Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I CAN TELL AIB TO **** OFF IN SOON!!!

• 08-11-2013 1:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭

Now the banks hit you for €260 in fees
    But credit unions are set to offer full current accounts
    Link...consumers may soon have an alternative to retail banks, with credit unions given a licence yesterday by the Central Bank to operate electronic payments.

This will mean people will be able to have their wages paid into their credit union and make payments electronically out of their credit union accounts. It is the first move before the locally owned lenders offer full banking services such as debit cards.

A total of 169 credit unions throughout the island have signed up for the initiative

I partly blame AIB for trying to ruin the country. I partly blame them for taking me off my interest free overdraft and for starting to charge me for it without notice. But what I blame them for most, personally, is for not paying a standing order I had, it was for 16 euro per week, I had 7 in my account, they didn't pay it out of my account as I didn't have funds but yet I did have funds, bizarrely enough, to pay a 10 euro non payment of a standing order charge that same day, so I went from plus 7 to minus 3 for nothing.

**** YOU AIB. **** YOU!!! :)
    Tagged:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Been using Credit union since they got sort codes, feckin' job they are!

About damn time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

There's a word that rhymes with banks that reminds me of AIB.

Worst ****test bank in the history of banks.

I'd rather put my dollars in a post box in Lagos.

You got that email too?

Yeah! They asked me to help pay for their grandmothers funeral so I sent him a fake western union

No need for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

A total of 169 credit unions throughout the island have signed up for the initiative, with Danske providing the payment infrastructure. There are 147 credit unions in the Republic.

I'm so happy with this :)
    Do we have a list of the ones in The Republic?

No need for that.

Ah even able to even trace the dopey bollox down (they posed as a girl) and started sending him pictures of himself but I was saying it was me. Great craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Untouchable Peasant

This scene always makes me think of the Credit Union:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I wouldn't go near anything to do with Danske if they were giving away free money. Shower of cnuts is what they are.

In my opinion, of course.:)

Hate them as well, killed my credit rating by continuing a standing order into my savings after my current hit zero while I was on the other side of tbe world unaware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I wouldn't go near anything to do with Danske if they were giving away free money. Shower of cnuts is what they are.

In my opinion, of course.:)

I know nothing about them tbh.
    I was just excited to see that I could get away from AIB.
    My Credit Union has always been great to us. I'd have got a nice look over the years, if I asked for a small loan for anything in AIB. (500e)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

I partly blame AIB for trying to ruin the country. I partly blame them for taking me off my interest free overdraft and for starting to charge me for it without notice. But what I blame them for most, personally, is for not paying a standing order I had, it was for 16 euro per week, I had 7 in my account, they didn't pay it out of my account as I didn't have funds but yet I did have funds, bizarrely enough, to pay a 10 euro non payment of a standing order charge that same day, so I went from plus 7 to minus 3 for nothing.

Both of these things almost exactly happened to me, but the second one, the non-payment fee, has left me that I cannot wait to get shot of AIB permanently when the opportunity arises.

Such horrifically poor policy, turning off potentially lifelong customers (I'm with them 14 years) over a poxy tenner?! Good luck to ye, f**ktards! I owe them nothing, so this CU option is very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

Ulster bank phoned me when I didnt have enough funds to cover a SO but has € in another account.

They covered it, I just had to transfer € the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

I take it, that wouldn't be thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭JonEBGud

Jesus Christ had the right approach when dealing with money lenders.
    He just went into the temple and upended their tables.
    We need someone like him again. . . :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I worked for both AIB and Ulster Bank back in my student days. Ulster Bank were pretty relaxed but AIB were a total shower of cunts

old_aussie wrote: »
    I take it, that wouldn't be thanks

Yes that would be correct!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Yep - the very moment it is possible to ditch AIB I will be running away like a hot snot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I think a lot of people would switch if CU opening hours werent so ****ing awkward. They are usually closed monday & tuesday, wednesday between 9-11am & 7.30-9 pm and about five mins on a thurdsay and closed friday. You can never get to your account when you need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

hfallada wrote: »
    I think a lot of people would switch if CU opening hours werent so ****ing awkward. They are usually closed monday & tuesday, wednesday between 9-11am & 7.30-9 pm and about five mins on a thurdsay and closed friday. You can never get to your account when you need it.

