Ads in Ireland you find offensive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

God.........men get very offended by ads! :-D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,705 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

This cheesy "yay for water charges" shoite...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

I find them all offensive. Trying to push crisps by using a pair of tits is just the veil slipping. I don't find their emotional button-pushing any more ethical or appealing than using subliminal messaging or hypnotic suggestion to flog their shit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Thats what abortion looks like

I don't give a flying fock if it looks like a chewed up mars bar I still don't want to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

Any ad's that aren't for Bacon or Mustard or both together are very offensive

22/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Rubat

I find 90% of ads on any medium offensive, as in infuriating ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

You know when the kids are at home and they're always on the telephone.

Wi-max coming across the nation, wi max a new sensation.

I'd live to smash that guitar across his face, honkey tonk man style. The kunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Sigourney

90% of the ads on the UTV: shops that sell cheap leatherette sofas on tick; ads for shopping centres that rent out shops that sell cheap leatherette sofas on tick; ads that tell you that it's wrong not to play with a misshapen computer-generated kid with an eyepatch and a Norn accent that would strip paint. Aye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭liam7831

Morgan..............Turn on the heating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

This cheesy "yay for water charges" shoite...

Those **** trying to endear us to another tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭madrabui

Instead of car-cation, I keep on hearing 'take a Caucasian'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Cosmicfox

The only ads I've ever actually found offensive are all the Youth defence/life institute ones but I really hate that ad on the radio at the minute with the woman yelling at the electricity bills

Red21 wrote: »
    Guinness wheelchair ad especially the line at the end, "the choices we make...hop hop hop"

Oh this ad is one that really gets a lump in my throat.......so sad....but then Ive worked in a rehabilitation center and know the benefits of inclusion.
    Offensive that its used to promote alcohol *indirectly* though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I remember ads which used to sign off with "Anglo Irish Bank is regulated by the Irish Financial Services Regulatory Authority"... Looking back, this was highly obnoxious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

liam7831 wrote: »
    Morgan..............Turn on the heating

Oh Daddy!

*manbearpig hug*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Ads for foot fungus on in the middle of the main evening news at a time when a lot of people are eating dinner/tea or whatever you call it. It's across RTE and TV3 and they even have disgusting little animations of little fungus men crawling out from under toenails. Absolutely disgusting.

Mariasofia wrote: »
    Oh this ad is one that really gets a lump in my throat.......so sad....but then Ive worked in a rehabilitation center and know the benefits of inclusion.
    Offensive that its used to promote alcohol *indirectly* though.

Excuse me Ellen DeGeneres but this is Ireland, where we don't pander to cheap sentimental crap.

*waves miniature tricolour*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

That Flora wrestling ad:mad:. Mammy doesn't allow us watch wrestling but she leaves the door open so we can catch mammy and daddy f*cking.:mad:

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Excuse me Ellen DeGeneres but this is Ireland, where we don't pander to cheap sentimental crap.

Wow......the meanies are out tonight. Will never eat a mint aero again :-D

Mariasofia wrote: »
    Wow......the meanies are out tonight. Will never eat a mint aero again :-D

Great to see I'm such a fine ambassador for Mint Aero.

*expects to be sued any minute now*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Mint Aero wrote: »

Or michelle obama saying "it's good to be home" .... Cringe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

"I throw my hands up in the air sometimes, saying J-Os, Jacob's J-Os..." :mad: :mad: :mad:

One does not simply wreck an epic dance anthem with this kind of sh!te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

"are you ready for your steak love?"
    "100%"

She looks like a right gee bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Right now it's the bingo one where some bint hires a company to kidnap her husband so she can gamble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

The anti-drink driving ads.
    I know WHY they're on telly but Jesus, do they have to be so graphic?
    We GET IT, don't drink and drive--stop showing these ads and making people uncomfortable.

I also find any ads where men OR women are objectified as sexual objects offensive; i.e Diet Coke/Lynx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

That ad where yer wan shouts "Donal" every 5 seconds, offends me no end

Think how I feel!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Starving kids somewhere on at dinner time.. and the lies .. there are no famines that I'm aware of people are either to poor to buy food or made to live in a place they cant grow it. like the whole live aid thing there was no famine in Ethiopia it was a group of people made to go to a part of the country that they could not grow food on the government was trying to kill them off. Yet it’s sold to us as if there starving because of a a natural disaster.. And not of a war or government trying to kill off a group of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭FueledbyCoffee

That feckin one on Universal the pedi yoke - it's absolutely vile. Someone with manky feet shaving all the **** off - turns my stomach - can't even watch it on fast forward - some things you just can't unsee :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

That one for the Christmas catalogue. The kid at the start of that bragging that he's going to get lots of presents this Christmas. It must be a nightmare for parents who are struggling to make ends meet, without having to cope with Christmas too. A bit of sensitivity wouldn't go amiss.