I CAN TELL AIB TO **** OFF IN SOON!!!

• 08-11-2013 02:51AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭

Now the banks hit you for €260 in fees
    But credit unions are set to offer full current accounts
    Link...consumers may soon have an alternative to retail banks, with credit unions given a licence yesterday by the Central Bank to operate electronic payments.

This will mean people will be able to have their wages paid into their credit union and make payments electronically out of their credit union accounts. It is the first move before the locally owned lenders offer full banking services such as debit cards.

A total of 169 credit unions throughout the island have signed up for the initiative

I partly blame AIB for trying to ruin the country. I partly blame them for taking me off my interest free overdraft and for starting to charge me for it without notice. But what I blame them for most, personally, is for not paying a standing order I had, it was for 16 euro per week, I had 7 in my account, they didn't pay it out of my account as I didn't have funds but yet I did have funds, bizarrely enough, to pay a 10 euro non payment of a standing order charge that same day, so I went from plus 7 to minus 3 for nothing.

**** YOU AIB. **** YOU!!! :)
    Tagged:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Been using Credit union since they got sort codes, feckin' job they are!

About damn time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

There's a word that rhymes with banks that reminds me of AIB.

Worst ****test bank in the history of banks.

I'd rather put my dollars in a post box in Lagos.

You got that email too?

Yeah! They asked me to help pay for their grandmothers funeral so I sent him a fake western union

No need for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

A total of 169 credit unions throughout the island have signed up for the initiative, with Danske providing the payment infrastructure. There are 147 credit unions in the Republic.

I'm so happy with this :)
    Do we have a list of the ones in The Republic?

No need for that.

Ah even able to even trace the dopey bollox down (they posed as a girl) and started sending him pictures of himself but I was saying it was me. Great craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Untouchable Peasant

This scene always makes me think of the Credit Union:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I wouldn't go near anything to do with Danske if they were giving away free money. Shower of cnuts is what they are.

In my opinion, of course.:)

Hate them as well, killed my credit rating by continuing a standing order into my savings after my current hit zero while I was on the other side of tbe world unaware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I wouldn't go near anything to do with Danske if they were giving away free money. Shower of cnuts is what they are.

In my opinion, of course.:)

I know nothing about them tbh.
    I was just excited to see that I could get away from AIB.
    My Credit Union has always been great to us. I'd have got a nice look over the years, if I asked for a small loan for anything in AIB. (500e)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

I partly blame AIB for trying to ruin the country. I partly blame them for taking me off my interest free overdraft and for starting to charge me for it without notice. But what I blame them for most, personally, is for not paying a standing order I had, it was for 16 euro per week, I had 7 in my account, they didn't pay it out of my account as I didn't have funds but yet I did have funds, bizarrely enough, to pay a 10 euro non payment of a standing order charge that same day, so I went from plus 7 to minus 3 for nothing.

Both of these things almost exactly happened to me, but the second one, the non-payment fee, has left me that I cannot wait to get shot of AIB permanently when the opportunity arises.

Such horrifically poor policy, turning off potentially lifelong customers (I'm with them 14 years) over a poxy tenner?! Good luck to ye, f**ktards! I owe them nothing, so this CU option is very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

Ulster bank phoned me when I didnt have enough funds to cover a SO but has € in another account.

They covered it, I just had to transfer € the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭old_aussie

I take it, that wouldn't be thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭JonEBGud

Jesus Christ had the right approach when dealing with money lenders.
    He just went into the temple and upended their tables.
    We need someone like him again. . . :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I worked for both AIB and Ulster Bank back in my student days. Ulster Bank were pretty relaxed but AIB were a total shower of cunts

old_aussie wrote: »
    I take it, that wouldn't be thanks

Yes that would be correct!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

Yep - the very moment it is possible to ditch AIB I will be running away like a hot snot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭hfallada

I think a lot of people would switch if CU opening hours werent so ****ing awkward. They are usually closed monday & tuesday, wednesday between 9-11am & 7.30-9 pm and about five mins on a thurdsay and closed friday. You can never get to your account when you need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

hfallada wrote: »
    I think a lot of people would switch if CU opening hours werent so ****ing awkward. They are usually closed monday & tuesday, wednesday between 9-11am & 7.30-9 pm and about five mins on a thurdsay and closed friday. You can never get to your account when you need it.

Village CU's maybe,bigger ones even open on Saturday.
    I think the banks were a bit envious of them handing out three or four percent dividend each year and scooping up local savings.Hope there's nothing underhand going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Hate them as well, killed my credit rating by continuing a standing order into my savings after my current hit zero while I was on the other side of tbe world unaware.
    Up to you to cancel it. Awful as they are, they don't spy on people's lives to find out what their current situation is.

• Administrators Posts: 56,572 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Do you get a visa debit with the CU and online banking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I remember when I got my first job so I went into AIB to open a bank account. Filled out the forms and everything. And then nothing. Eventually went into BOI and they sorted me out.

A year later, AIB started sending me bank statements. They'd never even sent me a card or told me I'd been approved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Bodidly

Up to you to cancel it. Awful as they are, they don't spy on people's lives to find out what their current situation is.

I have a business account with AIB but personal account elsewhere. I recently had to get some statements from AIB (which cost a solid fortune btw). The lady on the customer services desk asked me loads of personal questions about my own finances, salary and current living situation. I politely refused to give her the information as it was none of her or the banks business. So I think they do snoop and spy on people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭McCrack

Now the banks hit you for €260 in fees
    But credit unions are set to offer full current accounts

Blame, blame, blame...

If you had sufficient funds in your account you would not have incurred the non payment fee.

Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Worst ****test bank in the history of banks.

I presume you mean skanks.

At least **** is a pleasurable experience

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

I'm sure the board of AIB have been made aware of the impending loss of a high-roll customer such as your good self.