Village CU's maybe,bigger ones even open on Saturday.
    I think the banks were a bit envious of them handing out three or four percent dividend each year and scooping up local savings.Hope there's nothing underhand going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Hate them as well, killed my credit rating by continuing a standing order into my savings after my current hit zero while I was on the other side of tbe world unaware.
    Up to you to cancel it. Awful as they are, they don't spy on people's lives to find out what their current situation is.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Do you get a visa debit with the CU and online banking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I remember when I got my first job so I went into AIB to open a bank account. Filled out the forms and everything. And then nothing. Eventually went into BOI and they sorted me out.

A year later, AIB started sending me bank statements. They'd never even sent me a card or told me I'd been approved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Bodidly

Up to you to cancel it. Awful as they are, they don't spy on people's lives to find out what their current situation is.

I have a business account with AIB but personal account elsewhere. I recently had to get some statements from AIB (which cost a solid fortune btw). The lady on the customer services desk asked me loads of personal questions about my own finances, salary and current living situation. I politely refused to give her the information as it was none of her or the banks business. So I think they do snoop and spy on people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭McCrack

Now the banks hit you for €260 in fees
    But credit unions are set to offer full current accounts

Blame, blame, blame...

If you had sufficient funds in your account you would not have incurred the non payment fee.

Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Worst ****test bank in the history of banks.

I presume you mean skanks.

At least **** is a pleasurable experience

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

I'm sure the board of AIB have been made aware of the impending loss of a high-roll customer such as your good self.

I remember when I got my first job so I went into AIB to open a bank account. Filled out the forms and everything. And then nothing. Eventually went into BOI and they sorted me out.

A year later, AIB started sending me bank statements. They'd never even sent me a card or told me I'd been approved.

Did you ever think of calling them to find out?

I'm sure the board of AIB have been made aware of the impending loss of a high-roll customer such as your good self.

I'd say the directors whipped up a right sh1t storm alright

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I love dealing with my local Credit Union, everyone is very friendly and professional. They are a pleasure to deal with.

Banks are a complete different story.

I took a loan out with AIB a while back. Paid off the loan and everything was good. 8 months after the final payment and a letter stating I had completed the payments, they started sending me letters claiming I missed 2 x loan payment and demanding immediate payment of the outstanding balance.

After months of threatening letters, countless phone calls and threats of legal action by them, I eventually managed to prove to them they were wrong as fortunately I had bank statements going back the length of the loan showing them taking every one of the payments from the current account I also had with them.

Not even a letter or a phone call saying sorry. Absolute bunch of pr*cks to deal with. :mad:

At the moment I'm in the process of moving everything I have away from them to another bank and if I can help it, hope I never have to set foot inside one of their branches ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

McCrack wrote: »
    Blame, blame, blame...

If you had sufficient funds in your account you would not have incurred the non payment fee.

Simples.

I partly blame them for changing their policy towards me when I needed them to do it least. They gave me an interest free overdraft when I could afford it and took it away when I couldn't. They fined me a tenner for the sake of 9 euro. It's in bad taste by them and I won't forget it. As soon as my local CU bring in debit cards I'm closing my account with them.

How much is a waged person in their twenties worth to AIB over a lifetime? I'm worth at least 260 euro per year for a start. I've gotten 6 loans from the CU over the past 9 years so I'm clearly worth something to them, they are flexible and they are good natured compared to banks.
    If enough 'high rollers' like myself leave AIB they'll be in trouble going forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

I remember trying to get my first bank account with AIB, I went in with my Mother (I was 16 at the time) and they refused me one as I couldn't provide proof of earnings (I didn't have a job) or a utility bill with my name and address on it and the blood of one of the 12 horses of the apocalypse. I'm 16 you utter cunt! The woman I was dealing with was a complete fuckface about the whole thing. Went up to Permanent TSB and had an account within 5 minutes and have never once paid a fee with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

BNMC wrote: »
    I remember trying to get my first bank account with AIB, I went in with my Mother (I was 16 at the time) and they refused me one as I couldn't provide proof of earnings (I didn't have a job) or a utility bill with my name and address on it and the blood of one of the 12 horses of the apocalypse. I'm 16 you utter cunt! The woman I was dealing with was a complete fuckface about the whole thing. Went up to Permanent TSB and had an account within 5 minutes and have never once paid a fee with them.

