor haven't had an offensive Christmas ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Learn to live again?
    No thanks; ill stick with my 10 year old well serviced well kept car thats loosing about a few 100 euro in drpreciation and not 3000 next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

Men are always made out to be fairly thick on Irish ads..In turn the women always know it all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Xios

Super-Rush wrote: »
    What about yourself?

I don't really watch TV, but of the ones i've seen from this thread, the coke zero swapping guy pisses me right off. Don't lie to me about my ****ing drink. I'll lie to myself about having diabetes or not! Not you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Persil Ad:

Pelting food at a ginger kid along the theme of 'for what life throws at them'

Clearly an incitement of hatred and normalising physically assaulting people with red hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Xios wrote: »

For Reference

Every single ad where the husband is portrayed as some dumb fukk who can't even work a washing machine.

Whichever ones that make men to be out to be bumbling idiots that cannot cope by themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

Guinness wheelchair ad especially the line at the end, "the choices we make...hop hop hop"

God.........men get very offended by ads! :-D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

This cheesy "yay for water charges" shoite...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

I find them all offensive. Trying to push crisps by using a pair of tits is just the veil slipping. I don't find their emotional button-pushing any more ethical or appealing than using subliminal messaging or hypnotic suggestion to flog their shit.

Thats what abortion looks like

I don't give a flying fock if it looks like a chewed up mars bar I still don't want to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Any ad's that aren't for Bacon or Mustard or both together are very offensive

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Rubat

I find 90% of ads on any medium offensive, as in infuriating ****e.

You know when the kids are at home and they're always on the telephone.

Wi-max coming across the nation, wi max a new sensation.

I'd live to smash that guitar across his face, honkey tonk man style. The kunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Sigourney

90% of the ads on the UTV: shops that sell cheap leatherette sofas on tick; ads for shopping centres that rent out shops that sell cheap leatherette sofas on tick; ads that tell you that it's wrong not to play with a misshapen computer-generated kid with an eyepatch and a Norn accent that would strip paint. Aye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Morgan..............Turn on the heating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

This cheesy "yay for water charges" shoite...

Those **** trying to endear us to another tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭madrabui

Instead of car-cation, I keep on hearing 'take a Caucasian'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Cosmicfox

The only ads I've ever actually found offensive are all the Youth defence/life institute ones but I really hate that ad on the radio at the minute with the woman yelling at the electricity bills

Red21 wrote: »
    Guinness wheelchair ad especially the line at the end, "the choices we make...hop hop hop"

Oh this ad is one that really gets a lump in my throat.......so sad....but then Ive worked in a rehabilitation center and know the benefits of inclusion.
    Offensive that its used to promote alcohol *indirectly* though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I remember ads which used to sign off with "Anglo Irish Bank is regulated by the Irish Financial Services Regulatory Authority"... Looking back, this was highly obnoxious.

liam7831 wrote: »
    Morgan..............Turn on the heating

Oh Daddy!

*manbearpig hug*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Ads for foot fungus on in the middle of the main evening news at a time when a lot of people are eating dinner/tea or whatever you call it. It's across RTE and TV3 and they even have disgusting little animations of little fungus men crawling out from under toenails. Absolutely disgusting.

Mariasofia wrote: »
    Oh this ad is one that really gets a lump in my throat.......so sad....but then Ive worked in a rehabilitation center and know the benefits of inclusion.
    Offensive that its used to promote alcohol *indirectly* though.

Excuse me Ellen DeGeneres but this is Ireland, where we don't pander to cheap sentimental crap.

*waves miniature tricolour*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

That Flora wrestling ad:mad:. Mammy doesn't allow us watch wrestling but she leaves the door open so we can catch mammy and daddy f*cking.:mad:

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Excuse me Ellen DeGeneres but this is Ireland, where we don't pander to cheap sentimental crap.

*waves miniature tricolour*

Wow......the meanies are out tonight. Will never eat a mint aero again :-D