Being told someone is dead on the telephone.

• 06-11-2013 05:16PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 29

I've only ever been told once when my friend died, but to this day any phone call at an unusual hour makes my stomach flip.

anyone else know what im talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

Yep - a phone call very late at night or early in the morning can only bring bad news :(

Or sometimes drunk news as well I suppose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

Yup. I remember being woken up by the phone in my parents bedroom ringing at 5am telling them my grandad died. Any calls after 11 always put the heart across me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Paddy Fields

I was living in Thailand when my mother died and my brother-in-law rang me. I knew from his tone what was coming and I nearly collapsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

Yeah it's terrible. I've been on both sides of this, on the same night :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Yep had 3 of those calls the first one was the worst as she died very young, it was the only time in my life I have collapsed with shock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I've had the opposite happen to me before too.

Rang a customer one day, receptionist answers the phone.
    Me, Hi can I speak to such and such.
    Receptionist, can I ask who's calling?
    Me, yeah its me from such and such a company.
    Receptionist, I'm sorry, (voice trembles) he was killed at the weekend in a motorbike accident.

Knocked the stuffing out of me for the rest of the week. I had developed a good working relationship with the man over a couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Loaded1973

Yep, Received a call saying my step dad had died, but they used his first name, which is the same as my sons...I collapsed to the ground in shock, then felt awful for being relieved when I was told it was my step dad and not my son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I worked in the UK for a while about 6 years ago.
    I would usually go home every week or two.

I left my phone in the bedroom one night, and when I went to bed, I noticed 13 missed calls from my younger brother. So yes got the stomach churn going pretty good. :(

I rang him back with pure dread.

"Are you coming home this weekend?"

:mad::mad::mad:

Eejit. F*cked him out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,322 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

foxyboxer wrote: »
    I worked in the UK for a while about 6 years ago.
    I would usually go home every week or two.

I left my phone in the bedroom one night, and when I went to bed, I noticed 13 missed calls from my younger brother. So yes got the stomach churn going pretty good. :(

I rang him back with pure dread.

"Are you coming home this weekend?"

:mad::mad::mad:

Eejit. F*cked him out of it.

Ya cheered me up there, good stuff. No offence to anyone else, its quite a sombre thread and I feel for everyone of you out there, I've had my fair share of this too.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Late night calls can be awful, it's either some awful news or a booty call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,214 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Its worse walking up and checking facebook on the bus finding out your aunt or cousin has died.

Was also told through a forum that a good mate was killed. That was really **** to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Starscream25

Ya I got a call from a friend saying that another friend and classmate had died, we were around 16 at the time, needless to say I bawled my eyes out. 20 minutes later he rang me back saying oh I actually saw him in town a while ago, it was his dad with the same name that had in fact died.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

It's worse when it's a knock on the door in the middle of the night:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Getting a call that the dog died (naturally) can be quite a relief actually given that its expense is lifted from the balance sheet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Yup, my sister phoned me last weekend to tell me her husband(marriage was on the rocks) had hung himself. They have a 2 year old son.

I was so stunned I didn't know what to say.

3 days later I still don't. It's something I hope I, or anyone else never has to experience again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Yea got a call that someone had died, amazing the coping methods that kicked in, person in question was always a joker so I had convinced myself until I got to the house it was a wind up, or surprise birthday (it was no ones birthday around that date) to the extent of talking to the ambulance driver in a jovial fashion...

Worst feeling ever. A friend told me one of his family members had died and I just froze and because you're not face-to-face you feel like a dick for not saying anything because you're wondering what they're thinking because they can't see that you've just frozen. Obviously later you realise that a few seconds of silence from yourself is the last thing on the person's mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's no walk in the park having to make that call either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Made the call from the hospice to my aunt. My dad had passed. Telling her to collect my mum. Then I rang my mother.
    The organisational stuff kicks in and you go cold when you're on a deathwatch. Now ten years on, its my mum in the hospice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

6.10 in the moring, phone rang, it was the nurse at the hospital to tell me my dad had passed away just moments before. He had been sick 2 months, and we knew it was coming. But still, an awful shock.
    That was in April, still think about him an awful lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Yes,during the summer.my mother rang me of a Friday the June bank holiday weekend as I was leaving work. Her younger sister,my aunt had just killed herself and my mother was asking me to come home.there was a calmness in her voice and the sun was splitting the stones,everything about it contrasted horrifically with the news I was after being told.I didn't know what to do with myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭tomboylady

My stomach lurches if certain family members call me because I know they're not calling for a friendly chat.

A few years ago I was heading home for the weekend and got a phone call while I was in the bus station to say my Dad had suffered a heart attack. Then proceeded to tell me that he wasn't expected to make it. That was one hell of a long 5-hour bus journey. Thankfully he made it but the dread in the pit of my stomach for that entire journey is something I will never forget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I've had the opposite happen to me before too.

Rang a customer one day, receptionist answers the phone.
    Me, Hi can I speak to such and such.
    Receptionist, can I ask who's calling?
    Me, yeah its me from such and such a company.
    Receptionist, I'm sorry, (voice trembles) he was killed at the weekend in a motorbike accident.

Knocked the stuffing out of me for the rest of the week. I had developed a good working relationship with the man over a couple of years.

I had to make a call to the company my late father supplied with a regular part. I could hear the jolt at the other end. The only time I received such a call it was half expected (Granny) so not a shock just a bit sad (had not seen her in many a year).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

I had to make about 10 of these calls when my little sister died. It was very difficult, but it had to be done. It is actually very worrying, as you then fear for the safety of those that have received the news, particularly if they have to get in the car and drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭Brego888

Got a phone call earlier this year at about 1am. Saw it was a girl I worked with and thought it was strange her ringing at that hour. Anyway I answer the phone and she breathlessly goes on to tell me that she just had a baby. I congratulate her, still scratching my head as to why I needed a call to share this news as I barely knew her.

Turns out her brother has the same name as me and I was the 2nd person after her mother to be informed of her new arrival!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭hfallada

The worse was when my parents phoned a tenant to say they were going to collect rent. And the tenant said i cant as in John of Gods, I woke up during the middle of night finding john hanging in the doorway. He tried to kill himself.

How do you reply to that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Yep, just at the end of a long day and had just got asleep when my mother rang to let me know that the hospital and rang and my granny was in a critical condition and she was already on the way.
    I left straight away and drove to the hospital, 30 minutes drive but I got there in 15, when I arrived I was told she had died 5 minutes previously. Broke my heart, she was a second mother to me.

What's weird is I remember absolutely none of the car drive down and the next couple of days were a blur.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

hfallada wrote: »
    The worse was when my parents phoned a tenant to say they were going to collect rent. And the tenant said i cant as in John of Gods, I woke up during the middle of night finding john hanging in the doorway. He tried to kill himself.

How do you reply to that?

He did or he tried to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

I'd gotten a few missed calls late one night from a friend i hadn't seen in a while and just ignored as i thought it probably wasn't anything serious. Was in work for 11 hours the next day, when i got back out to the car i had a good few more missed calls from another friends house number. i sent that friend a text to ask was it them that was looking for me and by the time that i had driven home, my friend's mother had rang and left a voice mail message saying that a good friend of mine had died.

I definitely look at missed calls in a different way since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

such a feel good thread :P

first call was when a classmate had been killed in a car accident, fairly horrendous. second was when my nana died, i knew she was going so it wasn't as much of a shock.

actually no, the second was when my dad phoned me to tell me my beautiful perfect dog had died :( he was 19 but was still absolutely mental, never slowed down, the only indication of his age was his dashing silver chin hair. i miss my fred :(