Was this before or after the mandatory anti money laundering controls were introduced? Nowadays, the banks are obliged to establish proof of identity prior to opening an account.

Pity the lady in aib had to be a fookface about though. In my experience, the staff are typically very pleasant to deal with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

I'm happy enough with TSB but this is very tempting, won't be long before some government minister will step in though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Was this before or after the mandatory anti money laundering controls were introduced? Nowadays, the banks are obliged to establish proof of identity prior to opening an account.

Pity the lady in aib had to be a fookface about though. In my experience, the staff are typically very pleasant to deal with.

For new accounts fair enough but if I want to open another account in my bank I'll still need photo I'd. Seems a bit unnecessary and ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

10 years ago now.

I was 16 and my Mother was with me, I wasn't your typical money launderer. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

The credit unions are good for saving and getting a loan of a few grand when needed. The more bank services they offer the closer they become to a bank. In a few years that's what they'll be. Fees will come in eventually when they need them to keep the books balanced?

Do Danske charge fees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

The credit unions are good for saving and getting a loan of a few grand when needed. The more bank services they offer the closer they become to a bank. In a few years that's what they'll be. Fees will come in eventually when they need them to keep the books balanced?

Do Danske charge fees?

With so many banks leaving Ireland, and the likelyhood of any new banks coming to Ireland being slim to none for the next 10+ years, I think Credit Unions are in an ideal position to become peoples main financial provider.

If they can provide the same services as banks, but retain their identity and ethos, surely thats a good thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭lunacyfoundme

I don't know about Danske Bank but there are a lot of Credit Unions now offering current accounts and EFT through BNP Paribas which has full SEPA clearing meaning you can EFT to anywhere in Europe same day.

Many CUs also already have online banking and a smart phone app to go with it.

The only thing left is the debit card. If the CUs get that in they only reason people will have to stay with a bank is for a credit card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭barochoc

This is fantastic news. I have a CU account but do all my banking with Ulster Bank. They have been ok up until the new charges introduced recently. As soon as the CU get Visa Debit, i'll be transferring everything over to the CU & hopefully i'll live happily ever after.

Most Irish need to follow suit. Banks need to be punished for their crimes. This seems like one of the few ways to do so. Leave them & go to the Credit Union if they can offer the same services.

...... oh wait, if the banks start losing money hand over fist, will the government just slap another tax on everyone (even non AIB etc) to recoup the costs & pay all the chairmen etc their bonuses & the like?

I reckon there's no escape from this cancer called "Banks"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

The more competition the better.

But unless CU's offer good online "banking" it wont be much competition.

The other thing is that a lot of credit unions are in trouble. That hasn't been fully worked through yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

In the process of shopping around. Rabo or KBC I'd say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

People should not do Business with AIB - always have been a Nasty Shower. And, this is not something new.
    In fact, AIB should be wound up - any Good Business put into the Bank of Ireland (which would make BOI
    stronger) and Bad Business put into NAMA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

BBJBIG wrote: »
    any Good Business put into the Bank of Ireland (which would make BOI
    stronger) and Bad Business put into NAMA.

Richie Boucher, that you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I remember when I was 16 I tried to open a bank account. I went to AIB with proof of ID and a bill from home. AIB made me fill a form and told me I had to wait a month for an interview with bank manager. lolwat?

Went down the road to BOI with same stuff. Filled a form and told I would receive my ATM card within a week and that my student account had been made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

BNMC wrote: »

Hmm can't remember the last time I had to deal with a staff member of AIB.
    Everytime I go in I just use one of their machines.
    Prior to that, I would see a staff member who would usher me to their machines.
    Prior to that, I just avoided going in to the bank,

The fees are getting ridiculous and am considering moving to PTSB, but I have to admit, AIB internet banking is very good.

Does anyone know if PTSBs pairs up to it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21 Snowy Man

Hmm can't remember the last time I had to deal with a staff member of AIB.
    Everytime I go in I just use one of their machines.
    Prior to that, I would see a staff member who would usher me to their machines.
    Prior to that, I just avoided going in to the bank,

The fees are getting ridiculous and am considering moving to PTSB, but I have to admit, AIB internet banking is very good.

Does anyone know if PTSBs pairs up to it?

I have no complaints with ptsb's internet banking.